Evans Halshaw, Bedford, Bedfordshire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
12% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Evans Halshaw, Bedford, Bedfordshire - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Evans Halshaw terrible customer service ”

written by 474Combs on 30/12/2022

If you could score a zero then that would be a more accurate review score! Absolutely appalling customer service and management that misrepresented. To ask a customer to leave you a five star review after giving terrible customer service is a real joke. Surely it’s up to the customer to decide how many stars you should give in a review? Avoid the stress and buy your vehicle elsewhere! For a main Vauxhall dealership it’s appalling. Sales manager sat a tale to us and then hides behind his dealership boss!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Service throughout ”

written by vega7 on 02/09/2022

Poor service from the company in Bedfordshire. I bought a vehicle from them and has it professionally detailed and ceramic coating over 3 months later, It was pointed out to me that the vehicle had a badly resprayed door which was not noticeable to me initially. I raised a concern with the dealership and was stonewalled by the dealers management. Typical motor trade treatment, where once you leave the forecourt, they don't want to know or assist you. I spent almost £27k on the car, and this is the service and treatment I get. Avoid this shambolic sales people at all cost.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“used car sales”

written by bobbev on 18/06/2021

I have just bought a used car from evans hawshaw at barkers lane , 5 star service , went through like clockwork , very pleased . thank you all .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nightmare”

written by on 17/03/2019

Went to view a car advertised on autotrader, at Evans halshaw Bedford. Arrived and discovered there were so many cars there, we could not park. After driving around we came back and parked in a disabled spot. the sales staff had queues of people waiting at their desks, so we walked round looking for the car. After 20 minutes we gave up. Far too many vehicles on site, and made for an unpleasant experience. Eventually drove to Northampton and found what we wanted. Due to the points mentioned, there was nothing I liked about this company. It appeared to be chaotic. We had rung beforehand, and it would have been nice if they advised us of the situation, and offered some advise as to when it would be more convenient.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“evans halshaw bedford vauxhall”

written by Kamarie347 on 30/04/2018

a follow up review, after being turned away on the 21/04/18 for not being able to service my 2017 Vauxhall viva because we don't have an oil filter, arrived today 28/04/18 for the service all seemed to be going well until all finished sir we have given the car a complimentary wash and hoover wasn't until I arrived home that I noticed that the floor mats had not been put back in the car absolutely furious, then tried to ring the only people who answer the phone are the car sales (as they want to sell cars) and no reply what a surprise!!! so 2 trips to Bedford 60 miles for a £130 service and if I went back to pick up the mats another 30 miles, I have now purchased another set of floor mats and this will be the last time I will ever set foot in evans halshaw Bedford ps for evans halshaw customer care who do nothing other than I have passed your comments on to the dealer principle, I am sick of hearing it as nothing is ever done and I will be contacting Vauxhall about your appaling customer service Edit Published 21 April 2018 Vauxhall viva as a pre reg…a series of let downs Purchases a Vauxhall viva as a pre reg in May 2017 the whole experience has been awful, the salesman was rude and un professional shouted at me to hurry up (after visiting the loo) across the showroom, cant do the free insurance as I have turned the computer off,.the only reason I bought the car was the sales manager was excellent and my p/x price was good, I wasn't going to leave a review, but one year on arriving for my first service on a service contract sorry sir cant service your car we havnt got an oil filter, avoid at all costs Evans Halshaw Bedford

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not very honest”

written by Hammond451 on 13/04/2018

Sold me a car ..saying it was a pool car .like prev review...log book said avis car hire ...took my 2yr old diesel car as exchange ..then put that on f.court for bout 3 grand more than they gave me ...refused to let me back out of deal ...never again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service ”

written by Angela261 on 18/08/2017

I had to give in some documents to order a new part for my car. Never been before...Walked in, everyone who worked there avoided eye contact so I assumed you had to wait in the sitting area. Sat down with my 2 small children. Was ignored by everyone that walked back. After 45 minutes of waiting, I asked another customer who told me that this was not the waiting area, only for people to pick up their cars. NOT ONE single person asked if I needed help. Booked it in for a valet and to fix a part, this was easy enough to book. Took my car in and was told they do not do a valet (I understand a full valet costing £35 would clean the fabric and dash board along with a wash) nope £35 to get it poorly washed and a quick hoover. They barely washed the car, still filthy with dead bugs on. The wing mirrors weren't even touched. And as for the hoovering, they didn't even touch the boot. Still dirty inside too. I will be contacting them to get a full refund. You can pay £10 and get a better job by one of those Eastern European car washes... will not be using them again!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME”

written by on 21/01/2017

After calling for details on a vehicle, advised by their sales, vehicle £13,500 approx. was ready for viewing, serviced. Arrived to be taken to the bodyshop by the drippy Manager shown a vehicle with the body trim missing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont tell the truth”

written by KaydenChaney319 on 04/01/2017

When buying a fleet /pool car ..what they dont tell you is that it has been used by avis car hire for about 8 mths before they buy it back off them...then they try to convince you its been well looked after by one owner

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“incompetent, neglagent and could have died in my car!”

written by YazminMeadows on 06/12/2016

Took my husbands car in for a service and MOT after buying the car last year from them. Ongoing fault with the side light was also to be dealt with. Car was booked in for 8am and was told by the call centre I could drop the car off at 7.45 and the car would be the first one to be done, the car needed to be ready for the next day as I work full time and need the car back. Arrived at 7.45 and had to wait outside until 8 for the doors to be open (staff could see my freezing outside) Called at 3.30 to see what was going on and was told the car was only just being looked at! then received a text message with a video of the car and an issue with the cv boot and the side light needed to be replaced at a cost (despite this being an on going issue!). Called the branch to speak to someone as it was now 4pm and I needed the car sorted by the end of the day to be told it wouldn't be sorted until tomorrow as they didn't have the part. Spoke to a manager as I wasn't happy that I was told it would be done in the morning incase work needed to be done and was offered a courtesy car. Asked about the sidelight and explained the issue again and that a new bulb would not solve it as there is more to it then the bulb and this was explained all already. Next day I called at 12 to see what was happening to be told it hadn't been touched as yet. Chased them at 3.30 and was told it was being done now. Got a call at 4pm to say the cv boot was done but the side light issue was still there so would need to keep the car again. explained that I couldn't drive the courtesy car the following day as its a manual and I had a long drive with a bad leg so booked the car back in for Monday for the light to be sorted. Got to the branch to collect the car and was told that the Audi bulb seemed to be ok but they still needed the car back as the service warning couldn't be reset and they needed to drive the car to a different garage to get it reset - was really not happy as the service was done the day before and they had all day to get the warning sorted out, spoke to Manager and got an apology. Drove off (cold and icy) for the car to nearly take me off the road pulling drastically to the left - drove straight back and was told that it was too late to get it looked at (other staff laughing and going on about their xmas party due to start at 7.30) was told the courtesy car was they best they can offer, I asked them to look at the car now as I can not drive the courtesy car on a long journey due to my leg. Manager then came back and told me the car wasn't collaborated after the cv boot was done and was now sorted - how can the car of passed its MOT after the cv boot had been replaced with the car not being collaborated!!! fuming is an understatement and still paid £300 for the pleasure of nearly being killed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent and uneducated!!!!”

written by on 17/10/2016

What can I say?? For a car dealership you would expect the staff to know the products they are selling but clearly DO NOT have a clue. We went there to get a battery for my key, only to find that it wouldn't work at all after it had been changed. I looked into this and spoke to a real mechanic who advised me that when a battery is changed you need to re program the fob. Something the garage failed to tell us or do! When we called back we were told that the fob would probably need to be re set as the battery may have been changed a number of times, we could take the car down there tomorrow after 9am but it would occur a charge of up to £50! For a detail they forgot to mention or clearly had no idea about. After speaking to 3 separate people at the garage it is clear no one really has a clue what is going on, don't return calls or even answer the phone when it doesn't suit them. We will NEVER use this garage for anything!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this incompetent dealership”

written by RedCorsa on 13/10/2016

After taking my Corsa (which was still under warranty) to have the faulty ABS replaced, I was informed to have the front brake discs and pads changed, as this was the likely cause for the car to pull dangerously to the left when the brakes were applied. I had these replaced even though they were fine and the problem was sill evident. The car was booked in for the second time were the ABS pump was replaced and the problem rectified. A quick search on google shows that this is an inherent problem. This dealership makes you spend unnecessary money on an issue they are not even competent to investigate correctly in the first place. When you ask for a reimbursement due to there misguided examination, they simply give you the run-around and never return your calls. AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“exellent service ”

written by douglas450 on 13/05/2016

After a recent service (April 2016)i had a few concerns regarding the info supplied on the paper work,contacted the service dept and asked to bring my cmax back to explain ,i could not have been treated better i was very impressed by the service that i received by the service manager,many thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★☆☆☆☆

“How to make a customer feel unworthy!”

written by on 10/02/2016

I bought a brand new fiesta and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, except no deal was to be done! However I had a complaint about no courtesy car offered When booking service so none available when I dropped it off. I emailed them with a courteous complaint, no reply. Then 2 more issues and complaints so sent a letter to the managing director over a week ago and still no reply. DO NOT USE THIS GARAGE FOR ANYTHING, once they have your money you are of no use to them. I just wish I hadn't paid for a 3 yr service plan because I wouldn't give them my business. USELESS! Told all my friends not to use them, they are not worthy of anyone's business.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Emac service plan”

written by 168McLaughlin on 26/01/2016

Do not take out a savings plan at this garage!!! we were told that we can take our money out at any point or use in any other garage. After 18 months of saving one service we had £60 left in the plan. We cancelled and received £21.00 back a so call admin charge had been taken. This was never mentioned at point of sale and their only response is you should read the small print. Who the hell reads small print when you have been told all the facts by a smart young lady. Obviously she omited to mentioned one important fact. Do touch with a barge pole!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't even bother!!!”

written by HopeParks103 on 09/07/2015

Evans Halshaw in Bedford is the worst all rounder I have ever had the displeasure of visiting. Rude and uninterested staff. Salesmen walking around in shirts so tight they can hardly breath. Can't even source parts for Vauxhall...strange that seeing as they are a Vauxhall dealer...apparently! DO NOT get any work done on your car there! I guarantee it will either be back with them due to shoddy workmanship or in a decent garage to get their mess rectified! It is no understatement when I say it would actually be more use to humanity if Evans Halshaw just closed down and disappeared from the face of the earth...forever!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievably bad. Worst I've ever known!”

written by Pricey3 on 26/06/2015

Now I have calmed down I can write about the terrible service I received at Evans Halshaw Bedford. I was looking to change my car and saw on their website exactly what I was looking for, a Ford Focus which seemed to be just right. (or so I thought).So 2 Weeks ago I contacted Evans Halshaw to confirm the car was still available and could I book a test drive. I was Informed it was available so a test drive was booked for 9 o/c Saturday.As it was only Wednesday I was asked if I wanted to reserve the car for a deposit of £200.This would take the car off the market and if we didn't buy it we could get the money back.I agreed to this as it seemed a good idea. On the Saturday my wife and I drove to Bedford for 9 o/c and were met by a salesman at the showroom. Imagine our reaction when we were told the car wasn't there as the man who was using the car for his own use had taken it on holiday and the car wasn't available for us to test.I was livid but all the salesman could say was it wasn't his fault and these things happen. I demanded my reservation fee back and he started to write my credit card number and my name on a post-it note saying they couldn't repay until Mondaybut were quite happy to havemy details hanging around till then. At no point have Evans Halshaw apologised for our treatment and they seemed ignorant to the fact they were losing a customer. They must be the most incompetent Car dealers I've ever met and will never go near them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Needatestdrive's Response to Pricey3's Review

Written on: 30/10/2015

This has just happened to me.
Booked a test drive for a specific car, they confirmed it was on site. I turned up (after an hours drive) only to find that they didn't know where the car was! I had a test drive in a brand new car, which apparently is "exactly the same as the car I want to test drive and will drive exactly the same". The salesman couldn't quite understand why I needed to test drive the car he wanted me to spend £10,000 on!
I paid £200 to reserve the car, booked in another appointment for 2 days later and got a phone call an hour before I was due there that the car was on loan and hadn't been returned.
Today I got a call to tell me my car was ready for collection. Without a test drive.
I can't help feeling that I have been railroaded into this. Evans Halshaw are not significantly cheaper than anywhere else and so I would not recommend them. There were other issues with the salesman, but that will be a complaint to his manager.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Vauxhall branch review - no pressure sales, good deal...”

written by Mattief201 on 03/04/2015

Having read the other reviews I was dreading dealing with this company. However, we saw a car which looked like a good deal via Autotrader and they are close by so we thought we'd at least go and have a look. The car we viewed was as described, in good condition on the outside and with low milage and a service history. Checking the price against the Glass guide showed it to be fairly priced. The inside was pretty grotty but we have been assured it will be cleaned up ready for collection in a week. It was explained that the car only came in a few days ago and so they hadn't had time to valet it yet. the person I dealt with helped us and was attentive and also gave us enough space to look round the car in peace. He offered a very fair price on part ex for our old car without any of that "going in to a back room to talk to a mysterious manager" nonsense I've experienced before. There were some upsells on things like insurance and stain guard, but we said we didn't want them and that was that. No pressure to take them. The car is still under manufacturers warranty for another year so I don't expect there will be any major problems with it. Fingers crossed that's the case. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by the entire buying process and I have come away happy. I'm not a stooge for Evans Halshaw.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AT ALL COST. VERY INCOMPETENT. MONEY GRABBERS.”

written by 124Newman on 07/02/2015

Evan Halshaw in Bedford are only interested in making a sale and taking your money, not interested when the car they sold is FAULTY and NOT FIT FOR THE PURPOSE OF USE. Happy for customers to continue driving brand new 2014 cars when they know full well there is a Steering System Safety Recall on the car they sold. If you want to spend a lot of money on a brand new car, go to a reputable company and NOT Evan Halshaw.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“reserved then sold to somebody else”

written by MarquesLake1 on 11/01/2015

I rang this garage on a Wednesday morning and put a deposit down on a car worth £6300, I received a text from the salesman 34 hours later to say it had been sold to somebody else. I rang the salesman and was told that the car must have been sold before my deposit went through. He arranged for me to see an equivalent car on Sunday and said I could have this one for the same price of £6300 and they'd give me 2 years warranty for free. Sounded ok (you'd think). Just before setting off I had a quick look for the car on their website and found it advertised for £5771 !!! I rang the salesman and asked for a refund and was told it could take up to 3 working days when it only took him seconds to take it from my account. DO NOT go to this garage. They don't know what they are doing. I don't blame the individual salesman but communication between the group needs to be improved.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview