Avis Car Hire

★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
10% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Avis Car Hire - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Avis Car Hire

Avis Car Hire

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“No Support After Taking Your Money ”

written by arpswetman on 07/11/2022

I left some glasses in the hire car in Calgary and went back for them less than an hour later, I hadn’t even left the airport and they couldn’t give them to me, even though they acknowledged the had them in their possession. I have emailed several times and they won’t entertain emailing where they are. How can you keep someone’s possessions if they are standing in front of the desk less than an hour after dropping the car off. No help at all just a long email giving reason why they are incompetent. Avoid like the plague

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I booked a car with holiday autos and paid in full, I...”

written by Mike.Mike on 24/06/2022

I booked a car with holiday autos and paid in full, I picked the car up from Budget/Avis via there shuttle bus, after returning the car and getting home I recieved a made up bill for €349.19 from Budget/Avis for premium top up Insurance I have contacted them over and over but they keep saying I signed for it which is nonsense and I have four witnesses to prove i told them I did not want top up insurance. I actually have an annual top up insurance which cements the fact that i do not need or want an additional policy for the same thing I will never use holiday autos, budget or Avis again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Watch out - Avis charged twice for car rental ”

written by 306Harvey on 20/07/2021

We rented and prepaid for a Avis rental car from Nashville airport. As our flight to Nashville was delayed we rang Avis Nashville to tell them we would be 30 to 45 minutes late. They said that was ok and would note our booking. When we arrived within the extended time for picking up the car, Avis said our booking was cancelled snd though all cars now fully booked they would honour the rental but we had to pay again and this cost 30% more. So we had to pay twice for the same car. They blamed it on Priceline. But we had called the Avis helpline. We called Avis help twice. Got through second time and they then transferred us to a supervisor who did not let us talk and hung up on us. We called again snd was placed on hold for 1 hour 20 minutes or so. We gave up waiting. Will try again. But watch out with prepaid rentals with Avis!!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Never had a problem”

written by lipanila on 02/09/2020

I never had a problem with renting a car for Avis. The cars have always be clean and in good condition

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVIS FNC Airport - Beware!”

written by MatthewD2020 on 26/05/2020

I was charged £300 for alleged damages to a vehicle which do not exist! They claimed a small scratch on the underside rubber panel of the vehicle. No repair quote, no repair completed, but an arbitrary charge to me upon return. No response from Avis customer service, they even failed to provide me with a receipt! I had to enquire on the corporate website to obtain an itemised list of charges. Complete rubbish experience!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Avis Car Hire in Limassol”

written by AFGs on 20/01/2020

Booked a Group F car on the Avis website to pickup at Limassol office. From start to finish it was 5 star service. The vehicle was clean and undamaged. The station manager ran through all the paperwork and then gave a quick run through of the vehicle. I was even allowed to extend the rental for one day at a reasonable additional cost and had the vehicle picked up from my hotel on the last day. Well done Avis Limassol!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“They say there are no marks on the car!”

written by JD60000 on 15/09/2019

However when we checked there was even a small dent in the wing. While my husband went to the desk to report this I noticed quite a few other customers reporting scratches etc too. The staff at the kiosk were just standing around and chatting to each other. I don't think they were interested in reviewing the vehicles prior to the customers taking the vehicles. We were hiring from Calgary Canada and it's the worst car hire we have ever experienced

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Check your agreement!!”

written by AnnikaI on 02/04/2019

Rented a car at Stockholm airport using a free weekend voucher so there should be no charge at all. Was asked to sign the agreement on a tablet and didn't see any extra charges and none were mentioned. Didn't realise until later that they had added windscreen insurance which they are refusing to refund as I signed the agreement. So make sure you read through the whole agreement before you sign as I suspect these extras are added deliberately and it is a nice earner for them if you don't notice before you sign!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We had a situation regarding the full tank of petrol....”

written by BrianRC on 03/03/2019

We had a situation regarding the full tank of petrol. I filled it completely 6 kilometers from Cape Town airport, but was denied any acknowledgement that the tank was full. Our credit card was subsequently charged for two litres of petrol (68p per lire) and a fee for filling those two litres and a pro-rata of road fund licence for the 12 days hire, something I have never heard of before, totalling approximately £18. Along with that, three weeks later, the credit card was subsequently deducted approximately £19 for the waiver of a speeding ticket. Although I have asked the authorities of confirmation of the issue of a speeding ticket, no response has been given. I believe this is because only South African citizens are prosecuted and foreign nationals are exempt. We have just had another speeding ticket being charged, two months after our return to the UK and once again no one at Avis is responding. I caution everyone who hires a car in South Africa to obtain a full receipt when the car is returned confirming the volume of the petrol tank and also the condition of the car itself. This is the first time we have used Avis and obviously will be the last.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hired a van From Avis to remove some furniture, They...”

written by LitzyMcClellan on 15/01/2019

Hired a van From Avis to remove some furniture, They have made up a damage charge of £500 which I know nothing about. Some dents were on the van when I hired it, Now they are making this up. probably have to take them to court to fight my case. Avoid!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again! An appalling experience!”

written by Marquisc453 on 18/12/2018

I booked a car via a travel booking with British Airways, flying into the UK from Washington DC to Edinburgh Airport. I was clear when I booked that I would be here from end October to end December. I understood that, because the period of hire was longer than 28 days, it would have to be renewed once, which could be done easily over a phone call which Avis would make to me, in the middle of the hire period. This is exactly the procedure that Avis have used for me when I have made extended hire bookings with them in the past, and it has worked just fine. But not this time... I did not receive the call: on 27 November I received a text message telling me that my hired car was two days overdue for return, and that I had to take it back to Edinburgh Airport forthwith. Although I was at the other end of the country, I did as they asked and returned the car - which apparently was at the end of its rental life and had to be returned to the manufacturer for refurbishment and sale. That's fair enough - but why send it out for a lengthy booking in the first place, if that was the case? In any event, the whole fiasco took around 7 hours out of my day. I was issued with another, similar, car, and was told that I would have that till 29th December, but that the current booking contract only ran till 14th December, on which date I would receive a call to extend the booking to the 29th. Yet again, I did not receive the call, and instead received ANOTHER text message on the 17th, telling me that the hire car was overdue and needed to be returned to Edinburgh Airport. Again. Understandably, I think, I was annoyed - and reluctant to go through all that palaver a second time, especially since Avis were the ones who had screwed up - TWICE. I called their customer service line. What a misnomer. I spoke to an extremely rude woman who responded with "Well, in that case, we'll just cancel the contract"... and hung up on me! WOW... Two further phone calls later, to two other - helpful - members of staff, I am given to understand that the matter has been resolved and the hire period extended. However, the overall experience has been absolutely appalling. A fiasco from start to finish. I am very, very disappointed. Booking via British Airways is potentially useful - but not if this is what ensues. I'll book independently elsewhere from here on. Never, ever again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avis Portugal ”

written by melissa678 on 07/10/2018

Added on loads of extras that we explicitly said we didn’t need, hid what they had added in really poorly displayed documentation, took advantage of the language barrier then took a substantial amount of money (hundreds) from our card when we returned. The complaints team take weeks to get back then say they can’t help. Then 3 weeks after travel have taken an additional £15 off card with no invoice or explanation. Really dodgy practices, taking money from cards - avoid at all costs!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Hard sell, poor quality car”

written by Kate.Marlowe on 06/08/2018

I recently rented a car with Avis in Glasgow, using autoeurope.com. It took me twice as long to pick up the car as it should because the guy at the Avis counter did a major hard sell, trying to get me to upgrade to a bigger vehicle. The staff who were supposed to bring the car round for me were disorganised and didn't know which car they needed to fetch. The car itself was mediocre and appeared poorly maintained. It looked very smart on the outside but the ignition was very difficult to turn off (requiring an unusual amount of force) and the gearbox was in poor condition - I wouldn't have been surprised if either one of them had failed during the trip. The windscreen wiper fluid had not been topped up and was completely empty. Although not disastrous, it was a poor experience and I wouldn't rent with Avis again. (Side note: Autoeurope was great and I have no issues with them.)

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Through Holiday Autos I booked and pre-paid for a car...”

written by Terryjw151 on 24/05/2018

Through Holiday Autos I booked and pre-paid for a car in Malta to be picked up at 8.00 pm. At the desk I was presented with the usual reams of conditions of hire, which included some "Optional Services". This listed "Up front fuel charge" (which I did not want) and "Additional services". Further down, under "Additional services" after four other services which I did not need, was "Included Meet Late Arrival". When I got home 25 euros had been deducted from my credit card account. It turns out that late arrival means arriving at 8.00 pm even though that was when the car was booked from, and the quoted price and prepayment did not cover it, even though there was no way one could hire a car without it. Needless to say no one mentioned it at the time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“hired from boston america”

written by tonyormskirk48 on 15/11/2017

arrived to collect the car from clarenden rd Boston America. The operator gave no help on the service they were offering regarding were the car was other than saying there is the lift the car is on the fifth floor. He did point out there was a $151 estimated costs with no explanation what they were for. He tried to sell us the fast track machine which we were told it was $10 dollars a day which we did not use we paid the tolls by cash as we came to them, except one which was the bridge coming into Boston which was fast track only, the cost was $3 the operator said it would be charged onto my credit card today I was charged $17, they tried to charge me $10 a gallon to fuel the car when I had prepaid for a full tank. Would never use Avis again and if anybody has any sense they should not use them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No customer service”

written by umCollins308 on 18/10/2017

I ordered a hire car from Avis but through Rentalcar.com. I was due to collect it at 11:30pm. Unfortunately my flight was delayed, and I didn't arrive at the Avis desk in the terminal building until 11:50pm. The desk was closed, despite the fact that they had my flight details and should have been aware of the 20 minute delay. The rep at Europcar rang the Avis on his mobile, but he refused to return. I had to hire another car! My payment had been refunded but minus a 'Cancellation Fee' So far Avis have not responded to e-mails! Never will I use them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful. Tried to overcharge. ”

written by DamienH on 08/10/2017

Tried to charge for a full tank of diesel, even though only €10 below full. Took car to fill up again to avoid that one. Quoted €25/day for better insurance, but despite only 3 days rental, tried to charge €114! (As any aside, the insurance is not worth it anyway) Staff eventually adjusted the final amount, but only after lengthy dispute. They tried to blame vat, airport tax and "other services". A minor plus was that the staff eventually relented. Not sure if other car rental companies are better, but Avis have zero respect for customers.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ZERO Stars - x3 Rentals all Overcharged!”

written by Billybob2 on 29/09/2017

Will NEVER rent from Avis again, had three consecutive rentals in Jul/Aug, all vehicles arrived marked, dirty, damaged and all had not been inspected properly, fuel gauges not full then overcharged after renting. Customer Service was completely lacking in customer service, took a lot of work to get my overcharged money refunded.....avoid if you want a stress free rental by choosing elsewhere.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avis ruined our Holiday.”

written by ReedSampson445 on 29/09/2017

The local staff in Palma were rude and unhelpful. We returned the car with the three quarter full tank we'd left with but have been charged anyway. We left a very expensive pair of sunglasses in the glove department but when we rang first thing the next morning we were told they couldn't find them. I asked them to please double check but then they refused to answer my calls for the next two days at which point we were flying home anyway. Back in London I tried to ring Customer Services to complain but got totally fed up with being put on hold endlessly for two days. ...When I finally did get through the person I spoke to might as well have been a robot - completely unhelpful and unsympathetic. The whole experience basically cost us about £600 - for 4 days car hire!!!.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“YOU COULD NOT MAKE IT UP”

written by 25Hood on 17/09/2017

Having had a van booked since August, I am informed late today that Avis not have the vehicle for me! After total stress phoning around at the last minute I now have to explain to close friends that we cannot help them move house tomorrow. This is not poor service, it is pathetic. You have totally failed not only me but my friends, who now have a stressful weekend in store. Abject service- and you already have a deposit from me.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Raybuch on 19th June 2014 Report this content
Thanks guys for the responses looks like I won't be going with Avis. Do you recommend any that are in the airport? I've done goldcar before and the totally stung me, not only did the take more money out of my account but my car broke down one week into a two week holiday and customer service was awful, I had to call break down then go with him for a hour joinery to pick up a new car at the airport a whole day wasted.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content 123ianmartin Written on: 20/06/2014
I would try europcar or enterprise if possible
Report this content Tjoiner Written on: 20/06/2014
Hi, I've heard that Europcar are good, but I haven't used them myself. The last time I was in Spain I found a local company at the airport, superb service on a six or seven year old car, 60 euros for the week. No problems with damage issues because the car wasn't perfect.
Asked by Raybuch on 19th June 2014 Report this content
I'm looking to hire a car for a week from Barcelona airport. The reviews for all of them aren't that good but was looking to book with Avis. Has anybody booked with them from Barcelona airport and do they push you for extras? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content simfox Written on: 19/06/2014
Hi yes I have booked with Avis in Barcelona Airport I have also used Alamo that were very good, I personally wasn't asked to purchase extras and was told they expect to odd scrape and bump, just make sure you check over the car and mark on the sheet things they may have missed, in my experience I have not upgraded insurance and its been fine. I took a car back to Alamo with a big deep scratch down one side after a mad man in a truck cut me up and nothing was said they just marked on the sheet and didn't charge (might have been different if i had extra insurance to cover the cost). General driving in Barcelona can be a little mad at times but is the same in London but on the other side of the road.
Report this content todd123 Written on: 19/06/2014
Firstly, I would not go near this company, AVIS will try every trick in the book to cheat and overcharge you, then abuse your credit card after you have paid. It will take you months to recover the extras they attempt to steal from customers this way. After this, their arrogance won't stop because they'll think they are doing "YOU" a favour. My advice is to find another car rental company with a good reputation, that is certainly NOT AVIS. 
Report this content 123ianmartin Written on: 19/06/2014
I haven't used Avis at Barcelona but I have for other main airports, I booked in advance and then I was also charged further on return straight out my bank account as it was a premium location!!!!! Also they said there was damage to the car which there was not and that cost another £188 straight out my account also, even although I paid for the extra insurance cover to zero the excess. I would never recommend anyone to use Avis. Customer services were only interested in having all details on an email to which they took 6 weeks to reply. AVOID IF YOU CAN.
Report this content tobester76 Written on: 19/06/2014
Use Hertz. Avis will take your money given the slightest opportunity. Last summer they billed me £1,400 for a scratch on the car that they had previously told me would cost £384 to repair. I travel overseas frequently and have been using Hertz ever since with absolutely no problems.
Report this content Tjoiner Written on: 19/06/2014
Hi, I haven't used Avis at Barcelona. I won't use them again. Should you decide to do so, my advice is to be very clear about what they are selling you, and to insist on an English copy of the hire contract. Hope you have a great trip. Kind regards.
Report this content walsch Written on: 20/06/2014
All the car hiring companies have lousy reputations. I think all the locations are franchises and the franchisees are doing their own thing - good or bad. I hired from AVIS in Italy twice in different locations and did not have any problems at all.
Report this content kernaghan Written on: 20/06/2014
Don't use Avis I paid the extra full insurance and they froze my credit card, the terms and conditions are from the USA and they double dip, try a local rental like Centuora
Report this content nevercomplainedbefore Written on: 23/06/2014
I would only rent fro Avis using/through British Airways site or using their exec club members rate - BA will help you out with any problems incurred as they have close working relationship with top bods at Avis. Also useful to have your own excess insurance or use the one with a Natwest Black card account.
See All Answers
Asked by jojo4444 on 3rd May 2014 Report this content
I am currently on holiday in Crete. Picked up my rental car at Heraklion airport. Paid in full in UK and then also added in UK the insurance for any scratches etc. When I picked the car up at the desk in the airport the Avis car rep told me the fuel gauge was faulty and it was full but only reading 3/4 full. He said you return it full. when filling the tank. Yesterday we saw the gauge went to full, so obviously it was not full when we collected the car. So if we return it 3/4 will we be charged the full tank? Also the rep marked on a sketch of the car 6 areas where there were scratches on the car. How did he know where the scratches were? We were inside the terminal when he told us. It was dark when we collected the car which was parked about 400 metres away. I have read so many horror stories about Avis on this website and am very concerned about returning the car at the airport after our holiday, and about charges made on my credit card. Any advice please? I will take a photo of the petrol gauge when it is full.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content Soi_L Written on: 06/05/2014
Hi jojo4444, I would suggest you return the car with a full tank of fuel. It's not worth the hassle of saving 20 EUROS only for them to add charges made to your credit card for not returning with a full tank. However, you can make this known to the rep when returning your car, add comments to your receipt (it'll be a booklet), demand a refund and have both you and the rep sign it. If you have the added insurance please bear in mind that "If the rental car is damaged, this will cover the cost of repairs. You will, however, have to pay a fixed amount towards the repair costs. This is known as the excess. This applies regardless of whether you were at fault." (from Avis website). Next time you rent a car, on receiving it you and the rep should inspect the vehicle and agree on any existing damages to the car before you sign it.
Report this content FlukePlay Written on: 06/05/2014
You need to cover all bases with as much evidence as possible when hiring cars. When I collected a car from Avis (London Heathrow) their car sketch simply said no damage/scratches reported but when I inspected the car (to be thorough) I noticed scratches on every single panel and highlighted as many as possible on the sketch. I also wrote a comment that every panel was scratched and that their comments were completely unjustified to be sure. I asked the handover rep to confirm this and he did. So they are trying it on wherever possible. Highly unlikely that the fuel gauge is faulty, especially with a newer model but follow the advice of Soi_L with regards to this.
Report this content eh2006re Written on: 06/05/2014
never trust AVIS reps abroad. I had bad experience with AVIS rep at Faro, Portugal 2012. the fuel gauge was fault too. it never goes to full until I had the fuel overflow at the filling station when I returned. They also asked me to sign a contract without telling the hidden charge even though I told them that I had full insurance against excess.
Report this content poconnor23 Written on: 06/05/2014
I would agree with Soi L comments but just add that when you return to the UK you contact Avis car hire head office immediately and give them copies of all your paperwork and hopefully They will sort it out. I know it a pain and especially at night when you have arrived after a long flight but I always take photos on my mobile or ipad of the car's exterior when I pick it up and drop it off,especially if the car is scratched in any way.Enjoy your holiday.
Report this content moelygaer Written on: 06/05/2014
Avis are a bunch of Th*** I would suggest return the tank full, never use them again and put it down to experience
Report this content Tjoiner Written on: 06/05/2014
Hi, I have found Avis to be one of the most unpleasant organisations to deal with. I suggest that you do fill the car up before you return it. Keep a copy of the receipt, and take a photo on your camera phone of the fuel gauge. I found that Avis held a charge on my debit card for the full amount of the hire for almost a month after the hire, even though I had paid in full in the UK. Check your balances and get straight on to them if this happens to you. Be careful to obtain the English copy of your paperwork. In Portugal, paperwork is issued in English and in Portuguese, and I was given the Portuguese copies which made life difficult later. Finally, never ever use Avis again. They try harder... To cheat you
See All Answers
overview