Asda Opticians opticians.asda.com

Click here if this is your business
Asda Opticians opticians.asda.com
★★☆☆☆
2.4
34.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Asda Opticians opticians.asda.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Asda Opticians opticians.asda.com

Latest Reviews

“Nice professional ladies”

★★★★★

written by uzLeach452 on 09/06/2024

I went to Asda optician today and boy, how nice I went! The lady in Asda opticianSheffield Chaucer Road has been really helpful and professional, she definitely deserves a pay rise! She has been attentive and offered good professional advice, she even helped me to choose the frames, very happy with her service and definitely would recommend! I am still waiting to collect my glasses, hope they will be as good as promised. One thing worth mentioning about Asda opticians is if you change your mind about varifocals, you can always change it back to your distance viewing glasses for free, a service not too many opticians could offer I suppose.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Lost contact lenses in post twice ..really !!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MissLadybug39 on 05/06/2024

I decided to order my contact lenses from Asda because they were cheaper (at first) Was a bit of a faff getting my prescription sorted from another option. I waited over 3 weeks for my lenses and had to get more from another provider,as I was told by a lady called Jazbinder my lenses were lost in the post,ok I thought it can happen. Well guess what the lenses I ordered over 3 weeks ago have also been lost in the post !! Also when I phone to ask where my lenses were Jazbinder told me I will need to order them again,"what" I said that means waiting around 6weeks for my lenses that I need. Trying to complain to Asda is a absolute nightmare,I ended up complaining to the CEO of asda,if I could have spoken to a genuine customer care rep I would have. Oh and to add insult to injury I was charged twice for the lenses I never had. BEWARE !!! SHODDY customer care

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Park Royal Asda opticians, Don't bother”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 145Miranda on 10/02/2024

Purchases 2 pairs of glasses from Park Royal Asda. Was told via website and by assistant in store that varifocal, thinned lenses would be included in the price, this was made out to be a big selling point. After getting home, one of the pairs was causing considerable pain to the bridge of my nose. I called the store and was told to bring them in. I did that and got told it's because the lenses are too heavy, they would need to be thinned. This apparently is not included in the price at all. I am fuming as the manageress was abrupt and unhelpful, trying to get me to spend another £100 on top of what I had already paid to fix a problem that wouldn't have happened if they hadn't been misleading in what comes as standard with their glasses. Waste of time and money. Date of experience: 09 February 2024

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Appalling service and attitude of staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by IanMolland on 14/12/2023

For several years I have used Asda opticians, and this is because I have always had such a good service. However, one of the tiny pins must have broken in the place where the glasses are attached to the frame at the nose bridge. I took the glasses back to Asda today and asked them if they could help me. They checked on their system and said that the glasses were from a Sept 2022 prescription and that therefore the glasses were three months out of warranty. They said I would have to purchase a new pair of glasses and that I would not be able to use an NHS voucher because one had been used in Sept 2022. I said that I might as well go to another optician to buy the glasses as they were not being at all helpful. I was presented with the prescription from 2022 and I asked them for the PD measurement. They refused. The optician even came out to agree with the pathetic staff who were all three just sat around doing nothing and gossiping. Considering I have been a customer of Asda optician for some years, it is extremely petty of them to refuse to provide the measurement, especially when it is so easy to take. Within 15 minutes of leaving the store I had the measurement taken. This confirmed my opinion that the service at the Asda Optician at the Ventura retail park in Tamworth had become appalling. It’s of note that from previous visits only one member of staff was the same and that she had so well attended to me in the past. It appears to have become a very toxic environment where laziness and indifference have become a norm. In the past it was always so difficult to get booked in for tests at this Asda optician, but seeing the place absolutely deserted today speaks volumes about the staff and the management of the department. I seriously call into question the professionalism of the staff, including the optometrist (male) who was quite happily going along with attitude of the 3 female staff who were doing absolutely nothing. A good optometrist and a good manager of a department would have said ‘we’re really sorry, your glasses are just out of warranty, but because you have been a customer of us for some years, we’ll do whatever we can to help you”. I definitely won’t be returning to this store and would definitely advise anyone else in this Tamworth area to seriously consider all other options before using Asda opticians Ventura

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Eye infection ”

★★★★★

written by Fobister on 03/11/2023

I can't thank the optician enough at Asda jewel Edinburgh my husband called our doctors surgery a longhouse medical group at trinity Edinburgh but the they didn't deem it necessary to give my husband an appointment for an eye infection that had my husband had. My husband had a very swollen right eye inflamed tissue around his eye and his eye was very sore and tender to touch . Instead my husband was told to contact his optician unfortunately the optician couldn't really give my husband anything for the infection instead the optician contacted the eye pavillion the optician gave my husband a letter of what was wrong with his eye and that the eye pavilion were expecting him . I'm absolutely livid with longhouse medical group at trinity Edinburgh this all could have been avoided had they given my husband an appointment in the first instance instead of wasting our time and optician and the eye pavillion hospitals time . I'm furious. I can't thank Asda opticians at the jewel Edinburgh enough thankyou so much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent customer service ( Asda Milton Dundee)”

★★★★★

written by MargaretCurrie on 09/08/2023

First visit to Asda Opticians at Milton Dundee On the recommendation of a friend who had purchased spectacles from the local supermarket optician I decided to see what they had to offer. Having paid £300 for new frames in the past I was pleasantly surprised at the offer of 2 pairs for £180. The Optical Manager could not have been more helpful in choosing frames, her knowledge and expertise were very evident in how she managed my order. Initially advised of a 3 week delivery time, I was delighted to receive a text 8 days later to say my spectacles were ready to be collected. A very professional, yet friendly service, I will definitely buy again from this optician & recommend to family and friends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Brilliant service”

★★★★★

written by ValSyl on 15/06/2023

Attended Asda Leamington Spa with a few problems with my glasses. Expertly remedied by the representatives, cheerfully with smiles on their faces. Very happy with the service thank you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ASDA Ashton under Lynne opticians poor service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DavidWardle on 11/06/2023

Bought a pair of duck and cover glasses at £80 and they came with a useless lime green soft case that looked and felt like cardboard, when I asked to exchange the case the clever little assistant brought me a little pink hard case, I told him to keep it and vowed to never use them again , On another note when I had eye test earlier this year I was asked if I had any symptoms of COVID so I replied no then my eye test was done by an optician sneezing and coughing and guess what yep I caught COVID within the week bit of a coincidence, ASDA used them for years but never again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sophiajoy's Response to DavidWardle's Review

Written on: 08/03/2024

My son has beautiful copper red hair and has been severely bullied recently for it. To see your juvenile review with "little ginger assistant" really makes me angry. You bought cheap glasses you get a cheap case! No need to comment on someone's appearance..idiot!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 2

“Eye test Blackwood”

★★★★★

written by Stanf on 22/08/2022

Thank you for a pleasant and efficient eye test at Blackwood Asda today. The staff we’re lovely and very professional. I would definitely recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great value”

★★★★★

written by on 09/04/2022

Just got my third pair of varifocals from Asda Great Yarmouth. Excellent lenses and still less than half the price of my first varifocals nearly 20 years ago. They really are very good, and for £120, with thin lenses and transitions an absolute bargain. Staff were great and very helpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE”

★★★★★

written by Rollinsmc491 on 06/03/2022

Best experience for years where an eye test is concerned. Having had two bad experiences with two Opticians it was certainly was a good one with Asda in Sheerwater, Woking. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. No sales pressure to buy new glasses straight away. First Opticians that I have been to that also talks to you about your diet and how to make sure that you know what foods to put in to your diet to maintain healthy eyes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Really Impressed.”

★★★★★

written by Noodlecats on 10/02/2022

Really impressed with the optician at the Ashton Under-lyne store. He was so knowledgeable and able to convey information, explain it in a way it was easy to grasp. The attention to detail and how he related it to your own individual eye assessment was something I had not experienced before. A real asset to ASDA. The team were very friendly but the optician stood out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rude unpleasant staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KewieKen on 24/11/2021

Tried to ‘phone ASDA OPTICIANS Bristol Patchway SIX-SEVEN times, ‘phone never answered, as usual, to explain I had been [SLIGHTLY] unavoidably delayed for booked Eyetest on 24/11/21 and eventually got through to Answer Machine. Explained situation and asked that I be called if Test could not be done - I was travelling 30miles+ to attend. Got there, lady behind scenes finally dragged herself to Counter…… “Yes??” I explained, she looked at screen and shook her head, “We can’t do it”. I asked why not, “We can’t do it”. I asked whether anybody had tried to contact me to cancel my [WASTED] trip and she just shrugged and said, “Well, I didn’t know you’d called….!!” And then said, “We can re-book it” I declined and she just turned and walked away I had apologised for being delayed - I got absolutely nothing by way of an apology - or even an explanation - in return I don’t think, in all my (many!) years that I’ve ever met such a surly, unpleasant and unhelpful person - EVER!! Customer Service????? 0% Humanity????? Pretty much the same….. Been with ASDA Opticians for years - won’t ever be going back to one again, ‘though Shame!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 2

“Best appt ever”

★★★★★

written by Wendyfromcrosby on 21/08/2021

Had eye test today at Aintree asda opticians and can't fault it. Such a lovely optician put me totally at ease. Conveyed information in a friendly and professional manner. Answered question on condition that could be inherited. Other staff helpful and friendly. Picked up a pair of varifocals very cheaply. Can't find a single thing to comment negatively about or suggest improvement.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Broken before 2 years old”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Itdoenstmatter on 05/07/2021

I have had my glasses from ASDA Crewe since December 2019, the arm has now broken off and apparently out of guarantee. Never had glasses break before 2 years old. My choice is either buy a new pair on the old prescription or fix with sellotape. That's what you get buying cheap glasses from Asda, won't be doing that again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Dont bother”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jonnymunro on 19/06/2021

No hard case not even a cleaning cloth .. Great service went to pick up new glasses in some crappy bright asda green fabric and not even a cloth inside May not seem .much but how skippy I have never not been given a case by any opticians before keeps them safe in your bag I just wonder how much they saved and they were in tge shop for sale V dissapointed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Covid 19 at Asda Opticians Coventry Walsgrave store.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mshah. on 09/12/2020

New ruling in place at Asda Coventry Walsgrave store. Due to Coronavirus you CANNOT view the frames unless you make an appointment for a sight test!! When I explained to the senior lady, this cannot possibly be correct, she decided to laugh in my face with her colleague. Walked in at Boots optician and the only change to Covid 19 is that you now put the frames to one side after trying them out; no need for a *forced unnecessary* sight test just to try out the frames. How ridiculous!?! Shop floor was empty with 2 members of staff; still it was too much just to view the frames; staff need proper re-training due to Covid and that means if a customer has a mask on and is prepared to sanitize their hands then they don't have to book for an unnecessary sight test just so they can try out the frames. I have given one star only because there is no option for *minus star* or zero star. Goodbye Asda.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“takes to long”

★★☆☆☆

written by tonymara on 31/03/2020

I purchased a pair of glasses from asda optitions after having to wait four weeks for the appointment date. I found the glasses hard to see through and went back after giving them a go for two weeks only to be advised I could get an appointment to have the glasses looked in another four weeks I felt there should of been someone on hand for these types of problems and that everything seems to be a four week wait to be seen to. afraid I shan't be purchasing from asda optitions again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Well, that surprised me”

★★★★★

written by WarrenButlin on 26/01/2020

Quoted over £300 for pair of glasses at my usual optician, I went to Asda Superstore in Waterlooville. I spoke to one of their sales personnel about all my requirements & was told that £80 is what it would cost. Well, if it went wrong I could use them as spares. Eight days later they text me to say my glasses were ready. I tried them on and wow! Fabulous, verifocals with thin lens. My only regret was I should have ordered 2 pairs for £120! I will be returning to order a spare pair. Asda for glasses? Oh yes!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Excellent service ”

★★★★☆

written by Queeg4000 on 23/12/2019

Had my eyes tested elsewhere for free and took my prescription to Asda on December 13th. Paid £45 for their cheapest frames and varifocal lenses. Having worn Essilor lenses in the past at 3 times this price, and being warned not to buy cheap varifocals, I thought I was taking a gamble but was told if I have any problems I could take them back within 3 weeks for a refund, so took the plunge. Told they would be ready for December 27th but had a message on the 21st to say they were ready. Picked them up the next day, fitted well and very pleased with them. As expected the peripheral vision is not as clear as the more expensive lenses I had been using, but it only took ten minutes before I stopped noticing that. I would definitely buy glasses from Asda again, but next time I would probably get a better quality frame or have my old glasses reglazed. The only down side is Asda website still shows incorrect opening hours for the opticians, check with them before making the journey.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Moores21 on 15th November 2022 Report this content
I've just picked up a pair of specs from Coryton. Can I change my mind? I've made a mistake with the frame choice, they are ill fitting and too heavy.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Lincs9 on 16th August 2016 Report this content
Does anyone have experience, good or bad, of moving to Asda varifocals?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Moores21 Written on: 15/11/2022
4pairs all vari-great Its the customer service colleagues you have all the problems with
Asked by Lincs9 on 15th August 2016 Report this content
Can someone describe advanced varifocal lenses at ASDA please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content MrPlodski Written on: 17/08/2016
Out of 147 reviews 87 are negative 1 star reviews. Please, do yourself a favour and run a mile... Regards
overview