Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire

Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire
Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire
Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire
Evans Halshaw, Ashton Under Lyne, Lancashire

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“"Fair and honest." Right!!”

Written on: 09/08/2017 by karratha (2 reviews written)

Evans Halshaw in Ashton-Under-Lyne I sought advice from a retired Toyota franchise manager, about buying a car. He suggested I purchase a “nearly” new car from a franchised dealer. The price would be higher than elsewhere and trade-in lower but I’d be assured of a fair and honest deal. He suggested I ask two direct questions before purchasing and in front of a witness. 1. What is the ownership history? 2. Has it had any mechanical or body repairs? I purchased a 7 month old car having been told the car had been on six month “Private Lease” and there had been no mechanical or body repairs carried out. The documentation I later received for the car included an invoice from their workshop showing windscreen repairs and damaged side mirror/indicator replacement. Also, a front and a rear tyre had been replaced. The registration documents arrived showing the car had been previously registered by a Company called ERAC UK Ltd. A Google Search showed ERAC to be an acronym for “Enterprise Rent A Car”. I sent two emails asking for an explanation for the repairs and also previous ownership but did not receive a reply. A phone call to them was a waste of time as well. After a couple of washes that removed whatever was used to prepare the car for sale, there were so many scratches on the sides that the car looked like it had been driven though a hedge. To add insult to injury, they had replaced the manufacturer’s floor mats with poor quality mats having their trade name on. These mats do not have anchor holes to hold them in place, something the manual say they must have for safety. They supposedly serviced the car before sale but within a week or so, the “Service Overdue” status illuminated. So, while believing I was purchasing a nearly new, privately owned car that had not been repaired in any way, I finished up with a repaired ex rental car in poor condition. Not very happy, but not a lot I can do other than warn others to be less trusting than I was.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete rip off!!!!!”

Written on: 17/04/2017 by Jongregwells (1 review written)

Went in to part exchange my car.. was offered £4500 and no negotiations as they stated my car had too many owners and would have to go to auction as there was no way they could offer any more money..I spoke to the Salesman who quoted he would see what he could do with his ignorant manager who never once introduced himself to me..The car I purchased was 11k. There was no way forward with negotiation as the manager quoted that it would need to go to auction Ref the number of owners.. I then saw my car on their site for £3000 more than my initial offer.. the management/negotiation process is a complete waste of time and I could/would never recommend this dealership to anyone...complete rip off and totally negative management input... heck around for a better deal elsewhere and make sure you are not bullied into part exchanging...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“Sell you car here”

Written on: 28/01/2017 by MaxWilk (1 review written)

Sold my car here. Friendly and professional. He explained everything was fair and helped me understand the process. Even stayed an extra 10 minutes to help me finish the paperwork.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude Manager!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 26/07/2016 by gabby.slaven (1 review written)

Was in the process of buying a car at Evans Halshaw in Ashton, the only problem I had was the car was £500 over budget. In my experience I have ALWAYS managed to get a good deal from other garages and so has everyone else I have spoken to. The sales man said he could not negotiate the price, so he then got the manager in. The manager came in the room with a stinking attitude on him and told us "I'm not being funny but that is the cost of the car and if you don't like it you can find a different car or go elsewhere". I was in complete shock at how I had been spoken to. I have worked in retail in the past and I now work for the NHS, I have never spoken to a customer/patient like that, no matter how rude they were to me I always had a happy positive attidue. I don't know how they sell cars speaking to customers like that. They would understand if it was a member of their family who went to a different garage and got spoke to like that.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clownbooty's Response to gabby.slaven's Review

Written on: 24/02/2017

Yes I agree. We were there the other day having dealt with a fantastic salesman. When going to clinch the deal the Boss came over to us trying to make us buy something that 30 minutes before he had told us we did not need. It was so he could get his figures up for that month. He needs to go on a customer care management course on how to treat people and not be so rude. Other wise he will never get any sales.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mancity1_'s Response to gabby.slaven's Review

Written on: 18/01/2022

We had a similar experience we bought a car which looked ok and within our budget they then advised they needed to MOT it first when we arrived to pick the car up the MOT had several issues. We were then told that the MOT guy was new and was only being cautious. Obnoxious manager came over saying what do we expect for 7. 3 grand. Awful terrible man and awful terrible service I don't know how they stay in business.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Why bother giving a Warranty when it means nothing!”

Written on: 26/05/2016 by Thorpe122 (1 review written)

Bought a VW Golf from here 2 months ago, Bit on the prices side but yo expected buying from a garage. It came with 3 months warranty and straight away I had a problem with the offside rear light unit full off condensation and indicator light very dim. I called Evans Halshaw in Ashton and suggested that as it still has a years VW warranty, it might be best for me to take it direct to them. They said I had to take it to them instead as they would have to diagnose it first. I booked the morning off work as I had to have a 2 hour slot for Evans Halshaw to look at it. On the day I say in their waiting room for an hour and a half and the young lad in reception casually informed me that they couldn't get involved with the investigation of the fault and that I should go direct to VW and book an appointment with then. I was a little dissatisfied as I'd took the morning off work and he'd already started serving another customer. I went back to my car, sat in it for 5 minutes then went back in and asked for some sort of paper work as I had bought the car from them wasn't prepared to go empty handed to VW for them to perhaps say I would need to go to where I bought it from. I found the reception staff most unhelpful as they handed me a piece of paper that was not official and suggested they stamp it so VW would know where it had come from. The two young boys in reception looked as if I had asked for something out of the ordinary. I had no apology for my wasted journey and the young man who initially served me suggested that I have might have rang through yo their call centre and that's why I was told to go there. Never the less it was a wasted journey and I am optimistic that VW will rectify the fault for me. Before I went back to my car I asked the receptionist what exactly I was covered for with their 3 month warranty, he was unable to tell me. Won't be buying a car from here again!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Car seemed okay, found no service history”

Written on: 26/04/2016 by deffstar (5 reviews written)

The car was initially advertised at £4461 but when we went to look at it, the price changed to £4642. I thought maybe I'd looked at another one as I'd been looking at several cars. I drove the car and it seemed fine. The handbrake was high to put on though and the salesman said "it's fine look" and pulled it about 6 notches and when I took my foot off the brake it rolled backwards. I explained it wasn't but he pulled it further and said they were all like it (Toyota's). After they sorted us the finance, we picked the car up a few days later and one of the dvd screens wasn't working (he told us this after we'd paid for the car). He also told me that it had been serviced regularly by Toyota Dealers and when I checked the service book, I noticed that it had only the initial service stamped. When I rang about it, he said they'd never say that and that it'd cost too much to have it serviced at the Toyota Dealers and nobody would do it. The engine made a loud noise when revved so I rang them and as I come from Sheffield, I didn't really want to drive all the way back there so they booked it with the Rotherham branch for me. The afternoon before I was to take it, they rang me to say they were waiting for authorisation from Ashton branch to check it. I took it the next morning and rang them myself to be told they'd sort it and ring if there was any problems. 4 hours later, I returned to Rotherham to be told they'd still not authorised it. I rang them again and explained my disgust. After I took it back, the Rotherham branch have sorted the issue, including replacing the battery as it had problems starting in the cold and sorted the handbrake. I'm now quite happy with the car but I very much doubt I'll ever buy from the Ashton Upon Lyne branch ever again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shambles”

Written on: 08/04/2016 by Carliec316 (1 review written)

Only get a car from here if you want to get ripped off. All happy and polite when looking at a new vehicle however i have never experienced such poor after sales. Returned the car 1 month ago however they now want more money after i was told i had paid up. Calls not returned. Over priced, rude sales team who rate themselves. Do yourself a rather and go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again”

Written on: 12/07/2015 by Chaim431 (1 review written)

Myself and my partner bought cars from there over the past two years, and to cut a long story short I had no idea I had a balloon payment at the end of my term which the car would be considerably less and my partner was over charged. Needless to say we've gone elsewhere changed our deals, got better deals (with less hassle) and better cars! Will never go there again and make sure anyone I know doesn't either...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgusted!! by rude salesman”

Written on: 18/09/2014 by servalan1974 (2 reviews written)

I entered the garage interested in viewing a new car Was approached by a salesman who at first seemed helpful, before showing me the vehicle fully asked me how I would purchase, I explained part exchange and purchase outright. I then had 10 minutes of harrassment telling me I would only save money by taking finance! When I said I would rather not use any finance he became even more aggressive. The salesman was then asked how much was the vehicle he said in front of witnesses you couldnt afford this car without finance. Furious is not the word their staff should not presume anything about customers I walked out in disgust, still dont know purchase price. Evans halshaw will never get my custom and im not sure if I will deal with ford at allI. Honda have never treated me in such a manner and the previous toyota garage I visited on the same day were a dream to deal with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Use car fiasco! Poor !”

Written on: 01/08/2012 by Dannyrobo90 (1 review written)

I recently had my car MOT at Evans halshaw, the MOT came back saying I need 400quids worth of stuff doing, when I bought used car of them over a year ago. I then had a flat tyre which I took to garage and they said my two front tyres were illegally bald and they didn't know how they passed the MOT this was a day after the MOT! They haven't aligned my wheel after asking once and I was told it won't be possible to have it straight when iv had it done at other garages before, when first time of straightening the wheels they found another problem as the car was clanking as I turned, they said this was something they thought was something else. Overall a terrible experience and I will not be using them again beware of buying a used car!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fabulous customer service, great prices and packages!”

Written on: 19/02/2012 by Bulleon (1 review written)

My boyfriend and I have visited Evans Halshaw in Ashton under Lyne today, after finding a car on their website which we were interested in. The car was £1500 cheaper than the same car which we'd seen at another nearby garage, so we were hoping it looked just as good. When we arrived, the gentleman we'd spoken to on the phone (Paul) had already gotten the car ready at the front of the garage with some petrol in it ready for us to take a test drive. He explained that it was one which hadn't yet been valeted and apologised for this, but the car was in great condition when we got in so it didn't make any difference. Paul came on our test drive with us, the car was really brilliant, and he was incredibly helpful and friendly when answering all our questions. When we got back to the garage we said we would be buying the car so we filled in some paperwork and he also took us through some of the details around Service schemes and Paint Protection, and I have to say the service scheme in particular looked great. It worked off a monthly direct debit of around £13, and for the next 3 years you'll get 3 services, and they also offer free seasonal checks and discounts on MOTs and accessories etc. So we'll be getting that when we go to pick our car up on Thursday. Paul then passed us over to one of the managers Anthony and he took us back over the more important points, gave us copies of our paperwork, and took our deposit. All the staff were really helpful, not pushy at all, and I can't recommend them highly enough. They feel like a really honest, customer focussed business and I can definitely see us buying more cars from them in the future. Thanks Evans Halshaw!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We were in the middle of a deal to buy a car with Evan...”

Written on: 09/04/2011

We were in the middle of a deal to buy a car with Evan Halshwaw, Ashton when we got a phone call 1/2 an hour before the appointment to say "weve sold that car but come down and we'll see if we can find you something else". Sorry but there did not seem to be much customer loyalty!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“A fabulous dealer and compared with Stoneacre Hyde,...”

Written on: 24/04/2010 by matthew kirk (2 reviews written)

A fabulous dealer and compared with Stoneacre Hyde, Evans halshaw are amazing.

Had no trouble with them at all and the car has been faultless, we went to the dealer for it's first service and we couldn't have been more happier. Very helpful staff and salesmen. I'd recommend anyone to go to Evans Halshaw Ashton under-lyne and to avoid Stoneacre Hyde.

Very helpful and they don't damage your car when it goes in for a service unlike Stoneacre.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I've been a customer of Evans Halshaw Ashton for...”

Written on: 22/02/2008

I've been a customer of Evans Halshaw Ashton for years. I bought my first Ford, an old Ford Escort, when the dealer was "Quicks of Ashton". I was so happy with this that I've bought a total of four cars from them over the years (three Escorts and one Fiesta).
I've always been happy to deal with the staff, who are always happy to help and not pushy like other dealers I've visited. I remember the second Escort had a problem with the radio (the radio's "Keycode" got tripped after the car stalled). I took the car into Evans Halshaw and the salesman happily sorted the problem without charging me! Not many places would do that so they must be good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview