Yor Car www.yorcar.com

Yor Car www.yorcar.com
★★★☆☆
2.9
51.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yor Car www.yorcar.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yor Car www.yorcar.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Great service, cheap price.”

★★★★★

written by on 30/01/2024

The 2 guys on the desk were very friendly and helpful. Brought the car quickly. We got the VW Golf we booked, not brand new and a few marks here and there which were pointed out, and we gave it a good look over. It’s Portugal, it fitted right in, and for the price was great. It drove very well and was very clean and tidy. I had asked a few questions by email beforehand which were answered promptly and politely. Roadside assistance was included, even though it was not shown on the listing online. We were not given any hard sell for extras which we didn’t need, and were asked if we were intending to use the motorway because of tolls, but we weren’t, and no pressure. They don’t do full to full on the fuel, you take it back with what was in, and we left more in, but that was down to us, no problem. We look after our hire cars, so when we took it back they gave it a quick look round, checked the fuel and that was it. Our deposit was taken off the credit card very quickly and we would definitely use them again. Super cheap price and no hassles. They are located in car park 4, not with the expensive car hire companies, so turn left when you come out from arrivals.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Nearly 20 years of great service”

★★★★★

written by MikeJBurton on 29/04/2023

We have been using Yorcars for nearly 20 years since we made the Algarve our second home. Booking is easy and the onsite presence at the airport makes for a quick start to your holiday without the need to get a shuttle bus to one of the larger companies outside the airport perimeter. Friendly staff along with clean serviceable cars have meant that whilst we have occasionally checked out alternatives we have always come back to Yorcars due to their reliability and speed at dealing with any queries or special requests. Online booking discounts and loyalty week offers are welcomed.

Mikejburton's Response to MikeJBurton's Review

Written on: 29/04/2023

Sorry date should read 2023

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Good friendly service ”

★★★★★

written by Retired656 on 07/02/2023

Was recommended by a friend and have Yor car on my last three visits to Portugal. Always excellent service, a nice clean car and simple process for collecting and returning vehicle

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great car hire”

★★★★★

written by Upthegunners on 03/07/2022

The car and the service was second to none,I feel the prices were very good too,will use them again

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If I could give a Negative rating I would!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ryanbackos on 06/03/2018

Upon arriving at the airport, had to wait for guy to give me keys, he made me sign for car without showing me where the car was. The form had minor marks on the car, so, before leaving the airport, i added all the marks to the paper and gave it back to the agent to keep a copy for their records. On top of the 100euro price, had to pay a 300euro deposit that would be refunded 3 days after the return of the car.... GUESS WHAT - 2 weeks on now and still no refund of the 300, we now have to email them, as they dont deal with these queries over the phone. I am Portuguese, and live and work in the UK. The agent could not speak English or Portuguese fluently, was an absolute joke. DO NOT EVER USE THIS CAR COMPANY!

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Don't reserve any car here”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JamieHopper262 on 25/01/2018

I rented 1 car at Yor car. We reviewed the car with an employee during check in and noticed all marks we found on the car. They requested me to do a pre-authorization for a payment in case of problem with my credit card. During check out they said that some marks were not there before, even if it was written on the document we signed before and they transfered 1000€ from my bank account. Be carfeul, they are not honest, use another car rental company or you will lose money!!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Rip Off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Waddellyk133 on 02/10/2017

When on holiday in Portugal I tried to hire a car from Yor Car - after completing the online form I was unable to send the booking - I emailed the office with all the details (at 11.00am)and asked for confirmation of price and delivery charge - also on line the is an offer of 25% for booking on line. Emails went backwards and forwards all day until at 18.00pm a price and delivery time was agreed for 18:45. When the car was delivered the price was again different than what I was quoted and although I showed the driver the last email I received she would not entertain the quote and when I mentioned the 25% she said that she new nothing about this, she rang the office (as I do not speak Portuguese I did not understand what she said) when she finished the call she was adamant that I pay the price that she was quoting me. I refused to take the delivery of the car and was extremely angry at the amount of time I has wasted with this company - I emailed them later that night but as yet not had any response. Obviously they do not care about the customer or their reputation.

Mashie47's Comment

Written on: 15/01/2018

I have used YorCar on several occasions and never had a problem. Yes it is a little inconvenient having to go to the car park to deal with the paperwork and pick up the car but it is less than 5 minutes walk.

The cars have always been in decent condition and have never let me down.

Further I have never had a problem with their website.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Charged for pre-existing damage”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tristen438 on 27/09/2017

Avoid Yor-Car at all costs 3 weeks after returning the vehicle (which had extensive damage and illegal tyres) they charged me for pre-existing damage. All attempts to discuss the situation with them are a folly. Claim made disputing an authorized credit card transaction with my bank. Rude and illiterate staff - AVOID My complaint to them: Your company, without my consent, without any legal basis, and with no notice has charged my credit card an additional sum. On return of the van to Faro airport on 24th August, your employee xxxx claimed I had damaged the car rear bumper. He was rude and abrasive (in front of my family and other customers as well) and did not listen to me – at that time I was very clear to him that I had caused no damage. He would not listen and even when I pointed out faults in his argument, he offered very poor customer service. My main point to him was that the car was already damaged when I was provided with it. Car Pick-up I picked the car up from the Airport near midnight on 15th August. Your employee (I did not get his name) signing the car to me on the night of 15th August but did not conduct a thorough inspection of the car. He simply made some marks on the rental contract in front of me and my family away from the vehicle. In fact the vehicle wasn’t even within sight. He said words to the effect of I will ‘just copy this from another contract’. This is a significant error in process and leads your company to be greatly exposed in disputes like this. This clearly shows that a thorough inspection of the car was not made by your staff at the time of hiring - and therefore the inspection report your rely upon is fatally flawed. As it was dark, and I had 4 children and a 1 hour drive ahead of me I was unable to do a through inspection in proper light. I did so the following day and according made some additional marks on the contract sheet. Car return After xxxxx claimed it was I who had caused pre-existing damage, I took a further look at the car and noticed that there was a pre-existing crack in the front headlight, 2 of the tires on the vehicle were bald and certainly illegal, and other scratch marks on the car. These items were also not marked out on the inspection report either. This clearly shows that a through inspection of the car was not made at the time of hiring and supports my position that your employee hiring out the car was at fault. My main argument can be summarised below – which is why I am complaining about is the conduct of your company and employees: You hired to me a damaged car. You hired a car that was not roadworthy (faulty tires). You did not do a proper inspection of the vehicle and did not capture all the damage on the vehicle. Your staff were rude and made false allegations. No notice was given by your company of the intention to apply additional charges – no evidence has been provided of the charges you claim have been incurred nor have I had a chance to dispute them ahead of any charges being made - this is immoral, a denial of natural justice and likely unlawful. I had not given consent to the extra charges - our contract was extinguished at the return of the vehicle in the same state it was provided. and the refunding of the deposition on the car. Taking my money without basis

Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Excellent value and service”

★★★★★

written by RunningGirl50 on 21/07/2017

Hired an Opel (Vauxhall) Astra from YOR, via AlgarveDriver.com, for our holiday in Carvoeiro. Slightly lower price for cash. The car was delivered and picked up from our villa, even a day earlier, which we didn't need to pay extra for. Good condition car. 30K on the clock already, but it ran fine. Pleasant and helpful staff, and no hidden charges. Would use again.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We had our car (Fiat Punto) in the surveyed...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by daveCH09 on 11/06/2017

We had our car (Fiat Punto) in the surveyed underground parking of a 5star hotel. When we took the car everything was ok. We drove some kilometers and parked the car. When I tried to lock the door it didn't work (they gave us a normal key without central locking system). I called them and told what happend. I had to drive to Faro to exchange the car. At a gas station outside of car park no. 4 we met the guys. They admitted that they were no mechanics but looked at the car lock for a second and told us that someone tried to open it by force (because of some little scrach underneath the lock, which happens when using a key to open the car). We told him that it was impossible since the car was in a surveyed car park and we never left any valuables in the car. They didn't care! We had no chance to show the car to a neutral third person real Mechanic - which may have repaired the lock for a few bucks. They forced us to sign the paper work and pay a new lock which costs 350 euros (paying instantly) otherwise we would not get the exchange car (BTW the rental was 279 euros for nine days) A complete ripp off company. One guy even told us that the Fiat Punto was desired by thieves because the lock is easy to break! I'm wondering what cars do they rent out if they know that the Fiat Punto has a high risk of burglary. Having said that, our car lock just broke down because it was worn out and never ever someone tried to open the lock by force. This may not be important but the guys talked Russian to each other. These guys are maybe just some foreigners trying to make a quick buck.

Peteruth's Response to daveCH09's Review

Written on: 12/09/2021

We had exactly the same issue, same car , Fiat Punto, failed locking system. same excuse that somebody had tried to break in. This was within 40 minutes of taking delivery of it. we also had to pay 340 euros to get the car exchanged.

Absolute bunch of rip off. Anybody that rents off of them after reading the reviews ( 46 % of reviews are one star ) needs their head testing

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“zeer goed”

★★★★☆

written by Carlsonjk343 on 20/03/2017

Ik begrijp niet goed de negatieve reacties op yor Car. Ik huur al 10 jaar bij deze firma en nog nimmer moeilijkheden gehad. Vriendelijke ontvangst en hulp. Kan deze firma ten volle aanbevelen Eddy Bellemans

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“cancelled booking”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Edwardsof195 on 21/02/2017

We used enjoy car hire comparison site to book a 9 seater minivan .yor car hire came up the cheapest so decided to book ,after paying deposit waited about 6 hours finally got a confirmation email with the voucher link.2 days later they cancelled the booking saying that the price was to cheap and they didn't want to honour the booking .steer well clear

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“grotty little company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xgMattingly190 on 02/11/2016

Under no circumstances use this company. They are corrupt.we hired a vehicle with 70k km on the clock. On the second day the car key broke when the metal sheared leaving the key in 2 pieces. We still managed to use the key with some diy. When the vehicle was returned they charged us 320euros for a replacement key which severed due to nothing more than wear and tear. When I complained the odious nicotine stinking hag on the counter said if I didn't pay the 320 euro she would cash the security deposit of 3500!!!. Faced with months of haggling and a plane to catch I had no choice but to pay. The vehicles also have considerable amounts of pre existing dame. I heard another guy arguing with them when they tried to do him over as well. Give up smoking and take a bath you squalid creatures.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A company whose slogan is " it is in the Ts & Cs"”

★★☆☆☆

written by Kabs546 on 19/10/2016

This is a company that makes its money on the small print with extortionate fees. I hate companies like this as it is designed to catch you out. They have a minimum policy of €20 tolls even though you are likely to never spend more that €2:80 if you use Faro's A22 twice. A nice little money making machine for them. You should also be aware that on the roads there is no prior warning you are entering a toll road. Toll roads operate a digital system so there are no toll booths to pay what you owe. They don't operate a full tank policy, but you must top it up to the same level. Ours was 5/8ths on collection. They make a big point about this, and there are fines if you return the car with less petrol in it. However, YOU try accurately topping up the car to 5/8ths, inevitably you always go over and they won't refund the difference. We also faced and unexpected €15 local tax. Again, apparently it's in the small print. If you use a comparison site to find the lowest price be aware that with this company your final price will rise significantly.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Late, rude and rip-off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Milo239 on 05/10/2016

A rude, late and ripoff company. After waiting over an hour in the airport car park we got a knackered old ibiza. Next day we had to take the car back as it was broken. They replaced but charged the petrol for the return journey! Plenty of other good companies at Faro to choose from. 

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent”

★★★★★

written by EmileeBeach454 on 22/01/2016

Use this company over the last 8 years now. Always cheap rates and young cars in very good condition. The staff is very friendly. I recommend this company to all my friends and client, who rent my house in the Algarve.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“good enough”

★★★★☆

written by Adrianna111 on 08/10/2015

picked car up at airport 13 sept15.a bit chaotic trying to check in,only one girl doing paperworkbut got through in the end.good clean modern car,no problems at drop off.would use them again.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Yorcar, be wary of the small print?”

★★★☆☆

written by Gallowayjh56 on 01/10/2015

Had a rather unpleasant experience with this company last week, they have introduced a new return policy which isn't explained at the time of collection, they DONT tell you, if return car before 8.30am you are charged 20euro likewise after 9pm. It is in T&C but if you don't read all the small print like many of us don't, they don't inform you at the time, it's probably a nice extra earner for them, this didn't use to apply with this company, I used them quite a lot over the years but I won't anymore, some of their staff are nice and helpful others are downright rude...for the sake of 20euro they have lost 100's of my mine in the future

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DO NOT USE YOR CAR HIRE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by allybeare on 25/09/2015

I would have given the company 0 stars if possible. The car I was given had quite extensive bodywork damage which took quite a while to document with the rep. Upon returning the car early the rep/company tried to extort a 20 euro fee for being too early coming back despite this not being mentioned in the paperwork I signed nor was it conveyed verbally when I picked the car up. When I refused to pay the extortion money the rep became rude and aggressive. When I got home I discovered the company had illegally taken a 30 euro fee from my credit card which thankfully I got back from my bank. I wouldn't use this company again if the car was free.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid Yor car hire”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sarahgayle52 on 25/09/2015

Hired 2 cars for a family holiday in September. We videoed the damage to both cars and noted the damage on the forms. On arriving at the airport to return the vehicles there was no one at the desk to return the car too. We checked in for our 10am flight and were told that no one would be at the Yor desk until 8.30am. On return at 8.30am they began to dispute the damage on one of the cars until the video evidence was produced. Next they decided to try to charge both parties an 'early return fee of €20 per car.' They said we should not have returned our cars until 10am, the time of our flight. This was not in the paperwork, not was this communicated to us at any point. We refused to pay and the member of staff was really rude. She said 'do whatever you want.' After arriving home I noticed an unauthorised €30 charge on each of the credit cards used to book the car hire! These unauthorised charges have now been refunded through my credit card company. I would not recommend this company

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview