Auto Europe Car Hire Reviews - www.auto-europe.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
58% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★★☆☆

“DO NOT USE”

Written on: 23/09/2017 by Keagant172 (1 review written)

landed at Barcelona airport after a TWO HOUR flight all exited about our hols, Interrent was where we were told to collect the car, WE THEN WAITED OVER THREE HOURS (LONGER THAN OUR FLIGHT)STOOD UP IN A LINE OF ANGRY PEOPLE ALSO WAITING FOR A CAR. Why the long wait,finally on getting the car it was not full of petrol, but by this time fed up and could not be bothered to find a rep from the company we departed. What a bad start to our holiday… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I'm worried.. I've booked for tomorrow”

Written on: 28/10/2016 by Vanjamer (1 review written)

I've booked and paid. Now all I read is bad reviews. I will leave a review when I return the car. Fingers crossed. If a bad experience I will write hundreds of bad reviews & comments on every car hire blog. … Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Visit from London-LA”

Written on: 06/02/2016 by DarionKent (1 review written)

I was very pleased to find the great price online before my trip to LA from London. I pre-paid for the rental and was pleasantly surprised that the que at LAX was quick. When checking in with Alamo, they said they couldn't give me the online pre-paid price as my driver's license was Canadian, even though I live in the UK. This was unexpected and ended up costing me an additional $399.00 on top of what I had already pre-paid online. I was not happy with that as that was an unexpected expense to… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good car but confused service ”

Written on: 01/02/2016 by Trazu (1 review written)

We arrived at Poprad airport but could not find a Budget desk, we then called them to be told they would deliver shortly, this was done within 5 minutes, the same in return, we had to call and leave the keys in a box. We were however concerned with the 40 euro each way charge for airport Coll/delivery which was not mentioned throughout the booking process, only when we had paid and printed the voucher, be aware! All in all a good car but not as reasonably priced as expected… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Trazu's Review

Written on: 03/02/2016

Dear Sir,

Firstly thank you for being a loyal Auto Europe client! We are constantly updating and improving our website display so that all locally paid items are clearly displayed at the bookings stage. I will ensure that your comments are directed to the correct department. Thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Shady sales technics ”

Written on: 24/01/2016 by Oleg1 (1 review written)

I've booked a VW Golf (or similar). However when I arrived, the sales rep offered me Skoda Fabia, claiming that there is no VW Golf available. The rep also tried to sell hard their 4x4 cars which "only today" have a 50% discount. I complained that the Skoda Fabia is not from the same class, however the rep still insisted that there is nothing else he can offer. Only when I asked to speak with the manager, they suddenly discovered that a VW Golf is available. You wouldn't get this kind of… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Oleg1's Review

Written on: 03/02/2016

Dear Client

Thank you for your feedback, from which supplier did you collect the vehicle from?

Please do contact the Auto Europe Customer Service Team so that this can be further investigated.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Could not fault your staff.but for a 15 seater mini...”

Written on: 08/01/2016 by LeoMorrison420 (1 review written)

Could not fault your staff.but for a 15 seater mini bus 3 off the seat belt did not work there was nowhere to store luggage ,had to carry our luggage on the seats, when taking the cases out one off them got damaged on one off the Jagged seat belt fasteners… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Hidden costs”

Written on: 28/12/2015 by Brownefm25 (1 review written)

This is the second time we had to pay a lot extra because insurance wasn't clearly stated in the booking therefore the overall total works out to more than booking directly with car rental companies… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 06/01/2016

Dear Customer
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your Auto Europe booking.
In a bid to be as transparent as we can with these terms we do list them in the section that must be 'ticked' before you confirm you reservation. We do list them on the car hire voucher, that you receive once the booking has been made. These terms outline al items included and not included in the pre-paid rental voucher.
Here it is also listed any charges that may be applied locally by the car hire supplier.
Should you require additional information regarding this matter please do contact our team directly
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Very pleasant”

Written on: 25/12/2015 by GabriellePreston483 (1 review written)

The reception and professional staff where exceptional, slightly disappointed that the vehicle size I chose was not what I received. But overall the vehicle was fit for purpose, was very clean and in very good condition… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Poor Service in Reception”

Written on: 08/12/2015 by JerryLeeUK (1 review written)

Had booked a Mustang, did not want anything else this trip, guy on service desk just checked me in for the Mustang. Walked over to garage and guess what NO Mustangs, we where greeted by a lovely young lady who on hearing my tale and not happy with the check in guy went and found us a Mustang, well done to her as for the check in guy well draw your own conclusions, all he wanted to do was try sell an upgrade. The young lady made our day and would have given 4 stars but for the check in guy… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good service but extra cost.”

Written on: 03/12/2015 by DamianCorbett179 (1 review written)

Everything with booking was good, no problems the car was ready for collection as arranged Clean fuelled & in good condition. However the extra insurance fee ( compulsory!) was unexpected & had not been shown at time of booking so disappointing… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 09/12/2015

Hi

Thank you for the feedback, we d try our best to be as transparent as we can with all of the suppliers fees and terms & conditions.

Your comments will be passed to our management team so that they can look to further improve the information displayed on our website.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Alamo ”

Written on: 19/11/2015 by Gilberto1994 (1 review written)

I had rented a 4 door economy size car, and that's what was on my voucher. However, the person at the Alamo desk told me that their economy cars are 2 door and there would be an additional daily cost to upgrade to a 4 door. I was not prepared to pay this. She said that's what Alamo offers and would not accept that my voucher showed that I'd contracted for a 4 door car. I have rented economy size cars through Auto-Europe for many years and had never encountered this problem with any other auto… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2015

Dear Client

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that Alamo did not provide the high level of service we expect from all of our partners.

Your review will be passed to our management team so that they can prevent further issues of this nature.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Decent server. Annoyed that break down cover not included.”

Written on: 12/11/2015 by BoabMalone (1 review written)

Good service. Really annoyed though that breakdown cover is not mentioned in car listings. Nor it is mentioned as an extra to buy before you go. So it's a surprise option that you 'need' to get at the airport, puts a damper on your first day of the trip having to fork out more money straight away. We were travelling to remote areas so needed the cover. … Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to BoabMalone's Review

Written on: 26/11/2015

Dear Client

Thank you for your review.

We do try and be as transparent as we can with the car hire providers additional local charges. Your feedback will be passed to our management team so that they can review the information displayed on the car hire vouchers.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“great service however...”

Written on: 07/11/2015 by Dominique421 (1 review written)

Perfectly good service with Hertz... However fairly disappointed with the standard of infant car seat we hired. It was not user friendly, very cheap plastic and often the seatbelt got stuck. It was very hard with limited padding for my babies comfort. Brand was safeway. I would not hire this car seat again as it often distressed both my baby and I when i couldnt get her out… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“lack of communication”

Written on: 05/11/2015 by NorahO'Donnell339 (1 review written)

arrived in Italy to find car hire company were on strike so no car. Man at desk said auto europe knew of strike and had cancelled my car the night before. I had to phone auto Europe and they arranged a car with a different company, but why didn't they contact me prior to my having to find out from the failed company?… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2015

Dear Client

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you felt let down by the service provided by Auto Europe.

If a supplier can not provide a vehicle for any reason, in which strike action is very usual for the car hire companies, our team would call and email using the details provided when the booking was first made.

Without a reference number I am unable to check if this was the case for your rental, or if it has been noted that we could not get in contact to advise the issue.

Please do feel free to contact us directly so that we may answer your review more efficiently.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Helpful and polite staff”

Written on: 31/10/2015 by MadysonProctor171 (1 review written)

I rented an economy vehicle which was giving problems. I returned the car and got an upgrade. However, they need to service the vehicles on a regular basis… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Not happy!!!!”

Written on: 19/10/2015 by feedee61 (1 review written)

As you anticipated, Hertz wanted more money for insurance!!! After a telephone call from Spain to yourselves it was confirmed that no more money needed to be paid! Why do they do this? It is very frustrating. Alas, Hertz accidently charged me for a tank of petrol and when I highlighted this they refunded the amount immediately but I lost £5.38 in the exchange rate! This makes me very very cross and I only discovered this today. It is hard to deal with these issues as I need to contact Hertz… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to feedee61's Review

Written on: 20/10/2015

Dear Client
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to learn that your overall car hire experience did not go as smoothly as it should have.

As you did book via Auto Europe, our customer service team will take any matters you have with the suppliers and deal directly with, in this case, Hertz, on your behalf.

Please contact us directly so we may assist further.

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Poor Service in USA”

Written on: 16/10/2015 by Caitlin56 (1 review written)

Have used Auto Europe a number of times and the service from the website booking has been good. However, twice on picking up the car at the location(Newark and Washington airports there have been problems. On both occasions the staff have tried to get us to take an inferior car to that booked. They use the excuse that we have to have what is available and not what booked. We have stood our ground and argued although tired from journey and eventually they found an appropriate car. Funny that! I… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Zombified staff at LA....”

Written on: 03/10/2015 by Lyric463 (1 review written)

The booking through the website was easy, but this seems to be an LA thing with the agents at Alamo trying to upsell everything, The chap I spoke to was obviously having a bad day, and said the bare minimum of words in mumbles: "Card and licence'... "you want roadside?"... "go outside"... He made no eye contact and just tapped his keyboard while occasionally sighing and huffing. Whilst I am disabled and burdened with a lot of luggage, none of the staff asked if I needed help and stood… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Sorry, can't think of any specifics either way. Had a...”

Written on: 30/09/2015 by djTilley59 (1 review written)

Sorry, can't think of any specifics either way. Had a bit of difficulty finding the airport and it took two phone calls to get the proper address for the satnav… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Great service until cancellation is brought up ”

Written on: 18/09/2015 by Vancebd265 (1 review written)

Quick and painless search engine and booking system. Needed to cancel 48 hours prior to booking so I sent an email, apparently that's not enough. They needed me to call and cancel which is highly inconvenient especially if you're on holiday in Europe… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview