Evans Halshaw, Hull, Humberside Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
17% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Evans Halshaw, Hull, Humberside - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Evans Halshaw, Hull, Humberside

Evans Halshaw, Hull, Humberside

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Bad Service”

Written on: 28/08/2021 by igCox460 (1 review written)

My power steering stopped working on my Meriva. 10yrs old under 40,000 miles driven. I thought this was a bit more than fair wear and tear, I contacted the Vauxhall care line, they asked me to take it to my nearest Vauxhall dealership and get them to run diagnostics on it to confirm the fault. I had the car towed to Evan Halmshaws West Hull on the Monday 2:08:21 for Diagnostics which confirmed it was the power steering unit at fault. I was hoping that Vauxhalls would give me some goodwill… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Great service from frank ”

Written on: 25/08/2021 by Kyenorris (1 review written)

Great service, nice car, felt welcome, cheers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Once sold, not interested”

Written on: 30/12/2020 by KaitlynMcKinley (1 review written)

I bought an almost new car from Evans Halshaw Vauxhall Hessle, Hull just prior to Christmas. A subsequent fault developed and despite 3 phone calls from me, my calls to arrange a repair were not returned. I have also discovered that there is a recall (software update for braking system which was not installed when I purchased). Not impressed by customer care post sale… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Awful Service”

Written on: 02/10/2020 by TonyJewitt (1 review written)

I bought a car from their Hessle Showroom for work during lockdown. The day after I started work, the coil pack went. They said they could book me in for a repair in 3 weeks even though it was only a 10 minute job! I had to get it repaired elsewhere for £265 otherwise I would have been out of work. They said they would pay that bill out of goodwill. I handed them the invoice. I never heard anything. I chased them up several times but didn't get anywhere. I had been their customer since late… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What not to do when seeking a car!”

Written on: 02/07/2020 by CasonHolt97 (1 review written)

Well I bought a motor vehicle from Evans Halshaw in Kingston-upon-Hull, but I cannot say that it has been a pleasant experience at all. The vehicle bought was exactly what I wanted, although when looking at vehicles I had no intention of swapping my own I was just looking to see what was available. My purchase finished up costing more than originally quoted (A year longer to have to pay too), and deceit seems to be the way that this company works best. I involved the Ombudsman service, and in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bad experience”

Written on: 04/12/2017 by PhilipC123 (1 review written)

Just bought a car (2017 registration) from Evans Halshaw Hull last week. Paid the GBP99 administration fees. Didn't repair the scratch on the rear side as agreed, gave me a wrong HPI report, and the most disgusting thing Evans Halshaw did was that the fuel in the car was drained down to only few miles left. Drove back to the store but it already closed (after 7pm). Luckily managed to find a petrol station. Poor service, bad experience. Will never go to Evans Halshw again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent customer service”

Written on: 24/10/2017

I would like to say how excellent the process of buying a new car from Evans Halshaw, Hull Kia was. The person I dealt with could not have done any more to make this exciting buy more pleasurable than he did. I was a little wary of sales people from past experiences but he was very honest and friendly and made everything so easy. I am loving my new Kia and will defiantly be back in a few years to replace this Kia with a new one!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst place ever !! ”

Written on: 20/10/2017

Absolutely shocking customer service . Never ring back when they say they will. Never pass messages on . Get lied to all the way through the finance application just get told half the story buy ur own insurance coz the "free 7 days insurance " isn't as what it's made out to be then get told basically on the day ur suppose to pick ur car up that they was a consequence to the approval of the car finance which we apparently didn't need to know about until they was stuck at the end of the finance… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“quality service ”

Written on: 22/06/2017 by Theresa347 (1 review written)

Seen some pretty poor reviews for eh hull on here so I thought I would post a good one. Used eh hull on a number of occasions now for sales and services and I cannot recommend these guys and girls enough.the whole buying experience has been superb, from price match on cars I was buying to price match on my px price. After service is superb ,booking me in promptly and supplying me with a car whilst work was completed,then sending me a video of works carried out.cannot recommend this team enough… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“they are complete idiots”

Written on: 15/03/2017 by Levesquezj283 (1 review written)

Booked in to have a look at a mini cooper and was going to buy, but the young salesman i saw tried to force a vauxhall corsa with viper stripes i told him I'm nearly 50 he was just a complete idiot he kept trying to steer me away from the mini, we just got up and walked away, the salesman we saw was a right prat and i wouldn't buy a car from evans halshaw again, I've heard from a lot of people they just try and force you into a car people don't evan want, steer clear be warned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“MESSED ABOUT & POOR COMMUNICATION”

Written on: 19/01/2017 by jhe3lister (1 review written)

Called to book in to view a car, we went to see it in the hope of cash buying it to be told it had sold half of an hour before we arrived (was not informed by the sales rep to put a deposit on it!) Another car of the same spec was available in Stockton so we paid a £200 deposit to move it closer to priory park in Hull. We were told around 3/5 working days (also stated estimated arrival time in the paper work) would arrive after been prepped. 10 days later and several phone calls (by myself)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Customer Service”

Written on: 22/11/2016 by DeangeloMay197 (1 review written)

I've never dealt with a company as poor as this. Customer service from telephone staff is non existent. Car got returned last week after they was supposed to of made some repairs. No paperwork of what had been done. Asked the man who brought my car back what work had been done. He replied 'I don't know love. I'm just the driver'. Car still not fixed after now 14 months of trying. I've sent to complaints which have not even been acknowledged. I would never buy a car with these again and would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of time”

Written on: 06/06/2016 by Gardnerji110 (1 review written)

Booked appointment to view car. Arrived,they then went round my car to inspect it. Fine. No problem with that. Once they had done that I was told it may take some time before the "Manager" comes up with a price for my trade in. Meanwhile I counted 6 lads (assume salesman) sat around a desk chatting laughing etc. In the mean time I was advised rather than waiting, you might want to test drive the car I was potentially buying. I explained to the Polish female (absolutely no issues with that) that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stochman's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2016

The websites that buy your car, as you quote, give an initial valuation, once you take the car to them and they find that the rear electric windows are faulty, along with any other faults that the car has, you'd find that their eventual valuation would be much lower that the initial website valuation that they'd sucked you in with.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“THE WORST SERVICE IN THE WORLD - EVER”

Written on: 27/04/2016 by consumer10001 (2 reviews written)

Bought a new Dacia Sandero Stepway from them, with service plan, extended warranty, and paint & fabric protection. Love the car, great little runner. Never got any confirmation of service plan, or warranty, or paint protection. Problems started when I tried to get the first service and they said it was not included. Luckily I had kept all my notes and could prove what I had paid, so they had to honour it and got it serviced although begrudgingly. They promised me it would be in the system the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service and poor management ”

Written on: 09/04/2016 by HunterM1208 (1 review written)

After seeing a car online my partner contacted them, they said it would be ready on the Friday, we went it wasn't ready we couldn't even start it. We where told it would be ready by the Tuesday it wasn't, it was finally ready on the Thursday, we went down my partner drove it and we sat down to discuss a deal for part ex. The sales man was rude and pushy, after getting all the figures for part exchange we decided to go get some lunch and think it over, the sales man wasn't happy to say the least… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wrong Parts on Car”

Written on: 29/03/2016 by BraylenBishop1989 (1 review written)

I bought my car just over 2 years ago. Which i know is sometimes ago. In the process of buying the car it was advertised with Alloy Wheels and parcel shelf. When inquiring they said there had been an error with advertising. I still bought the car as i was very happy with price and the car. It wasn't until February this year someone at work had decided to scratch the side of my car and part of the bumper. Insurances company sent me to Tailors who have been very helpful with everything… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible, unethical practices.. a company with no...”

Written on: 07/03/2016 by ofWade324 (1 review written)

I went down to Evans Halshaw last week to test drive a vehicle I had been looking at on their website. Absolutely loved the car, had a valuation for our car for part exchange and took home all the figures to contact our bank with. The next morning I go onto their website to find the price has increased over £500!! Spoke to the salesman on the phone and he explained they could not sell it at the price it was the day before, the price which I had been quoted aswell! Do they think we are… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!”

Written on: 23/07/2015

Sold a faulty car, they refused to fix the problem even though I brought a years extended warranty which covered the problem, they wouldn't allow me to return the car. When you call, you speak to 5 different people before you get to the person you need, they never call you back. Had to keep going down just to be able to talk to someone this took me well over a month. Finally took the car back after legal advice, then two days later the same faulty car is back up for sale. I feel so sorry for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“MORE SHARKS AT THIS PLACE THAN THE DEEP!”

Written on: 10/07/2015 by nosyrosy (1 review written)

Firstly, the insulting amount they want to give you for your car in part exchange is beyond belief, told us the fiesta had only been brought in couple of weeks ago, this was clearly a lie as the salesman had to jump start it AND i saw on the dash board of photo on website that it was over 2 months ago (you could also tell it was winter by the bare trees) gonna have to be a bit cleverer than that guys. They did up the part exchange price but it was still CR..P. Also lowered the price of the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Caroldd's Response to nosyrosy's Review

Written on: 17/07/2015

Thanks very much for going to the trouble of writing a review.

We were thinking of buying a car from Evans Halshaw Hull, but have now
decided against it. We have worked hard to save our money and we are
not going to hand it over easily. Good Customer Service and After Sales
is a top priority in our book. Sorry you had so much trouble...Hope things
are OK with you now....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clareyjim's reply to Caroldd's Comment

Written on: 09/12/2016

Avoid at all cost. After 4 and a half hours in showroom having given a set figure i wanted to spend i was totally given the run around and they tried to pressurise me into a finance deal that thank god i did not fall for. Intrest alone was nearly 8 grand on a 10 and a half thousand car. Could of bought a brand new one cheaper taking into acount scrappage deals and vauxhall partners discount.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“dont know what they are on about.renault”

Written on: 15/04/2015 by Nora318 (1 review written)

Been to Renault to renew my car,the mobility specialist just sat slumped behind his desk,wasn't interested stall and seemed to know nothing about the model of car I wanted,lied about the colours that come as standard but was going to try to charge me extra,when I asked for a brochure he didn't even bother looking he just said we've ran out,and he then said his computer had crashed, he then stood up and walked out..didn't seem like he could be arsed hence I've found a much better dealership but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview