Pitchup.com Reviews - www.pitchup.com

★★★★★
4.5 / 5
92% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pitchup.com - www.pitchup.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pitchup.com - www.pitchup.com

Pitchup.com - www.pitchup.com
Pitchup.com - www.pitchup.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Dont care about customers safety”

Written on: 23/11/2020 by king2103 (1 review written)

Truly awful service. I booked a campsite and the owner of the site spent the night hassling me whilst incredibly drunk. He threatened me multiple times and it was one of the most uncomfortable experiences of my life. I raised this with Pitchup and provided evidence yet they removed my review from the site warning others and told me to be patient whilst they investigated. Months have passed and they never got back to me. I was genuinely concerned for people's safety due to the owner's conduct… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to king2103's Review

Written on: 24/11/2020

Thank you for your feedback.

We were concerned to hear about your distressing experience at a campsite booked through Pitchup.com. We take customers feedback very seriously, and we advised you that we would investigate these allegations with the campsite directly, and that they had been escalated to senior management internally.

When you left your review, we explained how our dispute review process works. Whilst customers can leave a review on Pitchup after their stay, we make it clear that site owners have the legal right to dispute those comments. Whilst this dispute is underway, it does not show on our website. The dispute is then reviewed by our independent team, and a decision as to whether the review breaches our guidelines is made.

The review that you left for the site contains allegations of serious criminal behaviour, and as such this should be referred to official channels. We therefore took the decision to not publish your review until we were satisfied these allegations had been thoroughly investigated.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No C-19 refund in direct contravention of govt statement ”

Written on: 25/07/2020 by Rachst28 (1 review written)

In Feb 2020 I had to use Pitchup to book two short breaks at a campsite in Wales who use them for bookings. Both were subsequently cancelled due to lockdown but when I requested a refund I was told that it was not possible and that instead I could book something else and then they'd refund the smaller of the two deposits... Which in itself seems wrong as they're just finding a way to keep hold of the maximum they can. When I stated that this was unfair given the circs I was informed that they… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to Rachst28's Review

Written on: 24/11/2020

Hi, thanks for your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear you are unhappy with your experience using Pitchup.com.

As with many travel companies in the UK, incoming email volumes from customers were incredibly high over the past few weeks. We have worked as hard as we can to get back to customers in good time, and I am very sorry that there was a delay in our response to your original email.

I have checked your account and can see that a refund was made in July. Please contact us if you have any further questions.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Greedy”

Written on: 02/07/2020 by Shellywhite (1 review written)

Booked a holiday through them in February and due to covid-19 it had to be cancelled. Phoned them to ask for my deposit refunding and they refused point blank. They are not allowed to keep your money towards a future booking and by law have to refund you. Went straight to my bank and started up a dispute claim and they paid me my money back within 10 mins. Please don't let them fob you off you are entitled to a refund and if all else fails go to your bank. Will never use this company again… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to Shellywhite's Review

Written on: 24/11/2020

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with your experience using Pitchup.com but confirm that we have been refunding customers requesting a refund. Please contact us so that we can investigate this further.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“What a excellent park”

Written on: 06/05/2019 by Busdriver123 (1 review written)

pare We stayed at foxhill caravan park near york for 9 nights and all i can say is what a excellent stay.Being novice caravaner my reversing skills were rubbish the warden talked me through it like a pro.I had had a accident with my winding handle before we got to York so the warden levelled my van found me a spare one.Nothing was to much trouble for both wardens to anyone who asked.The showers and toilet facilities were excellent and always sparkling.I do have one criticism not long enough… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“forcing prices up”

Written on: 12/09/2017 by simon2106 (1 review written)

Pitchup now claim 15% commission on bookings that are not even made through their website. If you google a campsite that advertises through Pitchup (rather than booking through the Pitchup website) they force you to go via them and then the chosen campsite has to pay 15% of the booking to Pitchup. Fair enough if you chose to book via Pitchup but when they have infiltrated each campsites google page this is basically dishonest and will have the end result of forcing up campsite prices to you the… Read Full Review

Pitchupcom's Response to simon2106's Review

Written on: 24/10/2017

Hi, thank you for your second review on this issue, however this is incorrect. All bookings via Pitchup are made through out website. Customers see a Pitchup confirmation page and receive a confirmation email and, optionally, text message from Pitchup.

The ad placement you refer to is a Google service called Hotel Ads used by many accommodation providers and online travel agents. These ads are a small contributor to overall bookings and are one of numerous channels we use to promote campsites, including your business Champ de la Chapelle, in many languages: bookings on our site came from 99 countries in the last year.

We can see from our records that we have previously discussed this with you but please email us if you would to like to be contacted again in connection with this.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Booked us into a campsite, campsite wasnt told”

Written on: 06/04/2017 by oilboiler2017 (1 review written)

They booked us into a campsite and when we got there the owners knew nothing of our booking. Pitchup refused to accept our complaint and the owners were very nice people and let us pitch in their private garden. Pitchup kept our money and did not give a penny to the campsite. The site was lovely yet pitchup are a bunch of money grabbing heavy handed hooligans. Spoke to me in a "we don't care" attitude. DO NOT USE, EVER!!!!… Read Full Review

Pitchupcom's Response to oilboiler2017's Review

Written on: 14/04/2017

Thanks for your feedback - we are sorry to hear about this. All booking emails are sent via tracked email as well as being visible 24/7 in the campsite's Pitchup account; we also send reminders on the day before and day of the booking. Campsites either take payment on arrival or via our payment system. Please contact us so that we can investigate this further.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 10/07/2016 by Schwartzdg442 (1 review written)

I have never used this company before booked a campsite in Devon travelled from Manchester after Driving around for at least 1hr trying to find this campsite to then call into another campsite near buy to be told they don't do camping but yet pitch up site said it did. Phoned the number on the booking To get the farmer he gave us directions to this site to get their it's a up hill empty field in the middle of nowhere with a porter loo I booked horizontal leisure club 5* ratings with pool this… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2016

Hi, thank you for your message, we are unfortunately unable to retrieve your details by using the Reviewcentre username Schwartzdg. Please email us and we'll be looking into your complaint as soon as possible. Thank you.

Reply to this comment

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2016

Hi, thank you for your message, we are unfortunately unable to retrieve your details by using the Reviewcentre username Schwartzdg. Please email us and we'll be looking into your complaint as soon as possible. Thank you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible company do not use”

Written on: 01/06/2016 by AG1961 (1 review written)

This company are only interested in getting your deposit money, not in you or the campsites interests at all. The worst customer services ever and I would advise to keep well clear and not use… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to AG1961's Review

Written on: 01/06/2016

While this may appear to be a customer review, this is in fact from Squirrel Wood Campsite in Doncaster who were recently banned as a Pitchup.com client.

The campsite assigned 30 pitches to our system just before May Bank Holiday before ignoring all booking emails and continuing to sell pitches. Customers were only notified on the day of their arrival that their pitches were not in fact reserved.

Despite having online access to amend allocation and view bookings 24/7, the campsite continues to blame Pitchup.

For a more balanced verdict on Pitchup.com's service visit our Feefo page and manager testimonials page.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Can be heavy handed.”

Written on: 28/08/2014

We used to have our campsite with pitchup and they provided us with plenty of bookings but they don't make clear that the fee they take is 15% commission not a deposit. The campsite does not receive any of that fee. One of our customers left a review that Pitchup did not like. They contacted us to tell us we must comment on the review. We have a policy that reviews are the views of the customer at that time and we do not comment on them. Pitchup have removed us from their website because we… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2014

Listings on Pitchup.com are not switched off lightly. However the reason this listing was turned off is because of booking confirmations being mislaid leading to the customer being overcharged. It was for this reason that a comment on the review was requested.

Our listing pages, booking form and confirmation page/email make it clear that the deposit is paid to Pitchup.com.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“What a great site!”

Written on: 12/07/2014 by xairman (2 reviews written)

It really is a great site. It was definitely the easiest site I have used for a long time. So easy to just put in the sort of holiday you are looking for, where you want to take the holiday and the type of camping site you want. After putting the information in, the answers are there almost immediately. Info and pictures about the site, as well as all the price ranges and availability. In fact, I didn't find anything at all that I didn't like, or anything that I would have liked to know, but… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“very easy booking”

Written on: 16/01/2014

Booked with ease wide variety for future expeditions very excited about booking my first holiday of 2014 outdoors in such a beautiful area of the country web site clear and consise blond proof in my case thanks x… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ease of Booking”

Written on: 16/01/2014

Easy, self explanatory booking system - Will definitely be using again and will recommend to friends and family… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Easy to use ”

Written on: 15/01/2014

site very user friendly, easy to navigate and very well planned… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I found a local site”

Written on: 15/01/2014

Easy to use. Even I didn't struggle with the computer. Managed to find a site local to where we wanted to be to meet up with family & where they used to live… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Quick and easy”

Written on: 05/01/2014 by Tuddy51 (1 review written)

Very easy to use, found a site just were we wanted to be no problems at all, booking was so easy and only took a couple of minutes. Quite impressed with how quick I was able to find everything. Would definately use again and recommend to friends. I cannot write anything negative as there was nothing went wrong with my booking. Thankyou \pitchup.com… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“easy peezy way to book”

Written on: 02/01/2014

this is a very easy way to book. it was very straght forward as its click a box and enter deatails… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“excellent and user friendly”

Written on: 17/11/2013

i am not an it guro but i found this site so easy to use. Especially liked the fact you could enter the dates required and look at the availability unlike some sites… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Easiest bookings ”

Written on: 07/11/2013 by turnergang6 (1 review written)

well I`ve just made 2 of the easiest bookings I`ve ever made, and you can look and see if your dates you want are available without having to ring up to enquire.... love it simple, and paid the deposits through paypal absolutely great. thanks pitchup for making it so easy. GREAT… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“good fast simple easy to use”

Written on: 24/10/2013

quick simple to use tels you what you want to see what you need and no probs on the web site thanks… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great place to stay”

Written on: 22/10/2013

From check in to departure our stay at The Plassey was a very good experience. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you and always had a smile and a "Good Morning" greeting. The facilities were great with lots to keep us entertained. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and a nice seating area with drinks machine made a nice touch. We had a meal in The Shippon restaurant and the Golfclub and both had good quality food at reasonable prices. Although there was just 2 of us The… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview