Benenden Healthcare Health Insurance Reviews

★★★☆☆
2.5 / 5
35% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Benenden Healthcare Health Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Benenden Healthcare Health Insurance

Benenden Healthcare Health Insurance

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Catchment area if you live within 2 hours”

Written on: 31/08/2019 by 802160681 (1 review written)

Been a member for over 30 years and used to work for me fine.Used the hospital twice in the the last couple of years and they have changed their policy and I am unhappy that they now require me to attend the hospital instead of using a local consultant and claiming money back because I live within 2 hours of the hospital (71 miles away and supposedly 1hour 35 mins to get there by car ,if you have one that is),they don’t mention how long it takes by train!Both journeys were a nightmare there… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Physiopherapy assistance”

Written on: 11/07/2018

Customer service were very efficient and provided me with the guidance I required and said rehab work would contact me. This they did at the correct time on the right day. Spoke to a very pleasant lady who asked a number of question and told me that the local service would be in touch. This was correct also at the right time and day. I have be4en given my first appointment which is only just over a weeks time. It was a pleasure to speak to those that I have had contact with who were very… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Well Done Benenden”

Written on: 15/06/2018

My husband and I have been members of Benenden for four years. In that time he has used them for Physiotherapy because of an 18 week waiting list on the NHS. He saw a physio the next week and with further treatment a very positive result. Another incident was a fall at a museum, where paramedics checked him and decided no bones broken. After about six months he was still having pain in his elbow so went for an xray. This turned out to be a break but was told by the NHS it had started to heal… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic and low cost ”

Written on: 11/06/2018 by R33DJ (1 review written)

I have been a member for over 30 years and have benefited from help on a few occasions. It’s true not everything is covered but for £10 a month it’s worth every penny and of course you always hope that you stay healthy and never need to make a claim… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic service- couldn’t be better”

Written on: 08/06/2018

I have been a member of Benenden actually since Childhood, and my parents have also been members for many years. Unfortunately due to ill health I have had to use Benenden’s services probably about 10 times in my life, and they have been nothing short of fantastic. I can’t express how much I value my membership as I have been unlucky enough to have experienced some pretty serious illnesses in my course of my adult life and have had them treated quickly thanks to having this membership. I… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT JOIN”

Written on: 27/04/2018 by MadilynGreene (1 review written)

It is worse than terrible. This company takes the money - but doesn't want to help. Please don't waste money like I have. I do hope the BBC you and yours receive the complaint - and hope that everyone who feels failed by this company joins in a campaign to warn others… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 8
★☆☆☆☆

“All Hype - No substance”

Written on: 20/02/2018 by JeremyFMN (1 review written)

I took out a corporate policy last year, i think in total we are paying for 12 or so members. Rang them for help today because i am in agony with earache and have been for past 3 weeks. NHS say i will have to wait 6 weeks which is impossible with this pain. Benenden quoted 3 weeks but later brought the time down to 2 weeks. As previously mentioned the pain is excruciating I am now off to A&E which appears to be my only option. I don’t have enough experience to condemn the whole organisation… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to JeremyFMN's Review

Written on: 27/02/2018

Sorry to hear about your experience accessing our services. We would be very happy to talk through your experience if you contact our Member Services Department.

As we are not an emergency or acute service provider, the NHS would always be the first port of call in these cases. In this instance, we were also able to offer a speedier appointment for diagnosis than the NHS. In addition, we offer a 24/7 GP advice service that members can access for free at any time for urgent medical advice – this is available to members from the day they join and can be a great way to get instant support.

Many members comment on the value of our services and in 2017, we helped our members over 78,000 times.

Reply to this comment

Misterfraser's Response to JeremyFMN's Review

Written on: 08/06/2018

What a bizarre review! So you removed Benenden’s outstanding cover from your employees because you had earache?
Did you expect them to send an ambulance for you?
Obviously you should simply have gone to your GP or, if it was that bad, A&E.
Benenden’s excellent service is not intended to cover things like earache or an ingrown toenail, but does help with serious health issues.
You should have phoned it’s telephone doctor service, which would have given good advice for your problem.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Benenden Meaning of Discretionery Service”

Written on: 30/09/2017 by Vanessas496 (1 review written)

I contacted Benenden as I was having problems with my foot. I received treatment through Benenden for a similar treatment a few years ago I was gobsmacked to be told that the code my consultant gave me for the operation I needed was not covered by Benenden.I asked for an explanation and to speak to somebody who could explain this to me I was told it was a discretionary service and they could not treat everything. To cut a long and very frustrating story short I explained that their advertising… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“WONDERFUL SERVICE”

Written on: 23/06/2017 by HOWIE13 (1 review written)

My wife suddenly started having twice weekly torrential nose bleeds, which were lasting a lot longer than the 20 minutes you are allowed before going to hospital. She reached the stage she was fearful to go out of the house and having panic attacks. Her GP arranged an appointment for her to be seen at the NHS hospital ENT clinic, but the waiting time was about 12 weeks. We contacted Benenden who, without hesitation, agreed for her to be seen at a local private hospital that same week, where… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 2
★☆☆☆☆

“ a member for nearly 25 years”

Written on: 13/05/2017 by 1963Moss (1 review written)

I have no desire to jump through hoops or 'beg' for help at a time of already heightened stress. Nor do I wish to harass the GP again for a 'date' of a likely consultation. Having read previous comments it seems that its a common experience and not one that Benenden should be proud of. On a positive note the staff were polite in their refusals, if that makes it any better. I cancelled my membership. Enough said. No reply needed… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★★☆☆☆

“Obstructive Bureaucracy”

Written on: 07/04/2017 by rotnac7 (1 review written)

My wife & I have been members of Benenden for about 7 years. Our GP recently referred my wife who needed a gastroscopy. This was the first occasion that we had ever tried to use Benenden. Like so many others we got the brush off with a standard letter which was not appropriate to her situation. I believe that Bendenden currently do a lot of work for the NHS under contract. I suspect that, in striving to meet the needs of the NHS, it has taken its eye off the ball as regards meeting the needs… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 2
★★★☆☆

“Not the Benenden of Old”

Written on: 24/03/2017 by BarnyR (1 review written)

In 2007 Beneden paid for me to see a local dermatologist when I needed an urgent assessment of a growth. Now, despite a history of skin cancers, they will only offer me an appointment with a dermatologist at their hospital in Kent. By the time I have paid for rail fares I am probably no better off. Plus it will take up much of the day for what might be less than 15 minutes of the consultant's time. I approached Benenden by email. They sent me a letter not with a reply, but asking me to ring… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to BarnyR's Review

Written on: 28/03/2017

We're sorry to hear that you have decided to cancel your Benenden membership. We've passed on your feedback regarding your telephone experience so that this can be considered properly.

Regarding your appointment at Benenden Hospital. We ask members who live within a two-hour car journey time of Benenden Hospital to attend there for appointments, where appropriate and available. This supports the hospital’s development, ensures that facilities are utilised effectively and supports cost efficiency, which in turn enables us to maximise our resources for the benefit of all members.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DISCRETIONARY”

Written on: 21/03/2017 by chessmachine (19 reviews written)

DISCRETIONARY is the key word. My family were let down by the NHS twice ; once when I was exposed to Whooping cough and they would not give me the vaccine and secondly with my wife whom has a brain tumour and the NHS are incompetent in commissioning an MRI scan to their own guidelines. Both times Benenden stated they could not help as they offered a DISCRETIONARY service and also they are ALLOWED up to 8 weeks to escalate an appeal. To my mind I have been a fool paying three memberships for… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to chessmachine's Review

Written on: 22/03/2017

Whilst we are unable to discuss the particulars of a case in a public forum such as this, we are sorry this member is unhappy with Benenden being unable to support them on these occasions.

The Benenden Healthcare Society Limited is not a private medical insurer and the service offered to members is not an insured product. Our contribution rate is comparatively low in order to offer an affordable alternative to private medical insurance.

Our services are not guaranteed and we use our discretion to decide what services to offer our members. Being a member of the Society gives members eligibility to request our assistance, but does not guarantee that support will be authorised. Because our services are funded entirely by membership contributions so we must apply limits to the support we offer.

Benenden is regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). The FCA sets out certain obligations on how complaints are handled, which includes a requirement for complainants to receive a final written response to their complaint within 8 weeks. The Society’s internal Complaints Procedure outlines that we aim to respond within 20 working days and in the majority of cases, we are able to do so.

Best wishes, the Benenden team.

Reply to this comment

Howie13's Response to chessmachine's Review

Written on: 04/07/2017

I always thought you had to be immunised before exposure to diseases, not after exposure, except where you are given antibodies like with Rabies, but I don't think that's the case with Whooping Cough. I'm no expert though.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your money”

Written on: 24/01/2017 by B7ENDAN (1 review written)

Was referred back in April and after 8 months I am no closer to a diagnosis so it has been a wasted experience and I got landed with a £600 recently. In the time I attended Nuffield hospital on referal from Beneden/BUPA I had two MRI scans, a blood test and was passed between two consultants as they couldn't determine the diagnosis. At no time was I given cost of each examination or consultancy. So was greeted at Xmas with a bill for over £600. Turns out I had reached my maximum in August… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to B7ENDAN's Review

Written on: 25/01/2017

Hi,

We do provide guidance to members using our services to try to avoid the circumstances which you describe. We’re sorry that you have been disappointed with your experience this time and that you have decided to cancel your membership.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Discretionary heath product”

Written on: 28/11/2016 by jrw1234 (1 review written)

The three words above are the most important wording in the scheme, the staff you talk to tell you they are not medically trained and have you chasing round on the phone to prove the consultant you have been refered to fits there criteria, if you manage to do this suddenly the staff know lots of confusing medical terms for you to go back to the consultant with again. You become a pest to everybody trying to qualify for the help you thought was available. Waste of time and money should have… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to jrw1234's Review

Written on: 30/11/2016

Benenden is proud of its commitment to high quality customer service and continually reviews its training of advisers to ensure that all members are treated fairly and equally. This is monitored through a regular tracker of member experience.

Unfortunately, occasionally a member’s experience may fall short of expectations so we’d like the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail. We do value feedback from our members as this can help us to make improvements.

If you would like to discuss your concerns with an adviser, please call us. We are open 8am till 8pm, Monday to Friday.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment

Hoodoogirl's Response to jrw1234's Review

Written on: 15/01/2017

Gosh, was going to use this company for my family but having seen the reviews on this website and another review site, I have decided against using them.

Reply to this comment

Hoodoogirl's Response to jrw1234's Review

Written on: 15/01/2017

Gosh, was going to use this company for my family but having seen the reviews on this website and another review site, I have decided against using them.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 3 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Change of catchment area”

Written on: 28/11/2016 by jojo001 (1 review written)

My family and I have been members of Benenden Healthcare for over ten years. Their purpose is to provide quick diagnostic consultations if the NHS waiting time is over a couple of weeks. We live in North London and in the past any diagnostics we have needed have been provided in Central London, half an hour away. The last time I called them, I was told they had changed their policy and because they claim we live within 1.5hrs of their hospital in Benenden, Kent, in future we would have to… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to jojo001's Review

Written on: 30/11/2016

We’re sorry that we were unable to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction and that you have decided to cancel your family’s membership. The feedback that you provided to us has been noted and will be considered during future service reviews.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Snowballing downhill”

Written on: 22/11/2016 by BrielleDevine (1 review written)

This used to be a company you could trust and have faith in. But they have changed all their internal procedures because now anyone can buy a policy. The change is not good! It is very bad! From the start of the call, you are asked excessive security questions. Enough to put you at risk should those details be misused. And you have no way of knowing who you are talking to and what they could do with your information. This is a very significant risk. The rest of the service is arbitrary and… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Comment

Written on: 24/11/2016

Hi, we're sorry that you feel our security checks at the start of telephone calls are excessive, the reason they exist is in order to protect both the Society and its members. The purpose of such checks are to ensure that we have accessed the correct membership record and check that the details we hold on file are current and up to date.

Such checks are not uncommon and are required under the Data Protection Act, to prevent sensitive information or case details being disclosed to the wrong individual. This is a responsibility that we take very seriously.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No help at all. Waste of money.”

Written on: 21/11/2016 by MylaHahn (1 review written)

Saw my GP who diagnosed sciatica. The GP told me there was an 8 to 10 week wait to see a consultant. So rang Benenden who refused to help me as I had not seen a consultant. Work that one out. This after 32 years membership and having personally never used them before. Don't waste your money. Used to be good in the old days now more interested in flogging you extremely expensive travel insurance and other rubbish… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2016

We’re sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent contact with us. It is unusual for us to decline support for a member to see a specialist so we’d like the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail. If you would like to discuss your concerns with an adviser, please call us. We are open 8am till 8pm, Monday to Friday.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment

Jeffburn's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2016

What's to discuss. I asked for help you refused. 32 years of payments, that is half my life. When you employed a known felon as a finance manager who then embezzled millions from you were you as severe on him. Did the staff responsible for this resign. No you kept on taking my money, never told me about this. Now I need your help its little man runaway to hell.

Reply to this comment

Jeffburn's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2016

What's to discuss. I asked for your help, you declined. 32 years of membership, that's half my life, Over 1.2 million pounds defrauded from Benenden by a known felon. Says it all. Goodbye.

Reply to this comment

Helpothers3's Comment

Written on: 27/04/2018

I know just how you feel.....

Reply to this comment

Howie13's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2017

I had several weeks of sciatica but my GP recommended physio rather than seeing a Consultant. Waiting time for physio in my area on NHS is 22 weeks which was useless as I could only walk 50 yards without pain so contacted Benenden. They immediately arranged for their physio to phone me. She diagnosed the cause of my sciatica and gave me exercises which solved the problem in a week.

Reply to this comment

Hoodoogirl's Comment

Written on: 15/01/2017

Gosh, was going to use this company for my family but having seen the reviews on this website and another review site, I have decided against using them.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 6 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Save your money”

Written on: 29/10/2016 by Iggymeister (1 review written)

I was a member for a number of years, in my experience on the few occasions that I sought assistance for myself or a family member Benenden Health Care were unwilling to assist. The monthly payments are low, but if assistance is never available its wasted money… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Response to Iggymeister's Review

Written on: 04/11/2016

We're sorry to hear that we were unable to assist you on the occasions you made a request to Benenden. It’s not clear what you were requesting and whether these were available through Benenden membership, but we do work hard to provide a fair and equitable service to all members.

Best wishes, the Benenden team

Reply to this comment

Iggymeister's reply to Benendenuk's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2016

I was requesting medical assistance due to long NHS waiting times - the response was always the same NO. As soon as the phone calls were answered I sensed the representative was trying to find reasons why assistance would not be offered rather than trying to help. Benenden advertise "your health and wellbeing comes first" not in my experience - maybe you should change to "your wealth and monthly premiums come first"
Best wishes, ex member.

Reply to this comment

Hoodoogirl's Response to Iggymeister's Review

Written on: 15/01/2017

Gosh, was going to use this company for my family but having seen the reviews on this website and another review site, I have decided against using them.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Superb care”

Written on: 20/10/2016 by Harringtondz337 (1 review written)

My daughter (aged 20) accessed consultation and surgical services through Benenden. Everyone involved in her care recognised that she was nervous but at all times she was treated with courtesy and respect. All processes were slick and efficient and the experience was excellent. This organisation provides low cost affordable care and cannot provide all clinical services for its members but it does an amazing job. If you want a contractual arrangement where services are guaranteed then this is… Read Full Review

Benendenuk's Comment

Written on: 24/10/2016

Thank you for your kind words about our service, we're very glad we were able to assist your daughter and hope she is well.

We are very proud of our low cost, affordable care and the fact that what members pay each month will not increase due to their age or medical profile. This is the essence of our mutual, not-for-profit ethos.

Best wishes, the Benenden team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview