Not enough to eat; very poor directions: Avoid!

New Experience Holidays -
91.0% of users recommend this
  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of New Experience Holidays -

“Not enough to eat; very poor directions: Avoid!”


written by on 19/12/2015

We travelled with New Experience to Gran Canaria earlier this year and cannot recommend the company. We were doing the self-guided hotel to hotel walking tour. With the exception of one night, when we upgraded, the standard of the accommodation and/or food was very poor. Indeed, on several nights we didn't get enough to eat and were forced to go and buy more food! We had been walking hard all day in high temperatures and if two women didn't get enough food, imagine how hungry we would have been if we were men! The directions appeared to be comprehensive but turned out to be often misleading and sometimes downright dangerous. Although written in English, they often read as though it was a translation with some very strange language. As it happens, New Experience sent us the feedback forms before we went on the holiday and specifically asked for any corrections to the walking directions to be sent to them. Therefore we were extremely diligent and noted every error, correction needed and other information to help future walkers. It was lucky that we are experienced walkers and were armed with a good map and compass, otherwise things could have gone horribly wrong a few times. To add insult to injury, when we returned and sent off our feedback we got a bland reply saying that "no-one else has complained" - well that's ok then! They didn't even have the courtesy to thank us for the detailed notes on the walking directions.

Pros: pre-departure information; luggage transportation service; upgraded hotel (Hotel Las Tirajanus).

Cons: not enough to eat most nights (notable exception being at Grill La Sibora); some dire accommodation; misleading and/or dangerous walking notes; lack of interest from New Experience on our experience.

  • April 2015

    Date of trip

  • Invigorating

    Severity of walking

  • Self organised

    Type of trip

  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment on our Gran Canaria trek earlier this year. We had over 30 bookings to Gran Canaria last year all with satisfied clients so are very sad to hear that you did not have the same experience.

We appreciate that the demanding climate you were faced with during your trip required a good meal at the end of the day and have been in touch with our local partners to enquire about their meal options and ensure this doesn’t affect our future clients.

With regards to our walk notes, they were written by our colleague from Birmingham who has lived in Gran Canaria for many years now and is very familiar with the area and fluent in English. Therefore, it is concerning that you found these notes difficult to read, please be assured we will be revising these and making every effort for them to be as clear as possible. We appreciate the time you took to complete our feedback questionnaire and your walk booklet amendments will be very useful in ensuring this does not happen again; we are glad the map we provided helped your navigation.

We have a standard procedure for all clients who have returned a feedback questionnaire to us, they receive an email from us thanking for the feedback and asking any further questions with regards to their holiday if needs be. I can see that we did not fall short of that for yourselves and referenced your comments above in our response email with our appreciation for your feedback, particularly with the walk notes; we hope that you received this email.

We are pleased to hear the pre-departure information we provided met our usual high standards, as well as our reliable luggage transfer service in Gran Canaria and the lovely Las Tirajanas.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 3 0