Churchill Home Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.5
16.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Churchill Home Insurance - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“My roof started leaking, Churchill to the rescue.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ballsy2 on 06/07/2023

Strong winds and driving rain found it's way into my loft the rain water run under my loft boards onto plaster board celling and soaked my laminate flooring. I called Churchill to see what was covered and how they would help, they said if my roof has not been inspected in the last 3 years by a builder (roofer) then I am not covered as this is down to wear and tare, I have never heard so much ball in all my life. These crocks will not pay out on anything, look at all their reviews, I had to give them one star but they are not worth that much, there is a reason they are cheap, if you want home insurance DO NOT buy it from them. After I put the phone down on them they called me back 20 minutes later advising me to get a builder round to do the necessary work encase the roof problem gets worse but they (Churchill) can't help. Needless to say I will never use any services from these low life's again an off course cancelled the direct debit and have now gone to a reputable company. Avoid these at all costs, you have been warned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“TAKE THIS REVIEW AS A WARNING WARNING,WARNING,WARNING,”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ward82 on 07/03/2023

I would advise anyone that is considering taking out “any” kind of insurance policy with churchill to reconsider. even with the home plus policy, they will find a reason and every excuse under the sun not to cover you for any type of claim. this is a serious warning. they will drive you to hell and back and make you fatal. if they gave me a lifetime of free and every cover under the sun, i still would refuse. stay away from churchill and associates direct line. they are one group. i wished i had read the reviews prior to taking cover with them. absolutely no way i will be renewing with them ever again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“people beaware of the churchill insurance which is run...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Havend497 on 20/06/2022

people beaware of the churchill insurance which is run by pennyjames and neilchurchil ceo are cheating the disabled people thinking they cant do anything and not doing the service which these to people had our hard earning money. People must believe us the nightmare experience we having as an old people. our gutter from the corner is damaged by the storm/heavy wind. when we claim in april one of their worker inthe office said she measured the wind from the office and there was no wind by our house. what biggest liar cheater. she was sitting on top of our roof at that time. shame on her. Keep hiding but I shall not let them get away with our money. so they either provide the service or refund. amaging their management team are so ignorant and can't be bothered to response because all the gang just share customer's money that's all they interested in when you claim what you paid cheaters find the way to get away without providing the service. shame on all of them. anyway I shall not let them with this attitude and they either so something about my gutter or refund as simple no any other way they have choice...refund/or service. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Hidden terms and conditions which can reject all claims”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Chaney201 on 28/10/2019

The Churchill insurance has a condition in their documents which states any damages to the property due to wear and tear or ageing is not covered. This sentence they can use to reject any of your claims. Any of the damages or accidents in the home they will classify as wear and tear. In my home leak happen from the bathtub and damaged whole flooring and kitchen ceiling. They classified this as wear and tear of the tiles in the bath. Basically any damages can be easily categorised as ageing or wear and tear. I don't recommend to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Churchill Home Insurance Denied House Claim Damaged by...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 357Andersen on 19/05/2019

My house was damaged by storm on Feb/2018, Churchill Home Insurance denied the claim despite the storm were reported in lots of local news.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“churchhill home insurance”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Moralesqx110 on 28/09/2017

poor customer service and handling of once case including poor assistance for once with disability limitations as I am.1 year home insurance and I could not stand them. Not the first home insurance in my life though 10 for the worst.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Cancellation”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/02/2017

Churchill are very quick to take your money, just do cancel an agreement early or late with them. after calling their care centre I was miss lead about the policy being cancelled in time for no charges however less than 24hrs later I got a letter to advise they what'd further cost after calling them about it, I was passed to a number of different people whist on the phone for sometime in the end I paid the amount due to not having the time, to fight it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Extremely dissatisfied customer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JackieDeSouza on 20/12/2016

Back in August of this year I moved house and cancelled my home contents insurance policy with Churchill. I also cancelled my direct debit. Days later I received a letter from Churchill stating that I still owed them £12.15 which I believe related to a cancellation fee. I rang Churchill with a view to reinstating the policy at my new address. My call was eventually answered but after being put on hold for approximately 25 minutes and not getting anywhere I eventually rang off. In all honesty I completely forgot about the £12.15 and received no further communication from Churchill. A week ago I started receiving text messages and phone calls from Moorecroft debt collectors. As they gave no indication what their call related to, I believed that Moorecroft had the wrong contact details. For three days I received both a text message and a phone call from Moorecroft and I eventually got through to them only to find that they were aggressively chasing the £12.15!! Seriously. I immediately paid the money. Needless to say, I won't be using Churchill for home insurance again. Sadly my car insurance policy is also with them but is due for renewal in January. I'll obviously be looking to move to another company. I've had to give an overall rating of 1 star to allow this review to be posted but would, if possible, have marked it zero.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Awful home emergency experience!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pfWoods226 on 06/12/2016

Taken 4 hours to get through the EMERGENCY line to be told that I'm reporting too late in a day so some one will come the next day. Spend the day waiting at home only to be told engineer has attended but no one was at the property! No one rang the bell and no one has called me! Reported to complaints manager only to be told the same thing over and over again: the engineer has been and is not coming back! No apology whatsoever horrible responses to complaint. Over 24 hrs with leaking boiler no heating or hot water and I am told someone will come tomorrow and I'll left wondering if they will ring my door belll this time! Worst experience ever! Not worth your time or money! Just to stress out that is the emergency response - if that's the best they can do...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“churchill why the price is so cheap”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Littlelg225 on 05/12/2016

they don't pay out that's why its so cheap they could sell it for £1 and if they don't pay they still make money worst insurance company 2 tiles blew off my roof at 44 mph wind speed churchill said you are only covered if its a storm winds above 55 mph so beware when you think you are fully covered think again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Lost Quote- poor IT ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MoniqueMeyer on 04/12/2016

I was about to take out house insurance with Churchill, being happy with the quote and it being a recommended provider by a "which" etc. I duly received an email with my quote and reference number & attempted to purchase. Had over 40 minutes of frustration trying to log on (" your log on details matched but account still locked"). Eventually got on - no quote to be found, just an out of date car quote . If this is a sample of service - then I am now going to another provider - anyone considering Churchill may wish to note the issues I had just trying to buy- never mind if I ever needed to claim. Very disappointing & expected much more

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Don't use them. Absolutely awful when it comes to claiming”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Montgomerydz59 on 02/12/2016

My daughter's mobile 'phone was stolen. Simple enough I thought. We had a crime number and the receipt. The excess on my Churchill home insurance policy is pretty high at £250 but I thought "oh well, I'll claim anyway". Churchill pass their claims off to a 3rd party called Direct Validation Services who are useless. Because it was an Apple iPhone bought directly from the Apple Store online the only way to block the device was to use the Apple software "Find My Phone" which allows you to wipe the 'phone. Normally you can ring your mobile provider if you bought your mobile on contract still. They will then block something called the IMEI (the unique number that identifies your device) on a big database that prevents the 'phone from being sold on. Apple don't support this. We did block the Virgin SIMcard but Apple were adamant "just use Find My Phone". I tried everything. Ringing Apple (not easy to find a number), emailing, looking at forums online. All give the same answer. Apple don't block the IMEI. It's well known apparently. This resulted in me going round the same loop, like ground hog day, with Direct Validation Services. Eventually they agreed to use a screen shot of the 'phone showing as deactivated on the Apple Find My Phone app as evidence and said "ok your insurer will be in touch to settle". When they didn't contact me I rang Churchill to be told "It's not blocked on the IMEI database". This is the fourth time I've been through this now and has taken two months. I had quite a few things insured with Churchill as do my family. I will be moving all of them to someone else and NEVER using Churchill again. Absolutely awful service. They even said to me "It's never been a problem before". Really Churchill? You're telling me that Apple's standard way of dealing with this has not come up before? That you personally know about this and that this is a good thing to say to a customer who has been put through the mill on the 'phone? To be honest, I felt like a criminal for evening daring to try to claim. They are just utterly useless. DO NOT USE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“water leak ”

★★★★★

written by 1975Quinlan on 17/11/2016

had water leak and had a fantastic response by churchill

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Churchill only takes money - no help whattsoever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alessandrou384 on 16/09/2016

I provided video where driver admits own fault and that pay for damage of my car. Now it is four months Churchill done nothing to charge the 3rd party for the damage saying I have not enough evidence. Churchill is rubbish, they know only how charge you monthly but if something happen than don't care about you. It is useless insurance company. Avoid!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Genuine Claim Refused by dishonest Churchill”

★★☆☆☆

written by Brielle1984 on 14/09/2016

Lodged a claim at the beginning of August for damage to our underground sewage tank. Checked policy and covers accidental damage to underground pipes & tanks providing services to & from the home. Specialist drainage assessor visited within a week or so and said the damage has been caused by ground movement and explain that it's the insurance company's job to put you back in a position before the damage occurred and he'd make his report and send it to Churchill. After a week I chased Churchill, they contact drainage people, report wasn't finished, they'd call me later that day - no call. I called back 2 days later and was told exactly the same thing, yet again no call back. This went on for about another week and eventually after almost 2 weeks of me calling they finally called back to tell me that the claim was rejected as it was poor workmanship & wear and tear - both are policy exclusions. I requested a copy of the report as if it was written by the same guy that came out then surely that's not right as that wasn't what he told me. Was told report would be posted, after a week nothing. Called Churchill again to ask for them to put the reasons for the rejection in writing & to chase the report. Was told they'd get them sent out and would be with me by end of the week - nothing arrived. Called Churchill again after a week, was spun the same line, we'll get this sent out within the next two days - nothing!!! Today, finally had enough. Called them again and told them if I do not receive the letter & report by Friday then it's a call to the Financial Ombudsmen's office. It's obvious that they don't want me to see this report as it doesn't suit what they've told me. I certainly won't be renewing and will fight them as they clearly just say NO in the hope you'll go away.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“GO ELSEWHERE FOR INSURANCE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kincaidwx63 on 09/09/2016

Been with churchill for a number of years,never claimed.But now l need to claim was passed from one place to another then told l could not claim.Flooded from flat above not my fault, told cannot even claim on their insurance as not their fault. Oh yes l say oh no

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“strange feedback request”

★★☆☆☆

written by cruiseman007 on 15/03/2016

After contacting churchill I'm asked for customer service feedback via text messages. When I send text I'm informed by mobile provider that the call will incur additional charges. Why has a Churchill set up a feedback service which is for their advantage but charges it's customers? I've tried to contact them before with this, but had no reply. .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Great Price & Schedule”

★★★★★

written by 1970Sharpe on 29/02/2016

Only just bought the policy, but it ticked all of my boxes, including 60 days unoccupancy, at roughly 50% of the price from other well known names. Obviously and claim will be the real test but so far so excellent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Good so far”

★★★★★

written by dcallaghan on 20/02/2016

Made a claim for childs ipad, which had a large glass of water knocked onto it, smashing the screen and filling with water. Claim was handled quickly and efficiently and a voucher was emailed in a week to purchase an exact replacement because it couldn't be repaired. They did seem a little surprised I accepted an exact replacement for some reason. Well, why wouldn't I? Based on my experience i have recommended to friends and family.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“First ever and genuine claim refused.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Marrianne2016 on 18/02/2016

I have never made a claim on any home insurance policy until a recent claim with Churchill Home Insurance was refused. My cottage one morning had water gushing down the sitting room walls in two places, It is a hi-spec and well maintained property, as it was an emergency i called in a plumber who could not identify the source of the problem, whether it was the boiler or a leak from the bathroom. He had to cut away a large part of the sitting room ceiling as i have a sealed wet room.The leak was from the sewage pipe connecter to the toilet, also sealed. i rang Churchill....not covered??? "we don't cover wear and tear"..excuse me the wet room was fitted 18 months ago. "we don't cover plumbing unless you take out extra cover" that was the first i had heard. What about the cost of replacing the ceiling? "we charge an excess of £350 for water damage" but my agreed excess is £50 which is why i pay more for the cover. Just don't bother with this company they clearly have a policy of not paying out and i am over a thousand pounds worse off even without the premiums i have paid all year.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview