World Nomads Travel Insurance Reviews - www.worldnomads.com

★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
54% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
World Nomads Travel Insurance www.worldnomads.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for World Nomads Travel Insurance www.worldnomads.com

World Nomads Travel Insurance www.worldnomads.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“MASSIVE LOOPHOLE WARNING”

Written on: 25/10/2022 by McKnightbx494 (1 review written)

World Nomads loophole Conditions that are "similar", but unrelated to, a condition that was subject to a previous claim ARE NOT COVERED.  Here is an example, in World Nomads' own words: "If you were to develop a new stomach condition not related to the previous stomach issue but a similar condition you would not be covered due to it would be considered pre-existing unless it was due to an injury or something totally unrelated."  I would be happy to share their emails to me for posting on this site.  This is a shocking and appalling loophole, especially for a policy that is marketed towards long term travellers, who are likely to get separate but "similar conditions" - such as stomach issues, the most common travelers' ailment.  This company is unethical and anyone who promotes it without mentioning this loophole is irresponsible (they likely didn't know, as this provision is not explicitly stated in the policy). World Nomads will not provide any further details on how they define a "similar condition" (affecting the same part of the body?  Having the same symptoms?  Being a virus or bacteria?), so if you make a claim after getting sick or injured once, you may not have coverage if you get sick or injured again (you have to file a claim to find out).  I have confirmed this loophole multiple times, so I know it wasn't just one agent giving incorrect information.  It seems fraudulent that they have this policy but do not state it in their policy documents (all the policy document says is that you only get one follow up visit per emergency, it says nothing about coverage being based on previous emergency claims).

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Dithering and obfuscating on a simple claim”

Written on: 14/10/2022 by AnthonyRDavis (1 review written)

I got bitten by a dog in India and had to get rabies shots. On the good side, World Nomads referred me to a travel clinic in Scotland (where I had flown a couple of days later) to receive the shots. On the awful side, they are now totally unhelpful and dodgy about reimbursing this simple and very modest expense. I filed a claim promptly on returning home, got an e-mail from World Nomads saying my claim had been received and would be processed, and then... nothing. Now, trying to contact someone who will see this through is extremely frustrating. The policy is very clear about reimbursing necessary medical expenses; why can't they reimburse one for under $100 in a prompt and helpful way? There's a lot of happy talk on their website about people in bad situations being reimbursed for their expenses, but at this point I don't believe them and wouldn't recommend World Nomads.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No coverage for pandemic”

Written on: 23/10/2020 by Funhog (1 review written)

Had a ski trip to Norway scheduled in March and a bike trip to Denmark in June. Purchased Travel Guard Insurance for the Norway trip and World Nomad for the Denmark trip. Neither policy was a cancel for any reason. Then came Covid 19 and both trips were cancelled by the guiding vendors leaving me with the loss of the guide expense and two hotels for each trip. Travel Guard (AIG) paid for my losses in full. World Nomad would not permit a claim to be filed. Their excuse was "pandemic" was not included in the small print of coverage (nor was it mentioned in the exclusions). They wouldn't even consider a transfer of coverage to another trip or return of the premium. You never know the quality of your insurance coverage until you actually have to use it. Now I know Travel Guard delivers on their coverage. Will never consider World Nomad for any future travel.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very disappointed”

Written on: 23/01/2020 by BlueRidgeMonkey (1 review written)

Very disappointed I've been travelling around the world for 30 years and the first time I make a travel insurance claim, having purchased trip insurance from World Nomads, they refuse to pay for a wisdom tooth extraction I had whilst on holiday. If this dental work had not been done the pain would have ruined my whole trip. Seriously, if they are not prepared to pay for this what about something more serious? How can you have confidence or trust in an organisation who will endeavour to weasel out of paying for even straightforward things? If this is representative of the industry I am appalled. I even had to chase them twice before they decided they weren't prepared to pay up. Appalling service. They were good at taking my money though.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid World Nomads”

Written on: 17/04/2019 by RobinHughes (1 review written)

I bought a single trip insurance policy to New Zealand for £193 but had to curtail the trip in transit after two days. No provision for cancellation or trip disruption, and no refund on the policy. I then found an ANNUAL travel insurance policy with better terms and conditions on Money Supermarket UK. For half the price....

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stonewalling; Pretending to not have docs / info”

Written on: 13/04/2019 by Campbellte1967 (1 review written)

I filed a claim around Feb 8, 2019, and they are still giving me the run around. "Send _____ document." Again? Why? and "Oh, this police report states differently from your claim, why?" I have already called your office in Ireland, put on hold at length, to explain that. Then, you change claims assistants multiple times, ask me to resubmit documents again and again; and claim to not know what's going on. 2. They don't *read* what you are writing. Necessitating an international phone call to their underwriting office in IRELAND. Then, to be put on HOLD. And, after all of the hassle, they STILL don't get your claim right. 3. Multiple emails sent recently asking for an update. NO RESPONSE. Not the Claims Dept., not the Emergency email address. Finally, I wrote on their Facebook page, and got a response. However, that response was asking me to again submit documents that I have already submitted. They are simply waiting for the customer to go away. HORRIBLE delays, and ridiculous hoops to jump through in order to get a claim filed, must less approved. SHAME on writers getting paid to give World Nomads a good name. It is rotten to the core. Soooo simple to pay THEM money to get an "insurance" policy. Soooo difficult to get a claim approved. The lack of efficiency of their services, their clunky portal where customers have to go to upload documents to file a claim. A portal that does not accept documents; does not tell you WHY the page won't load and let you go on to the next step - all designed to get the customer to GIVE UP. But, millions of $ are going into marketing their "insurance," rather than improving their claims service, their clunkety claims submission portal; their poor customer service, and corrupt business practices. WORLD NOMADS SUCKS

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Claim Department Terrible - Tripmate”

Written on: 12/02/2019 by Everett1957 (1 review written)

The reason you by insurance is so that you are covered. My baggage was delayed and I had PIR report and documentation and then denied my claim. Baggage Delay over a day is covered in the insurance. This is illegal for an insurance company to not uphold the plan that I bought.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“First time for my girlfriend and I in 3 years of using...”

Written on: 01/08/2018 by tiRooney102 (1 review written)

First time for my girlfriend and I in 3 years of using this company that i needed to use their service . They were very helpful with finding a doctor. BUT, Problem with them is after you pay for the doctors visit and drugs needed out of your own pocket, you have to mail in the original receipts to them for them to reimburse you. I am travelling a year this time. This happened near the beginning of the trip. Im travelling countries with not so trust worthy mail services. So, i have to front the $550 for my appointment for a whole year till i get back home and can mail it in and claim it. Thats a big chunk of money out of our travel fund. Its a terrible system. Id suggest looking for a company that works with people who travel and knows that mailing in receipts from around the world isn't always possible. One star just for how absolutely stupid it is to claim anything through them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unwilling to pay”

Written on: 12/01/2018 by Tomasw44 (1 review written)

I was affected by the Iceland air strike in December of 2017. I was supposed to fly to Newark then Bradley airport. My car was at Bradley aiport. I was able to fly to JFK. There is no way to get from JFK to Bradley except by UBER or a shared shuttle called the CT LIMO. I booked the limo and asked to be reimbursed. Nomads denied the claim. I would not recommend this company, and will not purchase from them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DONT CHOOSE WORLD NOMAD...”

Written on: 07/12/2017 by Warrenc91 (1 review written)

BE CAREFULL!! DONT CHOOSE THIS INSURANCE. THEY DONT REFUND ANYTHING IF YOU MISS FLIGHT. I MISSED A FLIGHT ( £250 ) BECAUSE OF PROBLEM CONEXTION AND THE HAVENT GIVEN ANYTHING. I PAID £87 FOR THE INSURANCE. UNFAIR DONT TRUST THEM

Sunseeker2035's Comment

Written on: 08/12/2017

This is why booking all the way through with one airline is a good idea. If one of their legs is delayed it's their responsibility to get you on the next available flight. But if you've picked airline A to get you to a hub and the next leg with airline B, airline A's only responsibility is to get you to the hub. And airline B sees you as a new customer who simply didn't show up.
The one airline all the way may be a little more expensive, but it's saves all this hassle.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste money on this awful company”

Written on: 15/11/2017 by andrew1414 (1 review written)

Don't choose world nomads. They would not even refund me the remainder of my travel insurance when part way through a working holiday my travel companion/girlfriend had a family emergency. It was her immediate family and she was very upset. Most companies will refund a remainder of insurance if you cancel trip part way through for emergency. Insurance should help you in these unfortunate situations, and usually does. But when I submitted a claim they gave me no money, not even refund for remainder of policy. My girlfriend's company had refund policy no questions asked. Please choose another company. Edit

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your money”

Written on: 01/10/2017 by Reidce9 (1 review written)

My husband is in Bolivia. After an eleven day hospital stay he requires a nurse for travel back to USA... they keep delaying a nurse getting down there to accompany him back. (They have a letter from his doctors requiring this) Now they need a day to translate before they will start the process. Delay Delay ...... and then they tell me it could be another 3-4 days. My husband has had major surgery and is now in a hotel of which I am sure I will have to hire an attorney to recoup cost. Nomad Insurance subs out to Oncallinternational.com based out of NH. Don't waist your money

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 4 months to reimburse”

Written on: 26/06/2017 by Finchig52 (1 review written)

I decided to purchase travel insurance through world nomads which was a terrible mistake. I ended up breaking my arm on a snowboard trip in Austria and had to take an ambulance to the hospital. I had to pay over $500 dollars upfront for treatment. When I got home I find out they use TripMate as their partner for insurance and it has been over 4 months and I still have not received payment. I never received the first check they sent me and they refuse to put a tracking number on the check so I can know they even sent it to me. Go with ALLIAZ insurance instead, I got sick over seas earlier this year and they were able to pay my hospital bill through direct bank deposit. I am told I have to wait another 3 weeks to receive my check. This wouldn't be an issue if I didn't have to use my credit card and I've been paying interest on it for 4 months.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Does not cover cancellations or delays caused by airline.”

Written on: 10/03/2017 by John47501 (1 review written)

If you think you are covered if your airline cancels your flight or dealays it causing you to miss other flights. It does not!!! Our flight was cancelled by Royal Air Marc and they did not notify us. We even were sent to the terminal gate by the RAM ticket agent that morning, only to be told at leaving time our flight had been cancelled earlier in the week. Apparently this is fairly common with this Airlines. They have an F rating from the Better Buisness Bureau and do not respond to customer complaints. When I bought travel insurance, I just figured that was the main reason to get travel insurance, to cover you in case of airline problems. I'm now out $1800 because of total incompetence from Royal Air Maroc and taking for granted I would be covered by travel insurance. They basically cover you in case of Zombie Eclipse, but not for what you'd expect travel insurance to cover. Be sure to buy tickets that are refundable.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I was reccommended by a surf company to take up their...”

Written on: 19/07/2016 by MelNg (1 review written)

I was reccommended by a surf company to take up their travel insurance because it 'covers horse riding, surfing and diving'. What a load of crack this company has been and I wished I had read reviews and picked another insurance company. I fell off my horse and hurt my shin. Hobbled around because the swelling went down but towards the end of the trip it flared up and I developed a fever. A few days after returning home, the fever grew worse so I went to A&E and got scans done. Doctor gave the all clear, thankfully. They have refused my claim as 'policy wording' does not cover seeking medical treatment 'in your country of permanent residency' for ailments that can wait for medical treatment... So they'll cover you for a broken shin if you hobbled straight to a doctor but not if the injury flares up and requires medical treatment. Apparently common sense & initiative will costs you dearly. The provider markets itself as a comprehensive sports travel insurance with 'excellent' customer service that it DOES not have. Steer clear of them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from World Nomads!”

Written on: 30/04/2016 by Bradyna342 (1 review written)

Apparently, theft from your checked-in luggage is not covered as it is 'unattended'. It also seems that they are able to avoid paying a claim by defining items as 'valuables', which they do not cover without an additional premium. Unfortunately for us, that definition is left to World Nomads so could include anything. I had high hopes for World Nomads, but they refused my claim when my sunnies were stolen from my luggage en-route from Bangkok to Kathmandu via Mumbai. Sadly WN are just another slippery insurance company and are not interested in being fair to their customers. Profit and greed wins the day. Happy travels!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE”

Written on: 16/03/2016 by 1965Cooney (1 review written)

Beware of world nomads. They  will do everything in their power not to reimburse a claim. My girlfriend got dengue fever in asia and she had to go to the hospital everyday for blood tests and check up by the doctor. They refused to pay the claim. They also refused to pay for the claim to reimburse us for a flight we already paid for but were unable to take because the doctor advised against taking a flight. We had full documentation to support these claims but they completely refused to reimburse us. Do not under any circumstance use this company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 11/10/2015 by SaraMead (1 review written)

I am so happy with the service, I was unsure whether I could extend my insurance coverage as I'm still travelling. An email popped up from world nomads asking if I wanted to extend it. I clicked on the link and chose my date and it was as easy as that, and cheap compared to any other insurance.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“It is NOT a good product”

Written on: 22/08/2015 by JazminWoodward406 (1 review written)

Do not buy this insurance. They do not cover theft of electronic equipment from a motor vehicle. (Section 21.3 b) and does not provide cover of cash. They are also absent in case of medical issues! there are plenty of better product on internet so please stay away from buying the insurance from this company. From and EX-customer Nino Atria

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“DON'T COUNT ON WORLD NOMADS TO HELP YOU!”

Written on: 02/06/2015

My husband and I were in Sacred Valley, Perú. It was the eve of our long awaited first visit to Machu Picchu. Unfortunately, just after midnight my husband suffered a pretty bad gastrointestinal episode in our hotel room. Our itinerary called for a 5 AM wake up time. Needless to say, we were able to sleep only for about three hours... There was no way that we could continue with our itinerary, as he (and me, too) needed to rest and recover. Fortunately, we had arranged for a second day in Machu Picchu, which saved us from missing such an incredible destination, but we still had to purchase new Vistadome train tickets, as well as new bus tickets for a later in the day departure. We ended up spending $300 dollars in order to catch up. WORLD NOMADS demanded a physician's letter in order to reimburse us....I honestly don't know how can one see a physician at one o'clock in the morning in that place, and can't imagine wasting the precious few hours that we had left to rest attempting to find out....Additionally, after finding out that we had unnecessarily paid double for the travel insurance (once for me and once for my husband, when a married couple only needs one payment), WORLD NOMADS refused to reimburse me.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Tat2ling on 13th August 2014 Report this content
I bought insurance for my daughter. She went to travel in Thailand for 3 months. I would like to know if she is sick or has some problem during travel, when she goes to hospital, what. can she do? Who should she contact? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by sallynash on 22nd July 2014 Report this content
Can I purchase a policy for my son and girlfriend who are in Australia and are moving on to other countries?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content TravelEater Written on: 22/07/2014
You should ask this question on World Nomads ' Ask A Nomad page -- they'll be able to answer you. They have an expert monitoring for insurance relayed questions (most questions on that site are about travel and answered by fellow travellers)
overview