Bennetts Driving School Reviews - www.bennettsdrivingschools.co.uk

★★★★☆
4 / 5
76% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Bennetts Driving School www.bennettsdrivingschools.co.uk

Bennetts Driving School www.bennettsdrivingschools.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“very good hones instructors and patientt”

Written on: 21/08/2012

My instructor was really nice his name was Andy Jones he was nearly always on time but once he struggled through no fault of his own and rang me to say he was running late but we started a little later but I still got my two hours. He always made me feel comfortable and patient even though i kept asking to repeat his instructions. I was nervous at first, but he made feel comfortable… Read Full Review

Bennetts's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2012

Thanks for your great comment, I will be sure to let Andy know. Thanks for learning with Bennetts.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“simply the best”

Written on: 21/08/2012 by KiamaSam (1 review written)

From the word go Bennetts have been fantastic. I was a complete novice and was very nervous making the intial phone call, but I need'nt have worried, they were friendly and informative and booked me in immediately. My instructor was a great guy, the patience of a saint, he helped me all the way thru and nothing was too much trouble for him. I am now a fully fledged driver and I owe it all to Bennetts, I cant recommend them high enough. Thank you Bennetts… Read Full Review

Bennetts's Response to KiamaSam's Review

Written on: 22/08/2012

Thank you for you kind comment and for learning with Bennetts.

Reply to this comment

Tonybig's Response to KiamaSam's Review

Written on: 26/12/2012

wouldnt you say that given you are related!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Watch the small print!”

Written on: 17/08/2012

My daughter had a block of driving lessons bought for her 18th. She was studying at college over Winter and had ill health, so when she looked out her "gift voucher" she found an expiry date, which had been passed.I rang the company for her to be told that due to a retiral, there was no-one locally from the business to teach her. The owner said he'd see what he could do. I left it for ages, and had to contact HIM, wherupon he changed his tune, and said my daughter had lost her lessons full… Read Full Review

Bennetts's Comment

Written on: 21/08/2012

We feel this is unfair that you have written 2 comments about 1 issue so I have replied to your daughter below too. Our gift vouchers do not have any small print on them, the expiry date is clearly stated on the front of the voucher. On our website it clearly states that all gift vouchers and courses are valid for upto 6 months. There is no other plainer way to let customers know. For anyone that wants to check please look at our website. I see you've mentioned ill health on your comment, you never mentioned this in our conversations, I also explained to you that 2 other customers in the last month have bought gift vouchers that was due to run out within the next few weeks, I have honoured these without question as they have informed me before the expiry date. We do not have any small print on our website or vouchers so I feel this is a very unfair comment.

Reply to this comment

Leica's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2012

I have been through this as well. As have many others, It appears Bennetts needs money more than happy clients. I think your daughter may have had a narrow escape. I think they would have strung you along as long as possable to get as much money out of you. I wonder what their first time pass rate is!!! I would advise you to use RED. They are a great school and have a good first time pass rate.

Reply to this comment

Arcademanicfire's Comment

Written on: 13/11/2012

I agree. They just want your money and nothing else. I've had alot of problems with the Cardiff one and passed with Streetwise instead. At least they are willing to let you drive and help you, rather than shout and drive you around. A very very poor driving school who I will be telling everyone I know who are looking into learning to avoid.

Reply to this comment

Leica's Comment

Written on: 16/11/2012

Thank you for your comments. I will be writing on other review sites plus putting a warning on face book and twitter monthly. I am sorry no one warned me. I have still had no apologie from the owner for his father shouting and laughing at me and then hanging the phone up. What a way to run a business.

Reply to this comment

Arcademanicfire's Comment

Written on: 19/11/2012

Its most defiantly the worst driving school I've been to. There is no excuse for rudeness when individuals are willing to pay the money. Its more thievery than anything.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“THEY WANT YOUR MONEY AND NOTHING ELSE”

Written on: 17/08/2012 by leica (2 reviews written)

Please if thinking of using this school dont. Use a school where you can deal with a person not a booking company. Bennetts took my money then refused to give any lessons as the instructor ( Who is the owners father ) Had retierd. I have been trying for months to get to speak to someone. The only number we have is booking agents. They are good and have left messages for owne. yesterday the owner finally phoned and said he would not give me my money back as it goes to the instructor. He then… Read Full Review

Bennetts's Response to leica's Review

Written on: 21/08/2012

I am sorry that you feel that way. We as a school pride ourselves in the fact that we do not hide anything from our customers, all information is clearly stated on the website in very readable writing. You purchased a gift voucher which has a 6 month expiry date, this is the same as any gift voucher for any store, they all have time limits. My father is the only instructor in your area and has recently retired so therefore unable to take on any new students. If you had contacted us before the expiry date on the gift voucher then you would have had a full refund, we even waive the admin costs. We do not want your money and nothing else, we have tried to resolve this situation but we cannot refund you for something that has now become invalid.

Reply to this comment

Raspberry1's Response to leica's Review

Written on: 18/09/2012

Thank you for your review. After reading it and then the reposes (I was slightly surprised and disappointed by their tone!) from the driving school I will now avoid them.

Reply to this comment

Leica's Response to leica's Review

Written on: 22/08/2012

is a shame that your company made no mention of any expiry date when I purchased the voucher. Any company I have dealt with has extended vouchers if
At the time of buying I make clear when it will be used. I told the person I bought the voucher from that the gift would not be used until my niece had finished college in May. This would have been a good time to say, Do you realise the voucher will expire in April. If you had made this clear I would not have given you my money. (I think this is why you did not tell me. You wanted the money knowing that the voucher would expire before my niece even tried to contact you). The fact it was only a month after the expiry date I would have thought you could have accommodated her. I still feel we were treated very unprofessionally. What should have been a great 18th birthday present has turned out to be the most upsetting and disappointing waste of money. I would like to think that you would offer my niece who is a student driving lessons or her money back allowing her take pleasure in her birthday present. If the money does mean that much to you! I would advise all people using this company or thinking of using them to think about the reality. (Do they want you pass first time or maybe it’s in their interest to make more money by keeping you taking lessons?) This appears to be company who put money before clients. WHY DID HE NOT PHONE ME BACK WHEN I LEFT A MESSAGE WITH HIS BOOKING TEAM AND HIS FATHER?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Bennetts is brilliant!”

Written on: 10/07/2012

Service over the phone was friendly and professional. Explained that I needed to pass my test quickly and they were able to cater to all my needs. Offered me the 4 hours driving for £59, which i such a good deal, for my instructor to assess me, get to know me and my driving skills. Met my driving instructor John and he was absolutely amazing! Made me feel comfortable in the car, was easy to talk to, get along with and ask any questions. Gives praise and where I need to improve and was always… Read Full Review

Leica's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2012

Do not Use Bennetts driving School they have taken £200 for lessons the driving instructer in my area retired and they will not give lessons and will not give the money back.
I have phoned and been given (name removed) number. (Name removed) laughed and said he was not going to give me my money back or give the lessons. I spoke to his son who said to speak to his dad and so it went on. His Son is the owner of the School. I would have thought a business owner would treat his clients with respect. Please for your own sake use another school. DO NOT GIVE (name removed) AND (name removed) MORE MONEY.

Reply to this comment

Bennetts's Comment

Written on: 25/09/2012

Thank you for your great comment and thank you for learning with Bennetts.

Reply to this comment

Leica's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2012

Please if you are thinking of booking driving lessons with Bennets DONT. My 87 yr old mother paid £200 to have lessons for her grand daughters 18th Birthday. (Name removed) the instructer retierd and has refused to give the money back or the lessons. His son (name removed) who owens the company said to call his dad as he could not give the money back. I called (name removed) who laughed down the phone and said he had no intention of giving any driving lessons or money back. He then laughed and hung up. I hope this saves you from stressfull situation

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent Company!”

Written on: 10/02/2012

Couldn't praise Bennetts/BDS enough for helping me through my test. When i called to book lessons they were really friendly and when i met my instructor he made me feel at ease straight away. The whole experience was great and it's something I will remember forever… Read Full Review

Meishca's Comment

Written on: 01/10/2012

I dont know how you managed this. I am £200 out of pocket and i have not had one lesson or offer of my money back..i have spoken to a lot of people who have had the same problem. I am glad you passed your test. wish i had the chance to do the same.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview