New Experience Holidays Reviews - www.newex.co.uk

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
91% of users recommend this
  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
New Experience Holidays - www.newex.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for New Experience Holidays - www.newex.co.uk

New Experience Holidays - www.newex.co.uk

Refine your search

★★★★★

“Well organised fantastic holiday”

written by on 27/11/2018

We found New Experience Holidays very easy to deal with, they were very helpful, always replied to any queries we had promptly and all our paperwork arrived within good time. We thought the price was very reasonable and booked our own flights which kept costs down. During our holiday, all our pick ups were on time, our luggage transferred everyday without a problem and was always waiting for us when we arrived at our accommodation. The accommodation was good, some slightly better than others, but always clean and the food was excellent. The walking notes were very comprehensive. Care needed to be taken when interpreting them, but we soon became better at this and made sure we took the time to stop and re-read if we were ever uncertain. We had a fabulous holiday, all in all I would recommend this company, we will definitely be using them again in the future.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Well organised trip which took full advantage of scenery”

written by jcHutchison429 on 26/11/2018

New Experience were very easy to deal with and were able to customize a walking holiday to our needs. The route organized for us was very scenic and the walking notes provided informative. All accommodation booked on the route was comfortable and the food was great. We did very well. The baggage collection went off without a hitch. Partway through the trip my partner sustained an injury which prevented him from completing the walk - but New Experience were able to accommodate and take him with the luggage point to point while I completed the walk. Well done. I thought the holiday was extremely good value for money too.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Camino ”

written by on 26/11/2018

I have wanted to walk the Camino for years and last year I really felt the urge to start. The only problem was I didn’t know where to start or anything about how you walk the Camino. I tried a few online companies but it was vague and I couldn’t really find what I wanted then I discovered New experience holidays. I made a phone call and in no time the person I dealt with was able to offer me a start and finish point, he covered flights, transport, baggage delivery and accommodation in fact every thing I needed to know about walking the Camino. I put my trust in this company and they never let me down. I traveled with my sister and brother, it turned out to be a wonderful experience. No complaints.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great walks and a brilliant holiday (Las Marinas Trek,...”

written by on 26/11/2018

The self-guided walks were excellent as was the accommodation on each night. We were provided by New Experience with an app that charted each day's route and indicated where we were whenever we needed to check. On one occasion we went off route as we hadn't checked the app but because of it were able to find the route by walking on rather than retracing our steps. The walking notes were given were good but if in doubt, the app would always show the way. The host who met us at the airport and delivered us back there at the end of the holiday was really outstanding and lived in the area. He was there to assist/advise particularly on one day when quite severe weather was forecast. Four of us went on the holiday. We could not find fault with it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Into the fjords- 14 day center based hiking in Norway”

written by Bavarianhillbilly on 06/10/2018

Excellent trip. We have used several( 6) different adventure hiking companies and yours is by far the best. Walking papers and maps were accurate, accomadations were excellent and all transfers were accurate. The cost of your trip for a 14 days was actually less than another companies 7 day trip. With that in mind the accomadations were top notch. Salmon for breakfast and dinner every night. Excellent meals and rooms. I used the indoor swimming pool in Voss five different times. One note. For those thinking of going to Norway. Seniors( over 67 years old) pay half price for buses and funiculars.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor accommodation and way finding ”

written by Amirs312 on 11/08/2018

We recently visited the Croatian islands on a walking holiday with New Experience. We were unable to get a full itinerary before leaving despite having paid for the holiday in full. It was clear that the accommodation was the cheapest available just prior to travel and on one evening after a long walk we found ourselves at the location given for the day to find a derelict supermarket. We had to call our host who duly arrived and showed us to a room in the building which was clean but hardly what might be expected on a holiday break! The scenery was fantastic but on a number of occasions the paths were overgrown and difficult to find. The folks supporting us in Croatia were really helpful but I would not travel with this group again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Cortina Guided Walking”

written by mecoulson on 10/07/2018

Franceschi Park hotel - staff/service were superb, room a bit small but comfortable. Meals were ok. Walking leader was excellent. Lovely Alpine area with good bus service. Enjoyable walking - 3 Chimneys circular is a must for serious walkers but not too strenuous and easy to find way. WW1 fortifications worth a look. I've had 12 walking holidays with New Experience and all but one have been very good/excellent. I'll be travelling with them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Romania, Transylvania”

written by geoffreymillner on 26/06/2018

Very well organised opportunity to explore this beautiful area. Great variety of landscapes and walking. A nice mix of accommodation from smart hotels to friendly local pensions. Travel arrangements worked perfectly.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic walking holiday in rural Bulgaria”

written by Newportwalker on 25/06/2018

We travelled, in May, to the Rhodopi Mountains in Bulgaria, on a self guided walking holiday by New Experiences and managed in Bulgaria by thei local agent Traventuria. The pick up from the airport was on time, the vehicle new and in good condition. It is quite a long drive to the Rhodope Mountains, through some spectacular scenery. Some of the roads are narrow with steep drops but the driving was excellent; you really could relax and enjoy the view. The first hotel in Devin was fine, nothing exceptional but of a good standard. Be sure to hand in your token on arrival. This is in the pack your driver will give you, containing detailed route descriptions, maps and general information. Like most of the accommodation, no English was spoken but google translate was fine. Welcoming, friendly and clean hotel. From the first day of walking we were impressed with the route descriptions and encountered no problems at all. We would have liked to receive them before the trip but they were easy to use on the hoof. The walking each day was spectacular, quite a lot of climbing but not long distances. We really saw the highlights of the Rhodopi Mountains and rural life in Bulgaria. Three days in Trigrad was perfect: do explore the spectacular gorge whilst you are there and stop for a beer in the cheesemaking factory you pass at the end of the walk on the second and third day. The next day you visit a truly remote village with a very quirky guest house, it was fantastic. After an amazing meal we were treated to Rodopi music and dance by the hosts. However the accommodation on the last night in Kosovo was the most spectacular. Superb rooms, idyllic setting, charming hosts and their son: you could not wish for more. We did the free walking tours in Plovdiv and Sofia. We were four vegetarians and I did not anticipate good food but we were pleasantly surprised. Every accommodation knew of our requirements and the meals were lovely. Do order sandwiches for your day’s walking as you will not find any cafes etc on most days. This is our second holiday with New Experiences and we have already booked next year. The Bulgarian people are eager to help, pleasant and welcoming.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Poor attention to detail”

written by on 27/05/2018

We have done several trips with New Experience Holidays which have been very enjoyable but each one has had more than one issue which indicates there is a lack of attention to detail by the company. I think a previous reviewer is quite right to say that New Experience staff probably don't walk the routes very often. We've found that the route descriptions can be out of date which is disconcerting when you're in an unfamiliar place. On a winter walking holiday in Switzerland there were no "yak traks" to wear over walking boots despite an assurance that these would be available and on another visit to Switzerland we were provided with an out of date Swiss Travel Card. It's fair to say that New Experience reimbursed us for the cost of buying a new card in Switzerland but as we'd booked the holiday with a company that specialises in putting all such arrangements we didn't expect that extra hassle and inconvenience when we found we couldn't travel! That was the last straw and although New Experience offer some very tempting routes we won't travel with them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“A CURATE'S EGG IN MAJORCA”

written by grumpydoug on 24/10/2017

My wife and I spent a week walking in Majorca on a New Experience holiday, staying at the Hotel Aimia in Port de Soller. The hotel, the more expensive of the two offered, was superb in every respect and we recommend it whole-heartedly. The rest of the holiday was, like the Curate's egg, good in parts. Travel and accommodation arrangements were made efficiently albeit with one glitch. Our return pre-arranged taxi from hotel to airport failed to arrive and the 'phone numbers listed on the Newex paperwork couldn't be contacted. At least one of these numbers turned out to be wrong. The excellent hotel receptionist tried but finally had to arrange an alternative. It must be said that New Experience refunded the taxi fare promptly and without fuss. The directions provided for one of the walks omitted a lengthy section, but luckily for us I noticed it beforehand and the missing section was sent to us. Bus timetables for the two local services were provided as mentioned in the literature. It became apparent that these were out of date, although only just. We couldn't use them, all the same. The walks themselves were delightful and passed some beautiful scenery. We get the impression Newex don't walk the trails themselves very often. Overall we had a smashing time, but feel New Experience needs just a little more refinement to place itself alongside the big two in walking holidays. Having read the other reviews on this site I realise this probably a minority view.   East Sussex

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent walking, great customer service”

written by Bunnybarney on 26/07/2017

We've walked all over the world, the Andorra trekking was up there with the best, as ever New Experience (our 3rd time)excellent in every way, particularly as we wanted to do a longer trek than standard. Extra days in Encamp or Soldeu and explore the Incles valley. Santa Barbara Hotel in Ordino and Hotel Montane really good. Hotel Grau Roig - breakfast and supper to be believed! Easy to plan your own walks from the excellent 1:25,000 map and vary according to mountian weather.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Self guided walking holiday in Transylvania”

written by on 05/06/2017

Have just returned from a 5 day walking holiday in Transylvania. We booked our own flights but were met promptly by the transport who took us to our first hotel in Brasov. This was not the same as the original booking because of a water problem in the original hotel. However it was welcoming and comfortable, clean throughout. Our dinner was not available even though we were expecting DB&B at all our accommodation. However this was not a problem as there were a wealth of places in Brasov city square, a five minute walk away. Breakfast was fine. The standard of accommodation was good throughout our trip, always comfortable and clean. On some evenings we had a choice of menu, on others it was a set meal. We are all vegetarians and had anticipated some problems, however there were none. Each accommodation was anxious to establish what we would and would not eat and meet our needs. The food was plentiful, so much so we didn't order a packed lunch on most days. When we did, it was simple but adequate. We used a gpx track for the routes and did not encounter any problems. Others we met, said the route description was good; a few errors but nothing concerning. The routes were varied and interesting, taking in spectacular views and great scenery. The wild flowers were a delight but there wasn't a bear in sight! We had to suffice with a slow worm and an unspecified snake. The hosts and local people we met en route were happy to help, friendly and eager to practise their English. Our bags were delivered to the next day's accommodation with no problems. Do not expect five star accommodation, expect a homely, welcoming environment in small guest houses and inns, but that is part of the charm of this holiday. The walks are easily managed each day with plenty of time to admire the views and stop in a cafe in the more populated areas. There is quite a bit of climbing and boots/shoes that can tackle deep mud are a must. Definitely take a walking stick to help with the steep ascents and descents and help you across streams. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time and look forward to another holiday of the same standard.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Self-guided walking in El Hierro”

written by RichardTookey on 03/04/2017

This is a beautiful unspoilt island where some fantastic walks have been put together to ensure that very nearly all the varied landscapes of this little island can be explored in one week. The walks were all very well planned and the self-guided instructions clear and easy to follow. The accommodation was simple and unpretentious ( apart from the luxury of the last night in the Parador) but was always very clean and entirely in keeping with the nature of the holiday location. The food was also often provided in simple local bars/restaurants but was always absolutely superb. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday if you are looking for some excellent walking in a friendly island with some magnificent scenery.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Gran Canaria”

written by Garzart427 on 27/02/2017

All the arrangements made with New Experience Holidays seemed very good. Air flights were brilliant. We were collected from the airport by a friendly driver and delivered to the correct hotel. No complaints about any of the accommodation until the last one in Aguimes. Here they did not do evening meals and gave us a card to go to a "restaurant" in the corner of the square - oh dear, we were given two choices for starter and mains - both were disgusting - and as for sweet - ice cream or nothing!!! Terrible. They did have a proper menu but evidently New Experience had not paid enough for us to have a proper choice! and considering the cost of this holiday I was very disappointed. The walk itself was good, although instructions did become confusing and at one stage we had to retrace our steps, because the information given was much too much. We would have missed the caves had we not gone back - which would have been a shame as they were lovely (this was on the last day). A compass and GPS are really essential to follow the instructions. We had trouble with New Experience, because, my husband upgraded our hotels for 4 nights but we were sent instructions for the basic trek, although we had read them all through and they seemed ok. On two days we were supposed to be picked up by a taxi, they did not arrive. Luckily the hotel we were staying in was very good and rang the local rep only to be told he did not work for them any longer. NOT GOOD. The receptionist kindly rang England and we were told that we had been given the wrong information and they said they would email the correct information through, and we were told that as we had upgraded we did not need a taxi on the first one. So we waited and waited - no email, so told the receptionist that we would follow the signs to the next destination as it was getting later and we did not want to finish the walk in the dark. We arrived at San Bartolome (Tunte) safely and found the missing documents waiting for us there. The same thing happened when it was time to move on, the taxi did not arrive and again the kind receptionist rang England and a taxi was arranged, but we were then 2 hours late starting our walk. We have taken walking holidays in many countries and never had the trouble we had with New Experiences and we will not be using them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Las Marinas”

written by Nikolai165 on 02/04/2016

An excellent continuous walk exploiting interesting paths which we would never have discovered independently. The paths took us to beautiful views and interesting natural and man made features. We enjoyed getting to the tops of two mountains. The accuracy of the walking instructions was also excellent. We were provided with a GPS which was helpful a few times when we wanted to check we were going in the right direction. Food and accommodation was excellent; they exceeded our expectations for such a remote sparsely populated area.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“New Experience Gran Canaria Trek - Excellent!”

written by Montgomerybi116 on 14/02/2016

We travelled with New Experience Holidays last month on their Gran Canaria trek and were highly impressed by their level of efficiency and support of their team. All holiday documentation arrived safely within plenty of time of our departure and offered lots of interesting, personalised documents all of a high standard. All of our local tranfers on the island were punctual and friendly. We were extremely happy with all of the hotels we stayed at, considering we opted for the standard grade hotels, I can only imagine how lovely the higher grade hotels must be! The rooms and food at each one were of great quality, as were the hotel staff. The walk notes were superb, very easy to follow, I imagine it would be very difficult to get lost! Our first walk to Fontanales was particularly beautiful and set us up for a great weeks walking. All of the information was accurate and up to date. Overall, our trip was a fantastic experience. We look forward to many more trips with New Experience Holidays and would highly recommended them to anyone looking for a delightful, well thought out and good value for money walking holiday!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not enough to eat; very poor directions: Avoid!”

written by on 19/12/2015

We travelled with New Experience to Gran Canaria earlier this year and cannot recommend the company. We were doing the self-guided hotel to hotel walking tour. With the exception of one night, when we upgraded, the standard of the accommodation and/or food was very poor. Indeed, on several nights we didn't get enough to eat and were forced to go and buy more food! We had been walking hard all day in high temperatures and if two women didn't get enough food, imagine how hungry we would have been if we were men! The directions appeared to be comprehensive but turned out to be often misleading and sometimes downright dangerous. Although written in English, they often read as though it was a translation with some very strange language. As it happens, New Experience sent us the feedback forms before we went on the holiday and specifically asked for any corrections to the walking directions to be sent to them. Therefore we were extremely diligent and noted every error, correction needed and other information to help future walkers. It was lucky that we are experienced walkers and were armed with a good map and compass, otherwise things could have gone horribly wrong a few times. To add insult to injury, when we returned and sent off our feedback we got a bland reply saying that "no-one else has complained" - well that's ok then! They didn't even have the courtesy to thank us for the detailed notes on the walking directions. Pros: pre-departure information; luggage transportation service; upgraded hotel (Hotel Las Tirajanus). Cons: not enough to eat most nights (notable exception being at Grill La Sibora); some dire accommodation; misleading and/or dangerous walking notes; lack of interest from New Experience on our experience.

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment on our Gran Canaria trek earlier this year. We had over 30 bookings to Gran Canaria last year all with satisfied clients so are very sad to hear that you did not have the same experience.

We appreciate that the demanding climate you were faced with during your trip required a good meal at the end of the day and have been in touch with our local partners to enquire about their meal options and ensure this doesn’t affect our future clients.

With regards to our walk notes, they were written by our colleague from Birmingham who has lived in Gran Canaria for many years now and is very familiar with the area and fluent in English. Therefore, it is concerning that you found these notes difficult to read, please be assured we will be revising these and making every effort for them to be as clear as possible. We appreciate the time you took to complete our feedback questionnaire and your walk booklet amendments will be very useful in ensuring this does not happen again; we are glad the map we provided helped your navigation.

We have a standard procedure for all clients who have returned a feedback questionnaire to us, they receive an email from us thanking for the feedback and asking any further questions with regards to their holiday if needs be. I can see that we did not fall short of that for yourselves and referenced your comments above in our response email with our appreciation for your feedback, particularly with the walk notes; we hope that you received this email.

We are pleased to hear the pre-departure information we provided met our usual high standards, as well as our reliable luggage transfer service in Gran Canaria and the lovely Las Tirajanas.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“The New Experience Romania Self-guided Walk”

written by Gordonbz111 on 26/09/2015

The guided walks are clearly very successful. However be more careful if you undertake a self-guided walk. I have just been on one to the Carpathians in Romania. The good points were the attractive countryside; the welcome given us by the Romanians and their kindness; the challenging walks which are in places well waymarked; the pensions we stayed in. The bad side were the failure of New Experience to equip us initially with a suitable large scale map. Later it produced a 25,000 and we also managed to buy a 30,000 locally. New Experience had purchased the walking notes from a foreign company and the translation failed in many places due either weak translation, loss of sequence and loss of meaning. I cannot recommend this walk unless and until New Experience re-write the notes. I can however recommend contacting the owner of the Nea Marin Pension in Maruga (not far from Brasov) if you want to do some walking in those parts. New Experience do offer better self-guide walks which I have done, but avoid this one.

Sudanjonesyyc's Comment

Written on: 03/10/2015

Just finished this same walk and echo the comments. As well at every opportunity New Experience booked us into the worst room in the wort hotel. Also agree the walking directions are beyond bad,

Reply to this comment

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

Again, we are very sorry for the disappointment you experienced on our Romanian holiday. We have detailed the areas in the above comment where we went wrong and what actions we have taken to rectify our mistakes and improve this holiday for future clients.

Regarding the unsatisfactory rooms you were put in, we would like to state that of course we do not request the “worst” rooms for our clients, the hotel arrange this based on their availability unless we have requested a specific room type advised by the client. However, we have contacted our hotels in Romania and passed on your comments as we do with all of our feedback with the hope that they will take more care and consideration when booking rooms for New Experience clients in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

Apologies for the belated response, we have only recently become aware of this site.

Firstly, we are glad to hear of the enjoyable aspects of your holiday. Romania is a beautiful place and the people are indeed very welcoming. The pensions we use are also very lovely and hospitable; we are pleased you found them so.

Secondly, we are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experiences, before and during your Romanian trip. We apologise for the miscommunication regarding your walking map. It is our standard policy to send walking maps to you with all the other information prior to departure, however we ran out of our stock so requested more from our partners in Romania. In the interim they promised they would have one for each client at the hotel upon arrival. We have ensured we have stocks of these for 2016.

Regarding our walk notes, we last had our walk writers re-checking the route in early 2015. Since then, there have been small changes that we have relied on our local partners for, which is where it may have unfortunately become lost in translation. We are already planning for our walk writers to re-visit Romania and make the necessary updates to improve this trek for future clients.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed previous self-guided holidays with us, but of course we are disappointed that our Romanian holiday didn’t meet our usual standards. We appreciate your comments and take on board any feedback we receive to improve our holidays. We hope the actions we have taken regarding your experience and satisfactory.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Fabulous West. lycian Way”

written by BetsyGite on 26/04/2015

We are currently returning from a self guided hiking trip of the Western Lycian Way in Turkey. It was a wonderful experience. The hotels were basic but very comfortable and offered a variety from classic hotel to small family run pension and a farm like property with animals and individual cottages. All arrangements were very well organized and the people we met along the way from transfer drivers to hotel proprietors were more than welcoming. The hiking notes were very helpful and it was reassuring to have a local contact person to contact in case of issues. It was a beautiful unspoiled area to explore with the hiking well thought out as far as time and degree of difficulty. It was nice to stay three of the hotels for two nights each. The company was very responsive to our emails and payment for the trip,was very simple, even with US dollars.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by MaryChappell on 3rd May 2014 Report this content
Has anybody used this company to walk the Camino in Spain?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Pongosey Written on: 06/05/2014
Hi, no we haven't, but we've used New Experience for two walking holidays, one to Cape Verde and one to Dominica and all my dealings with them, their organisation and their choice of hotels was really excellent. I would not hesitate to use New Experience again for any further walking holidays. Hope that helps.
overview