Shade Station Reviews - www.shadestation.co.uk

★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
65% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Description (provided by business)

Shadestation.co.uk was founded in May 2000 and is now the UK's largest independent online sunglasses and watch retailer. Shade Station product lines include jewellery, glasses, accessories and more than 55 amazing brands.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shade Station - www.shadestation.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Shade Station - www.shadestation.co.uk

Shade Station - www.shadestation.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible company ”

Written on: 10/08/2022 by Jacksonzyf123 (1 review written)

Don’t waste your money with this company. They maybe a little cheaper than other companies but they will send you a product that is used before. Then when you return the faulty/used item you have to pay for the postage. Their customer service is rubbish too as they don’t keep their promise. I made a mistake and ignored other negative reviews and this has cost me time and money. I am yet to receive my refund!!! AVOID

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company”

Written on: 08/06/2021 by 122Timmons (1 review written)

I ordered a pair of designer frames and when they arrived the hinges on the arms were bent. I immediately got in contact with Shade Station they asked me to return them which I did the following day. Their reply was that I had damaged them and they were not liable to refund me. I hadn't even worn them. When I pointed out my customer rights, they changed tack and said they weren't liable and that I should take it up with the manufacturer. Basically, they are a shady company that arent interested in your customer rights. Go elsewhere!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Go elsewhere”

Written on: 20/11/2020 by CassieMcWilliams83 (1 review written)

I ordered prescription sunglasses. When they arrived, they seemed a little small and sure enough, they weren't the large frames I ordered (i'm a big guy, I order large of everything). When I asked them to rectify it, they refused saying the mistake was on MY end, not theirs. So, I had to mail back the smaller frames (at my own cost-over 100$) throw away prescription lenses that were too small, order the right size frame, new prescription lenses (paying twice!) and THEN they tell me the larger size is on backorder for MONTHS. The sunglasses I ordered for myself in June did not arrive until--wait for it--NOVEMBER. And...because of their mistake... the $300 glasses cost me well over $500. Their "customer service" did not make ANY accommodations for this customer at all. Go elsewhere. If you do have problems with your order, expect stonewalling and doubling down on poor customer service positions.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sunglasses fake”

Written on: 13/04/2020 by Mohammedshihab (1 review written)

Last year i purchased a Gucci sunglass, and it was perfect and original. Thinking the same i bought a dolce & gabbana sunglasses recently and it is fake. Firstly, the sunglasses are very light as if lifting a toy in hand, feels like holding a cheap sunglass. Secondly, the cleaning cloth was missing from the box. The brand name printed both on the carry case and the sunglass cover are just getting rubbed of when scratched lightly, It should not be going off so easily, after all it is one of the famous brands. The carry case was also totally different from what was shown in the photos. Was a cheat

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely slow delivery”

Written on: 12/08/2018 by julieformston (1 review written)

Don't order from this company if you are in Australia. I ordered Oakley Snow Goggles for my son's birthday as he was going on a snow boarding trip and paid an extra $30 AUD for speedy delivery and the goggles arrived 2 weeks after he was back home from his holiday!! The company claims the extremely slow delivery was because I gave a PO Box address, but I was never advised this wasn't acceptable, & was never contacted for an alternate address, which I could have easily provided. Even once I did give my street address it took another week to arrive!!! The only compensation they provided for their incompetance was a refund for the "speedy delivery"!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service followed by a nightmare customer service ”

Written on: 30/06/2018 by Thompsonhy184 (1 review written)

I purchased and paid via paypal but immediately received pop up message saying we had issue with payment call 0337 number customer service,I checked my paypal account and money was paid to shade station immediately.even after calling customer service denying the order,after I gave them transaction ID claiming receiving money but not the order!!! After placing order again over the phone still didn’t receive any order confirmation or recipe,after calling them 4 times within 10 days,didn’t receive my order and finally invoice was send in wrong name and no description of my purchase!!! Never received my order and had to contact paypal to claim refund and waiting 3 weeks. I was fooled by reviews but it seems these days website just requesting leaving review only from few customers which rarely receiving appropriate service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Did not receive product ”

Written on: 10/12/2017 by 403Fox (1 review written)

Ordered sun glasses and did not receive them. Sent numerous messages but they would not respond. Absolutely shocking service. DO NOT buy from them

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 03/01/2018

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are very sorry to hear that you have not received response to the emails sent.

Please do confirm your order number so we can look to assist you further.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“My Paul Smith Glasses from Shade Station are rubbish”

Written on: 18/11/2017 by Hurst357 (1 review written)

The glasses that I received from Shade Station are cheap knock-offs. DO NOT ORDER FROM THESE GUYS

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 20/11/2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are unsure as to why your local store have advised you our products are counterfeit.

We can confirm that we are authorised retailers of all brands that we stock and as a result all items are 100% genuine.

The official manufacturer of Paul Smith is Luxottica – we would urge you to contact them directly as they will confirm the authenticity of the products we do sell.

Having looked into your order, we can see that we have requested the location of the store visited alongside the name of the person you did speak with so that we can investigate the false accusations further.

At your earliest convenience, please do confirm the said information so that we can ensure this situation does not arise again.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely bad service!!”

Written on: 01/09/2017 by KathrynMoreno (1 review written)

Extremely bad service!! I paid for express delivery and also spoke to them to ensure I got my parcel on time. That did not help. Express delivery did obviously mean that dispatch was not even done on the first working day after the order was placed...... Just got off the phone with them and formal complaints, about misdirecting information about delivery times on their website, should be done over the phone with the lady I spoke to - as if that would help. I recommend that customers do not take what Shadestation claims of service at face value and definitely do not spend money on express delivery!

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2017

Thank you for your comments.

We are extremely sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your ordering experience - rest assured this was never our intention.

Unfortunately, as we are a UK based company, the UK Bank Holiday did affect this dispatch of our UK and International parcels - we can only apologise for any disappointment this may have caused.

We do hope that, in time, you may choose to shop with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor quality of glasses & customer service ”

Written on: 16/07/2017 by Ushah1985 (1 review written)

Order Tomford sunglasses and got problem just after having on sunglasses for 3 times, contact for repair took a month to get my glasses back in same post box I send them without fix and marked as fixed. Never recommend to anyone, better spend a litre extra and buy from authorised dealer shops,now even not sure that my glasses are real or fake

Customerserviceshadestation's Response to Ushah1985's Review

Written on: 17/07/2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are extremely sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the after care service received.

Firstly, we can assure you that we are authorised retailers of all brands that we stock and as a result all items are 100% genuine.

Your frame was returned to the manufacturer for assessment under the product defect warranty that you do hold with them directly - if you are unhappy with the outcome they have provided we do advise contacting them directly to discuss this further.

Should you have any further queries regarding your order please do not hesitate to contact us directly where one of our customer service team will be happy to assist you further.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WRONG PRESCRIPTION”

Written on: 04/03/2017 by caybely (1 review written)

I just ordered Oliver Peeples prescription glasses. The prescription was incorrect. I knew immediately that they were incorrect but still took them to an optometrist to measure. Wrong prescription confirmed. Now I have to send them back and start all over again. i will only order frames from now on. Accuracy for prescriptions cannot be trusted.

Customerserviceshadestation's Response to caybely's Review

Written on: 06/03/2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are extremely sorry to hear you feel the lenses within your frame are incorrect.

On this occasion we would advise contacting our customer service team directly to resolve this issue.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful and Dodgy Avoid”

Written on: 07/02/2017 by SienaGunn (1 review written)

Appalling rude attitude by Shadestation.co.uk Their prices are a total sham. Never in my years of shopping online have I paid for something, the money being taken and then receive a demand for extra payment! My order was accepted and paid for and the entire amount of money taken from my account. After an hour or so I received a request (via PayPal) asking me for MORE money! I was immediately suspicious believing this was a sham and called Shadestation The rude useless, intellectually challenged Shadestation customer agents said the extra demand was for 'VAT' I tried numerous times to point out that that as they were a UK company the goods were in the UK and being posted to me within the UK the price I was charged was correct. However this was flatly rejected. No apology was offered, no offer was made to honour the order at the price I had paid them and no recognition from them of any kind that they were even at fault. Have now contacted Bury Trading Standards (who concurred this was dodgy) and Paypal to complain. HMRC will be notified re the dodgy dealings. Avoid! BEWARE The price you are offered by Shadestation is not the price you will pay-

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 09/02/2017

Dear Mr Stone,

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment - rest assured this was never our intention.

As discussed, in length, for us to price match the company must be based in the UK, have stock of the item and offer a like for like service. We do also state all price matches are at the companies discretion.

When you submitted a price match on our website this was with our Canadian website - this website is intended for Canadian customers where VAT is not needed and therefore not shown in the prices listed.

The price you therefore paid was without VAT however, as you are aware, as you are a UK based customer VAT must be paid on all purchases.

Had you have placed the order on our Canadian website, VAT would have been added and the price paid would have equivalated to that you paid plus the additional amount requested.

It is at your own discretion should you wish to take this further and seek legal advise however we do stand by our decision and will fight our case vigorously.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service!!!!”

Written on: 02/09/2015 by Newtonhr323 (1 review written)

I ordered a Kate spade watch for a birthday present only for it to arrive and look as if the face of the watch has had water damage of some sort. I paid over £150 for the watch and was going to buy myself one if I liked it when it arrived and now have to pay for postage for it to be exchanged!!! After hearing so many good things about the website I am so disappointed and will be telling everyone about how bad my experience was and that I will now not be able to give a friend her birthday present. I will not be shopping there again.

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 07/09/2015

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are extremely sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your ordering experience here at Shade Station.

All items should be checked twice before dispatch so I am unsure as to why or how the item ordered was sent to you in this condition.

Having looked into your order we can see you did speak with our customer service team who did advise to return your order to us for assessment.

Unfortunately we do not offer a free post address which is why this was not offered to you.

As soon as we do receive the order back this will be assessed immediately for you.

If deemed a faulty item was sent to you we will refund up to £5.90 for your returns postage costs and rectify the issue immediately.

In the meantime, should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment

Jarrodp's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2016

I had the same experience. Never order from Shade station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent purchase experience with great customer service!”

Written on: 23/08/2015 by pmccreight (1 review written)

Recently decided to try Shade Station to purchase a U-Boat watch. Used the online chat system to ask some questions regarding the watch and purchase process - all of which where answered quickly. The watch was dispatched same day and arrived the next. I had occasion to contact customer services with a query regarding warranty. This was dealt with promptly by directing my call to a manager with excellent knowledge of the U-Boat brand. I have since made a subsequent U-Boat watch purchase from Shade Station and once again the service received was flawless. There is a genuine ethos to build customer relations and I have been very impressed. I would not hesitate to purchase from Shade Station again. Highly recommended!

Customerserviceshadestation's Response to pmccreight's Review

Written on: 24/08/2015

Hi, thank you for your comments.

Here at Shade Station we strive to offer the best possible customer service at all times which is why we are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with the service you have received.

As you have also been satisfied with the product, we hope that we can deal with you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Michael Kors Kerry Watch”

Written on: 22/08/2015

Fantastic Service, Ordered a watch I wanted, the Michael Kors Kerry it arrived with in a day of ordering it. Cheaper than the rest of the stores online by a substantial difference. Would order from here again, and would recommend anyone who is looking for what I needed, plus they have great deals on sunglasses and a great discount.

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 25/08/2015

Hello,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are happy to hear that you have been satisfied with the service and product you have received from Shade Station.

We really appreciate your custom and look forward to dealing with you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station Team

Reply to this comment

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 25/08/2015

Hello,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are happy to hear that you have been satisfied with the service and product you have received from Shade Station.

We really appreciate your custom and look forward to dealing with you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent item and excellent service!!!”

Written on: 20/08/2015 by BenderOI (1 review written)

I ordered the Armani watch for my wife on Saturday, 15th of August 2015 and received it in the morning on Wednesday, 19th of August in Latvia. The watch is great and the price and the service are great too. My wife is happy with the watch. I was happy to deal with Shadestation. Thank you very much, Shadestation!

Customerserviceshadestation's Response to BenderOI's Review

Written on: 20/08/2015

Hello, thank you for your comments.

Customer service is paramount to the success of our business which is why we are extremely happy to hear you have been satisfied with the service and order you have received.

We look forward to your custom in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“No nonsense ”

Written on: 14/06/2015 by Rollinsqr210 (1 review written)

Couldnt of asked for a better service and quality. Save so much money, I'd rather pay less for the exact same product I was going to by my wife a side present for her anniversary and I did, abit anxious at first but well worth it. amazingggggggggg!!

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 15/06/2015

Hi, thank you for your comments.

Here at Shade Station we strive to offer the best possible customer service at all times which is why we are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with the service you have received.

As you have also been satisfied with the product, we hope that we can deal with you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“AMAZING SERVICE”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by Nathan209 (1 review written)

Amazing service, was skeptical of buying sunglasses online but they proved me wrong! came within 2 days of ordering, lovely packaging with sweets as well! Will definitely use again and recommend to everyone!

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 01/06/2015

Hi, thank you for your comments.

Here at Shade Station we strive to offer the best possible customer service at all times which is why we are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with the service you have received.

As you have also been satisfied with the product, we hope that we can deal with you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shady Company - Avoid”

Written on: 23/04/2015 by AishaBain273 (1 review written)

I ordered sunglasses from Shade Station and when they arrived there was a small fault and for a £200 pair of glasses I wasn't happy and returned them. It cost £7.15 to send them via Royal Mail Special Delivery. They refused to refund the postage as they considered there was no fault. I feel really sorry for the next person they fob this pair off with. Suspect they buy in seconds from manufacturers and then sell them off as new. If you are someone who likes good customer service and doesn't like dealing with shady companies then leave Shade Station well alone. Pay more for decent quality and service.

Customerserviceshadestation's Comment

Written on: 02/05/2015

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your ordering experience here at Shade Station.

We are authorised retailers of all brands that we stock and all items are source, brand new, direct from the manufacturer -I can assure you that we do not sell second hand items.

If a customer feels a faulty item was sent we do ask them to return this to us for assessment.

If deemed, by our warehouse manager, that a faulty item was sent we will refund up to £5.90 for returns postage costs.

Unfortunately, on this occasion no fault was found and our warehouse manager was happy to put the said frame back into stock which is why your returns postage costs were not refunded.

I apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment this may cause.

Should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Brilliant”

Written on: 16/04/2015 by Charleyedge (1 review written)

I was optimistic about purchasing before as I haven't heard of the company. I ordered prescription Rayban glasses. they were much cheaper on what you'd buy on the highstreet. free delivery on orders over £50. They've arrived today and I couldn't be happier with the product or seamless ordering process. I am highly recommending Shad Station to all of my colleagues. This is a faultless, innovative company and I'd urge anyone to seriously consider purchasing from here as opposed to other highstreet chains !

Customerserviceshadestation's Response to Charleyedge's Review

Written on: 02/05/2015

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

Here at Shade Station we strive to offer the best possible customer service at all times which is why we are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with the service you have received.

As you have also been satisfied with the product, we hope that we can deal with you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Shade Station

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview