Monarch Scaleout Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Monarch Scaleout - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Monarch Scaleout

Monarch Scaleout

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Didn't do much from day 1”

Written on: 07/11/2017 by Angeline98 (1 review written)

I had one these fitted when I had a new kitchen and bathroom put in, I still get the same line scale build up as before, it didn't do anything for my new taps or new bathroom / kitchen. I really had high hopes fore this product but couldn't recommend it at all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Scale out s2”

Written on: 22/07/2017 by Bubsjoe (1 review written)

Could not see any evidence of it working.Kept it over a year. Total waste of money .Had it removed. I kept my old kettle to see if it remove any lime scale,as they suggest.zero impact. Had to clean lime scale from. bathroom and taps.Save yourself time and money.I was caught… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★☆

“ Satisfied but with reservations!”

Written on: 14/12/2016 by Lennona465 (1 review written)

We had our Scaleout installed 3 years ago following a major refurbishment of my property which included a completely new plumbing & heating system / pipework etc. We did so at the suggestion of our plumber as my wife was opposed to the traditional type of water softener which previously she had found to make the water too slimey. We understood that it was a 4-star rather than a 5-star solution but went ahead anyway and have been pretty pleased with it, although we too have noticed some (not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 13 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Monarch scaleout. Waste of money”

Written on: 29/11/2015 by rich2204 (1 review written)

Had a Monarch scaleout system fitted for twelve months now. It seemed to work fine for the first three months. Now it seems to do very little. I changed the filter after eight months, though it is recommended to be changed once a year. Didn't make any difference. I paid severn hundred pounds, what a waste of money. Should have paid a few hundred more and had a block salt one instead. Shower head blocks after a couple of months and I have all the same lime scale problems that I had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Note4U's Response to rich2204's Review

Written on: 21/01/2017

Not enough information to take your feedback seriously. What is your water hardness level? Is it extremely high e.g. exceeds 450? it would unlikely be effective or even work that well or at all in a longer term if that was the case. Secondly, it would have been interesting if you had a water hardness test done before and after for comparison. Finally, with a salt solution you are not only contributing to an potential environmental tragedy (ok, ceaning chemicals also do), but nobody seem to take into account the waste and cost of the brine water, which is anywhere from 17 to 30l per day, which is simply flushed away.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rich2204's reply to Note4U's Comment

Written on: 21/01/2017

The kind of answer I expect one year later, from someone who represents the company

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“1 year of scaleout use”

Written on: 17/10/2015

We have had the scale out fitted to a 30 year old house which had a lot of limescale build up - we are in a hard water area in Berkshire. In general we have not seen the same problems that you usually have with limescale in the area, but we do see the white residue in our kettle - which seems to be expected in the Monarch guides. We also get a white residue on the granite worktops. BUT We have found that we aren't getting the nasty scale build up on the bathroom sinks and toilets and in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“So much easier than a softener.”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by PaulSequenza (1 review written)

Our plumber recently installed a new heating system and all new pipework, we also got a new washer dryer so I thought it was time to get a water softener fitted, also because the plumber was so good. He told us to go to our local merchants where we got the boiler stuff from and ask for a Scaleout instead, as it doesn't mean he would have to rip up our kitchen floor (again) and fit a hard tap to the sink, plus no new tap to the garden either. Tell you what, we live in a well hard water area and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Monarch Scaleout works perfectly with instant results”

Written on: 22/06/2015 by Hetti707 (1 review written)

I purchased a Monarch scaleout a month ago and am absolutely delighted with the results. It does exactly what I expected which was to reduce the hardness of the water but still be able to drink the water from anywhere in the house. It comes with a filter as standard which needs replacing each year at minimal cost and having done some research, I believe the running cost will be less than a conventional salt water softener. It is compact, fits neatly under the sink unit with no extra tap… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Works perfectly and Monarch were very helpful!”

Written on: 09/01/2014 by tomj84 (1 review written)

I used to live in a house that I renovated and had a salt water softener installed as I live in Bath where the water is very hard. During the renovation, it was a pain to install separate cold water pipes to the kitchen as it is not advisable to drink softened water. I also found the process of buying heavy and often split bags of salt to fill it up was just irritating. I moved from that house a year ago and had a Monarch Scaleout installed in the new house as an alternative to a water softener… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Monarch scale out for combination boilers”

Written on: 28/01/2013 by Dralllab (1 review written)

Hi , just installed the new monarch scale out salt less unit and I've already noticed the difference in the first day.the existing scale around the taps has broke down with a slight rub,the so called slime in the kettle I have not experienced this could be that you must install the filter that comes with the kit and they must be replaced max of a year cost as little as £10 to £15 .also I have notice when using soaps the lather is better, maybe not as much as the salt softeners but personally… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Monarch Scaleout; problems (white film & flakes in...”

Written on: 26/12/2012

This is product is sold as an alternative to traditional softeners and described in the trade (plumbing-heating) as a revolution in scale treatment). I am an installer and put a high flow unit in my own home. I found the unit performance was not as advertised, in particular after two weeks my kettle was covered in a white film that breaks up when filling my kettle and white flakes are suspended in the water. The advertising promised a 'Healthy kettle'. I am able to get information from… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Petersolar's Comment

Written on: 02/01/2013

I have talked further with Monarch and they accept that the issue with the kettle is valid. I am going to keep the Scaleout unit for another 6months and monitor the performance.

I will wait for the Scaleout unit to breakdown the remaining scale in my pipe work system and see where it settles, I do have a good dialogue with Monarch and will stick with it in the interim,

It is important to accept that there are limitations and issues relative to full softenening but oyu still may wish to use Scaleout.

I also have an interest in how Scaleout reacts as fill water in my heating system (stable PH), with mixed metals and aluminium end plates on a stainless steel heat exchanger.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harveybowden's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2013

Hi, We manufacture the Harvey Water Softener and would like to get involved with real world experiences such as you have. Would you be prepared to try one of our water softeners free of charge when you think you understand how well your Scaleout works? Then compare the two experiences.
www.harvey.co.uk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr_Twiddle's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

Hi - I've just ordered one of these. A little worried by your review!

Would be interested in how you are getting on!

We ordered in part because we just don't have the space for a salt softener and are hopeful that this will still give an improvement. I've also done some reading on the FILTERSORB SP3 resin that they use and it's not exactly easy to find conclusive customer reviews even though the resin has been around for a few year. Hope to hear an update.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Petersolar's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

Hi,

The real issue is that there is no test kit so you would only know the resin is exhausted when you felt the difference in the water quality, I am not sure that you could so quickly because the feel of the water is not as high impact as traditional Softners! I know it is working because I fitted a new bathroom and the scale has not appeared.

The kettle deposits are like milky baby sick and block the gauze in the kettle spout it is not easy to rinse the kettle out, I am going to plumbe the kitchen sink separate to the scaleout because it is worse than scale, warranty is also dependant on a pre filter and annual change of the filter so watch that if you go ahead

The other concern is that the expected life span of the resign is vague and the stability of SP3 price/supply is not clearly explained anywhere that I can find.

I cannot argue with the scale control, but I do wonder if my kettle is full of gunk then could that also migrate from high wall temperatures in my combi plate heat exchanger to my new bathroom installation.

Every new idea or technology has a weakness, I found it straight away because I specialise in filling water and corrosion in domestic heating systems, so you need to apply some balance to my comments; perhaps I am over thinking it, the lack of hard facts on resin life span bugs me!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr_Twiddle's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2013

Would you say that you have noticed any difference in the feel of your skin? My wife suffers from very dry hands and really our hope is that it may help with this. If it does then it would be worth it for that alone.

Also does it improve the 'taste' of your water despite the kettle gunk?

Incidentally we're in Berkshire - with hardness just over the 300ppm mark according to the water company. I hadn't realised that the warranty requires a pre filter - I'll look into that.

Thanks again! I have ordered it and also 1 extra filter - so if Monarch go bust I have at least 2 years out of it. However not too late to just send it back for a refund!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tina_B's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2013

Hello Mr_Twiddle,
I also live in Berkshire and would be interested to know how you are getting on - do you have the kettle problems?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr_Twiddle's Comment

Written on: 31/10/2013

We got cold feet.

I did some more research on the type of resin that is in these things and it appeared that it's been sold in the USA for some time. I was suspicious that you cannot really find any sort of objective feedback from people to say it works on the internet.

Also just felt it wasn't really going to address the main problem we had which was dry cracking hands. Anyway we have ordered a Softline Scalemaster 150 softener and are waiting to get it fitted.

Good luck!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jimmistletoe's Comment

Written on: 15/03/2014

So a year later and I wonder how you are getting on?
Jim

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jackietrundley's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2014

Totally agree, kettle awful tea like drinking chalk. Shower head has pinkish residue and need to de limescale loo weekly because of pinkish resin.
Have had this fitted less than 6 months £600 down the drain. Worried what this powdery pinkish gunk is doing to my family. Going to plumb in traditional softner & bypass kitchen dink. DO NOT BUY!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tonymcross's Comment

Written on: 01/06/2014

Ive had a monarch scaleout fitted to a new extension witch includes two bathrooms a new water tank and boiler, so no old copper pipes, i was sold this under the impression that we would not suffer with any limescale etc and would be fare better than the salt water softeners, but we are already cleaning the limescale of the shower screens, heads and walls, I'm now conceded that my new heating and plumbing will be suffering as well, haven spoken to our plumber and shown him the results he has recommended that we should remove it and replace it with traditional one, I'm not to sure how long these have been in circulation but i can't find any reviews except for this one, also we had a pre filter fitted with the installation, has anybody got any good news about these £600 down the drain???? seems to be a waste of money to me and would not recommend one

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neilj29's Comment

Written on: 19/05/2015

We fitted a scaleout in Feb and already the lime scale is back! Worked fine for a few weeks but has gradually become ineffective over a period of only 3 months. It may only be a case of replacing the post filter but at £10-20 a pop that's not cheap, especially since it's supposed to last a year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 11 Comments
overview