SmartFares - www.smartfares.com

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
94% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
SmartFares - www.smartfares.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for SmartFares - www.smartfares.com

SmartFares - www.smartfares.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use. On 2 different trips, they have made me...”

Written on: 23/07/2022 by SPS244800 (1 review written)

Do not use. On 2 different trips, they have made me pay more money after the fact to keep the same ticket that i had already paid them for. You can’t selct seats and they put is in the very 2 back seats at the toilets with no options to change with the airlines. They changed my ticket and i lost the business upgrade that i had already paid for. When i tried to get them to fix their mess, they then wanted me to pay $6, 000. 00 for 1 new business that was only $1900. 00 on the airline website at the exact same time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid SmartFares at all cost!”

Written on: 16/07/2022 by cjPittman482 (1 review written)

On May 26th we booked a flight on your website from Paris CDG to Seattle, flying through Calgary on WestJet. It was the flight back from our honeymoon. Because this has been a terrible experience on multiple levels, I feel the need to file a complaint. First, there was a significant lack of information. Was hold luggage included, or not? How can I book hold luggage, if it’s not included? Where can I update my information (personal information, passport, frequency flyer info, etc.)? None of this was clear and present in the email confirmation, nor in the initial email confirming payment. The email containing the booking information never arrived. To obtain that confirmation I had to call SmartFares (that did not include e-tickets, just a very confusing itinerary). To book hold luggage I called WestJet. They had no option to add hold luggage, as the flight was booked through a third party: SmartFares. So, I had to call your support department for a second time. Only to find out SmartFares couldn’t say if they were able to add hold luggage to the booking. I was supposed to get a callback regarding this issue, but I never received a call, or voicemail. Second, it appeared we were checked in automatically, without any warning or confirmation prior to this action. SmartFares messed this up in a really big way and put us in separate rows. To be honest, we didn’t expect to spend the last leg of our honeymoon separated. It got only worse from here. We called WestJet again to have yet another problem fixed. They told us SmartFares checked us in (seriously, why?!) and caused this problem, referring us back to SmartFares. So, we had to call yet again to have another very avoidable problem fixed. SmartFares couldn’t help. And instead of trying to help, the agent consistently talked over my wife. After getting really annoyed about this phone call and calling the agent out on his behavior, he hung up on us. For me that would be a very good reason to fire the employee on the spot. The problem wasn’t fixed (and was not fixed later), but SmartFares had shown its true face: that of a cheap, very unfriendly and highly inaccurate company. One that is worth avoiding at all costs. For a company that says their mission is provide consistent value to their customers by offering “outstanding customer support”, you have a lot to improve. SmartFares’ mission statement contradicts in how it operates on every single level. I would never recommend booking with SmarFares and will instead do everything within my power to avoid people from falling in the same trap and having part of their trips ruined.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They took my money never issue my ticket after one...”

Written on: 09/07/2022 by Ahmedelgamal (1 review written)

They took my money never issue my ticket after one week said price is up if you want your money you have to wait one to three month , I send them so many email and call never get back , please be wear

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STUPID FARES!!!”

Written on: 04/07/2022 by Klioklioklio (1 review written)

Never buy anything from them!!!! They are full of bullshit!!! They are booking a nonexistent flight than ask you to pay difference and blame the airlines. They booked a flight to Malaysia and when I arrived to the airport there wasn’t any flights that day to Malaysia and when I called the Malaysia airlines they said they don’t have Sunday flights since last year. Also they asked for a exchange charge of $4000 which I found out was not asked by other airlines!!!! Worst 3rd party organisation I’ve ever had to work with!!! Horrible people!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“You will never get to your destination with Smart...”

Written on: 27/06/2022 by Scamttracker (1 review written)

You will never get to your destination with Smart Fares. They messed with my itinerary after they got my money and booked me on a flight that doesn’t exist. They blamed the airline and would rebook me while charging me double. Let’s put them out of business. Never ever book through Smart Fares. A total sham so they get your money and leave you stranded at airports.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancel my booking”

Written on: 06/06/2022 by Macap (1 review written)

The company cancel my booking and they never sent me and email. I never buy ti keys in that company.

Dimareviewcentre's Response to Macap's Review

Written on: 14/06/2022

Took money, but didn't provide a ticket. When I asked for the ticket, they asked me to pay additionally 100$. They have an add-on which cost 20$ - if you pay it they allow you to cancel the ticket within 24 hours. If you cancel they return all money except 20$. I paid for this add-on and decided to cancel the booking in a few hours - they said they will take more than 160$ for the cancellation. And I am still waiting for my money back.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible company; no response”

Written on: 03/06/2022 by 15Medeiros (1 review written)

Claimed to give refund but would provide no written proof. Called them 29 times in one morning and most customer service helpers put the phone down. I felt like I'd been sucked into the belly of a monster.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never use this company”

Written on: 29/05/2022

The prices are not real. After booking and trying to take the flight, your ticket doesnt exist. If you call them, they will swindle you, saying that the flight was cancelled.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ticket not refund ”

Written on: 09/04/2022 by GuadalupeRitchie (1 review written)

I booked a ticket with smartfare,and I had to cancelel my flight for personal issues.I contacted smartfare to see if they can refund my ticket ,they said in the next 30 days .After 30 days I called back and they said that they still haven’t received anything from the company ,that I have to wait 7 more days ,any time I call they keep playing games ,and I still did not get my refund .

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CAREFUL USING THIS SITE IF YOU ARE IN CANADA ”

Written on: 04/03/2022 by SUNNY984 (1 review written)

THEY SHOWED YOU THE PRICE IN CAD WHICH YOU SELECT AFTER COMPARING IT WITH OTHER WEBSITES. YOU MAY THINK THEY ARE GIVING A GOOD PRICE. BUT THEY WILL CHARGE YOU IN USD AND THAT WILL FINALLY WILL COSTLY THAN WHAT WAS SHOWN BY THEM IN CAD ON THEIR WEBSITE SO BE CAREFUL BEFORE FALLING INTO THIS TRAP. THE EXCHANGE RATE THEY USE IS DIFFERENT FROM WHAT THE BANK WILL CHARGE YOU WHILE CONVERTING USD TO CAD. I LOST $400 INTO THIS TRAP. THEY CHARGE YOU RIGHT AWAY BUT NO GUARANTEE THAT THE AIRLINE WILL CONFIRM THAT PRICE AND THEY MAY CANCEL YOUR BOOKING THE NEXT DAY WHEN THE PRICE IS ALREADY GONE UP. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND TO SOMEONE BUY THE TICKET IN CANADA AT THEIR WEBSITE NOT NOT RECOMMENDING IT IN THE ABOVE SITUATION

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This company double booked my ticket. And then charged...”

Written on: 10/01/2022 by Francesu406 (1 review written)

This company double booked my ticket. And then charged me $400 to cancel. Even worse, it takes 60 days to get my refund. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“On December 5th I bought two airline tickets for...”

Written on: 20/12/2021 by Traduccion (1 review written)

On December 5th I bought two airline tickets for USD420. The travel agency offered the best prices on the market. Prices were shown in Argentine pesos, not US dollars. Once the purchase was done, I could see a reservation code on the page, but no email was sent confirming the flights. I called more than 30 times to the company and calls ended immediately. Other times I got connected but in the middle of the talk, calls dropped. I also called the US office. Phones also kept hanging up. I emailed to the company's customer service at the email provided on the webpage and no answers were provided. After several emails sent, they sent me an informal email with information on the flight with uncoordinated departures times, in other words, one flight was scheduled to arrive at Buenos Aires at 1.40 p. m on January 26, 2021, and the next flight was scheduled to depart at 12.55 p. m. on the same day (not feasible at all). After thousand attempts to communicate on the phone, they informed me that I should pay an extra amount of money if I wanted to take the correct flights in connection. I refused to pay extra money. I bought air tickets and they turned out to be invalid. I called Aerolineas Argentinas and they informed me that the travel agency should provide me with an answer without extra payments. I am still waiting for the REFUND.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL COMPANY TERRIBLE !!!!!!!!”

Written on: 18/12/2021 by Alanae219 (1 review written)

I wanted to check in for one day from the flight for the istanbul-chicago ticket that I bought by paying $1237 . I contacted more than 15 people working in the institutions for about 5 hours because the system did not allow me to check in. Each one of them told different, they kept me busy by sayin you should wait 1 hour, 2 hours. Finally, the person I spoke last said that I could pay $250 to buy a new ticket, otherwise I would not be able to make the flight. While I was not guilty of delaying the flight one hour, and while I was suffering from this situation, they said that I would have to pay $250 dollars hours before my flight. And if I hadn't tried to check in one day before, I would have stayed at the airport. Moreover, they did not warn in advance of the situation by making a single message, e-mail or even a call. As I said, I spoke to 15 different people and the last one told me to pay. When I asked why the others did not mention this situation, I was told that "they are new in the position". Also, they tried to negotiate about the price by making it $150. Then they called and e-mailed me many times to convince me to pay the money. Thanks to the help of the flight company (they never had to help) the situation was resolved without paying any money. All they want is taking money.AWFUL BUSINESS. I wouldn't buy it even if they sell their tickets for free!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden fees ”

Written on: 14/12/2021 by fdonosos (1 review written)

At the end of my purchase they charge me $175 (Flexible ticket) with out my consent. then when I asked to be remove it they let me know that anyway will charge a different fee, and if I decide to cancel the purchase, they will keep some of money under other kind of fee. Anyway by phone or chat they don't fix anything, it has to be by email. Stay away from SmartFares Sergio H Donoso

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away”

Written on: 14/11/2021 by Greerdc400 (1 review written)

On there website they always shows you cheaper price. Once you agreed . They will charge you what ever they want. Dont give them your bank details. My ticket price was 366usd . They charged me 688usd. Note. Once you will made booking. They will keep ignore you.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely horrible company! Never had such a bad...”

Written on: 26/11/2020 by MelanyMcClanahan (1 review written)

Absolutely horrible company! Never had such a bad experience before with any other travel company. I purchased a flexible fare (HKG-RUH on 11/27/2020 by Philippine Airlines) from Smartfare for USD885.13, including USD147.52 flexible ticket fee. Then I needed to change the itinerary to a later date, 12/17/2020. I called the customer service hotline. However, the customer service requested to pay me charge they called "fare difference", which was different every time I called (from USD175 to 375). At the same time, the fare shown on the Smartfare web site for these itinerary and date was USD624.23. When I asked to explain where the "fare difference" came from, the company representative just hung up. I checked the fare on other web sites, including the Philippine Airlines, and it was about USD620-650 all around. To my opinion, Smartfares charges a fee for the flexible fare and then for "fare difference", which does not exist. I tried to reach the company by phone to resolve the issue and change the itinerary but they simply hang up. Finally, I reached the help desk and had to pay USD175 of "fare difference" just not to lose my ticket and all money. That means I paid USD1060 for the fare, which was listed on the Smartfare web site for only USD624.23! This business practice is totally unacceptable. I wonder how they were able to obtain BBB accreditation displayed on their web site. Stay away from them!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T USE SMARTFARES!”

Written on: 03/08/2020 by JereandJerrye (1 review written)

I booked a ticket with Virgin Atlantic Airlines through Smartfares.com. Then Virgin Atlantic cancelled the flight. Someone, either Virgin Atlantic or Smartfares, tried to book an alternate flight but messed it up. We would have missed our connection by three hours. I contacted Smartfares multiple times to reschedule but they never helped me. Finally, after endless calls, Smartfares said they couldn't reschedule and suggested that I cancel the flight and apply for a refund. The refund was denied by Virgin Atlantic. So now, I am out $418.00 and the ticket has been cancelled. There is something very wrong going on at Smartfares! Do not have anything to do with them!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“getting the run around”

Written on: 29/05/2020 by terrismom (1 review written)

I was told by AA my cash refund would go back to my booking agent which was Smart Fares. I have a letter from AA stating refund was made in 20 days. In early May, Smart Fares told me the money was received but it had to go thru two billing cycles before it would be returned to me. Guess what! It's been two billing cycles and now the customer service rep says they don't have the money. I have to call AA and do a three way call to verify the money was sent. This is pure hogwash! They have the money...they just don't want to let go of it! Just like Holland America...we were told it was take 60 days to get our refund...no refund yet! These companies want to hold on to the cash as long as they can to their benefit and our detriment. Don't use Smart Fare unless you know for sure, you won't be canceling! ...and I know you have a crystal ball, right!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Fake prices, $290+ cancellation fees waiting for you”

Written on: 14/05/2019 by ImagineNoHell (1 review written)

I hope you don't learn it the hard way like I did. I found a $614 ticket on skyscanner. Should've realized the first warning sign, when I got on the site and the fare seemed to be available, but suddenly disappeared after I entered payment info and clicked "book". But the new fare was $10 more and still tied at cheapest, so I figured why not. But then I realized I used the wrong credit card, so I called to cancel. The rep told me the cancellation fee would be around $300. I told her everyone's got a 24-hour grace period, but she said no. I told her there was no warning during the whole process, no conditions shown about this fee. She had no sympathy. It says right there on their homepage "Free cancellation within 24 hrs", with no asterisks. But if you click through to their FAQ, they contradict themselves and say there's a fee on most bookings.  I asked the rep for her name and a case number. She wouldn't give it but said she'll email me the info. I stayed on the phone and when I did get the email, her name wasn't there. She never would give me a case number, and only told me her name, probably a fake one, after I confirmed receipt of the email. I've got screenshots (and still NO email confirmation of the so-called ticket), so I'll take this to my credit card company, BBB, and NY State Attorney General and consumer affairs department. They need to be stopped.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They don't update passengers with changes from airlines”

Written on: 12/03/2019

I bought an international ticket from this site and immediately after online reservation, somebody called me and asked for another $180 because of the tax rate in European countries!! Then at departure day, we had 3 hours full of stress to check in and after talking with several people in Smartfares customer service, we found out the flight has put off for the day after!! for the back flight, I called the customer service accidentally to check my flight (as they told me they will email me any changes) and surprisingly I found out the return flight has removed from airline's website and nobody checked this! IT took me 3.5 hours on the phone to reschedule another flight with a lot of difficulties. It's the last time I'm buying thicket from this site.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by martin123456 on 2nd May 2016 Report this content
I was booking a flight with smart fare from SYD to Albania and i was filling in all the information, I gave my card details and hit the purchase button, after that a page came up saying "Error call us immediately"  tried to call no answer then I spoke to a lady on live chat saying that prices have changed that's why the error page came up I'm just worried if they are going to charge my card as they have all my details Is this a real company ? Has anyone had the same experience?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content easyoman Written on: 04/05/2016
I booked a flight and also purchased insurance, wanted to extend my trip by 1 week and would have to pay an extra $400 and feel I shouldn't have to pay anything more because my understanding was to purchase the insurance so in case something happened I wouldn't have to pay extra fee.
Report this content topreviewer27 Written on: 04/05/2016
I did have similar exp! So i was purchasing the 2 tickets, but only 1 got charged. I called the 24h call center, they said they will charge it one-by-one. So i waited, but no news. I called again, they said only 1 got issued, the other 1 is not available any more. Angry, i decided to refund both ticket, but they said they do not receive the funds!! I called credit card company, they said the merchant should already received it! After crazy calling smartfares, they ask me to wait 1-2 days for the money to be returned. I took me whole freakin' week until the transaction been cancelled, ended up buying tickets from another more-reliable site.
overview