Vision Express - www.visionexpress.com

★★☆☆☆
1.7
15.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Vision Express - www.visionexpress.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Exceptional service”

★★★★★

written by on 06/05/2024

I had an eye test recently at the Oxford store and chose new spectacles. My experience at this store was Exceptional. The optometrist was very Thorough and answered any questions I asked And explained everything to me about the health of My eyes. My initial exam was carried out by A lady explained what she was doing And was very friendly. After my exam I saw the same lady who helped chose my eyewear she was really nice And very chatty she was very experience and knew what she was doing I felt she really cared about What she was doing and very attentive I hope I see her again on my next visit. I came away from the store a happy customer. Thank you. And hope to see you again

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst service ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AydanKearns418 on 05/04/2024

I will never ever use their service again. First, I went for an eye appointment, everything went fine. They said they will deliver the trial contact lenses but did not happen, so didn’t bother too much about it. Then, they called me after three months again stating I need an eye appointment. I was quite baffled as I just had my eye check few months back. I went to the appointment anyway and they also don’t know why I was scheduled for an eye appointment. The lady doctor then just did additional checks and gave me the trial contact lenses stating that I try them on and scheduled me for another appointment in a month to see if there are any issues with the contacts and if none then I can place my order. So after a month, they gave me a call and I had my eye check up again. At this time, they asked me to place my order for contact lenses which I can collect at a later date, and I ordered contact lenses good for a month. More than a week after, they called me back stating that my order was ready. I went to their store, and the staff gave me contact lenses. I was not able to check if they are correct as I was confident that those are the contact lenses that I ordered. When I got back home, I check the contact lenses that were given to me and it was not the prescription lenses that I ordered. Rather, they were trial lenses and not for resale as stated in the packaging; it is only good for ten days as well and not for a month as I have purchased. I gave their branch a call multiple times, and to no surprise, they are not picking up the call. It’s just been ringing endlessly. So I gave the main customer service a call, and they said they will email the Bromley branch. Tried to call the Bromley branch again but to no avail. It is disappointing to have their services so save yourself the headache and never ever go to this branch. They don’t have good customer service at all.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jazzy23 on 30/12/2023

called to ask how to pause my direct debit, for contact lenses (as I had built up a backlog of them) the woman consequently put the phone down on me. I called back straight away but no one answered. I’m disappointed with them. They’re great at taking your money but a simple customer service question, such as pausing a direct debit obviously isn’t worth them bothering with. I shall now cancel it completely and go elsewhere. They don’t deserve the business.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Horrible Company. Avoid. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bellis28 on 21/11/2023

I was a Vision Express customer for 17 years. Notice the past tense. My last eye test and prescription experience was such a nightmare that I will NEVER use them again. I had my regular two-year check-up at their Oxford ST store in central London. They said my prescription had changed and gave me a new one. I had new lenses fitted to my glasses, and the first time I put them on I knew something was wrong. They told me to stick with it and I'd get used to it, but I didn't, so I went back. And I went back again. And again. They kept faffing about with the layout of the lenses (I wear varifocals) but it took them four months to get round to offering me another eye test. After my second eye test, I was given a new prescription. That one was wrong too. I asked them again to fix it. They refused. Six months after my original eye test I eventually gave up and went to a different optician, who gave me a different prescription again to the ones that Vision Express had given me, and all is well now. Vision Express used to be trustworthy and reliable. No more. Now they have incompetent, second-rate opticians, vacuous sales staff, and disreputable, untrustworthy and unscrupulous management. I'd give them no stars if I could.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Absolutely awful - hiked up prices and zero customer...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nabeelsheikh on 28/10/2023

Even 1 star is too much for this company. Reglazed my frames with the highest specification lenses from these guys that cost close to £300. Within 6 months, the scratch proof coating had come off. Went back to them and they said there’s nothing they can do about it as it's not within their 100-day guarantee. This company used to be good but is now awful. Hiked-up prices - do yourself a favour and get lenses online - Vision Express will try and tell you online lenses will be low quality, but they are far better than the rubbish these guys sell!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NathalyKerr on 09/05/2023

Having damaged my glasses, which I now understand are not that old - I visited the store to see if they could be repaired under whatever policy they VE have. The gentleman who attended me was very dismissive, offered no help. When I asked if he could check the system, I was informed the records won't be there now, and added we no longer stock that frame. However, when I rang the store today, a lady informed me that all my records were on the system - wondering then in that case, why was I treated with such a dismissive attitude when it came to customer service, left stranded with broken glasses - As I informed on the telephone, I will not be using Vision Express ever again.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Purchased varifocals at the Weymouth branch for my...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Flawedgoods23 on 05/05/2023

Purchased varifocals at the Weymouth branch for my husband last year. When he tried them on in store, he explained that the right peripheral vision was blurred. He was told to persevere with them and all would be fine. It wasn't fine and after a few months he went back again to say there's been no improvement and he'd like to get them replaced or repaired as they were defective. The manager took us into a side room out of earshot of other customers. She as good as called my husband a liar when he assured her he'd spoken to two members of staff about the spectacles. Her reply was, 'it's your word against theirs'. She said there was no record on the system to say he'd complained. She said he'd gone past the free 100 day returns policy, therefore there was nothing that could be done other than to offer a free eye test as compensation! He's a pensioner so gets free eye tests anyway! I wrote to head office on his behalf to complain, (as advised by Trading Standards). We got an automated response saying pretty much the same as the manager in store. It was quite stressful trying to get the point across to them as they didn't seem to be listening. No-one even asked to look at the spectacles. My husband didn't ask for a refund to start with, just the spectacles repaired or adjusted. They were not fit for purpose and he was unable to wear them. We gave up in the end, which is what they expected us to do I suppose. He has since registered with a local optician who spotted the lenses/frames were all askew and straightened them in 5 minutes. Job done! Why couldn't Vision Express have done this? It was a simple adjustment that could've been rectified in store. They have now lost 5 customers including myself, my husband and 3 other members of my family! Extremely poor customer service and doesn't deserve even 1 star!

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Feel really sham”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BeauJordan323 on 28/03/2023

It is the first time I have been to Vision Express. I bought ONE pair of glasses as opposed to my usual 2 pairs because I wanted to cut down on my expenses as I am a pensioner. For that one pair I was charged £425, which was staggering to me, but I didn't feel I could question the cost at the time, because I thought I had maybe received a more reasonable charge at my regular opticians than I thought!. However, my wife has just been elsewhere and bought not one, but two pairs of glasses, with the same reactolite lenses, variphocal and with an anti glare coating both in a more expensive frame. The full cost of her glasses totalled less that half what I was charged for one pair and received a far superior service than I did. My glasses on collection were just given to me in the box with no checking or fitting, barely any comment at all. I will not be returning......

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Very professional team fantastic customer service ”

★★★★★

written by Testsmyeyes on 02/02/2023

Vision express at Tesco Horwich They make a very special team They are kind and caring,explain every test and examination as they go through then It’s the most comfortable opticians I have been to,you are treated with care and not like your being rushed through the system They are a credit to Vision Express

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AWFUL - they make a MOCKERY out of their customers”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nekkio999 on 18/03/2022

I keep being given dispatch dates for my order 3 times. 3 new deliver dates in 2 weeks, and no glasses yet. Stay away from these people, they are awful. They just make things up as they go along. 

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Sell Sell Sell”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lincoln26 on 17/02/2022

I went into VE in Aberdeens Bon-acccord centre for my yearly check up on Saturday. I was seen promptly by a very polite young lady who i presumed was the optometrist. I soon got the impression that she was very inexperienced, so what, as long as she was trained to do the job. My 1st mistake was having a set of glasses around my neck that were bought elsewhere, she insisted on me giving them to her, i was not comfortable doing this and told her so saying they were bought with the details furnished by my last VE eye test( 2nd mistake) i was only there for an eye test ( 3rd mistake), however i relented as she was polite, she struggled to do whatever she was trying to do with them and handed them back to me. She then offered me an in depth test that would cost me an extra £10 which i declined, i told her that as i had Type1 diabetes the hospital would do the same test, think that was my 4th mistake. She then proceeded to puff my eyes very badly, very uncomfortable, the worst in 20 years of having it done, at some point she left the room and and came back and asked for my glasses again, this time i refused. She left again and someone else came in, again Demanding i hand my glasses over, again i refused, this time she led me out of the room and asked me to sit down. Then a third assistant came over and took me to a different room (nearer the main door) again but even more aggressively, she insisted on me handing my glasses over, She left in a strop when i admittedly tried to admonish her( by wagging my finger at her) i know, that was bad. Next thing the second assistant came in and told me to leave. An horrendous experience, will not set foot there again, and judging by the reviews i have now read i will not even waste time complaining to their Complaints dept.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Appalling and incompetent ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Vogelld403 on 20/11/2021

After sending the wrong prescription lenses and various fake promises to rectify the error which has yet to be rectified 8 weeks (!!!!) later, they continue to fob me off probably hoping I can simply wait it out until the end of 12 weeks. Meanwhile, I am unable to drive my car safely. How foolish and stupid they are.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Teririble!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 244Ferguson on 26/10/2021

After 6 weeks my glasses were not ready I ask a refund and I had to call them 2-4 times for my money. Not got them yet . AVOID THEM!!!!

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Rude, patronizing and bad service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MichaelNarang on 09/09/2021

I went for an eye check up for spectacles and contact lens. They told me that my distance lenses aha changed. I agreed that I will change my lenses for the new ones and paid for the charge. They told me it’ll take two weeks. As my contact lens have also changed, they told me they’ll give some samples for me to try. When I asked for it in the shop, they said they didn’t have any and they would post it to my home address. They never did. Today I went to the shop and was passed to the manager. He asked me to try the glasses and I pointed out that I’ve my old contacts in and couldn’t really see the difference. However the glasses did t fit on the bridge of my nose - he just squeeze the bridge support together. When I asked for the contact lens, I was told to make a new appointment- which I refused. Things got a bit heisted and then I was told not to swear which I hadn’t - practically calling me a liar. He was so patronizing and it seems all his defense was to say I swore at him I DID NOT! He told me to come back tomorrow for the new contact lens - almost dismissing me in his pathetic patronizing way. Is this what Vision Express is about and how they have managers to abuse customers? He should never be in a position where contact with the public is made.

Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Poor service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kevz3016 on 11/05/2021

Kettering tesco branch ,Got my prescription wrong on two occasions then took over 4 weeks to arrive, called to arrange a fitting then they lost a pair, when I received the new pair these also make my vision worse, lens is also fitted wrong and the glasses have been bent to fit it, please avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Misleading advertising and guarantees”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Francisco51 on 27/02/2021

Misleading information on returns guarantee. 60 day return begins on order date, not date of receiving product. No returns allowed as they say it's bespoke product so consumer rights don't apply. Expensive frames are cheap quality, mine fell apart on the FIRST day. Stay away, buyer BEWARE....

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Low Quality Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by m_z_ on 31/12/2020

I've ordered new lenses to my frame at the beginning of Dec.2020. The office in Tesco, Orpington, provided a test and prescription. I paid additional £59 for removing old lenses (a crazy price). I had counted on receiving the new glasses by Christmas, but a week before, they informed me they have broken my frame. OK, such things happen.. I cam to them the second time and they allowed me to choose another frame of similar cost. Today I cam e to them to pick up my order. I tried the glasses on. On one eye, the lens worked OK though the good vision was too close to the frame. On another eye, I could not distinguish between having a lens and without it. I left glasses till their manager come after holidays... The have screwed my Christmas and New Year celebration. I cannot use their "sorry".

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Bad experience ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shelbyk1976 on 10/12/2020

I had very bad experience in ilford store , I waited 2 months for my glasses and the staff couldn’t really give me an explanation regarding all this long wait. First they said was lost then they didn’t know , I don’t really recommend that store very unprofessional , not polite at all and also the manager very rude and not dealing with me in the right way . She didn’t care about what was happening to my glasses .

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Complete waste of time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Christinesedgefield on 14/09/2020

Had appointment for today, got text to remind me and tell me to call if I needed to cancel, I did not under any circumstances want to cancel, I arrived ten minutes before appointment time to be told they had tried to call as optician was off ill my phone showed no missed calls, next appointment not until October, thought they would have the decency to fit me in earlier, never again would I book with these people

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Replacement lense”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Marionarkwright on 01/04/2019

I am writing this on my wife's behalf as she cannot see to read, she had a cataract operation on th 25th March recommended by the hospital staff to have a clear lenses put in (varifocul lenses removed) the other lenses to stay as verifocul I took the glasses to vision express in Morpeth on the 26th March asked if this could be urgent, we were advised that it would normally take a week, however the assistant said you would put through as an urgent request, we have chased on three occasions and were told they would chase with the lab, received a call back today 1st April and was told it could be a few more days, this totally unacceptable, it is impacting on every day life my wife has distance through one eye but cannot read anything, I find in this day with technology it would take this long just to have a clear lenses fitted

Was this review helpful? 2 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview