Virgin Mobile UK Reviews - www.virginmobile.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Signal Coverage

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Virgin Mobile UK - www.virginmobile.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Virgin Mobile UK - www.virginmobile.com

Virgin Mobile UK - www.virginmobile.com
Virgin Mobile UK - www.virginmobile.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin "Scamedia" Mobile. ”

Written on: 28/07/2019 by Gamer720 (6 reviews written)

Dubious customer services rang Virgin ,connected to an Indian call centre because i was getting a daily " half naked Asian lady picture message text costing me 50p per text . . Reply by call centre "That is okay you must sign up for picture text " we will cancel it " . Firstly never signed up for this or any stupid picture text service (maybe someone had my phone number and a way of doing this perhaps on commission ) and secondly the call cost me over £3 minus £2:50p for 5 pictures...needless to say cancelled my monthly rolling contract.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service, fees & shoddy voicemail.”

Written on: 29/06/2019 by SageBeck (1 review written)

During the majority of my time with Virgin the voicemail feature did not work, it kept on having to be reset but would always revert to not functioning and, despite many attempts the Virgin staff were unable to resolve this, which for such a standard feature is atrocious in this day and age. Also I was charged an exorbitant fee from a trip abroad when I didn't use my phone once, when I contacted customer service to politely discuss this I was shocked at just how abrupt and rude they were; both the initial representative and the manager. It was this experience that was the final nail in the coffin for Virgin Mobile for me. I have now moved to a network that is cheaper, with better coverage, has friendly customer service and wait for it... lo and behold working voicemail!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting customer service”

Written on: 30/04/2019 by DahliaBragg (1 review written)

Disgusting customer services. Staff talk over the top of you , speak to you like dirt then hang up on you when they don't know how to resolve a problem or cant be bothered to sort anything out. Mis sold contract as I was told that it would be capped as I have a son with special needs. Find out that no It hasn't been capped and when I took out the contract it wasn't for 2 years but 3. I find this out a year later and they refuse to do anything about the issue and just state that well this is what it is and there is nothing you can do to change it this is in their words. Not all calls are recorded and those that are , are only kept for 180 days so wouldn't even go back to the time I took out the contract to clarify this. Apparently they don't have access to recordings but can send them to you. would like to know how they send them if they don't have access to them. I currently have 3 contracts with them and if this is not resolved I will be pulling all of them and don't even think of plenty chargers as it was mis sold in the first place you are in breach of the contract. if Virgin see this I want a written apology for the way I was spoken to and staff need further training and disaplinery action taking occardingly .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Textbook financial criminals”

Written on: 04/01/2019 by jordanbell (1 review written)

They cancelled my service claiming that I exceeded my data in December. However, I barely used my phone at all this December, and was turned off most of the time, making this impossible. They now demand £58, along with another £38 in data charges. Customer services then hung up on me when I confronted them over this. This matter will be reported to the police and become a criminal investigation if they don't sort it soon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Tried to use my phone abroad, checked with virgin...”

Written on: 28/09/2018 by Vivians77 (1 review written)

Tried to use my phone abroad, checked with virgin before leaving and was told it was all set up and ready to use. When trying I found I couldn’t make or receive calls, on returning I spoke to virgin and was told I should have called them, would have loved to, With What. If and when you ever get past the robots and through to a person you need a translator.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unfair Charges”

Written on: 09/04/2018 by JamirHamilton (1 review written)

I've just had a totally unjust bill from Virgin mobile charging me £75 for some phantom mobile data usage- A member of the team agreed to waive my fee and then rescinded it...a manager openly admitted that he thought that the fee was unreasonable in his opinion but that he couldn't rescind it despite offering me £15 back. So 110mb of data for £75- thanks Virgin. I have been with the network for 15 years and they couldn't care less that they are treating a loyal customer like this...so disappointing and unnecessary.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“very poor deals compare to competition. Small data...”

Written on: 27/03/2018 by Mrs L Wilkes (2 reviews written)

very poor deals compare to competition. Small data limits with massive charges for going over. Cant even set data to switch off when reaching free limit. Will be leaving them very soon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful customer service”

Written on: 15/03/2018 by Paulneac (1 review written)

The worst customer service I've ever experienced I opened a new 2 year contract with them they sent a faulty sim. Took 2 weeks to receive a new one, I made a complaint as I had a new phone with no network for 2 weeks, kept contacting them they then said I agreed to close the case which I never did. They were so rude and arrogant saying if you don't like it make a complaint to a third party. I have to stay with them for 2 years for me they should not be aloud to do this the way they treat their customers

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“Poor quality phones”

Written on: 13/10/2017 by Jay... (1 review written)

I've always had generally great customer service with helpful staff. however, I was advised when upgrading my phone that the j5 Samsung was a really good phone. I've never had such bad advice, awful cheap quality that shattered with minimal effort after 4 days.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst company ever with useless customer service”

Written on: 05/08/2017 by Customerisking66 (1 review written)

Took my automatic tariff free minutes away in Jan. Called each month to get them added manually then in June they changed my tariff without asking or permission and don't answer my complaint emails and the customer service dept by phone is as useful as a chocolate fire guard. The worst company EVER to deal with when things go wrong and Strongly recommend you look elsewhere. Shocked they are still trading the chief executive should be embarrassed by such appalling customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

Written on: 12/07/2017 by ArmaniGalbraith (1 review written)

Tell lies take you money don't won't to help don't sort the problem not good you can do a lot better they won't to step in and do something about the mess his staff putting his company in SHOCKING DO SOMETHING About now

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin Mobile disgusting ”

Written on: 23/06/2017 by Josephine44 (1 review written)

Disgusting service phone broke and have insurance but won't send me a phone even though there are 2 disabled people in the house. I'm also ready to upgrade so asked if could do that instead 3 hours of being moved from 1 department to another still no upgrade so got 1 broken phone.even spoke to a manager who said ring back Tuesday and we will sort something out. I told him I wanted make a complaint he said yes that's fine we will let u no the out come in 30 day's . Wouldn't recommend virgin to anyone.they way I was spoken to was horrible. If you want a good phone contract please don't use virgin

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service”

Written on: 04/05/2017 by B1968xx (1 review written)

Customer service is terrible, been trying to end my contract as not wanting to put up with them for another 2 years and after several phone calls still not sorted, how hard is I do not want to renew my contract so hard to understand. Absolute joke

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Really bad”

Written on: 29/04/2017 by Robertson265 (1 review written)

Spent nearly two hours on phone without getting anywhere they couldn't understand a thing I said waste of time. in end I cancelled my package after being with them 15 years plus don't go anywhere near them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nightmare”

Written on: 04/04/2017 by Cazhick---- (1 review written)

Don't touch they made me ill ! ! ! £5 a month turned into about £80 a month!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After sales service”

Written on: 08/03/2017 by Clintonj319 (1 review written)

Tried to cancel contracts but virgin kept sending me Overdue Balance Thretening letters. Tried to phone to say I had canceled contracts but the after sales service was not very helpful. SO THINK TWISE BEFORE USEING VIRGIN MOBILE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Selling Windows 10 phone with no app to get Virgin...”

Written on: 11/02/2017 by Larkinjw96 (1 review written)

Virgin are selling Microsoft Lumia 650 but have not written the app, available on Apple and Android, to get Virgin hotspots. Left hand does not know what the right hand is up to. Virgin customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“customer service is a joke with the non uk call centres”

Written on: 01/02/2017 by graham0806 (1 review written)

I had a call from Virgin Mobile to ask me to trade up which I politely said no I didn't want to as I am happy with my S6 and I didn't want the S7 so then it was the I phone 7 which I said no then the 2017 Samsung A5 which I again told them I wasn't interested and that at the end of my contract that I was considering leaving VM as the signal is poor in my area to that she promptly said bye and put the phone down. Then I get 2 emails confirming my trade up order. I call VM back and get down to explaining to be told that there was no order placed. So why have I received these emails to be told that the previous person had probably processed this during my call, to which I replied that from the start I had said I wasn't interested. I then asked if I could speak to customer complaints in the UK to which I was transferred to the UK but it was technical help. The advisor at Swansea tried his hardest and needed to speak to collegues so said he would call me back to which he did. Unfortunately he would need to make further enquiries and that a member of his team would call me back the following day so I requested for this call to be before a certain time. Unfortunately I had to go out so I call trying to get back through to Swansea but my call went back to a non UK call centre and the first thing I got asked was why cant I speak to a non UK agent? I replied that at times with the previous people I had struggled to understand their accent and I had to keep asking for them to repeat things. He promptly told me there was no order. Now I get up after 4.5 hours sleep after being up for nearly 24 hours to a letter from VM with a prepaid envelope for me to send my phone in for the trade up with a letter containing order numbers. I have wasted over an hour of my time on the phone trying to sort this and still feel no further forward. VIRGIN MOBILE LISTEN TO YOU CUSTOMERS AND DONT WASTE MONEY SENDING POST THAT DOESNT NEED SENDING AND CREATING ORDERS THAT PEOPLE DO NOT WANT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“You need to start taking your customers seriously”

Written on: 15/01/2017 by mimi2891 (1 review written)

I've been with Virgin Mobile 11 days and within this time I have been hugely frustrated over something as simple as a voicemail. Due to the nature of my work, my voicemail service is very important to me and I have called your call centre at least on 7 separate occasions to try to get my voicemail working. Because since I transferred my number to virgin from my old network provider I haven't been able to get my voicemail set up it keeps saying there are technical problems. I've rang and spent hours on the phone and no-one leaves notes(even after I ask that they please leave a note on my account so the next person I speak to knows what to do), so everytime I call in I have to start explaining everything all over again and your call centre/technical team is not trained on what to do or they're just very incompetent because something as simple as setting up a voicemail should not warrant my calling in 7 times to report the same problem because all the previous people keep doing the same thing that I've told them isn't working. My whole family was going to switch to Virgin before because I told them the service seemed good and the price fair but so far with your incompetency in sorting out simple issues and lack of follow up I've told everyone I know to stay clear of Virgin because what good is a affordable service that doesn't work. Some of your customers service staff were sympathetic but they were clueless and what good does that do me, the last two were so unconcerned about sorting my problem out and I'm just fed up already. I wish I had read reviews before even switching over, but good thing I'm on a monthly rolling because I'm cancelling at the end of this month. You really should do better Virgin

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling treatment from 'customer services'”

Written on: 29/11/2016 by Captain-Incandescent (1 review written)

Having spent in excess of three hours on the telephone to VM this week in order to capitalise on the Black Friday deals, and to upgrade my phone/package, I can only say one thing.....AAAAAAAAARGHHHH! The perversity and intransigence I experienced left me hugely frustrated and more than a little angry. Having been offered a deal by the retentions dept, I was put through to the sales dept to process the final details. I was then told that the offer I was given did not exist! After many cross words, I was left with the feeling that the man in retentions dept lied to me, or that VM thought I was lying to them. Either way, this was not good, and the end result being that the manager in the call centre refused to recognise the original offer, and pointedly refused to confirm or deny that the offer had been made. All in all, they have managed to loose a long term customer twice as I have two accounts with them. Well done Virgin Mobile for treating a supposedly valued customer like a piece of the proverbial excretion. I shall make every effort to let my friends and family know what a thoroughly unprofessional and rude company they have been. Bye bye Virgin.... oh... and expect feedback from Mr Branson too. I will be at this until I am treated like a human being!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Owen123456 on 24th June 2015 Report this content
Often says no sim registered if the sim is not activated or the phone is locked to a spesific network.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Lesleyb31 on 23rd June 2015 Report this content
I brought a new phone today, and inserted the SIM card in. It keeps saying no SIM card. What should I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Owen123456 Written on: 24/06/2015
Check the sim is activated and topped up. Or check the phone and sim are comparable with the same network. Often phones are locked to individual networks.
Report this content fluffy_joe Written on: 24/06/2015
If its a micro sim + micro sim adapter what ever you do do not just pull it out. THEY GET STUCK I did this and wrecked the connector pins . In my opnion virgin should never be giving people micro sims this way when they know full well it wrecks phones ... virgin even tried to make me pay for the repair and i was without a phone for a week or so .. To make matters even worse my phone had a 3mm crack in the screen and they refused to fix the sim problem before i paid to have my crack fixed ...and then when i rang virgin insurance they had no record of me .. so just be aware ...and hold your ground it is virgin at fault for penny pinching and not issuing the correct sim in the 1st place
Asked by Oly01 on 4th June 2014 Report this content
Why won't my iPhone 5 send message when on EE network? It will when on virgin network.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview