AIG Travel Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AIG Travel Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AIG Travel Insurance

AIG Travel Insurance
AIG Travel Insurance
AIG Travel Insurance
AIG Travel Insurance

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Never Again”

written by JCS1010 on 27/06/2020

Got travel insurance in Jan 20 for a flight to Thailand, flight was cancelled so I asked for my money back because I will not be going again so a voucher was no good , told by them that a voucher is all that is on offer. Whats the point of having travel cancellation then , going to file a complaint with the financial ombus bsman.Please Please don't use this company , if you want travel insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Twist Narrative Of Policy Sold To Deny Claim”

written by on 04/06/2020

Purchased insurance 01/20 for 04/20 flights. Laid off job of 2-1/2 yrs 03/20. Policy clearly states in black and white that this should be covered with no stipulations. Months after I filed claim and endured their complete silence after my submitting to them every stitch of paperwork they requested and more, AIG denied claim due to COVID-19 - and closed case, leaving me no way after months of waiting for deserved ticket cost refund to question or counter their arbitrary decision. I am now left with $350 in airline credits I will never use that AIG's customer service rep initially emailed me I HAD TO cancel the flight for and take in order for me to even file a claim with AIG. Never purchase insurance from them; they twist the narrative of policy sold so they can take your premium dollars and then not payout on a legitimate claim!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocked!”

written by SEBMSBOSS on 08/11/2019

I am simply amazed. On January 28, I booked flights from Charlotte, North Carolina to New York City for my wife and myself, our son, daughter in law, and two grandchildren. The trip is scheduled for December. In October, our son, who is a member of the North Carolina Air National Guard, was involuntarily deployed for six months to Sicily as part of a joint services operation. Because he will be away serving our country, we canceled his flight and filed for reimbursement through Aon Travel Insurance. I was notified today that my claim has been denied because it does not fall within the parameters of the policy. If he were subponaed to jury duty, we would have been reimbursed. However, we will not be reimbursed due to his serving our country. A reservist who is deployed is guaranteed by law that his job standing will be protected. Aon does not give the same kind of courtesy to one who places himself in harm's way for the country he serves. This is just sad. My wife and I travel a great deal, and we always purchase travel insurance. This company will never again have to worry about our utilizing their service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Slow, incompetent and untrustworthy”

written by DeniseJarvis146 on 24/06/2019

The amount of paperwork required to file a review is ridiculous and cumbersome. The claims process is terrible...had to wait months for a refund and they kept asking for information that I already sent them. Do not recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden details - web site does not provide correct data”

written by Ellioti154 on 05/10/2018

The company does not provide clear and easy-to-read details of the insurance policy. The policy guidelines are very restrictive to the favor of AIG. The web site freezes in multiple areas, and the 1-800 number to call is not updated, so you cannot contact AIG for the claim. I highly recommend you do not waste money to buy the policy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“NEVER travel without this cover!”

written by Patcvb on 21/07/2017

We hired a car from Goldcar Toulouse in June 2017. We returned it in perfect condition a day early (with no refund) and were nonchalantly told there was no need to sign off. What a mistake! We returned home to find Goldcar had charged us EUR 840! We complained and pleaded our innocence but they then produced photos of a smashed radio! It was just a pure shocking sham on their part to perpetrate this on tourists. We had excess travel insurance from AIG but I was skeptical that they would cover this. BUT THEY DID! all had to produce was the evidence of what the bandits in Goldcar had charged us and AIG took care of the rest. a total relief for us as you can imagine/ We will never hire from Goldcar again and never travel without excess travel insurance from AIG again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest & Disrespectful”

written by travelerx3 on 04/10/2015

We booked a trip for Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, and paid for Travel Guard Ins. We arrived at DFW, but were told our flight with Aero Mexico was delayed. We found out from other passengers that the previous flight was cancelled. We arrived in Mexico City, although we had assigned seats, we were denied our flight. I called Travel Guard and got a "Caveman" to talk to about our situation. He used the "oh it's a woman, I will intimidate her" routine. Hasn't been used for decades. He wanted statements from our physicians about the diabetes and seizures, and a statement from Aero Mexico. He refused to call Aero Mexico and violated the HEPA Act by requiring personal medical information. We missed a day of our vacation and Travel Guard did nothing to reimburse us for the money we lost, including the cost of tis worthless insurance. If we had known that tis travel insurance was fraudulent and did not pay the claims, we would have never paid for insurance with them. This company is extremely rude, and disrespectful and should be put out of business.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not touch”

written by on 14/08/2015

Used this company for a trip to europe, sadly had to make a claim for a damaged personal belonging. Sent a settlement without acceptance, then had to fight hard for the rest, three phone calls and no emails and still not satisfied, very ubrupt annd difficult to deal with

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I booked a return air fare to France but the return...”

written by on 18/08/2009

I booked a return air fare to France but the return flight was cancelled. I had to make my own arrangements to get back home and thought I could claim some of the costs back from AIG Travel Insurance. Apparently I was not covered for this eventuallity because I had already started my journey and the small print said I would have been able to claim only before I travelled. Due to this I was only entitled to travel delay and theyt sent me a cheque for £30.Some travel insurance if it only covers you before you go!!!
Not happy, would have expected more from them and cannot believe they have the nerve to sell this policy. My travelling companion claimed with his company and had a cheque in three weeks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I don't think I will be renewing with this company, I...”

written by samrayner on 21/12/2006

I don't think I will be renewing with this company, I think it would be better to pay a little bit extra for a better known company. I cannot fault the service we had when we were in Phuket in November. With regards to paying our medical expenses, they were very good but the service when we got back to UK was terrible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“AIG Europe is Easy to navigate and instant quote and...”

written by pgf1 on 09/08/2004

AIG Europe is Easy to navigate and instant quote and acceptance on-line. No discount for online booking. Part of New Hampshire Insurance Group. Some countries are not covered in the policy but these are Lebabon etc

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview