Malta Best Car Rentals www.maltabest.com

Click here if this is your business
Malta Best Car Rentals www.maltabest.com
★★★☆☆
3.0
54.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Malta Best Car Rentals www.maltabest.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Malta Best Car Rentals www.maltabest.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Absolute Shambles”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mmaatttt on 08/09/2015

Disgusting service from goldcar Malta. We ordered a Skoda fabia estate as there was 4 of us and a child, each of us had a suitcase and a hand luggage, there was also a push chair and a car seat. when we arrived we were given a fabia hatchback. after speaking to guy on the counter and explaining that it wasn't what we ordered, we were told that we had to make do for the evening and we would get a phone call the next morning and someone will come out and swap the cars so that they could rectify their mistake. We never received the call and the car was never swapped. We also paid to receive the vehicle with a full tank of fuel, when we got there it had 25km worth of fuel left in it. Then to make it worse, we wake up one morning, go outside to see a lovely view, lovely sunny weather and the local authorities putting a ticket on the car. they then explained that they were giving us a ticket because the car didn't have a road licence. So we had the wrong car, no fuel and were made to drive illegally, and to top it all off, across the road from us was a fabia estate with a gold car sticker on the back screen (probably the one we actually paid for) We have been in contact with them to try and get something sorted, we were told to wait 28 days for a response and then find out that they processed a £37 refund without even telling us. When we emailed them to say it wasn't good enough they explained that the money they refunded was difference for the downgrade we were given. What kind of company downgrades a customer when its the company at fault. if anything we should have been given an upgrade. I'm not going to say it ruined the holiday but it definitely made things a hell of a lot harder than they needed to be, and the only consolation we have is that we get a slight satisfaction in putting this all over the internet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Active Car Rental - avoid them - hidden charges”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Fisher257 on 09/08/2014

At Malta airport I returned a car to them in good order, despite it already having much bodywork damage. No-one checked the car with me on return. When I landed at Gatwick there was a message that I had damaged the headlights and they were charging me. I did not damage the car. They have no proof but are trying to charge my card 406 euros for repairs and VISA are blocking this. Do not use them, this poor process is a licence for them to take your money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I'd Rather Walk Than Use This Company Again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/02/2014

This company is affiliated with Green Motion, and they are terrible. I've had similar problems to everyone else on this forum. Most recently I wanted to get a receipt. It's been 16 days so far, and I've tried calling and emailing multiple times, and not a single reply! Dreadful customer service. On top of all that, the local Maltese tell me this company is being investigated for fraud. No surprise there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Philip.peterson's Comment

Written on: 17/04/2014

I Have just returned from Malta which was great apart from my car hire ordeal. I booked with www.rentalcars.com (who I have used on many other times). When i got my voucher I saw that the provider was a company called Gold Car Malta.

On arrival, I could not located there desk at first, but after asking around i found two desks together "looked like one company". Gold Car Malta & Green Motion.

Problem number two was that the Gold Car desk was unmanned. I call the number on the voucher which just rang out. I then over to the main car rental area which had brands like Avis, Budget and Hertz.and asked if they knew how I could get to Gold Car.

The general response was one of shock "why would I want to rent from Gold Car". i was told that the company used to be called Malta's Best and then got a Green Motion license. This license has then been taken off of them and somehow they got themselves a Gold Car franchise.

Hearing this, i was very concerned. my phone than rang and a gentleman called Chris said he had a missed call from me. I explained my concern and in fairness he did his best to convince me that all was good for me to continue my hire with Gold Car.

Eventually somebody turned up at the location and i was shown to my car which was parked in a Green Motion bay, however, had giant Gold Car branding down the side. I objected to this, as i wanted to hire a car, not a billboard advertising their company. i was told that this was the only car that was available and was given the option to take it or leave it, and now being at the airport for over an hour and a half, i decided just to take it.

The general hire of the vehicle was okay but the main problem occured when i returned the vehicle.

1. I refuelled the vehicle - returning the vehicle with a full tank of fuel. I was told on return that not only should I not have refueled the vehicle but my credit card had been charged for a full tank of fuel. This means that I paid over 50% more for my first tank of fuel, and the fact that I filled up the car meant that I now lost about 80 euros.

2. On taking the car out, there were some minor damage to the wheels which I pointed out to the man handing over the car. On return, i was told that this damage was not on the car at the time of hiring it. they've now taken 1,500 euros off my credit card to cover some minor scratches which i did not do.

I complained directly to Gold Car who referred me to the owners of their Gold Car franchise who turns out to be the same Chris - I undestand his full name is Chris Borg, who simply does not respond. I have now gone through the numerous review sites and can see a trail of repeat abuses performed by this Chris Borg under many names including Ray Bezzina Car Hire, Green Motion Car Hire, Malta's Best Car Hire, and now Gold Car car hire.

Is there anybody out there that can advise how i can get my money back? For those who haven't yet hired their cars in Malta, avoid renting from Gold Car Malta at all costs. It doesn't matter how cheap they are. You will end up paying 10 times more and they will wreck your memories of Malta.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Derbyclive's Comment

Written on: 27/01/2017

now called GOLDCARS same problems

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Reliable Car Hire!”

★★★★★

written by johanna.cachia on 17/11/2013

We go to Malta around twice a year, and so far have had some trouble hiring a car. The Big companies (Avis, Budget and so on) all want 1000 - 1500 Euro deposit when you rent a car - way too much in my opinion when you´re on holiday. Then I found Maltabest. I enquired several times if a deposit is required, and each time I was reassured that no deposit was taken from my card upon arrival. I was still nervous as we landed in Malta and I made my way to the desk to pick up the car i requested. And i was pleasantly surprised! No deposit, very cheap rates (just over 200 euros for 2 weeks rental), a brand new car, and only 150euro would have to be paid in case of an accident or theft. REALLY VERY IMPRESSED! Will definitely be using this company from now on! Thanks so much! Johanna Cachia

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“the best.”

★★★★★

written by millzee3 on 25/10/2013

Second year in a row we have hired a car for two weeks from Malta Best and the same as last year Fantastic value and service.We shall do the same next year,many thanks again. PAT AND MARY.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Where are all these 4 and 5 star reviews coming from?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/10/2013

Trying to find a reliable car hire firm in Malta appears to be difficult. We have booked with Ray Bezzina and now I am wondering why as they appear to be part of MaltaBest. On this site there is a rash of good reviews with 4 or 5 stars all dated on the same day (a day in February this year- can't remember the exact date). What a coincidence that is! Most reviews on these sites are spread out over a period of months and vary hugely. To have about 20 4 or 5 star reviews appearing all on the same day is hugely suspicious and only deepens any misgivings I already have about using this company. Can anyone suggest a reliable car hire company in Malta?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid at all costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 13/09/2013

Rented a small car from Top Car Ltd, by the Airport petrol station. Used it for 3 days. Drove 60 miles with it and gave it 10lts petrol (more than I normally give to my larger petrol car). When car was returned they demanded that I go with them to the pump to check if petrol tank was returned full. To my surprise it took another 7 lts and I had to fork out the cost. They insisted that it was delivered to me full to the brim but I don't believe this since not even a petrol SUV uses 17lts for 60 miles. These 60 miles cost me Euro 25!! Also car was given without a spare wheel. THEY ARE CHEATERS!! DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Buyer beware”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kcarter on 11/09/2013

This is a sincere warning to anyone considering this company. We have spent several months trying to rectify a credit card fraud from these people. We booked our rentacar through the broker Atlaschoice, paid IN FULL for our rentacar and presented the prepaid voucher as instructed. We were met at the airport by a representative, who proceeded to fill out what we thought was a form for the damage deposit (as all rentacar companies do). He was VERY friendly, overly so, and even said he had given us an upgrade. We were delighted! He swiped our credit card with the amount of 457, of which we made sure to confirm it would be refunded on return of the car undamaged. Oh yes! Of course! We inspected the car with him there, no problem. My husband also took pictures. We suspected nothing, since we have been through this routine dozens of times, over 20 years of travel. Two weeks later when we returned the car, no damage, my husband again asked the representative(same guy),Deposit to be credited? Yeah,yeah, no problem. Only to find out when we got home that our deposit WAS NOT credited. We got back onto Atlaschoice who then informed us that they were no longer doing business with Maltabest because of similar complaints and problems from other customers (which can be confirmed by looking at some of these other reviews). We took it further to our credit card company to try for a stop on payment. Come to find out the form we signed was not for a damage deposit but he was charging us all over again for a new rental!!!!! A perfect example of READ CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU SIGN AND HAVE EVERYTHING IN WRITING, not verbal. Never be too trusting, especially with a car rental company. We have since found out that we actually got off lightly. I have also noticed in scanning through these reviews that they have clearly submitted false reviews to bump up their overall rating, but don't be fooled, these guys are PROFESSIONALS. My next step is to report them to Malta Tourist Board and Maltese Consumer Agency.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Be careful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 19/08/2013

I rented a car from Car Trawler, Green Motion, Argus at the airport. They came 45 minutes too late. I returned it full but they insisted upon € 65 for a full tank. This is double the cost of the so-called cheap car. In the contract it says "You can return it empty". This means you can also return it full. They refused to compensate for the costs. I suggest you avoid them! George

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Olinmt's Comment

Written on: 14/01/2014

Yes! This company is attempting to take $2,051 from me.

Avoid at all costs!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible and unreliable company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nataliya062013 on 11/07/2013

As I planned my vacation in Malta ahead I have made a booking in January 2013, the booking was confirmed by the company and namely by Chris Borg, General Manager. As I arrived on Malta I waited for the representative of the company in the airport (as agreed) for half an hour before I began to worry. Then I telephoned to all the phone numbers given in the e-mail, but no one answered, even on mobile numbers (I arrived on Sunday after all). Having spent more than an hour after a long flight with a small 3-year old child and heavy suitcases in the airport trying to get answer to my numerous telephone calls I was forced to get services from another car hire company (for higher price as it was just on the spot). I am very disappointed in the services of this company. And I also have written them an e-mail with questions why this situation happened. But nobody responded to my e-mail, just ignored it. I would never recommend the Malta Best Car Hire to anyone as they let me down putting it mildly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cherylross's Response to Nataliya062013's Review

Written on: 13/07/2013

They did exactly the same to me last September. We had to hire from the airport desk too. My husband asked a police officer who phoned the numbers and was told they had no cars and to call tomorrow. I have unfortunately discovered I have hired again for this year, wish I could cancel but have had to pay a deposit this time. I booked it through a UK company Argus car hire. they better be good I did think of cancelling the booking but would lose too much. At least this time we arrive early afternoon so we wont be stranded very late like last time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cherylross's reply to Cherylross's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2013

An update I have decided to cancel the booking, People be warned, Argus told me the company was Green Motion when I had told them I wanted to ensure the company wasn;t Malta Best car hire. Only just yesterday after reading a few reports on forums I discovered the contact phone number for the representative is exactly the same phone number!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sarahv165's reply to Cherylross's Comment

Written on: 24/07/2013

Argus car hire/ Green Motion/Princess garage car hire/Ray Bezzina/Leasing Malta are all the same people just using different names!! If I were you I double check and ready as much reviews as you can as they can take money without you knowing. You just relaize once you go back and check your Visa!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MunkeyP on 11/07/2013

Booked a car for one day through MaltaBest and received an email confirming the hire details. The evening before the car was due to be dropped off we spoke to the manager to re-confirm everything. The car was due to be delivered to us at 9am for a 24 hour rental, at 9:30 it hadn't arrived, tried to call MaltaBest, they weren't answering any of their phones. 9:45 managed to get hold of the manager who said he'd check we're the car was and call back. We never heard from them again! Fortunately we hadn't paid anything in advance for the hire but it left us without a car on the day we needed it. Avoid these amateurs at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A remarkable service- Malta Best:”

★★★★★

written by on 25/03/2013

Last week I got the chance to visit Maltese islands. I don’t have words for the beauty of the place but I certainly can admire the services we got from Malta best. We hired a car from Malta best. The car was good in both maintenance and speed. The engine worked best as we journeyed very comfortably and smoothly. The most important of the features was, of course, the privilege of free fuel. It doubled our benefit, that is, lower rate plus free fuel. We visited all the eminent places with Malta Best services with us. We also didn’t pay any extra charges for the chauffeur. He picked us from the harbor and was with us throughout our journey. I don’t have any idea about rest of the car rental services but Malta best benefitted us a lot. It made our journey more affordable and comfortable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Truly international level standard of service”

★★★★★

written by freehd on 22/02/2013

My experience was great with Malta Car hire; the car picked me up on time from the airport, and as I required I was provided a car that easily accommodated all my bags. The city seemed all the more beautiful and extravagant due to the smooth ride I was blessed with. I am happy with the company’s service and thank them for making my experience joyous.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Maintenance is the key to customer satisfaction”

★★☆☆☆

written by arhail on 22/02/2013

I had heard a lot about the professional approach and affordability of Malta Car hire, but I really was annoyed when the car that picked me up from the airport was not properly maintained. Seat covers smelled of a perfume that I was allergic to and one tyre had lesser air pressure due to which I was late for my meeting. However, despite the fact, I was glad that it was right on time and quite affordable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stay away from Green Motion”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/02/2013

The offered price was far cheapest at the market. The cost for fuel higher then rental cost, but finally at the end we have to pay over €2.000 add cost for an old small damage at the door sill (but unfortunately not at the scratch list). The repair list shows cost for new wheel, repairing axle and door etc. I canceled the booking for next month and will never book again at this company or their second brand Honk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Keep up the good work”

★★★★★

written by abbyhelson on 21/02/2013

Riding in a brand-new car and within your budget seemed too good to be true. However, Malta Car hire proved that dreams and can be turned into reality. I was surprised that I was not charged for fuel or parking charges. I was equally glad when i was told that the driver was free and so was the pick and drop facility.Thanks guys keep it up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Less is always more at Malta car hire”

★★★★★

written by alanetherton on 21/02/2013

Women are choosy and we tend to make rational decisions as well. However, to avail Malta car hire was a perfect choice since it was cheap, yet provided me the best of everything from clean and perfumed car to full fuel tank and no extra credit card charges. The driver was an expert and the route map helped greatly. I am totally satisfied by the service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cruising along with Malta Car hire”

★★★★☆

written by nelsonthornes on 21/02/2013

I was on a one day trip to Malta since I was on a cruise and I wanted to make the most of this time. When I got registered with Malta care hire, I was amazed with the quality of their service. I was provided with a flexible hourly package, and charges were much less than I assumed. The most surprising thing was that the company provided me an added facility of enlightening me about the places to visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Malta Best have friends who write reviews”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 2403mawo on 21/02/2013

I thought I knew every trick in the book of hire cars but this company showed me a few new.tricks to get your money . Do not sign a blank form for the vehicle condition upon return, do not tell them where your car will be, do not authorise them to charge for additional insurance, check the charge for petrol, list every scratch, defect , dent etc on the form. Best really do not under any ciircumstances hire a car from this company or Ray Bezzina or Green Motion. They are brilliant in giving you a surprise when you see your credit card statement.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kcarter's Response to 2403mawo's Review

Written on: 09/09/2013

Ditto to the above! I have also noticed that the maltabest reviews seem "too good to be true". No rent a car company is as "perfect" as some of these reviews I've seen! And for such a small car rental company, how can 25 different people submit a review of them all on the same day (February 25) and give them a 4 and 5 star rating at that? A trick to bump up their overall rating I say. I lost almost 500 euro to them in false credit card charges.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Good Experience so far”

★★★★★

written by julianmg on 20/02/2013

I have been to Malta twice and on my very first trip I had so much fun all thanks to Malta car hire. I like to drive automatic cars, and the company remembered it and even when I forgot to inform them about my choice of the car the next time, they provide me with an automatic one. Great experience to ride on a car owned by Malta Best.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview