Communication is abysmal.

4.9 / 5
97% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

StormyKeithKA's review of Unlimited Web Hosting -


“Communication is abysmal. ”

Written on: 04/10/2013 by StormyKeithKA (1 review written)

I've been a UWH customer for several years now. On the surface of it, is seems like a great deal. However as is normally the case, you get what you pay for.

Whilst I have 25+ sites hosted for some of my clients with UWH they are simple, very low traffic sites (WP blogs etc). They should use absolutely minimal resources. However, the sites often run slow and site monitoring shows that they are frequently inaccessible. Whilst it doesn't happen all the time, it is on a frequent basis. Now I would expect UWH to monitor this but they clearly don't. I'd love to know where they get their quoted uptime figures from but my site monitoring logs don't agree with theirs.

Their support is actually quite good from the point of view that they do get back to you in a reasonable amount of time. Theie answers are very often in poor quality English (more like text messages) and don't answer the question you asked. They are also not very understandable at times and can be very condascending in their answers. They will also not commit to timescales to fix issues and are very unsympathetic to any knock on issues they have caused you.

What is really poor is that they rely heavily on you to identify any issues. For example, they have made several changes to their system over recent months. On several occasions this has caused sites to go down. We often have to wait several days to get them back up and running. We have had various explanations. A typical scenario is.....

Me: 'we have an issue with site xxxx' ..... a few communications later
UWH: 'this is due to our recent server upgrade not working'......
Me: 'when will it be fixed?'
UWH: 'we'll let you know when the server has been upgraded'
Me: 'can't you give me a date?'
UWH: 'we'll let you know when the server has been upgraded'

Poor. Poor. Poor.
1) They should have advised customers of the impending upgrade so backups could be taken by users. This didn't happen (at least with me)
2) They should have had a contingency plan in place.
3) THEY should have advised customers of the issue, not wait on clients to tell them their site was down.

This situation has gradually got worse over the period I have been with them. Think it's time to move when my clients start complaining.

  • Value For Money

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 04/10/2013

Good Evening.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you feel you have experienced.

Further to your review, I would like to touch on several areas you have detailed.

Our support team provides full and concise response’s to all tickets and will always strive to provide suggestions & fixes to any support query raised; normally above and beyond the call of duty.

We have recently performed service upgrades to our platform to ensure service delivery & platform security are optimal.

Ensuring our service is secure is always a key part of our platform, as such, we like most hosting providers do need to perform maintenance on our platform from time to time and always strive to minimalize any downtime.

As I updated in your earlier support ticket over 6 hrs ago, we did provide and always do provide notifications several months prior to any updates we make on our shared hosting platform.

This can also be seen from reviewing our service status page which confirms our legacy updates applied, along with notifications and realistic ETA’s.

As such, we do always notify customers via several independent methods (mail / status page) upgrades will take place.

Again I would like to apologize if you do feel that the service received was not to the level you would expect.

As detailed in your earlier ticket we will provide a full service refund for you or review this further over the phone if further clarity is needed.

Reply to this comment

Stormykeithka's reply to Uwhsupport's Comment

Written on: 08/10/2013

I have just received a phone call from UWH to discuss my issues. We had a very constructive discussion.

Whilst UWH acknowledged that they had not handled the communication aspects of their recent upgrade to the level that they would have wished, I am confident that they have learnt from my comments and will improve communication as a result.

I don't believe the issue relating to the condescending comment was bore of malice and was an unfortunate response that they use to close off many support tickets. Avoidable? Yes, Deliberate? No

They listened to my issues, commented accordingly and assured me that my comments would be used in a positive manner to improve service levels.

Whilst I stand by comments, perhaps the circumstances surrounding them (I lost a client) had resulted in me being a little unfair to UWH.

If only all companies cared about their customers as much as UWH.

If I was reviewing again I would probably give 4* (5 if I hadn't had the specific incident where I lost my client). Hopefully they'll be back to 5* soon.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0