Holland Damp Proofing Reviews - www.dampproofing.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3 / 5
56% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Holland Damp Proofing www.dampproofing.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Holland Damp Proofing www.dampproofing.com

Holland Damp Proofing www.dampproofing.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“HOLLAND DAMP PROOFING NEW COMPANY”

Written on: 12/01/2014

We recently purchased a property with this system installed which quite clearly has not worked. We attempted to contact the company as there is supposed to be a lifetime guarantee, but found phone lines discontinued, no reply to e-mails and post returned as 'addressee gone away'. Following enquiries I found that the company have applied to Companies House to cease trading, although their last accounts show that they have considerable funds available to them. Having checked records it would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ckyk's Comment

Written on: 20/01/2014

Further to my last review I have since had a reputable damp proofing company carry out a survey to see what could be done to get rid of the damp and to find out more about the Holland installation.

Expecting the worst I was pleasantly surprised to find out we did not have any damp at all. As the wet and mould we had was on an exposed and cold outside wall all we had was condensation. When the wet wallpaper was pulled off we found the plaster underneath to be completely dry and mould free. It appears the solution was to have painted walls with breathable matt emulsion, to install a heater on the offending wall and if required to get a dehumidifier, although so far this does not seem to be required.

As far as Holland Damp Proofing UK are concerned it appears that they either deliberately or incorrectly diagnosed rising damp and installed a completely unnecessary and costly airbrick system. I was told that too often some companies are convincing customers to have expensive damp courses fitted when there really is no need.

I appreciate that it will not be the same for everyone but apparently with houses built in the 60's and 70's, especially bungalows like ours this is quite common but easily rectified, so if anyone has this type of problem it may be worth considering that it is just condensation and not damp. But please take advice from a good company and don't be pressured by a hard sell.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

M.l.iggins's Comment

Written on: 29/09/2016

Hello, Is the company you dealt with also known as Frank Schrijver .?
This company are originally from Holland and install air bricks from the outside using no chemicals. I have them coming next week to give me a survey and an estimate. if it is one and the same company I will cancel them. So glad My daughter found your review!! regards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ckyk's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2016

Hello, sorry not to reply sooner only just seen the post. Don't know if it's the same company but the Holland Damp Proofing system is also known as the Schrijver system. Search Google and you will find lots of comments about it. The house we purchased already had the air bricks fitted but after a very short time discovered what appeared to be damp. As Holland had gone out of business we had a local company to assess the problem. We were told we did not have rising damp and that the problem was caused by condensation. Following their advice we remedied the problem by moving a radiator and using mould resistant paint. They suggested that if we wanted to paper the offending wall to line it with an insulating polystyrene which comes on a roll. All very simple, cheap solutions which have worked fine. Apparently condensation problems are quite common especially on exposed external walls like ours, rising damp is very uncommon but some of these companies will give this diagnosis to sell their products.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Did The Job!!”

Written on: 15/10/2013

I had Holland install their damp proofing in the bay of my Victorian terrace a year ago (I live next to a river so am VERY damp!) and have given it time to dry out and gone through a very wet winter! The damp has gone! Now I'm going to have it installed at the back of the house. I would recommend this system to anybody who had problems with damp - no mess or redecorating, and it was completed quickly and without any fuss!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Brownie100's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2013

well not by holland they have ceased trading. By the way Holland did a job for a relative of mine 3 years ago and charged her £2500. The damp is worse than ever. If I were u i would do more research on the internet as to just how good Holland are!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jaycee1001's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2013

As I need some more damp proofing work done on my house, I researched the internet for methods (as you suggested) and came up with Frank Schrijver Ltd damp control - ever heard of it? It looks just like Holland - I wonder if it's the same person?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Brownie100's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2013

Different company same method. I called Frank Schriver as i thought they may be connected but they denied it. They claim to have the U.K franchise for this product and offered to send a surveyor out to look at the problem AT AN EXTRA COST. Guess what the answer was.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Brownie100's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2013

if u still have any doubts look at the reviews on mybuilder.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Don`t bother ”

Written on: 25/09/2013

Had the system put in place 2011. Have had revisit 2012 as our damp got worse!!! They could not understand why. Just had building work done and Holland let all the debris created from the fitting in the cavity in our walls thus bridging the chemical damp course and creating MORE damp. I have spent the last 3 days trying to get in touch with the company they are not answering my calls or voice mail and their website is down. Has anyone managed to get a reply if so could you post how please as my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Levster1975's Comment

Written on: 25/09/2013

I've been trying to contact them as well with no joy! Did you get a certificate for the work carried out as I didn't and it hasn't worked at all? I have been advised by citizens advice to send a recordered delivery letter to them stating issues raised. Checking on one of the directors it appears the company may have changed its name damp proofing solutions ltd in July 13. Let me know if you get any response! Thanks

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Levster1975's Comment

Written on: 25/09/2013

Still no response via email or phone!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Review Of Holland Damp Proofing ”

Written on: 15/09/2013

We had the system installed but it did not work, Holland would not refund our money. I called in a chartered Surveyor who said the process actually cannot work. I then contacted the PCA who said it’s not a recognised process and has no accreditation. Always use a contractor who can provide a BBA certificate for their process unlike Holland NO BBA NO British Standard… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“So Far So Good! ”

Written on: 05/08/2013

We had Holland Damp Proofing come round to our property and issue a FOC survey, the information we felt was accurate and informative with no pressure to have the work done. We decided to proceed and had the works carried out on our property a month ago along with some other making good works that were also required carried out by others. Hopefully this will cure the damp problem in the property but only time will tell but so far so good! We did have to call Holland Damp Proofing back as a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mrssefton's Comment

Written on: 17/09/2013


are you sure you are a bona fida customer or an employee of holland damp!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Believe me folks”

Written on: 27/07/2013

I feel very sorry for all the people that have use holland damp… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do Not Waste Your Money”

Written on: 29/05/2013

In less than a year the damp was back. There after care service is shocking to say the least. I had t0o wait till over a year for someone to come back to the property. The tech who replied told my tenant the problem was becuase they had a dog!!! Need less I am expecting to get anything else out ofthem. Nearly £800 to treat to internal walls which have come back worse than before. Don't do it. I would be more than happy to show you the before and after photos. I wish I had gone down the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hollanddampproofinguk's Comment

Written on: 30/05/2013

Hi,

Im sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your experience.
Clearly we need to ensure that our customers understand what our system is designed to do.
If we have failed to clarify the capability of our system I can only apologise.

Looking back at our records I can see that our representative reported two separate issues with your property; rising damp and condensation.

The system was installed in August 2011 and our scheduled visit in December 2012 confirmed that the rising damp issues had been rectified as we would expect.

However, it was clear that condensation remained a problem. Our system is designed to draw rising damp from walls and is not a solution to condensation.
I believe this point was reaffirmed during our second visit.

Your specific property requires greater ventilation.
You have no form of extraction and therefore issues relating to condensation will persist.

Drying clothes inside, steam from showers and baths and even kettles and irons will create condensation.
This encourages the formation of mould and mildew in houses that are not well ventilated.

Whilst we sympathise with you, no damp proofing system would cure the specific issues you have with condensation.

However, we have agreed to visit you again in July 2013, free of charge, to assess the specific problem and advise measures to combat condensation.


If you wish to discuss this further prior to our visit in July then please call our office.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service, completely misleading, never use them”

Written on: 05/05/2013

They were all smiles and helpful before we paid in full, but after the installation the walls in our house were much worse!!!! They kept sending a templated answer to say it 'would cost 100 pounds to send someone out as that was their 'policy' and their 'after' customer service is laughably bad. Am considering reporting them as they are a terrible company. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hollanddampproofinguk's Comment

Written on: 09/05/2013

We are sorry to hear you are not happy with the service received from our office, we do have policies regarding recheck visits which we will gladly explain to you. Please would you contact our office so we can deal with the situation as soon as possible, i would also like to hear from you myself, please call freephone 0808 155 2571 or email [email protected]
Regards
Holland Damp Proofing UK

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“No after sales service”

Written on: 22/04/2013 by EFKit (1 review written)

Holland were very quick to come and give an estimate and started the work within days. Work was done efficiently. It is now a year since we had the work done and it seems to have helped with the damp issue. However trying to get any response that made any sense is an impossibility. They say they will refund if it is not satisfactory before the year is up but they will not come and check until after a year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hollanddampproofinguk's Response to EFKit's Review

Written on: 02/05/2013

Hi im sorry to hear you have experienced a problem with having a recheck carried out on your property, can you please contact our office. I am glad to hear that the system has worked on your property as ultimately this is what we want to achieve. You can contact me directly also through the office or by email.
Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Holland Damp Proof system worked well”

Written on: 13/04/2013 by Sara1964 (1 review written)

We have had our 1920s property for 16 years and it was only the last 4-5 years we have had damp problems in the house. Being unsure what was causing it we had 4 companies out to look at the damp, 3 wanted to use the injection system and Holland with the special damp bricks. What was surprising was that the only company to show the evidence of other issues outside aswell as inside was Holland. They we extremely thorough and looked for the main cause before diagnosing the problems. 19 months on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Free of mould”

Written on: 18/03/2013

Dampness penetrating the front bay of our house was a constant irritation until my wife and I decided to call in Holland Damp Proofing. I had lost count of the number of times we had to peel back the wallpaper underneath the front window sill; coat the walls as best as we could, and re-paper. Since Holland completed their work we have no recurrence of penetrating damp and resultant mould. The work was cleanly and effeciently completed in a day and we would have no hesitation in recommending… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Advice rather than Hard Sell!”

Written on: 14/02/2013 by Snoopy_314 (1 review written)

I had a few damp issues in my house. A representative came around within a week or two. Rather than trying a "hard sell" some of the damp systems that Holland do, he gave practicial helpful advice (which were mainly structural problems). Althought none of the systems were suitable due to the root cause, I was most impressed with Holland Dampproof and their representatives. Many thanks for the advice, Rob… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“don't expect too much”

Written on: 09/02/2013

The sales rep promised that everything would work to sort the damp but after 2/3 year ssince it was installed I've stil got the same problem. They came back several times but all they could say was g'give it more time'. Not what you want when you've had promises and paid a lot of money and still have to solve the problem… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hollanddampproofing's Comment

Written on: 13/02/2013

We are very sorry to hear that you still have a damp problem. Could we please ask that you write to us with full details and the MD will investigate as a matter of priority. Please mark your letter 'Review Centre'.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Clever and effective product”

Written on: 25/01/2013 by Joe68 (2 reviews written)

I used Holland Damp Proofing and their special bricks as I'd been having ongoing damp problems. The house had previously undergone two chemical damp proof courses before, both very messy and they never worked. A friend had used Holland and was happy with the results, so I gave them a try. Think their product is very clever and effective, plus I found them a friendly, service orientated company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Good idea, but oversold product”

Written on: 26/11/2012 by soggyexperience (1 review written)

I have a property with both rising and penetrating damp, and spent the best part of £3,000 on this system which is designed to deal with both. The idea is simple and logical enough, though I feel sorry for the poor chap who installs it spending all day on his side using a deafening drill. However, while the product does seem to have some effect on rising damp, it doesn't seem to be able to handle pentrating damp at all. Don't believe what it says on the website. It just didn't work. My house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 19/09/2012 by Penjolly (1 review written)

This company is keen to help the customer, whether or not you are going to buy from them. The surveyor informed me that I needed nothing from them and then very kindly told me what was causing the extensive damp in my house, how to clean it all up killing the spores and how to prevent a recurrence. All done with professional friendliness. I will recommend them to anyone else with a damp problem… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Does what is says on the tin”

Written on: 15/06/2012

After installation of their system my walls have really dried out and there is a lot less condensation than before. It really seems to work! It is free to have a survey so I would say give them a try if you have damp as nothing to lose really, they'll come and look at the problem and see if they can help… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Henanne's Comment

Written on: 18/10/2013

Not bothered what it says on the tin ime only bothered what it should do and that is to cure damp and that is what i bought and not a tin

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great result and service”

Written on: 22/05/2012

Having had a damp problem in my house for ages, I decided to try and get it sorted out as wanted to rent a room out in the house and was worried the damp walls and smell might put people off! I tried this company Holland Damp Proofing and they installed their system into the house which they advised should sort the issue out. Well that was some time ago and I must say the damp problem is so much better now, it’s dried up nicely and the walls are a lot better. I wasn’t too keen on having… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Turkeysue's Comment

Written on: 18/11/2012

can i assk what type of house you have and how ols..???..was it very expensive to have it done.??..many thanx sue

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview