Claims Settlement Agencies Limited (CSAL) Reviews - www.csal.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
5.6% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Claims Settlement Agencies Limited (CSAL) - www.csal.co.uk

Claims Settlement Agencies Limited (CSAL) - www.csal.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Don't expect a payment”

written by tzHatch500 on 02/02/2023

Took months foe a decision. Agreed a payment, never received it. Disgusting! Out of pocket even thoughnhad the cover

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE”

written by JaylynnBarry354 on 23/11/2022

This company is the biggest waste of space there is. Claim made on 5th August, still waiting for settlement, which was for medical charges for a broken back. No active comms from them, constantly chasing, clock resets every time you make contact (giving them another 31 days to respond). They chase for documents which have already been sent and confirmed receipt. What a joke - formal complaint made and will take to Ombudsman if no response within 8 weeks, which they are allowed, unfortunately. First time this has happened, I will know to do my homework on underwriters before I purchase travel insurance again, for sure. Would not allow zero stars so had to give one !!

Lou124's Comment

Written on: 09/12/2022

They have lost my claim documents too (made June 2022) despite originally saying they had receipt of them - I posted recorded delivery. Lots of fobbing off etc in the meantime, and finally have admitted they can't 'locate' my documents
I purchased my insurance with the Post Office and going forward, like you, I will check who the underwriter is.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“So slow - this isn’t Sainsbury ”

written by Jack-review on 19/10/2022

The claims process is so slow. It took 6 weeks to get a response to an email, you reply then wait another 6 weeks. It’s painfully slow. I appreciate there is a pandemic but it’s abundantly clear that they have too many claims to settle. Unfortunately that isn’t my issue. I chose Sainsburys think that’s a huge company. It’s just a badge. Sainsbury have nothing to do with the insurance. AVOID whilst on holiday I was given poor information and no help. No free international or data number. It’s just really rubbish service My claim was august and still no further along - MY CLAIM IS NOT SETTLED

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Very bad service please avoid this company at all...”

written by BarryMclean on 10/08/2022

Please avoid this company at all costs their service is absolutely shocking. We made a genuine claim for a refund my wife fell in spain and broke her leg. We made a claim on the 4th of april we have contacted them repeatedly by email to ask for a refund (£795 minus their commission of £75) we have also rang on numerous occasions and no response. We have even wrote to the managing director marking the envelope private and confidential and did not receive a response this highlights how much this company will avoid payment. This has now been four months without a refund we have now written to both the insurance ombudsmen and citizens advice to voice our concerns.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely dire”

written by on 08/08/2022

Terrible company, whilst buying the travel policy from Avanti is good and reads well, it ends there if you need to make a claim as you have to deal with them who will use every possible excuse to not pay out. The emergency medical assistance you get is dire, totally incompetent.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally useless company ”

written by nana23 on 23/06/2022

My claim was with Staysure who were excellent to deal with when I took the policy out but after passing my claim to claims settlement agency I have had nothing but trouble and time wasting. Ive told Staysure that they need to look into this company because I feel it's dragging Staysure down (well it has in my estimation) and I won't be renewing my policy with them this year.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs. Let your insurer know too”

written by Doshea1 on 06/06/2022

Terrible company to deal with. They don’t respond to emails and their ‘phone number’ is out of service. I submitted a claim at the start of April and after being told they couldn’t view my attachments I resent it through the website. Reference CIC/252402 The website doesn’t actually let you see the status of the claim and no communication since. It’s off to the ombudsman we go. Perhaps a formal complaint and a case fee will help them to remember how they should treat customers I also wonder if the insurers they represent know how they’re treating customers? Travel Time insurance are the underwriters of my policy

Dennychickbird's Response to Doshea1's Review

Written on: 20/06/2022

hi i have exactly the same problem and time line however no email to say they cant read attachments just a busy auto reply, let me know the route you take
best of luck

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 3 months and 31 days to respond to email!”

written by on 31/05/2022

My travel insurance is with Staysure who subcontract claims to CSAL. What an incompetent company! 31 days to respond to emails! Absolutely shocking service from CSAL, my claim is in it’s 3rd month after providing documentation! Then I get an email to say more documents are required but they didn’t send the document needed to be filled out. I had to call and email them for 2 weeks before I got the document they requested! I have been promised a call today, I live in hope! Appalling!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst ‘organisation’ I’ve ever dealt with....”

written by AlexusKoch358 on 20/04/2022

The worst ‘organisation’ I’ve ever dealt with. Haven’t paid my claim to date which has resulted in me receiving a letter from a lawyer threatening me with court. Sent numerous emails showing invoices, paperwork, and paid the excess but still NOT PAID. 6 months and total incompetency. When you phone you’re just given a series of excuses and “unfortunately this” and “unfortunately that” Haven’t had a reply to my complaint either.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The whole thing's appalling. It's taken 5 weeks to...”

written by CHGC on 08/04/2022

The whole thing's appalling. It's taken 5 weeks to respond not the 5-10 working dayssated - slow service and refused to pay a single penny after my passport was lost by the hotel I stayed at. My cover included up to £300 for a lost passport. I was stuck in country for an additional 4 days and had to pay for emergency travel docs, a hotel and new flight home, plus of course a new passport. They stated that as I knew the passport was being held by the hotel, technically I knew where it was, so I was not covered despite the hotel losing it and me providing the police report proving that. I've ended up nearly £800 out of pocket for a hotel losing my passport and this bunch won't even refund the cost of a replacement passport. Buyer beware, several insurers use CSA for claims processing. My adice is avoid those insurance companies!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Night mare”

written by Nelmo on 30/03/2022

The forms are a night mare I have tryd to fill them in since January the 5th I have only a iPhone to do them I am a single traveler talk about mental health this CSAL website have given me a headache I am claiming for a belayed flight so people stay away from CSAL Insurance

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Impossible to get in contact with ”

written by Lisaboyle85 on 23/02/2022

The initial experience is great until they get your money and then when you need to process a claim they have disappeared. They pass you onto a UK based company called csal. Co. UK who you cannot get in touch with either rover the phone or email. The website forms are inefficient as you cannot process a claim for covid related circumstances despite being covered for same. 3 weeks later and still no reply or further forward

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service ”

written by Boo98765432 on 16/08/2021

My son and his friends had to cancel their holiday on the day they was meant to travel due to a pre travel positive Covid test. They all had to put in separate claims, with in two and a half weeks the refund was in their banks minus the excess and insurance cost. Can ask for better than that I did call a few times for help filling in the online forms and always found the staff polite and helpful. Thank you CSA 5 ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 6 months no response/outcome”

written by Tom1974 on 17/09/2020

I have been asking them to review my claim for over 6 months now, they have broken every timescale they have given to me and still haven't concluded the case into my claim. I have now no option to go the Financial Onbudsman to try and conclude this matter. I cannot understand why they cannot keep to the timelines they give and when they do comeback give me very little info. It feels as if they have been given instruction just to waste peoples time until they give up hope in making a claim when the insurance claim is valid. I have been passed to over 3 people all who have not done what they have said they would. Very shambolic company...AVOID IF YOU CAN

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company terrible service”

written by ap2048 on 25/06/2020

Terrible service. I have had a travel insurance claim due to COVID 19 from Sainsburys travel insurance. I lodged the claim in March and still have not heard from them. I must have called them over 20 times and every time I am told that it the claim is in the queue to be dealt with but they can provide no further update. I am an NHS consultant and do not have the time to keep emailing or phoning them. Appalling service and I certainly will not be buying Sainsburys insurance ever again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Take your money but refuse to payout”

written by helenaanne on 14/01/2019

They will try and find any interpretation of the small print to refuse to pay you out. I was stranded in Amsterdam after my flight was cancelled and had to make alternative arrangements to get home. Apparently thats not enough to claim on flight disruption believe it or not. Not one good thing to say. Communication is slow and dismissive. They simply don't care

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete waste of money and time”

written by kkHarris-Alt1975 on 19/07/2017

We have purchased a travel insurance policy from now insurance and dealt with CSA. what a JOKE.no one knows what they speak and no communication - complete nightmare. we were stranded in India with young family. we have to fight 12 months and Ombudsman had to settle it. please stay away,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy travel insurance administered by CSAL”

written by Holdenh329 on 29/12/2016

I will do everything conceivable within my power to ensure that I do not have to deal with this company again. Reviewers on another review website have stated that CSAL do everything within their power NOT to pay out and they are correct. Why use your hard earned money to pay for insurance when it is administered by a company which is incredibly evasive. My passport was stolen whilst overseas and money was also stolen. Then when I arrived back into the UK I saw that the airline had damaged my rucksack so it was no longer usable. CSAL only decided to pay out for the stolen passport. That was it and even now many weeks after submitting the claim, they have not sent me the cheque for the whopping sum of £100. Can you imagine how long they would have delayed it if the amount was larger. Look, look look at the terms of your travel insurance policy. Ask the insurer who the administrators for the policy and if the are CSAL, choose another company which has no dealings with them. What companies like CSAL fail to realise is that it is the customers which keep them in business. If customers do not take out policies which have connections to this company, they have no business. The sooner they realise this the better. I am taking two further trips abroad next year and I will use no travel company that deals with this company and I have advised my family, friends and Facebook friends about them as well.

Chgc's Comment

Written on: 08/04/2022

Count yourself lucky they paid for your passport! They won't even do that for me.

Reply to this comment

Eleanor141's Comment

Written on: 08/04/2022

Wow. My review was submitted over four years ago. Seems they've got worst. Sorry to hear that. Consider taking the matter to the insurance Ombudsman.

Reply to this comment

Eleanor141's Comment

Written on: 08/04/2022

Wow. My review was submitted over four years ago. Seems they've got worst. Sorry to hear that. Consider taking the matter to the insurance Ombudsman.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 13 1
Read 3 Comments

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by csal on 28th August 2022 Report this content
How long should I expect for my travel insurance policy to be replied to? On way back from tel Aviv flight was cancelled and we had to book a new flight. If a reply is not forthcoming would it help to apply to small claims court as the reviews for csl appear to be a abysmal service? And I’m not expecting any miracles through the process. Advice please.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview