GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
4.9% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Never use this company”

Written on: 14/01/2019 by Jarvisqe393 (1 review written)

We purchased insurance as we were prompted to do so during the booking process only to be charged again at the airport. The car was a wreck it stunk of cigarettes and had burns in the ceiling and foot wells. The clip that secured our baby's seat in snapped in half in our hands, the passenger door would not open from the outside, every time we sprayed the wind screen we had to pull over to wipe the filthy smears away that had been left due to the fact there wasn't any screen wash. I found a pair… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Another ploy to charge customers for excess insurance! ”

Written on: 12/01/2019 by Coffey430 (1 review written)

I had used Goldcar previously and actually had no problems so on a return trip less then a week later I was disappointed that the whole experience was just awful! Firstly I can’t say the customer service was welcoming to start with and the main issue arised after they did an Experian ID check (apparently a new thing) which I passed although on my record it came up with a caution and they therefore said I couldn’t take the car without then paying £165 extra for their excess insurance… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Athens Airport: Bad service, old cars, fraudulent...”

Written on: 03/01/2019 by Karlaf489 (1 review written)

Impossible to reach by telephone, waited for their shuttle for over an hour. The car was heavily scratched, had over 60k kilometers. squealing brakes and a vibration. Expect a heavy sales pitch about buying extra insurance at double or triple what other companies charge. Upon returning the car it was given the OK and then they send out a bill for fake excessive cleaning which cost more than the rental. I have photos to prove it. The follow up post holiday will waste your time as you dispute… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wish I had read the reviews!!”

Written on: 03/01/2019 by GrahamThornton (1 review written)

Wish I had read the reviews as the experience we have had of service at Gatwick Airport and Customer Services has been abysmal. We had a car that wasn't full with petrol and when we advised them in the office they said it was full and the car had a faulty gauge. They wrote this on the contract and said "No problem". Surprise - the gauge wasn't faulty and as we returned the car back properly full, no one wants to know about it. Still trying to get a response from Customer Services. All they say… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid”

Written on: 01/01/2019 by Curtis288 (1 review written)

Used at Murcia Airport. Very friendly when picking the car up, “no don’t worry about damage 5cm or under”. When we dropped the car off after 5 days and under 50km the lady in the car park said we had damaged the bumper with a scratch - we certainly had not. When we tried to talk to her she refused to talk to us, and refused to let us photograph her or give us her name otherwise she was going to get the police involved. … Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Licence problem”

Written on: 19/12/2018 by alexia18 (1 review written)

Arrived BHX airport UK,went to pick up car from interrent (goldcar) i had to wait 1hr for man to call DVLA to confirm i had held my licence for more than 5 years as i have changed it in Aril this year to the country i reside in. DVLA confirmed i had no endorsements and licence since 1991. Guy accepted endorsements over the phone but wanted a hard copy of UK licence which DVLA could not send. Long story short i had to pay £250 as he classed me as a new driver even though DVLA had confirmed… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Book elsewhere”

Written on: 13/12/2018 by 258Woodward (1 review written)

I have never been treated so badly or so rudely by any other company. They were inaccurate about the insurance requirements, when I refused their insurance they told me I would be liable for the whole car replacement cost in the event of an accident. This was another story. They then said that they would block off 1100 euros from my credit card for 3 month after the hire, another story, as the banks wont allow this. They charged 83 euros for a tank of fuel on a small car and admitted that… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Walk away from GOLDCAR ”

Written on: 06/12/2018 by Skinnerzd478 (1 review written)

They will push you to buy their insurance, and if you don't, they will put through the deposit as a full charge, and not a HOLD. Read other reviews - this place sounds too good to be true - AND IT IS! WALK AWAY!!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Awesome customer service”

Written on: 29/11/2018 by Jfonken (1 review written)

I booked online through tyan air, for gold car @ ciampino airport, italy. Last time i booked with europ car and had a really bad experience! When i arrived we me Tiziana at gold car; she explained everything in full! Even saved us a little more money. The whole experience was awesome compared to other time i have rented cars! She even spoke perfect english-another plus! Got a better car than what i had booke£ fo the same price! Turned in vehicle after hours and recieved final invoice first… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this company”

Written on: 23/11/2018 by Reveek (1 review written)

Hidden charges included €140 for insurance. Dropped car at different airport, as agreed and charged €100. The small print says "you may be charged" but desk informed me this is always charged. Rude staff and you will rarely get car requested. Same cc but usually cheaper version. Referred me to parent company Ryan air Avoid this company. Sunday Times has already featured Goldcar Rental as a company with numerous complaints… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Tenerife Cleaning fee ”

Written on: 22/11/2018 by zuzanakas (1 review written)

When renting the car at Tenerife South, the lady at the desk told us as we paid for a full cover insurance, we do not need to check the car or take pictures as it is all ok and can just take it and go. The state of the back seats was already stained but we did not say anything as we did not need to worry, as being told so. There were just two of us and we have not even used the back seats for anything, so we do not agree to be charged €150 for cleaning of back seats which we have not used and… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE”

Written on: 12/11/2018 by higgslane (2 reviews written)

Arrived at Las Palma Mallorca on Oct 11th 2018 and was met by a very pushy agent who insisted that I took their additional insurance. I exxplained that i had already taken additional cover with Rentalcars.co.uk. He spent around 15min warning me of consequences if i didn't take the cover. He offered free petrol and a car upgarde but i still refused and signed the 'DO NOT ACCEPT' section of the agreement. On return to UK I was shocked to find that the 1400 Euro deposit had been taken from my… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cheating people out of money ”

Written on: 08/11/2018 by 1953Dickson (1 review written)

Do not use Goldcar, we tried to collect our precooked and prepaid car from them last night and they had closed the office EARLY! We got there 10-15 mins before their office was due to close. The other car companies were closing so we ended up stranded at Malaga airport for over 3 hours whilst we sorted an alternative car and didn’t get home until 3am - bearing in mind we had to be in work today at 8am. Disgusting! Really unhelpful on the phone when we called customer services they said there… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again, duped.”

Written on: 05/11/2018 by DavidB1960 (1 review written)

Duped out of £165 for additional insurance that I already had cover for. … Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Company give them a miss”

Written on: 05/11/2018 by Dwtltd (1 review written)

I have booked with this company a few times never again as everytime they either claim for damage non existent or already done prior. Last time they charged for excess milage when it was not stated at time of booking or in the contract that there was any milage restriction. Also everytime there are people complaing at the desk of excess charges and it can take 2 hours to collect the vehicle, they are always slow as always trying to tuck every customer up. Aviod at all cost give them a big… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Used Goldcar in Split having previously used them in...”

Written on: 29/10/2018 by Blackburnhd232 (1 review written)

Used Goldcar in Split having previously used them in Spain. As usual prices were very competitive and to be fair the process and car collection was ok. As always we got the usual hard sale for extra insurance (harder sale than weve ever had before), which we refused as we already arranged better and cheaper insurance through carhireexcess.com (you should never buy insurance from the rental company as it's expensive and can get better cover on internet). Our real problem was when we returned… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Forced to buy Extra Insurance”

Written on: 25/10/2018

Booked a car with Jet2 to collect at Faro Airport. We had already purchased extra insurance through Axa. On arrival at 11pm at night we were told our Insurance was not adequate and had to purchase theirs. They were extremely aggressive and refused the car without our paying money to them. On arrival we had to pay £374.4 euro of which we got a refund of £122.00 after we returned home. Therefore we are still £226.00 out of pocket by booking a car with Goldcar. On our return I took this… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Forced to buy unwanted insurance”

Written on: 24/10/2018 by Carlos1956 (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with Do You Spain to San Javier in Murcia this October. Gold car were the hire car company. I pre-paid for an excess waiver policy in the UK. On arrival in Spain the Spanish Gold Car employee would not accept my policy and insisted that if I wanted the car I had to buy a Cobertura Super policy for 98 Euros. Despite my protestations he would not let me have the car without buying this useless policy. I had a young child with me and was bullied into paying for it. These people… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID”

Written on: 18/10/2018 by JohnJamesWilson (1 review written)

I booked the a car with them via Arguscarhire, paid in advance and turned up expecting to pay EUR1.99 tax. They tried to charge me EUR116, were not interested in discussing or helping. I walked away in disgust without a car. AVOID - AVOID - AVOID - AVOID… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Official Robbery: avoid!!”

Written on: 17/10/2018 by Couli (1 review written)

I rented a car in biarritz airport and not only they debited my debit card with 1299 Euros as a deposit but on top of this, in spite of telling me I would be re credited maximum 5 days after returning the car, over 1 month later am still claiming my money vainly. They also told me I would get an email confirming the return of the car that I never received. After calling them 4 times now, they promise to come back to me and never do so. Total waste of time and money!! AVOID GOLDCAR C… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview