More Than Home Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
More Than Home Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for More Than Home Insurance

More Than Home Insurance
More Than Home Insurance
More Than Home Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

written by Jenniferw87 on 31/12/2022

Have a water leak in the toilet basin since 30th December after calling several times finally got through and told a plumber would be out between 8am and 4pm surprise surprise nobody showed. Water continues to leak out and nobody is answering the phones as per usual. Having spent all last night trying to soak up any water flowing out and waiting all day for so.eone to turn up. CETs response has been poor quoting company policy about 24 hours response time it's in the t&c's. You have 2 hours left of your precious 24 hours after that I will be contacting my solicitors.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“customer service is laughable ”

written by Ballisticsuk on 21/04/2022

this company have the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with its not isolated as I have been bounced through 5 different teams (team 27 being the worst) but all being at a level of incompotance I have never seen before They have no idea what the policy allows they lie about anything and everything If you want hassle free insurance then this company is not what you want Trust me and all the other reviewers here you will regret ever giving these pirates your business I have the data requests of all calls I have all the emails These prove how much you have tried to deceive me and stall I even left a review on another platform on Easter weekend response in 2 hours Now 5 days later after my response to the response via the email. Nothing just goes to show what is the priorities of this company It's not the customer it's their reputation Well news for you more than there is a Hugh group of us that you have wronged we are not going to stop outing you and the dedicated website is being worked on as we speak when this goes live and we share it viral will be the outcome you see us who stand up for our rights have many followers the power of unity is coming to a Web page soon

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After validating don’t provide home emergency”

written by akshyadeep on 19/03/2022

It should be negative star not even 0. Home emergency service after validating says will take 4hr then gets text in hr saying will take 9-24hr for someone to come for a hot water tank leaking in the loft, damaging roof and electricals (even though stopped fresh water) calling again after spending time explaining it said will cancel next day booking and will find someone tonight. Again waiting few hour no update so called back they said cannt get anyone only next day 9-24hr window is open, told them house is becoming unsafe when water is already off, cannt stay with family they said will arrange hotel stay, will book and will call me back. Waited 30 min no call so called again back and said sorry we cannt book anything for night when I can find hundreds of hotels nearby with availability in bookings.com or hotels.com. Stupid excuse saying the booking partner cannt find anything. Every time lied and don’t even care to callback with update or say sorry, for searching emergency plumber they all did was dropped an email to some vendor and kept waiting. This isn’t an emergency service! Stay away from the company! It’s all to do with cost of emergency as plumber charge less in business hours rather night rates! Complete nightmare

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

written by Anne-elk-miss on 19/02/2022

£50 to cancel a policy and almost impossible to hear what the customer service guy was saying due to the shouting and streaking in the background. Either working from home or very noisy office but with way very very unprofessional

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Extortionate Price Increase”

written by on 25/01/2022

An increase of 21% on Buildings & Contents cover is unjustifiable! Have remained with More Than for convenience sake only, for now! Future renewals may be a very different outcome if More Than continue along these lines!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting service avoid at all costs ”

written by SSimcock on 31/01/2021

Disgraceful service despite Morethan and their agents BV Solutions agreement to water damage claim to the kitchen and bathroom 20 August 2020 and quote sent to BV Solutionsup to this day 31 January 2021 still having to fight through financial ombudsman to have the work done left without bathroom facilities despite mails and phone calls avoid at all costs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Untrustworthy, deceitful company”

written by papiotos on 03/12/2019

I have just found that there is a blocked drain at my home, the main outlet to the public sewer, with raw sewage gathering in the garden. The local water board were very helpful and tried to clear it at no charge but, because the blockage is on my property, could do no more. I was not too concerned because I had a MORE TH>N (part of RSA) Home Insurance policy, for both contents and buildings cover, and also including something called Home Emergency Assistance. The wording of the policy describing what is covered by Home Emergency Assistance left me in no doubt that this situation would be covered and I confidently called MORE TH>N. I was then told by MORE TH>N that this situation would not be covered, the reasons being that there was no damage to the inside of the property and no risk to health and safety etc. Given that the nature of the blockage is that all the drains in and around the house appear to be backed up with gurgling noises are coming from the downstairs sink drains and toilet, it sounds to me as if it is highly likely that sewage will start to come into the house through these. Yet, I was told, this is not considered an emergency! It was suggested that if something changes and damage results that I call back! Essentially, I was on my own. How is that for customer care? On the basis that this situation is not covered, I feel that I have been misled into buying this insurance policy. I have just looked at some of the other reviews of this company. I wish I had looked before taking out the policy! Be warned. This is not a company I would ever do business with again. I have awarded 1 star because it wasn't possible to give no stars....but that is what they truly deserve.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company to try to deal with”

written by voBriggs188 on 15/07/2019

Nightmare company, will not deal with disabled by e mail, take weeks to get an answer from them. By the time they answer your renewal date has passed. Legal helpline is useless, they again will not communicate by e mail, anything you want help with 'is not covered" and quote you thousands to look at it for you. What is the point of paying for legal helpline?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“£700 premium and refuse to pay for damage to doors...”

written by ipletersky on 20/03/2018

£700 premium and refuse to pay for damage to doors after burglary. 2 months later, no payment for either contents or building damage. Stolen items can be redeemed from their partners website at massively over inflated prices or they penalise you 40% to take a cash settlement. This is profiteering from peoples misery, and the customer service levels are shocking, and no calls returned. Will be changing provider as soon as possible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“God save us from CET”

written by EgriJ on 08/01/2018

I have my house insurance with MoreThan,part of it is a Home Emergency cover which I took out because I thought that in an emergency I would not know how to get hold of help. I still do not know because what I received from CET, the subcontractors to MoreThan cannot be called an emergency help. My boiler broke down in September because,as I discovered, an old main gas pipe lets water in which eventually finds is way to the boilers in the street.It took CET 11 days NOT to find the cause which meant that I was without heating and hot water all this time.In the end I called out Worcester-Bosch who found the fault in less the 15 mins. Next instance was some months later and although Cadent (National Grid to you and me) cleared the pipe,the boiler still refused to work.We were by now in November and I had to heat the house with fan heaters and the only way to get hot water for washing was to boil kettlefuls of water. A fortnight went like this when Worcester Bosch came again and in less than 10 minutes established that water got into the pipe between the meter and the boiler. The responsibility of Cadent stops at the meter.It did not occur to any of the numerous engineers from CET who visited my house. I could say that MoreThan's Home Emergency cover is a joke except it is not.The total ignorance and lack of skill of the engineers is danger to life and limb. Why MoreThan does not take it seriously is a mystery to me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Asullivan98's Response to EgriJ's Review

Written on: 20/01/2020

I totally agree with this review My insurer, Churchill, sells home emergency but it turns out this is provided by CET and Churchill appear to have no link with the company afterwards ie in terms of accountability / monitoring service standards.

CET appear to have no tracking/chasing system in place when jobs are logged and to hold the trades (local contractors) to account so as the customer you have to keep calling to find out what's happening and to move things along. They do not appear to have any meaningful service level agreements with the trades that they use - although there is mention of 3 working days, I was told this is not guaranteed - so this is worthless, the trades can do what they like.

Nearly a week on, in freezing weather and off sick at the moment, I am still sitting here with no heating/boiler and no confirmation of when it will be fixed. The same happened in December when it wasn't fixed properly - I kept having issues after this until it went off completely last week. Although I logged a complaint through one of the advisors in December, I never heard anything back. I have done the same this morning but am not hopeful of a response.

What is laughable are the false claims on CET's home emergency page on their website about service, speed and quality of service. I do feel sorry for some of the customer service advisers who try to help and have to try and deal with these issues. At the end of the day, responsibility lies with management who really need to do a thorough overhaul of their processes, chase system and service level agreements.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“High renewal premium”

written by Chapmankx45 on 10/10/2017

Premium increase of £20 on renewal, after 3 years no claims They would not reduce it when asked. Direct Line were cheaper for the same cover, so goodbye More Than. More Than means your renewal premium will be more than the previous year ! They do not care about looking after existing policyholders.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Northern.bloke's Comment

Written on: 20/12/2017

Unfortunately, Direct Line will play the same trick on you next year and you will probably go to another insurer - from personal experience.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Issued invalid policy documents 4 weeks on not resolved”

written by Phoenix373 on 31/08/2017

We took out More than Home and Bulidings policy or so we thought. Policy documents were issued in the wrong name. Contacted them weeks before the inception date to change it and we were told they had been changed and new documents issued. We never received them so we chased again. This time they said they would be with us shortly and they would send a letter confirming we had cover. The letter srrived and it basically confirmed that we were not covered and that the policy had expired. We contacted them again and they promised to email the documents in the correct name. The policy documents were emailed but still in the wrong name. The telephone operatives had basically lied to us and had not made any of the changes prior to the inception date. The inception date has now passed and we are technically without home and buildings cover. We raised a complaint. They offered £25 as an appology but we still have not got valid insurance and still no resolution and do not know where we stand. The last time we rang to attempt to sort it out we were taken though what could only be described as a dementure test in our opinion (not the standard type of questions just the one used to measure mental capacity). I am extremely upset by the whole experience and concerned as I do not know if I am going to be insured, whether to just take out a policy with someone oelse r what to to. This is an appalling and unacceptable situation

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Easy & Very Helpful ”

written by on 17/07/2017

I have just started a policy with More Than for Home insurance, I spoke to a lady called Dawn from the Sunderland office who was so helpful and make this very easy for me! She talked me through everything so I felt at ease during the process. I would like to thank Dawn for her help and brilliant Customer Service :) I will defiantly recommend More Than to friends & family.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“will not answer the telephone.”

written by imMurphy368 on 18/05/2017

I have wasted many hours trying to get some one to answer the phone so as I can renew my policy, but to no avail. The wording committed to going the extra mile is a joke, obviously MORE THAN do not want my custom.On your renewal letter the hours of business states 8am to 9pm but at 8pm the lines shut down. More Than seem to be some sort of Fred in the shed outfit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely dire”

written by Horton29 on 07/05/2017

Had cet attend twice in 2 days( the second visit due to them not clearing blockage the first time). Both occasions they were late, rang to chase & told contractors uncontactable. After 2nd visit told blockage underground could not be accessed needed cctv survey but likely drain clapse. Blockage reappeared today called drainage contractor myself no blockage underground he found issue immediately an old piece of pipe inside soil stack catching all debris causing blockage fairly obvious to the naked eye. Do not let these clowns in your homes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CET home useless emergency ”

written by Georginacornwall on 12/04/2017

Absolutely would not use this company, disappointed and completely disgusted with the customer services. One silly staff member suggested as I didn't have hot water I should boil the kettle to bath my baby with, retrain this women in safety first then manners.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“More than enough of waiting!!!”

written by Brycenw1971 on 16/02/2017

I had a flood back in August 2016 damaging my kitchen and unfortunately had to make a claim to More Than Insurance. Despite water coming through my ceiling my kitchen has not been dried and I have not had my electric checked. I have made numerous calls, sent and responded to endless emails and made complaints to RSA about Cunningham & Lindsey Loss Adjusters and I am still waiting to have a positive conclusion to this claim.!! I do not like that More Than Insurance continually ignore all requests to settle your claim and also try to get you to walk away by making your claim to be a very long and difficult process.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away!!!!”

written by Morgan50 on 10/12/2016

Tried to cancel my home insurance because i was going overseas to live. They blocked me every way they could even saying the policy was in someone elses name when i had policy in front of me in my name. It took me two days to cancel, had lies all the way. Keep away from this lot, look on trust pilot for "more than" insurance reviews, i wish i had, keep away!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Home emergency cover taken out for elderly...”

written by Katelyn on 07/11/2016

I live over a 100 miles away from my elderly mother who lives by herself. She has Osteoporosis and a heart condition.I took out home emergency cover for her with more than.We visited to take her out and discovered the loo was not flushing but was continually filling with water. We rang more than, who initially stated it was a maintenance issue and not covered under the home emergency add on. I explained the situation re her living by herself and that was why the cover was taken out. The employee agreed that under the circumstances with my mothers age and health ( she expected my mother to carry buckets of water upstairs to flush the toilet!) she would send someone out. A plumber arrived took a photo and said it would have to get approval as it would cost more than £10.00. We argued the case that she had emergency cover up to the value of £1000,as per policy document, but no it had to go for approval. We rang customer service again as we fully expected the job to have been done. They stated that this was the case and we would have to wait for approval. We questioned the fact that the policy was for emergency cover and had 24 hour call out.They gave us the number to ring their sub contractor direct C.E.T.We spoke to a supervisor that stated the parts needed had to be approved and they could not get hold of them straight away, even though my husband worked in the building trade and informed them of universal,parts that could be purchased from B and Q! After much discussion and several rants, the supervisor offered two nights hotel accommodation for my mother. Obviously at 84 years old she wouldn't take this offer up but stayed with a relative over night and we were told that someone would ring on the following day to state when they would call to fix the problem. I also requested a call from the management team to explain to me how they expect elderly customers to cope under these circumstances. No one rang me or my mother. We rang again some 2 hours after they should have rung to deal with the matter to be told the claim was in a queue waiting for approval. Which should be in the next 24 hours. I can only assume that each member of staff has a list of excuses for their customers and do not record their dealings. We are still awaiting our call, not sure whether we will get one! We may have to travel another 200 mile trip to sort the problem out ourselves which would take approximately 1-2 hours to repair and cost approximately £25 in total for the part. I'm sure the company pay out more than that to send out a plumber to take a photograph!,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This Company should be investigated for unethical...”

written by JeanWells on 09/10/2016

I had a painting accident whereby the can hit the arm of my sofa when I fell, catapulted off, hit (I think) the edge of the half opened lounge door causing the paint to splurt indiscriminately all over, causing considerable damage to my sofa, carpets, woodwork etc. They claimed that a couple of lines of paint could not have been caused as I described, which is completely wrong, every spec of paint damage was caused as a result of the fall and whilst I was still on the sofa. The report did not dispute the paint tin ring on the arm of the sofa or the remainder of the extensive damage. I spent over 3.5 months challenging this and asked many questions, all of which they refrained from answering. Their conclusion of what happened would have been impossible and when I asked how they considered it possible they did not/could not answer the question. My original pictures showed an expensive wool carpet in excellent condition with no marks or stains, however, three out of the four pictures used primarily in the report they commissioned were taken around 3 weeks after the event by the loss adjuster and showed big black marks, which was a result of debris from the door handle being removed when my joiner came to take the door away to be dipped. This was totally unacceptable as it showed my home in a very different state. I have sent my case to the Financial Ombudsman and I have obtained an estimate to have an independent forensic report carried out. Having never had a contents insurance claim before, I have been truly shocked at the injustice. I asked the Company who wrote the report to pass this to somebody else within their practice to look at my original photographs and take account of everything that I was saying but their response was that RSA want to keep control over their cases. The Company who wrote the report never visited my home and had no direct communication with me whatsoever. I have written to my MP as I strongly feel that reports written for such purposes should be totally independent and impartial, there should be no conflict of interest whatsoever in order to protect innocent people. I am having sleepless nights and panic attacks, being accused of something I have not done is dreadful, I am frightened that I have been made uninsurable and to think that people who can stand as expert witnesses can get a situation so wrong is alarming. I urge anybody who is going through a difficult time due to this insurance company to write to their MP, publish your case on as many review centres as possible and proceed to the financial Ombudsman if you do not get justice. Walking away is not the answer, it is what they want you to do. Finally, to all the people writing nice reviews about how easy it was to get insured with this Company, I hope, for your well being, that you never have need to make a substantial claim Jean Wells

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Denofthieves's Response to JeanWells's Review

Written on: 23/11/2016

I am so sorry to hear of all this unnecessary hassle and stress More Than are putting you through, Jean. I know it's no consolation but I will not now be buying my Home Insurance with them after reading your and other reviews on here and on other sites.

Thanks for taking the time to warn the rest of us.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Denofthieves's Response to JeanWells's Review

Written on: 23/11/2016

I am so sorry to hear of all this unnecessary hassle and stress More Than are putting you through, Jean. I know it's no consolation but I will not now be buying my Home Insurance with them after reading your and other reviews on here and on other sites.

Thanks for taking the time to warn the rest of us.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 2 Comments

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by steveyg696 on 4th November 2014 Report this content
Who do you complain to when nothing is done on time? Our house was hit by lightning, we are in temporary accommodation for 6 months. The loss adjustor doesn't make payments to cover rent on time, we can never get anything in writing to know what is happening or what we should be doing. The landlord is not happy with the late payments. We are on pension credit and do not have money of our own to pay rent.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview