VW T25 Campervan Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.5 / 5
92% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
VW T25 Campervan - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for VW T25 Campervan

VW T25 Campervan
VW T25 Campervan

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Dream of slowing down”

Written on: 22/09/2016 by Alex95 (1 review written)

Ive owned my 1982 air-cooled transporter for 3 years.iv replaced the fuel tank, front shocks, rear bake cylinders, a few hoses and belts and callers on the front disc brakes. Travelled the south island of NZ and have had no problems. I have bought all the past form JutsKampers Australia and are usually in stock and sent within 2 or 3 days. It is fitted with fridge, gas cooker sink with pump and chemical toilet (seat) and has a table that lifts off. Pop top and heaps of marine ply cupboards and space for tools, etc. We love driving it and can keep up with traffic on the open road except up hill where we take it easy. It has slowed us down and we stop anywhere we want and enjoy the view we a cuppa. It is worth the fun or hassle to carefully and slowly fix the little niggles before they become headaches. every one who sees it has a romanticism look in their eyes. Everyone can remember the days when life was this way. Hippy days

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neilelliott's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2020

Where do you use the loo, do you have a toilet tent?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Better than a T2 by far, but not as trendy.”

Written on: 24/07/2016 by g0oqx (3 reviews written)

I've had my 1.9 petrol Autosleeper T25 for four years now so I've had plenty of time to assess it. Bigger, faster, and far cheaper than a T2 so if you want to go camping, rather than just posing at car shows, it's a no brainer. Minor negatives include more need for regular maintenance than a modern van (e.g. change petrol filter every couple of years or else....), a noisy engine (tip: fit a good sound system). All my life up until buying this I only drove sports cars and sporty saloons and was reluctant to move to this mode of transport, but it's great fun to drive, sat high up in the captains seat, relaxed, less worry about speed cameras, and listening to great music.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“The right choice!”

Written on: 04/10/2014 by Lola385 (1 review written)

After looking at many T2 bays we went to see a T25 and totally fell in love with her. Lettice is an Autosleeper with a pop up top, 1600 Diesel water cooled and built in 1986, she is absolutely genuine and has been lovingly maintained by just two owners. She is roomy inside, reliable, comfortable and easy to drive. This is our first van, she gets looks wherever we go and we are adamant to keep her as original as possible. Some T2 owners are quite rude and make nasty remarks about her (hey guys I wouldnt do it to you!). It was such the right decision to make, even though the T2's are fab they were just too small for us inside and our doll does exactly what we want her to do. Just adore her!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“A versatile willing camper van that will seduce you.”

Written on: 24/06/2014 by Rydern34 (1 review written)

I recently bought a 1983 water cooled T25 camper, all though it needed quite a bit of attention to the body work, my wife and I decided to take it for a three day break, I soon got used to the high forward driving position, the steering was very easy with the large wheel and good turning circle, making parking very easy, I found that in tight spaces one could easily enter and leave the van via the side sliding door. The rock and roll bed was very comfortable and easy to set up, Pulling in to a camp site for the evening we were able to plug in to the site electrics and turn our fridge over to mains voltage. It is quite a powerful engine and one must keep an eye on the speedo as it is quite easy to be travelling to fast as the rear engine is rather quiet, . Off road she performed rather like my old Landrover with the suspension doing all that was expected of it..after three days I was still finding unexpected cupboards and storage places..the oil and water checks each morning were easily done as the rear number plate hinged down to reveal both of your filling points.. We travelled about one hundred and fifty miles through the Welsh mountains for our first trip, and both me and my wife fell in love with the camper all though we picked up some dirty fuel at one point and for about half an hour it did some kangerooing !! how ever it soon cleared and continued to run as smoothly as before..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“To buy or not to buy?”

Written on: 20/03/2013

Hi All. I am thinking about buying an 1990 T25, 2.1 petrol and use it as an everyday motor, does anybody know if this would cost me a small fortune to run?? also thinking about an LPG conversion, any thoughts?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Keithantsmith's Comment

Written on: 22/03/2013

Hiya
I own and currently run a 2.1 fuel injected version in my camper, it returns 25/26 mpg on motorways at 60 mph, 20 ish on urban roads and 15 ish in Canterbury city, which I avoid like the plague, really powerful workhorse which I like alot, however as prices rise the cost of running is restricting our holidays so have nearly completed collecting all the parts I need to convert to an aaz diesel, sluggish in comparison but much better on the pocket.
Regards
Keith

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“VW CAMPERVAN”

Written on: 10/02/2013

Our MUCH LOVED VW T25 Campervan is amazing, we love him! He's got a 2.0 litre water-cooled petrol engine and is sooooo reliable. When we first bought him we took him to our local VW garage we had to spend £1,200 to get him running to his best. He sounds so quiet. Anyone looking to buy one don't delay they will change your life! We have already been to the south of France with ours! He is just so much fun, we had Germans, Spanish, Italians and English all waving at us on are travels absolutely amazing. Love him, Love him :0

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“1.7diesel Leisuredrive T25”

Written on: 15/10/2012

I bought this vehicle as a 2 year old van with 28000 miles on it in 1987. I had it converted in Salford by Leisuredrive to a high-top but with 4 windows and no wardrobe, I also had a glass sunroof fitted instead of a mushroom vent. Both have proved wise decisions. The 1.6 Diesel 5 speed was fine in town, but patience was required on long journeys especially in Europe. The vehicle was used both as a car and holidays, no fridge or toilet, but Eberspacher D1LC Heater has been very reliable and has enabled all year round use. Gearbox died at 475000 miles and 1.6 engine at 650000miles. As at this time VW were 'disposing' of 1.7 full engines for £300-00 + VAT I made the obvious choice. The extra 12 BHP and torque made a fantastic difference and very few hills require a down-shift from 5th. Reliability has been fantastic, at 833000 miles I am into a body fettle as parts of the edges were becoming rat-eaten, however the floor and chassis are perfect, probably due to specialist wax injection prior to conversion in 1987.


I am also replacing all suspension bushes, steering rack,and most important rear wishbones, only found how corroded they were when removed a spring!!I change the oil every 6000 miles or 6 months, and gearbox oil Carlube (GLI4)+ SLICK50 every 2 years. I buy a 205 litre drum of Quantum 10/40 from VW, known quality and even now is less than £1-20 litre. Probably the best vehicle I have owned and at 38 mpg affordable to use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“1983 T25 Campervan. ”

Written on: 13/08/2012 by KeithJackson (1 review written)

Although the mileage is restricted for which the vehicle is fully comprehensively insured we are happy to have the cheaper option. The vehicle has a 1.6 diesel engine so it will never do excessive speeds and is essentially a pleasure vehicle. 2gether Insurance are providing satisfactory cover for our needs. I cannot give any opinion on having had a claim and hopefully will never need to make one. Contactability on the phone was good and do not forsee any trouble should I ever need to make contact in an emergency.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Colin is awesome”

Written on: 03/05/2012 by Alun123 (1 review written)

1981 2.0 litre aircooled,hard top, converted from a van in around 1990. Best thing I've ever done is buy Colin. Loads of charm and so much more pratical and well built than the bays, plus a third of the price...for now. The reason I went for a t25 partly was due to it not being as wide as normal van so better for on street parking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“This is my 2nd T25 ..sold the first hi-top to get a T2...”

Written on: 09/11/2010

This is my 2nd T25 ..sold the first hi-top to get a T2 early bay..This never happened and brought an older T25 holdsworth villa 3 .. The T25 is far better value and that much bigger to make it good for many uses .. It still has a sort of charm about it and is really the last of the VW campers that has that cult following .. Nothing against T4 & T5 they are great,but all-round thumbs up for me T25 ....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Quite an infectious vehicle! It grows on you and you...”

Written on: 10/10/2010

Quite an infectious vehicle! It grows on you and you become more and more attached. Its versatility as a camper is excellent and the tin top looks great lowered with a set of alloys.

Mine has the 1.9TD replacement newer engine which gives extra reliability. The driving position is high and all that glass gives great visibility. Power steering would have been a big plus and the gearbox is anything but refined, but there is a uniques pleasure in driving and camping in one of these. Research, chose carefully and enjoy. There is a huge wealth of support online for keeping them on the road.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nostalgic's Comment

Written on: 23/08/2012

Hi my name is Tony, can you please tel me when you say the gear box is anything but refined what do you mean. Ive been looking at one ( an F reg ) 1988/89 and found it a bit hard to get in gear.also they felt like they were round the wrong way . I normally drive an automatic for every day use and a Morris Minor for weekend fun and car show's so it may be just the point of getting used to it , its certainly not like anything i have driven before.
Thanks Tony.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“had mine just 9 months and it's great. 1990 with water...”

Written on: 23/03/2010 by robert26 (2 reviews written)

had mine just 9 months and it's great. 1990 with water cooled diesel engine. Slow going but who's in a rush when your out in your camper!
Rust is not to bad, some money spent on parts but cheap compared to the fun it gives. It puts a smile on our faces. Worth every penny spent on keeping it going.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“We originaly set out to buy a T2(bay), but when we...”

Written on: 18/05/2009

We originaly set out to buy a T2(bay), but when we went to view some vans at RCC in N/Wales my wife noticed an 89 T25 Club Joker (Westfalia). She took one look inside (whilst I went over it with a fine tooth comb) and the baby became our pride and joy. Like most VW's, you have to make them your own, which means splashing out the cash a little. There is little point buying a VW if you don't want to stand out from the crowd when you get to the camp site. And once we had our girl re-sprayed, and kitted out as our own surf bus she certainly turned heads. Many people say they are only good for short breaks...Rubbish. My wife an I took our son in the bus for a months tour of the south of France. Living the dream !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Hi, Mine is a 1990 Leisurehome Crusader. I bought it...”

Written on: 16/04/2009 by bornagain hippy (1 review written)

Hi, Mine is a 1990 Leisurehome Crusader. I bought it locally and privately here two years ago for £6,500 'As seen'. Although bodywork was o.k for its age, it had abviously been neglected mechanically (needed new clutch/steering linkage etc, plus a new Alternator, and last year I needed a new fuel tank and starter/solenoid unit. The Propex heater was sent back to them for an overhaul, and have now converted it to Calor gas as I refuse to pay the exhorbitant price for Camping Gaz (yeh, I know you can get it worldwide, but most of my camping is done in the UK - and you get the benefit of the bigger bottles!) So to date I recking I've spent about another three grand - but haven't regretted a penny of it! She now drives well, is really comfortable, spacious and warm. No problem in the high winds we get here in Orkney either (unlike my previous van - a Renault Trafic-based Hi-Top Holdsworth, which at only 1600cc was also terribly underpowered - particularly in snow) Yes, as someone else mentioned, a bit 'thirsty' - I reckon I'm getting 25 top on a run, and 20 around town - but you really have to balance that on what you'd be paying for B+B/Travellodge etc over a year. If you don't do a lot of 'overnighting'/'weekending' etc - then you've got the wrong vehicle in the first place! The 'plus' side is it parks as easy as a big estate or twin cab pick-up, and so can be used for the weekly shop, auctions/boot sales bargain hunting etc Mileage to date:180,000

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★★★★★

“The VW T25 is really nice, good driving position”

Written on: 13/04/2009

The VW T25 is really nice, good driving position

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“The VW T25 is good, cheap, easy to self maintain....”

Written on: 13/01/2009 by funat406 (2 reviews written)

The VW T25 is good, cheap, easy to self maintain. Great avaliabilty of spares. Good space.Looks cool when treated to a paint job.
T3 owners are usually not snobby chilled and having a great life without the HP, 65 is a good honest speed guv. A great all round bus.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aarondawe's Response to funat406's Review

Written on: 09/10/2010

what an honest review from an obvious t25 driver i know you are right about the waving as i also drive a t25 for the last 12 years

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nikkinoo84's Response to funat406's Review

Written on: 28/08/2012

can you tell me if a 1.6 Turbo diesel engine in a T25 is reliable!! obviously i'm not after a racing van but reliable enough for camping adventures? :)
thanks

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“My Volkswagen T25 is an 1982 2l air cooled camper. The...”

Written on: 04/01/2009 by Kombi Dad (1 review written)

My Volkswagen T25 is an 1982 2l air cooled camper. The only real modifications to it has been raising it to the height of a synchro and fitting of a locking diff which has overcome my original bad points comments. I have covered about 300,000 kms in it in all kind of conditions in Australia and it has proven to be reliable with an almost go anywhere capability. On the later camping trips I have towed a 6X4 trailer which has proven a great benefit. Fuel consumption has been at about 23mpg at 95 Kph towing the trailer. It will cruise at 110 with the trailer but consumption goes way down. It does get a little slow on the hills whilst towing the trailer but is a small price to pay for the convenience.
All in all it has been great to drive in the conditions from snow to bulldust. It is pretty well sealed as we do not get much dust entry in the outback.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Comfort and space - my 20 year old Westfalia pop-top...”

Written on: 07/11/2008 by Oz Wanderer (1 review written)

Comfort and space - my 20 year old Westfalia pop-top camper layout as good as it gets in design and quality. Has a style (much admired) lacking in newer vans. 1.6 TDI motor quiet, reliable, economical (30+mpg) and strong enough for most. Robust build, good ride, excellent driving position. Unlike larger vans, I can park this one anywhere. I bought my van in August 2008 and am now touring Europe in it. It looks very compact compared with the monstrous 'mobile homes' you see on most camp sites. If you like a comfortable but simpler approach to touring, a good T25 is hard to beat - and a huge technical improvement over the old splits and bays (cute tho' they are!).
The 1.6 TDI is no tyre-burner, but adequate for touring, even on motorways. Cruises beautifully and very economically at 80kph - which is a good speed if you are sight-seeing along the way.
I fitted extra security mortice locks to all the doors, as the factory locks (like on most vehicles) are rubbish.
Am enjoying it so much, I will probably ship it back to Oz when I leave in 2009.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

425407_Llamapup's Response to Oz Wanderer's Review

Written on: 15/12/2008

I found this review helpful because it was detailed, descriptive.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“1984 Volkswagen T25 Camper 4 berth it is a 1984 model...”

Written on: 15/09/2008 by craigessmith (1 review written)

1984 Volkswagen T25 Camper 4 berth it is a 1984 model with a 1.9 turbo diesel engine and the economical 5 speed gearbox. I am the third owner of this magnificent camper and have owned and enjoyed it for the last 12 years. The van has always been well maintained and has a very extensive/well documented service history, complete wth all the old m.o.t certificates. The camper has covered only 96,000 miles from new. In 2002 a brand new Volkswagen factory 1.9 turbo diesel engine was fitted. This engine has now covered 8,000 miles. The turbo unit was fully reconditioned and a new clutch was fitted at the same time. The van also has the economical and desirable 5 speed gearbox which makes this an excellent motorway cruiser and a powerful hill /mountain climber. Ideal for the lake district or the Alps. The camper also comes with a virtually new 3 by 3 metre drive awning awning which has a seperate double bedroom.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It took us (2 adults and 3 children) through the Alps,...”

Written on: 30/10/2006 by lillybet (1 review written)

It took us (2 adults and 3 children) through the Alps, across the entire south coast and up through the Dordogne to Paris and then back home at a total cost of £485 including the Ferry! The campsites in France are very reasonable and free if you use the Aires so we came back with money left over to pay for a new sun roof!

2007: Touring southern Greece

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview