Calder Motor Company Ltd Reviews - www.caldermotor.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.5 / 5
64% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Calder Motor Company Ltd - www.caldermotor.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Calder Motor Company Ltd - www.caldermotor.co.uk

Calder Motor Company Ltd  - www.caldermotor.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Made to feel at home”

written by SLDuncan on 03/10/2022

They were a pleasure to do business with. I was travelling 4hrs each way and didn't have much time to be messing around. The whole experience from start to finish was fantastic, and quick (just as I wanted). Turned up and the car was ready for a test drive. No hard upsell of extra services, straight to the deal and deposit paid. Picked up the car with an MOT and full service, and all paperwork ready to sign and done in 5 minutes. The cars on the lot are all high end and great condition, and lots of great deals on camper vans. I'll definitely come back for our next car. Having gone to a few dealerships I really appreciated how relaxed I was made to feel at Calder. I've had the car (VW Touareg) for a few weeks now and everything is great. Absolutely love it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent all round”

written by axkeith on 08/02/2022

Absolutely brilliant and professional service. Calder really knows their cars and have very high quality and sought after stock. I purchased a 3-year-old Tesla. I am an extremely fussy buyer and they fixed all the small things requested. This car is now perfect and in immaculate condition. I will certainly use the person I dealt with and his team again and would recommend Calder even to those buying remotely and without sight of the car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A pleasure doing business with!”

written by 0Happycustomer2021 on 15/11/2021

First time I have brought a car without seeing it in person, but the process was easy. They sent me a walk round video and was very prompt with answering any questions I had about the car. The car was delivered on time fully valeted and everything was as promised. Great company to deal with would use again 100%

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing Company to deal with”

written by Jamie_Duffy on 30/01/2021

Can’t recommend Calder Motors and the person I dealt with high enough! From the first conversation regarding the car to handover was flawless. Great communication, cars are spotless, described to a tee. The full operation was just perfect and I will definitely use again. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service, no sales pressure.”

written by JohnThomson90 on 03/08/2017

I recently bought a car from Calder motor company in Armadale. The salesman was excellent, no sales pressure and nothing was too much trouble. Viewing the car, test driving and finance package were all arranged swiftly with no hick ups. Can't rate the level of service higher. Collected my new car and absolutely love it. Would 100% recommend Calder motor company to anyone. My dad came with me when I was collecting my new car and has since paid a deposit on a car for himself which is to be collected over the next few days. 2 very happy customers, will use Calder motor company again in the future. I love the way they do business, completely different to the experiance I've had with every other dealer I have used. Good job guys

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Professional Service”

written by fredmurr1960 on 22/05/2017

I recently purchased a vehicle from Calder Motor Company and was very impressed with the professional service I received. The staff were helpful, friendly and there was no sales pressure when browsing. I found the entire experience very enjoyable. Even when I collected my new vehicle it was presented to a high standard. Would definitely use this company again in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alanmaciver's Response to fredmurr1960's Review

Written on: 09/07/2017

hi fred

thank you for your review we try hard to do everything we can to make our customers happy, so it is nice to know we are achieving this.

Regards

Alan.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No aftersales service”

written by RhettBurgess437 on 22/07/2016

They talk a good story but they do the bare minimum to all vehicles. Didn;t even service my motorcaravan. provide the smallest gas bottle you can buy once you've paid them they are not interested and renaged on many agreements. HOnestly they are not very professional they cover al the scratches with cououred polish which means in a weeks tiem they all appear they do nothing to bodywork or engines they jsyut covere everything up. Beware.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Calder motor co”

written by 2222henrymindy on 02/01/2016

I bought a shogun diamond 3.2 lwb on 13th Nov 2015 from dee and I would recommend this garage 100% had a wee problem with a alloy and dee instantly got me another this is the most helpful garage Iv ever dealt with polite cheerfull and will go all out to help you when I or my family need another car our first stop will be Calder motor company Mr bird.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought a car from these guys and was promised them the...”

written by AntwanKelley on 21/03/2015

Bought a car from these guys and was promised them the world. Gave them a newer car as px as it was to small for or family so settled for a older x5 bmw. The made 3k profit on my trade in which is buisness but couldnt be bothered fixing my new one through the so called warrenty. It came to the point that i drove 100 miles back to their garage and just about got myself a night in the cells and the owner with a x5 up his rear end due to his shocking attitude for a buisness owner. We had the car a month and had no choice but to take a huge loss on the car and trade it in again to another proper dealer. I also told customers looking for a car the day i was down about all the lies i was told just to get a sale. Dont use them if you want a decent car because they dont own 1.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Scotsfjohn's Comment

Written on: 29/03/2015

I'm far more likely to believe this review than the ones praising them to bits when has anyone ever left a garage review praising them? This one is obviously written by some with a real beef and based on these negative reviews I wont be risking my money there.

I was going to, but I found these reviews accidentally, thank god!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Buyer Beware !”

written by CARLESSCARRON on 18/03/2015

I wouldnt even give them one star but had no choice but to rate it ! basically sold a potential death trap. Tried to resolve the situation with sales guy and the manager total waste of time. left with no choice but to contact Consumer Rights and Trading Standards even though i gave them the opportunity to resolve the situation and im sure trading standards will already have had complaints. Had the same treatment as previous customers told to go away and that they didnt want to speak to me anymore. Luckily drove the car home safely but have been unable to drive it since had a report from AA to say it wasnt roadworthy and an independant garage told me it had the potential to run away from me and the only way to stop it would be to brake and go into a high gear to stall the engine . Thanks to all the staff at Calder motors for putting me and my children at risk hope you sleep well at night !!!!! Anyone experienced the same issues contact consumer rights an trading standards they shouldnt be allowed to get away with it and i certainly dont intend to let it go.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“fake reviews”

written by rangers7 on 02/09/2014

anyone can place a good review on here to deflect how bad there company really is. used this company once and never again they tart them up to get them out the door i had a £19000 vehicle and had to get rid of it after 6 months due to them body swerving and botching repairs. Ran the fuel tank dry and told me not to come back put it in for repair with 40mls of gas left, got it back flat lined just made it to the petrol station as it ran out. poor poor dealer, poor customer service and as for tweedle dee and tweddle dum thats dee and his sister less said about them the better. take your hard earned ££££ to a reputable dealer youve been warned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bennybzzr's Response to rangers7's Review

Written on: 11/01/2015

Had much the same experience. Bought the car in Feb. '14 and they had it for around 4 weeks in total between then and April screwing up family holidays etc. The car after spending £9000 buying it now stands me another £3000 getting the issues fixed outwith warranty that it had been back in to have fixed during the warranty period. Two of the issues that it was back in for I have fixed properly myself and the 3rd item i highlighted as a concern and I was reassured was fine but have ended up having to rectify myself. Would never go near the place again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carlesscarron's Response to rangers7's Review

Written on: 18/03/2015

Pretty much the same treatment for us had to contact consumer rights and trading standards sold me a potential death trap and had the cheek to tell me I knew this before I bought it yeah right ! Have the proof from.aa and independant garage that the car was unsafe within 48hrs of buying it managed to drive it home and still.alive to tell the tale . Ill be posting a full.review shortly and sharing the word via social media its a disgrace

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“recent car purchase, Porsche Boxster”

written by Roddyg on 14/04/2014

Contacted these guys after seeing an advert in Autotrader. Went to see the car ( Porsche boxster),spoke to an advisor , test drove the car and a deal was done , it was that simple. I got 3 months warranty an a new MOT . There were a few electrical niggles and faults which were all dealt with , promptly and without question .We were even provided with a courtesy car whilst ours was being repaired. I have purchased many cars over the years from all types of garages , including main dealers , and can honestly say the service provided by the team was first class . I would have no hesitation in recommending this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A pleasurable, relaxed buying resulting in a quality car.”

written by HondaAccordTourer on 30/03/2014

I began contact with Calder motor co by telephone. I live in Aberdeen and had seen a car on auto trader. From the outset I received very personable service and a feeling of honesty. I was originally using a third party finance company, but Was advised a cheaper rate could be achieved through their finance company( a sales man that saves you ££...can't be bad!!). I have just (within the last month) had a bad experience with another car dealer that resulted in a costly recovery due to a failed engine! So, reading the (bad) reviews on here shed some scepticism on things, so traveled down from down Aberdeen thinking I could walk away at any point. This scepticism immediately departed when I was picked up from the train station and taken back to the (frankly quite impressive) sales yard. The car was in brilliant condition and it was a slick, friendly, open transaction! Will defiantly recommend and return service. Thanks!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Quality service and competitive prices”

written by on 28/03/2014

We have been customers of this company for many years and have never had a reason to complain. We have always had excellent service and find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The pricing is also favourable compared to some larger companies. Definitely have no hesitation in giving them total recommendation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“VERY VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER !!!!!”

written by HappyHyundai on 21/03/2014

I took my car to Calder Motor Company as I had a bad braking fault. I had heard through word of mouth that it was a good, family run, honest garage to go to, and that I wouldnt be " ripped off". 1st impression was its very professional looking,then you meet the staff within the garage and the mechanics. Everyone is very pleasant and courteous, this inspires you with confidence and makes you think you've picked wisely. My car had previously been with another mechanic and after he checked the error code he advised he couldnt deal with it ! When I initially dropped my car off I got a lift home. When the mechanic had investigated what was causing the problem and that it was not going to be a quick fix, I was contacted to see if i required a courtesty car which was ideal as i have small children. I do live relatively locally and a driver was sent to pick me up and take me to the garage to get the car. Now thats what i call above and beyond, that type of service made my life soooooo much easier. My car ended up being in a couple of days so as you can appreciate a courtesy car was fantastic. I was called daily to update me on what was happening with the car and to set me expectations accordingly. After a lot of phonecalls and man hours a replacement/new part was sourced for my car it was also a VERY competative price too. Being that its an automatic the spares seem to be like hens teeth - RARE ! I got a call at 5.55pm on Monday to say the car was good to go and if I wanted to pick it up that evening they would stay open to give me time to get down. As you can imagine with the amount of attention/man hours from both the mechanics and the owner chasing up parts I thought my bill was going to be sky high !!! IT WASNT !! I picked my car up and shes driving brilliantly !!! Yipppeeeeeeeeeee. I would recommend Calder Motor Company to anyone as a great, family run garage, where you can be assured you wont be ripped off. ******NOT TO BE MIXED UP WITH CMC WHO TRADE IN THE SAME IND ESTATE*********

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Professional, quality, down to earth!”

written by Princerogerneilson on 21/03/2014

Yet again, great service and customer care from Calder motors. If you're looking for something a wee bit special and want peace of mind, Calder motors do not disappoint.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Don't listen to these fools!!! ”

written by Jj321 on 21/03/2014

I have dealt with calder motor company for my last 4 cars over the last ten years and I can not say a bad word about them. I have also put several of my friends, my mum and sister on to them and we are all of the same option that they really do go the extra mile to help you. Yes I have had some niggles with one of the cars I bought but it was dealt with very quickly and I was given a courtesy car while it was being done and all done free of charge and very quickly, lets face it any car can go wrong and they were happy to help. They have a good set up and are a good bunch of people to deal with. Dont be put off with what some of these people have said. I will be honest, I can't believe that they are talking about the same garage. I know there is a small place called CMC in the same estate who are causing them all sorts of trouble. I will recommend and will keep doing so.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

written by avoidcalder on 13/02/2014

I bought a car from them with full year MOT but they didnt supply emission test sheet. Year after car failed emission test. They must know it will fail. Their MOTs are not trustworthy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst car buying experience ever”

written by DGFS675 on 25/01/2014

I cannot express just how bad this company is - happy to take your money but rude and unhelpful with problems.  Avoid at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Lacking in customer care.”

written by on 09/01/2014

Purchased a car from Calder, had to return several times with problems. They seem disinterested in after care, however, quick to take your money off you! Emails and phone calls are ignored and its only courtesy to reply to someone. I will NEVER buy from this place again, take my advice and go elsewhere. Questions and answers are avoided like the plague, highly unrecommended. This is not just sour grapes, if was happy I'd have left 5 stars. But I'm not, so barely 2 stars.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rangers7's Comment

Written on: 25/01/2014

know what you went through been there with this mob, body swerve this dealer big time

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Highlander555's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2014

I agree avoid.Car had a loose light,conked out in Edinburgh.

Poor customer care.Not even offered a cup of coffee.Sat there guzzling a sandwich.Wouldn't get off his backside to go to Edinburgh to get road tax.

Was told to ask the mechanics to put in the radio code myself.

The last time I complained,there was a spate of 5 star reviews.Avoid,Avoid Avoid

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview