David Clulow Opticians - www.davidclulow.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0
20.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
David Clulow Opticians - www.davidclulow.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Messy company and always avoid ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nkLee441 on 11/12/2023

I ordered a pair of prescription glasses in David clulow store in Kadewe Berlin on October 18th. It failed 3 times at clearance via ups due to a missing commercial invoice from the sender. I have sent numerous emails and made numerous calls to the store and to customer service and even to the parent company. Today is December 11th and I haven’t received any updates of whereabouts of my glasses for a week. The company is seriously problematic. The management is toxic, sick and dysfunctional. Yet it’s totally unfair and they have no rights to drag their customers into their own mess. It has been one and a half months since I paid £2000 for this pair of glasses. I want either the glasses or my money back in order to carry on my life and keeping absolutely out of this messy company for the rest of my life.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great customer service”

★★★★★

written by JaylanGarcia386 on 20/11/2023

I needed some help with sunglasses at the Ealing store. The customer assistant, was great, polite and helpful. Came a way very happy. Would recomend that branch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The success of a company depends to a large extent on...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Stella11 on 19/04/2022

The success of a company depends to a large extent on how it respects its customers. With this in mind, I find it remarkable how David Clulow can remain in business! I turned up for an eye test appointment at King’s Road branch only to find that the branch was closed for the entire day. Surprisingly, this appointment had been made using their online site, and had been successfully confirmed for that day at their own request. Furthermore, when I emailed them about the branch being closed that day, my complaint was completely ignored, no answer to my email. The whole experience was a total waste of time, and I would never recommend David Clulow Opticians to anyone !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Life Saver - the person I dealt with to the rescue at...”

★★★★★

written by davidclulow on 12/01/2018

Both the arms on my glasses had come right off, so I know it was a bit of a long shot to go into David Clulow and asked them if they could help, especially as I got them from Specsavers, to which they kindly did, they came back all polished and fixed,in a very quick turnaround time,even better as I was on my lunch break, so a big thank you to the person I dealt with who was very helpful and professional.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“POOR SERVICE”

★★☆☆☆

written by CazzieS on 27/07/2017

I visited the Canary Wharf Branch for an eye checkup and to obtain a new pair each of my varifocals and reading glasses. The test was fast and furious despite my obvious struggles and conducted by a constantly sniffing optician (where a cold or hay fever, he has my sympathy) but not healthy at such close proximity. The staff who helped me select my frames did not listent a word I said and constantly brought my the wrong shape, despite my explanations. When I received a text saying my glasses were available, I made a special trip back to the Wharf to collect them, only to discover they had my reading glasses but not my varifocals. Terribly poor service and attitude. Don't bother with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“arrogant beyond wors”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KristenLee419 on 01/09/2016

I visited the victoria branch on the 22/8 for an eye test and to purchase a pair of varifocals. the Receptionist and optician were very friendly and helpful. Although the glasses were very expensive I was assured I would have the glasses in 1 week as I needed them urgently. When I called on 30th to find out if they were ready, I was told they would only leave the lab on the 2nd09. After I told the lady on the phone if they were not ready on the promised date I was going to cancel the card transaction I put on to a credit controller. In the background, I could hear the receptionist tell the credit controller the glasses were only ordered on the 25th. After starting out so well its all gone down hill fast. Just received an online survey with the question would you recommend this store to a family member... ABSALUTLEY NOT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Optometrist rude”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 31/07/2016

My recent experience with the Cheltenham store manager/optometrist Azizabibi Kharodia forced me to walk out after being insulted and belittled. This was only my experience whilst having an eye examination from her, but she was rude and cutting with her comments to me just because I was 6 minutes late for an eye test. She continued this attitude towards me until I had to leave the examination before she insulted me any more. Whist examining me she stunk of cigarettes, including her fingers whilst touching my eyelids during the examination... She was very unprofessional and wouldn't recommend being examined by her to anyone! David Clulow customer services were not sympathetic and just left a general email response.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Not worth it”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/05/2016

I ordered two pairs of varifocals. sunglasses at half price and full price glasses for work. Cost £1400 in total. I was pretty shocked but thought they'd be worth it. No word from Clulow's for three weeks and out of desperation ordered a beautiful pair of designer varifocals on the internet(eyewearbrands) for £200 - less than a third of the Clulows price. Now a total of 6 weeks later and phoned Clulows Bluewater. Both original pairs are in their drawer and no one has bothered to contact me. Absolutely shocking. Go somewhere else. On;y giving one star because at least they did the eye test.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ebac on 26/12/2015

I purchased Lindberg frameless glasses from the Watford store with Essilor varifocal lenses. They were very expensive (£500+ in total). The first set of lenses got wobbly on one side where the nosepiece fitted into the lens after less than a year. This isn't good with astigmatism or with varifocals as it affects the prescription. They sent them back free of charge and reset them. Then the other side developed the same problem. It was more than a year at this point so I just put up with it. When my prescription changed I had new lenses fitted to the original frames. The lenses cost £400 in total. When they came back they seemed really 'off' so I checked the prescription card that had come with them and they'd got it wrong. I went back but they didn't believe me and even after I showed them the card they said it was a minor mistake. However, they sent them back but despite the promise of an express replacement it took the standard two weeks to correct them. Eleven months later I caught the glasses on my jumper and one of the lenses broke - again, where the nosepiece fitted into the lens. I took them back but despite my protestations that they weren't fit for purpose, that expensive lenses shouldn't have broken etc, they were not interested. To replace one lens will cost at least £200. I have decided to cut my losses and get a new pair elsewhere as I have no confidence in their build quality or customer service any more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“David Clulow Soho”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xzHays1951 on 18/06/2015

I generally do not review products and services, but I have been a customer of david Clulow for over 15 years, happy with the service and dispensing with a fairly substantial amount of money over the years. After attending my most recent eye care check, I felt that the only reason I was there was contribute to their bonus or commission. I was aggressively sold new frames and lenses, and asked if I would like to test new contact lenses. I graciously declined spending over £800.00 on a pair of glasses there and then, and have not heard from them since, despite being promised a pack of contact lenses to trial. They used to provide such an excellent service, but it seems that has sadly evaporated. Cash before customer service. But, hey, there's plenty of good opticians out there !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Minou41's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2016

it is absolutely true i had the same problem with David Clulow ints road
they gave me wrong prescription and convince me to buy two pair of glasses
for 400 pounds now i have problem because the consultant made a big mistake
and she was not expert at all i do not know what to do if somebody can help me
that how can i have refund as apparently they not do any refund

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Excelllent service, people & products”

★★★★★

written by PaulGRJOnes on 27/04/2015

Used this site before visiting & was slightly worried given the consistent bad reviews, however given people will often complain about pretty much every little thing & generally it's the only the negative reviews that get left I thought I'd at least have the eye test & go from there (the shop is convenient for my office (Soho) & had the Persol frames I was interested in). From the moment I entered the shop (small, but cute, with very high quality stock & lots of samples to try) I really have to say the service I received was faultless & believe me I am VERY fussy about customer service given it is so uniformly useless these days. I was greeted very cheerily by the ladies working upstairs in the actual showroom area, confirmed my appointment & was then taken downstairs to the eye test room. The optician was again, very friendly, funny & we had a good chat whilst she carried out the test, asking me relevant and pragmatic questions whilst she did so. She clearly knew her stuff and was refreshing that she wasn't just out of college and completely reliant on technology as opposed to having real experience. There was certainly no 'upselling' involved and there was certainly some opportunity with the prescription, but it was really reading lenses I actually needed and that is the prescription she wrote. From here, I went upstairs to select some frames. I must have picked out >20 styles and the girl helping me had the patience of a saint whilst we whittled these down to 3 & finally 1...the first pair I looked at. The glasses were ordered and I was called 3 working days later to say they'd arrived. I collected them & was again slightly nervous given the complaints of bad prescriptions, however putting them on & testing was a revelation, they were SO good, made me realise the previous lenses I'd had from Specsavers really weren't all they could be. So as previously mentioned, I had a pretty faultless experience at this branch and would recommend people try and make their own minds rather then necessarily worry about some of the negativity on this forum.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Always Up Selling ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Eyesandears on 28/03/2015

I've had two experiences with David Cudlow and both times I was up sold -straight away. Without the bat of an eyelid. The first was after being lured into the shop with a free eye test, only to be told I need glasses for around £500. Quotes elsewhere were about £200. It was only when I insisted that they then offered cheaper solutions. The second experience was an enquiry about the cost of lens replacement. Instantly I was up sold to a thinner lens costing £50 more, and only after insisting that i didn't need them and wanted to know where prices started was I told about the less expensive option. And, even then I had to explain five times that i didn't need new frames which finally led to them revealing the extra £15 charge for fitting to other frames (which in itself is fine, i just needed to know that cost straight away without having to wade through the fluffy sales stuff first). Transparant they are not. Opaque is the game. Ironic, in the optician business.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Expert Irish man in Soho”

★★★★★

written by Batchelor475 on 08/03/2015

Hi guys, I see that a lot of the reviews on here are quite negative so I thought I better give a little positive feedback on a recent experience I had in the Soho branch of David Clulow. My wife and I popped in to have a look whilst we were in London for a weekend. We both needed an update as have had our previous pairs for over 5 years. Upon entering the store we were greeted by a young chap from dublin with a warm smile and some polite assistance with our bags. He kindly offered to show us some frames and was spot on with his selection. I was grateful for the depth of knowledge he shared about the different manufacturers and there origins etc. and how to recognise the different quality of materials and hinges. I found this information both helpful and interesting. We eventually decided on the first pairs he had chosen for us. We both went for the higher quality lenses(I know that there has been a lot of issues regarding the pricing on here but if you are explained the benefits clearly as we were, and have been happy with the results, as we are, I feel it was worth spending the little extra). All in all, if you are in London and you want a nice pair of glasses from somebody that knows what they are doing, is professional, knowledgeable and very pleasant to deal with I would strongly recommend speaking to that irish chap in the Soho store. I believe his name is Jeremy/jerome or something like that.....happy shopping!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Monahussein's Comment

Written on: 23/03/2016

I have dealt with this chap before, certainly knows his stuff and easy on the eyes........lol

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ALL STYLE AND NO CUSTOMER SERVICE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Clarissah89 on 10/02/2015

I have to say this is my second major purchase from david Clulow in the last 2 years and all in all the customer experience and the value for money component was really substandard. I visited two stores Richmond and recently the kings road - the eye tests were good but that was really down tRo the individual opticians I purchased a £400+ pair of glasses and they didn't even offer to fit them for me when I went to pick them up . To add to that it took them more than 2 weeks to have them ready for me and their basic glass spec is really poor quality considering what you pay - All in all the lower high street brand would have been just as good quality wise! the only draw to them again would be the quality and selection of the frames but apart form that I should have gone to specs savers!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Very poor products and service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Christinen1969 on 15/01/2015

I bought two pairs of glasses from DC about 3 years ago theoretically on special 2 for 1 offer. I can confirm other customer's experience of "opaque pricing" when hit out of the blue with the £450 price tag. Having already wasted a lot of time I went ahead any way. subsequently the glasses were never fitted competently despite several fittings and complaints. Now, after only 3 years wear the coatings of the lenses are pealing off leaving a scratched pitted finish and for me, blurred vision. Smug snotty service not justified by low quality products. Apalling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Patronising and Rude staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/12/2014

My firm offers free eye tests from David Clulow and the Jubilee Place branch is close to where I work. After returning from holiday I discovered that my eye had gone very red and vision was blurred. The optician who examined me asked if my lenses had touched water. I told her that I had been to a big theme park that had rides and also a water park area. I had worn my lenses to get about there as the place was huge.

She quite rightly told me that I should not have worn my lenses. I agreed with her and said that I would bear this in mind and would not do it again.

I thought that would be the end of it and she would stop there. Unfortunately, she went on and on and on, repeating the same points about five or six times, until my ears rang basically.

As a contact lens wearer for over 15 years who has never had the remotest eye trouble, I must know something of eye hygiene. But no not according to this lady. She spoke to me as though I was not only thick but also deaf, telling me about storing and cleaning my lenses in the most patronising manner! I felt so insulted but remained polite and quiet.

She then took me out into the store, told me that a follow-up appointment was needed and again told me off this time in front of a colleague (bob hair cut hair dyed orange, glasses- keep reading!) I left the place close to tears at the way I had been treated.

I got back to my desk visibly upset and my colleagues suggested that I call up the other branch in Canary Wharf (Cabot Place) to ask if my follow-up appointment could be moved there instead. They asked me why and I told them that i was uncomfortable going back to the other branch and didn't want to give further details. The lady on the phone was reassuring, she asked me to tell her exactly what had happened. She told me not to worry and she would not give any detailed reason to the other branch, she would simply switch the appointments.

So my appointment day came at the Cabot Street branch. Unprofessionalism is obviously shared between the two branches, as I only had to say my name and the shop staff fell quiet, stared awkwardly and a couple of them started to whisper. Did I feel uneasy? That was an understatement!!

The appointment went well, the optician was nice enough. I then came out of my appointment into the store. I heard some people whispering around me and felt eyes staring straight at me. I looked up and lo and behold the unprofessional bob-hair cut woman from the other salon was stood right there whispering to a couple of colleagues!! Which planet are this company on, seriously!!! Has no patient any right to complain without being made to feel a leper?!

So I tried to pay for my appointment and the lady serving me (thankfully a different one) said that I would need to pay at the other branch. I was mortified! I asked her if she could call through and I could make the payment over the phone, but she said no unfortunately not. Customer Service is clearly in common between the two branches too. How ridiculous!

So I bit my lip and walked across the mall to the Jubilee Place optician. No surprises that when i arrived there little miss bob haircut had miraculously appeared back there! My oh my, what a fun day she must have been having, so much excitement for her!!

She was stood mumbling to the rude optician as i walked in. Unfortunately it was only the two if them in the shop at the time and one customer: Lucky me! I remained calm, said hello to the optician and told her that I had come to pay for my appointment. She said "sure" and asked me for my card. As she said this, another couple of patients walked in. She then looked at me and asked in a loud voice:"I hear you complained about me. What exactly was the problem?" The shop went quiet.

I was mortified and said well I didn't really want to talk about it. She was not deterred by this and continued questioning me "No I really would like to know, what did I do to you that was so awful?"

What was this woman thinking speaking to me like that in front of a shop full of people? How completely unprofessional, patronising and rude!

I replied again calmly that i didn't want to talk about it and just wanted to complete my payment. She must have repeated the question about four times, per her usual patronising style.

All I can say is that I couldn't get out of the place quickly enough! Diabolical service, I would not return here if I was going blind and this was the last optician on the planet! These people are deluded. Spec Savers or Boots anytime please!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Very disappointed!!! NOT recommended.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sudhanshu87 on 04/12/2014

Very disappointed with the service at Canary Wharf (Cabot Place) - (1) Staff and optometrist were notably unfriendly during my eye examination (2) I was told to come back for the prescription. I went three times after work (which is the only time I get) only to be told each time that the optometrist has gone home and her signature is required. I asked why she didn't do it during the day over the last 3 days and was told 'you have to ask for it'. (3) At this point seeing my frustration one of the counter staff signed and issued the prescription herself - I'm not sure if she's even allowed to do this?! (4) The prescription was incomplete. The recommendations section was blank with no mention of whether I need specs for general use or VDU use etc. (5) Saving the worst for the last - The prescription was incorrect! Right and Left had been switched and if I hadn't checked it carefully I would have placed the wrong order online - This is completely unacceptable!! Checked the reviews online and found that the average rating for David Clulow is only 1.5/5 - have to say I'm not surprised! Would not recommend it to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The irritable optometrist gave me the wrong prescription”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Petersonbm235 on 11/11/2014

The service was terrible.. during my eye test when I was unsure between two choices of lense, the optometrist would get extremely annoyed with me. But that was far from the worst part.. 2 months after wearing the glasses I paid £500 for, I suffer from the worst headaches and eye soreness. Last week I went to get my eyes tested at a cmopetitor and it turns out that the David Clulow prescription was inaccurate and causing these headaches. I am tempted to take legal action against them if they dont refund me my money!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Inferior product with no warranty”

★☆☆☆☆

written by antp on 29/09/2014

Spent over £500 on a pair of rimless glasses. After 8 months they literally fell off my face during normal wear. The lens had broken where it connects to the nose part. Took them back and was told that the warranty only lasts 6 months so tough you will have to pay full price for repair. I did this and they again failed in the same place in less than a further year. By this time I'd resolved never to use David Clulow again and took them to a new opticians to fit new lenses. The new optician, without any prompting from me at all, took one look at them when I opened the case and said "those lenses are too thin for the frames. I'm not surprised they have broken". So £800 later I ended up with 2 pairs of broken glasses that were faulty from the very start AND told that I had no warranty for them. Truly disgusted and looking at the other reviews I'm not the only one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I wish I had read these reviews”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RandomUsername2 on 12/09/2014

My visit cost me a fortune and incredible amount of stress. I should point out that I had been a couple of years previously and had lovely service. But on my most recent visit, the chaos began when they could not find my records, and gave me the impression that it was somehow my fault for not going regularly enough. I had no confidence in the optician who seemed surprised and concerned at every single answer. My entire visit lasted 2 hours and I left with a terrible headache and sore eyes which I swear have never been the same since. I was told to contact my GP, as there was something wrong with my eyes, but she could/ would not tell me what and even when test results were normal, she thought that there must be an error. I left paranoid about the risk of retinal detachment and terrified of any remotely strenuous activity. ( I have since had a second opinion and they did not find any problems.) I was handed over to pushy sales staff who gave me a choice of 2 frames, rushed me, and gave me no say in the type of lenses and got impatient with me as I was worried about being able to pay the £500 and may need to delay until after payday. On collecting my glasses the assistant was rude and incredibly patronising, and I decided not to attend my follow up appointment or a second contact lense fitting (I was unable to collect my contacts)as I wanted to get a second opinion - they are still chasing me about this. I will never use a high street opticians again, the whole experience caused me a lot of stress, I will only ever use local businesses from now on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by dailey on 16th June 2014 Report this content
Will I have a 14 or 28 day money back guarantee with my ray ban sunglasses?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview