Evans Halshaw, Bedford, Bedfordshire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
13% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Evans Halshaw, Bedford, Bedfordshire - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“used car sales”

Written on: 18/06/2021 by bobbev (1 review written)

I have just bought a used car from evans hawshaw at barkers lane , 5 star service , went through like clockwork , very pleased . thank you all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nightmare”

Written on: 17/03/2019

Went to view a car advertised on autotrader, at Evans halshaw Bedford. Arrived and discovered there were so many cars there, we could not park. After driving around we came back and parked in a disabled spot. the sales staff had queues of people waiting at their desks, so we walked round looking for the car. After 20 minutes we gave up. Far too many vehicles on site, and made for an unpleasant experience. Eventually drove to Northampton and found what we wanted. Due to the points mentioned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“evans halshaw bedford vauxhall”

Written on: 30/04/2018 by Kamarie347 (1 review written)

a follow up review, after being turned away on the 21/04/18 for not being able to service my 2017 Vauxhall viva because we don't have an oil filter, arrived today 28/04/18 for the service all seemed to be going well until all finished sir we have given the car a complimentary wash and hoover wasn't until I arrived home that I noticed that the floor mats had not been put back in the car absolutely furious, then tried to ring the only people who answer the phone are the car sales (as they want to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not very honest”

Written on: 13/04/2018 by Hammond451 (1 review written)

Sold me a car ..saying it was a pool car .like prev review...log book said avis car hire ...took my 2yr old diesel car as exchange ..then put that on f.court for bout 3 grand more than they gave me ...refused to let me back out of deal ...never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service ”

Written on: 18/08/2017 by Angela261 (1 review written)

I had to give in some documents to order a new part for my car. Never been before...Walked in, everyone who worked there avoided eye contact so I assumed you had to wait in the sitting area. Sat down with my 2 small children. Was ignored by everyone that walked back. After 45 minutes of waiting, I asked another customer who told me that this was not the waiting area, only for people to pick up their cars. NOT ONE single person asked if I needed help. Booked it in for a valet and to fix a part… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME”

Written on: 21/01/2017

After calling for details on a vehicle, advised by their sales, vehicle £13,500 approx. was ready for viewing, serviced. Arrived to be taken to the bodyshop by the drippy Manager shown a vehicle with the body trim missing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont tell the truth”

Written on: 04/01/2017 by KaydenChaney319 (1 review written)

When buying a fleet /pool car ..what they dont tell you is that it has been used by avis car hire for about 8 mths before they buy it back off them...then they try to convince you its been well looked after by one owner… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“incompetent, neglagent and could have died in my car!”

Written on: 06/12/2016 by YazminMeadows (1 review written)

Took my husbands car in for a service and MOT after buying the car last year from them. Ongoing fault with the side light was also to be dealt with. Car was booked in for 8am and was told by the call centre I could drop the car off at 7.45 and the car would be the first one to be done, the car needed to be ready for the next day as I work full time and need the car back. Arrived at 7.45 and had to wait outside until 8 for the doors to be open (staff could see my freezing outside) Called at 3.30… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent and uneducated!!!!”

Written on: 17/10/2016

What can I say?? For a car dealership you would expect the staff to know the products they are selling but clearly DO NOT have a clue. We went there to get a battery for my key, only to find that it wouldn't work at all after it had been changed. I looked into this and spoke to a real mechanic who advised me that when a battery is changed you need to re program the fob. Something the garage failed to tell us or do! When we called back we were told that the fob would probably need to be re set… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this incompetent dealership”

Written on: 13/10/2016 by RedCorsa (1 review written)

After taking my Corsa (which was still under warranty) to have the faulty ABS replaced, I was informed to have the front brake discs and pads changed, as this was the likely cause for the car to pull dangerously to the left when the brakes were applied. I had these replaced even though they were fine and the problem was sill evident. The car was booked in for the second time were the ABS pump was replaced and the problem rectified. A quick search on google shows that this is an inherent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“exellent service ”

Written on: 13/05/2016 by douglas450 (1 review written)

After a recent service (April 2016)i had a few concerns regarding the info supplied on the paper work,contacted the service dept and asked to bring my cmax back to explain ,i could not have been treated better i was very impressed by the service that i received by the service manager,many thanks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★☆☆☆☆

“How to make a customer feel unworthy!”

Written on: 10/02/2016

I bought a brand new fiesta and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, except no deal was to be done! However I had a complaint about no courtesy car offered When booking service so none available when I dropped it off. I emailed them with a courteous complaint, no reply. Then 2 more issues and complaints so sent a letter to the managing director over a week ago and still no reply. DO NOT USE THIS GARAGE FOR ANYTHING, once they have your money you are of no use to them. I just wish I hadn't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Emac service plan”

Written on: 26/01/2016 by 168McLaughlin (1 review written)

Do not take out a savings plan at this garage!!! we were told that we can take our money out at any point or use in any other garage. After 18 months of saving one service we had £60 left in the plan. We cancelled and received £21.00 back a so call admin charge had been taken. This was never mentioned at point of sale and their only response is you should read the small print. Who the hell reads small print when you have been told all the facts by a smart young lady. Obviously she omited to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't even bother!!!”

Written on: 09/07/2015 by HopeParks103 (1 review written)

Evans Halshaw in Bedford is the worst all rounder I have ever had the displeasure of visiting. Rude and uninterested staff. Salesmen walking around in shirts so tight they can hardly breath. Can't even source parts for Vauxhall...strange that seeing as they are a Vauxhall dealer...apparently! DO NOT get any work done on your car there! I guarantee it will either be back with them due to shoddy workmanship or in a decent garage to get their mess rectified! It is no understatement when I say it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievably bad. Worst I've ever known!”

Written on: 26/06/2015 by Pricey3 (1 review written)

Now I have calmed down I can write about the terrible service I received at Evans Halshaw Bedford. I was looking to change my car and saw on their website exactly what I was looking for, a Ford Focus which seemed to be just right. (or so I thought).So 2 Weeks ago I contacted Evans Halshaw to confirm the car was still available and could I book a test drive. I was Informed it was available so a test drive was booked for 9 o/c Saturday.As it was only Wednesday I was asked if I wanted to reserve… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Needatestdrive's Response to Pricey3's Review

Written on: 30/10/2015

This has just happened to me.
Booked a test drive for a specific car, they confirmed it was on site. I turned up (after an hours drive) only to find that they didn't know where the car was! I had a test drive in a brand new car, which apparently is "exactly the same as the car I want to test drive and will drive exactly the same". The salesman couldn't quite understand why I needed to test drive the car he wanted me to spend £10,000 on!
I paid £200 to reserve the car, booked in another appointment for 2 days later and got a phone call an hour before I was due there that the car was on loan and hadn't been returned.
Today I got a call to tell me my car was ready for collection. Without a test drive.
I can't help feeling that I have been railroaded into this. Evans Halshaw are not significantly cheaper than anywhere else and so I would not recommend them. There were other issues with the salesman, but that will be a complaint to his manager.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Vauxhall branch review - no pressure sales, good deal...”

Written on: 03/04/2015 by Mattief201 (1 review written)

Having read the other reviews I was dreading dealing with this company. However, we saw a car which looked like a good deal via Autotrader and they are close by so we thought we'd at least go and have a look. The car we viewed was as described, in good condition on the outside and with low milage and a service history. Checking the price against the Glass guide showed it to be fairly priced. The inside was pretty grotty but we have been assured it will be cleaned up ready for collection in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AT ALL COST. VERY INCOMPETENT. MONEY GRABBERS.”

Written on: 07/02/2015 by 124Newman (1 review written)

Evan Halshaw in Bedford are only interested in making a sale and taking your money, not interested when the car they sold is FAULTY and NOT FIT FOR THE PURPOSE OF USE. Happy for customers to continue driving brand new 2014 cars when they know full well there is a Steering System Safety Recall on the car they sold. If you want to spend a lot of money on a brand new car, go to a reputable company and NOT Evan Halshaw… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“reserved then sold to somebody else”

Written on: 11/01/2015 by MarquesLake1 (1 review written)

I rang this garage on a Wednesday morning and put a deposit down on a car worth £6300, I received a text from the salesman 34 hours later to say it had been sold to somebody else. I rang the salesman and was told that the car must have been sold before my deposit went through. He arranged for me to see an equivalent car on Sunday and said I could have this one for the same price of £6300 and they'd give me 2 years warranty for free. Sounded ok (you'd think). Just before setting off I had a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer service”

Written on: 07/10/2014 by Richard687 (1 review written)

I bought a used Ford around 8 weeks ago and was very pleased when I picked it up as it was immaculate. I had paid the dealer to supply a tax disc for 1 year which was placed in the windscreen as required. Unfortunately I was contacted 6 weeks later from DVLA to inform me that the vehicle was not taxed and I was driving the vehicle illegally and my insurance was invalid until the matter was resolved. I tried to contact my wife to tell her not to drive the car but was unable to get hold of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all cost”

Written on: 20/08/2014 by 44Hurley (1 review written)

Worst branch of Evans Halshaw I've been to. I change my car every 2 years and been up and down the country to buy the write car, When I walked in all the staff where in an office laughing... After the sales man attempted to sell me a car I didn't want, I asked to test drive the car I wanted to be told I could only test drive the demo car at the front then to be treated like a kid when test driving.... As I couldn't find a matching car the same elsewhere I bought the car to be messed around on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview