Tesco Home Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Tesco Home Insurance
★☆☆☆☆
1.2
7.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tesco Home Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Tesco Home Insurance

Latest Reviews

“Refused Claim after all possessions destroyed by damp.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 007393 on 23/05/2024

The Insurer unfairly cancelled my Home Insurance after all my possessions and home were destroyed in an accidental fire. Their behaviour SO bad that the FCA Ombudsman upheld my complaint, censured and fined them, then listed the outrage as a Case Study upon their FCA Website. 18 months+ after incident they still have not rebuilt my home. Another Complaint in process (May 2024) I would advise anyone not to consider this organisation. Ombudsman Ruling Here

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Kitchen fire claim ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Silvatf400 on 19/05/2024

If you’re currently reading reviews and I mid decision on whether to use Tesco house insurance DONT DO IT ! Go anywhere else They and their loss adjusting company are atrocious ! Six months later and absolutely nowhere ! In fact backwards Tell your friends and family! Don’t touch Tesco home insurance

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

007393's Comment

Written on: 23/05/2024

Agreed 100%.
Ombudsman posted my case after fining this "company". 18 months later haven't even started to repair. In my late 60's I've been homeless since. It is estimated another 9 months before hame is liveable again.

I would not recommend anyone to "cover" their home with Tesco Home Insurance.

18+ months later another Complaint to FCA Ombudsman planned as they haven't even started to repair my property despite the ruling, fine and censure by Ombudsman who listed the Complaint upon their own website.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“No pay out”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Poole51 on 16/05/2024

Been with Tesco home insurance got the accidental cover, not claimed before before but out tv accidentally was dropped when moving so thought ok let’s get it through Tesco, daughters iPad she accidentally broke charge point so thought I’d check if it was covered, was told yes but 2 months later and 4 phone calls later and still nothing I will not be using Tesco insurance ever again! I am also with pet insurance with them but with how bad I think I think they av been in definitely renewing elsewhere when time comes! They treat you bad when you need to claim! Definitely avoid people

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Going Down Hill at Hypoboliic velocity ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rochelh309 on 02/05/2024

So here we go. 1st year home insurance cost £116.00. 2nd Year renewal insurance cost £129.00. 3rd year renewal insurance cost £185.00 I've never claimed at all, so Tesco my question is explain to me why the increase ? Don't tell me the bad weather and building materials cost have gone up ? If that's the case then you should be directing the increase to the claimants. You are quite frankly on a pathway where it will become unaffordable. Yet you promote every little helps ? Who do you help ? It certainly isn't me. Regards

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“DISGUSTING!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mightyatom64 on 30/03/2024

Disgraceful having been a customer for over 10 years and being an employee with tesco thought i would be treated with dignity and respect oh how wrong was I. I will not be renewing my cover After 1 claim in 10 yrs.Sorry you are not covered ! What the hell have i been paying premiums for?? Think long and hard before deciding to ggo with Tesco contents and Buildings cover! How the hell did they get a defacto rating of 5

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

007393's Response to Mightyatom64's Review

Written on: 23/05/2024

I would not recommend anyone to "cover" their home with Tesco Home Insurance.

18+ months later another Complaint to FCA Ombudsman planned as they haven't even started to repair my property despite the ruling, fine and censure by Ombudsman who listed the Complaint upon their own website.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Shocking company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Philipsouthgate1 on 18/03/2024

I got burgled in January 24 had bloke come out to take details now march 18th still no news I have rung the company 5 times keep getting told waiting on police report spoken to police they have said police report been emailed over Will not renew with tesco worse company ever .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Dishonest and shameful service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by annehughesroonie on 09/03/2024

My claim was refused despite having emergency cover I was turned down because I called an emergency plumber first as my shower was as blocked. After checking online and read that calling a plumber is the first thing I I should do - I followed their advice!!! Was told Tesco are not responsible for additional cover but my policy doesn’t tell me who is!!  Swindlers. Do not use Tesco ins, I’m cancelling mine !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Home & Contents Insurance”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Oldtimer24 on 20/11/2023

Tesco bank advertise Defaqto 5 Star quality rating for their home insurance services. After being quoted a reasonable price I took out combined home & contents insurance for my modest bungalow. Despite no claims or changes to circumstances the following year they increased the premium by almost 85%, presumably hoping I would agree to automatic renewal. We know that many companies are up to the same shady business practices with loyal customers but Tesco are excessive. Tesco customer services team agreed the price increase was more than would be expected but had no explanation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

“Promise of repair ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JayneyPauly on 10/10/2023

After 7 months of constant phone calls and Emails, this has to be the very worst company ever. We have a sewage pipe that has collapsed under the house. This happened in January. By the time we arranged for dyno rod to come and see what the problem was ( x3 times at £170 a visit) it was then March. Tesco agreed to repair back then. This is a 5 bath house which we purchased in October 22 so that I could see my family more. The collapsing of the sewer pipe means that we can only use 2 toilets so no visitors all year and we also can not use the washing machine at all. They know all of this and yet we have been ignored pretty much for 7 months now. It’s now October and can not afford laundrette costs any more. DO Not Touch this company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Still waiting!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Helen293 on 10/09/2023

Looks like I'll have to wait in the queue on the phone as no answer to email that I sent some time ago!!! Clearly they don't read their emails.!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Rude, arrogant call centre staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Oglepv333 on 26/06/2023

I tried to claim on Tesco house insurance for storm damage as my roof started leaking after a few storms hit us within a couple of weeks! The mortar had been absolutely hammered out and some tiles started to look wonky….water poured into my garage damaging the ceiling, electrics & a few random stored items (which I didn’t even want to claim for) they made me wait a week stressing waiting for another storm before they sent out a surveyor from the Claims Consotium…he turned up, took a few photos of my roof with a basic digital camera, from the ground on a telescopic pole. He determined wear & tear! I was mortified. (Roof is apx 10years old) I called Tesco to ask if I can appeal this decision, they said no. I asked what about the internal damage from the water that had come in….he said it’s not covered as it’s your responsibility to maintain your property! I pointed out that I had a new roof apx 10 years ago. This roof has never had a problem until these mad storms hit repeatedly in a short period of time. I said what happens if my roof collapses? Can I claim then? He said no as you’ve been informed you need to repair it! My roof has gone from perfect to damaged within 2 weeks…another few storms whilst I wait for a roofer to do the mortar could destroy my roof! He said-it’s your responsibility. (His voice and attitude honestly made me want to bounce his head off my work top! But despite this I remained calm & polite.) end result is….I’ve had house insurance for the last 24 years….now I want to claim because I can’t afford to repair all of this storm damage and they fob me off with wear & tear!!! Fuming. I will not recommend & I will be following up by contacting their ombudsman. DON’T BUY TESCO HOME INSURANCE!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 10 0

“Won't Pay up!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by andyody on 01/03/2023

After being burgled they would not pay up, despite paying extra for Accidental cover. They said a conservatory being built on the back invalidated the insurance because I had not informed them Absolutely nothing to do with the burglary or loss.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

“Avoid giving them a zero not a one! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Welshgirlbeckie on 15/02/2023

I wouldn’t give Tesco home insurance a one star! I would give them a zero! My father in law is 76 and had water pouring through his bedroom ceiling on the 7th January 2023. And ceiling collapsed on his bed luckily he was not in it. Called Tesco insurance straight away they sent out a surveyor out 2 days later, he went up on my fathers in laws ladder looked in attic and said it was condensation took photos of the front of roof but not the back of roof where my father in laws bedroom is. Tesco refused to pay out! So we got a roofer and he sent us photos of the hole in the back of roof from tiles slipped due to storm damage. so then we sent the photos of to Tesco insurance. They still wouldn’t pay out so put a complaint in now they want a report of the roofing company which we have now sent of! Let’s see what excuses they come out with now! Tesco take your money but will give you nothing but stress when you put a claim in! Please what ever you do…do not use this company read all the reviews they got because we didn’t big mistake on our part!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 0

“Home insurance claim”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RachelA1976 on 06/06/2022

Absolutely shocking company and the company they use when making a claim. 13 weeks I've been waiting for them to sort my claim, I've been fobbed off everytime I've spoken to them. They don't reply to emails Absolutely disgusting service, they quick enough in taking my money each month, I have a medical condition and still I get fobbed off. Never ever will I go with this company again and I will be warning friends and family, rude customer service. Maybe I should stop my payments until they sort it as they are breaking their contract. Tesco home insurance should be ashamed of themselves. I wish I had read the reviews before choosing them. They have no empathy and do not care about their customers or their wellbeing. Trading standards should surly be involved

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 11 0

“Unbelievably bad service!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jurgenjay on 07/03/2022

Very bad customer service! Promised me 4 times to call me back but never.... And the people on the phone not nice either, kind of arrogant although not sure why that comes from... Especially the first young man from Claim team, very impatient and rude! When I found they put a claim record on my account, I called to explain that was just a call enquiry to check if I have emergency cover. But the at the time the agent asked me why I asked this question, I told her I suspected a possible leak. If I don't have the emergency cover I will find my own plumber to check. I thought that's it. But only recently I found they put this as a claim! What a joke! I used my owner plumber checked it, he concluded it was not leaking. When I spoke to that first agent a young man sounded like, he did not care what I said at all! He simply said because I called Claim department number, they will record that as a claim! Unless I had called Customer Service number. I asked him just because I called that number you put it as a claim record?! He confirmed yes! That's the rule! I couldn't understand it and tried to explain what it was, he was very rude and told me: I had said it if you asked this again, I will hung on the phone! So when I tried to explain, he just hang up the phone! Last year, when I chose Tesco Insurance it was because Tesco's reputation! I thought Tesco Home Insurance could be as good as Tesco supermarket's big name, but, that young customer service agent just a shock to me! Badly damaged Tesco's image!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 11 0

“Very Poor Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by qeKenney390 on 25/07/2020

Tesco Home Insurance - we were with them for a few years. We wont be renewing here’s out experience: 1. We called TESCO to check whether our policy covered locating a leaking pipe. We did not make a claim and we found that there was no leak in the pipes. Tesco recorded this as a claim and then increased our premium in-year. 2. We complained to Tesco that we had not made a claim - they did nothing about it. 3. We called TESCO to confirm that a crack in an external wall wasn’t anything sinister. There response was awful, they were very unhelpful and almost adversarial towards us. There wasn’t anything wrong as the crack was as a result of replacing a door. No claim was made. Recommendation:n. Avoid. Looks good but they are unhelpful and adversarial if you ever actually need them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 13 0

“Never use this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bfreeman22 on 16/01/2020

I took extra home insurance cover for emergency home care incase my heating failed. Sadly it did. The service I received was horrendous. They sent two plumbers out and both said the boiler was a good one and could be repaired. However, Tesco insurance said they would not pay for repair as it would cost £1180. I had £1000 protection so thought I could pay the rest. They refused to change their mind and offered me £100 towards the cost of a new boiler. I have since had British gas out who confirmed my boiler is one of their best and no way would it cost that amount to repair it. I have one of their engineerstaff coming out today to repair it. Tesco home insurance has left me with no heating or water as they told me to turn my water off at the mains which, I have soon learned was a peace of nonsense. Please don't use this company it's way too stressful trying to get through or to get the service you pay for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Worse company going ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jacktibet on 11/12/2019

So I have had house and contents insurence for over 35 years now and never made a claim . So I went with tesco two years ago . So in April a new fridge freezer from Miele went wrong after just 4 weeks and we lost over £250 in food as a guess and this had happened a month before . After talking about loosing all this food a friend said claim for the loss . So yes I made a phone call was told I was covered but had to pay the first £200 , well I said it’s not worth it . And she said ok that’s fine . Now the phone call was only 2 min long and never thought any thing about it . So my email come threw a few weeks ago . And OMG it’s gone up £120 more . Why also on the wording “ have you made a claim “ YES . No I never so I ring up to be told it was a loss and they have to put this down . I said the wording says have you made a claim not did you lose . For what the woman just said well do you want to carry on with us or not . How rude I asked if I could speak to a manager and this rude woman just said she will tell you the same thing . I said I never made a claim and the loss was mine not yours . So reading on the renewal there was so many mistakes I thought that’s it they won’t every get my money again or in there shops because the woman was just so rude . Happy to say I am with the Halifax now and almost £200 cheaper . Also we now shop in sainsbury . Food is better .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 1

“after policy shot up I decided to cancel by just not...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Zion169 on 04/11/2018

after policy shot up I decided to cancel by just not renewing policy. after 14 days when my policy was due to start with them i got a letter saying I could get prosecuted for non payment of policy so rang them up. they said I had to pay £45 policy cancellation fee even though didn't get any letters or emails explaining this till it was too late. had to pay fee. I recommend anyone not to go with them. terrible service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amber59's Comment

Written on: 18/01/2019

The exact same thing happened to me they still send me email which state I must get in touch with them and when I do nothing seems to get sorted out like going round in circles find it all very confusing they gave me no notice that my policy would be renewed and now say I owe them money and wanted to see my new policy with another provider but cos it was not the same as I had with them I owe them money confusing or what no I would not recommend this company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“waterpipe flood damage”

★★★★★

written by Kevinmcpadden on 14/10/2018

We recently had a burst pipe over garage. Property consortium(via Tesco insurance) handled the whole of the work involved. repairs and replacement costs approx. £14.000 were completed with efficiency and expertise. we would highly recommend to everyone. We have just renewed with Tesco very slightly higher than some compare sights but worth the peace of mind

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Kris444 on 22nd January 2016 Report this content
I bought home insurance policy with Tesco few months ago. This month I was notified by the freeholder that there will be some external works to my block of flats and I need to update the insurers because of the scaffolding. I did so, and ended up with lots of exclusions - so now I have content cover that only covers me against fire. No cover against theft, accidents or malicious damage. I tried to have them overturn the endorsments, to complain, but they ignore me. There is no complaints procedure, no email to write to. I don't know what to do, now I am not covered, but 'have cover'. Can I sue them and if yes, where? Do I cancel this policy and replace it with another one? The freeholder just said that they never had that type of experience, it's not regular procedure. I regret ever buying the policy, I wish I visited this site before I did so.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview