Unite Student Living, Woodland Court, London Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Unite Student Living, Woodland Court, London
★☆☆☆☆
1.2
7.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Unite Student Living, Woodland Court, London - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Unite Student Living, Woodland Court, London

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Do not stay with Unite students”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jamarib1992 on 12/03/2018

I stayed in Portsmouth Greetham Street, and I would recommend anyone to stay as far away from this company as possible. They are the most dishonest company I have ever had to deal with. They charge astronomical prices for average rooms, and they also purposely use awful materials, with the paint on the walls they use the worst and cheapest paint available, if you splash one drop of water on the wall it stains it forever then they will charge you to repaint the whole wall. It's an absolute joke of a company, also in my flat when we moved in on some of our stools in the kitchen there were stains and cuts to the material, we reported it straight away but at the end of the year we still were charged to replace all the stools. This is by far one of the worst places and worst companies I have ever encountered. I have met wonderful people here who will be friends for life but you will get that with other companies and other accommodations, so if you don't want to pay stupid prices and then not even get your deposit back do not stay here, this company is the biggest joke I've ever heard. Awful awful place, awful awful company. DO NOT STAY HERE OR ANY OTHER UNITE STUDENTS ACCOMMODATION.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“VERY bad place and dishonest - withholds deposits ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Braydeng200 on 11/08/2014

this is a very bad halls, the upkeep and staff and the whole thing is disgusting. The staff do not care at all, They also withhold deposits from hundreds of students every year and you can't get your deposit back. Staff make up excuses such as a computer error and lie in your face.Also dodgy security issues and bad value for money. Aviod at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stay AWAY from Unite! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/06/2014

I currently live in the Blithehale location, but there is not a page for that particular building. Unite is the WORST housing company I have ever encountered. Do NOT live here. I really can't stress that enough. I saw all the bad reviews online and thought it would be fine for the summer, but really-- it's not. The trash room is hardly ever emptied so the smell pours over into the lobby and elevators and is completely unbearable. The carpets are disgusting, the rooms are small, the staff emails back immediately when in the process of booking but don't even bother trying to address an issue once you've moved in.. I have contacted them several times about major issues (one of which being a drunk man who was NOT a resident and tried to follow me up to my room!) No response. I picked this location because I could walk to my internship but it would have been so worth it to take the tube everyday. It's also not the open, friendly environment it claims to be. The rooms in our flat are off a separate hallway from the shared kitchen/ living area, so you could actually live there several weeks without ever encountering your roommate (if you have one-- the place is pretty dead, I suspect because of their horrible management practices). London is a wonderful place to live, work, and study-- don't let Unite ruin any part of that. I will be telling everyone I know to stay far, far away from this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Greencoat House”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/09/2013

Location: Greencoat House managed by Unite Student Accommodation, Kingston Upon Thames Stay period: 2012/13 I have lived in Greencoat House for the 2012/13 academic year. However, it is absolutely the worst student accommodation that I have ever lived before. Greencoat House, which is situated in Kingston Upon Thames, is managed by Unite Student Accommodation. The photos and all the booking procedures listed in the Unite website are detailed and looks to be a reliable student accommodation, considering the scale it covered in the whole UK. However, the actual management onsite is absolutely not satisfactory once I have moved in. I rented a single student studio in Greencoat House. I have to say all of room facilities are in satisfactory condition, with no broken pieces. However, it is all about the management which messed up all my experience in staying in Greencoat House. Firstly, the fire alarm rang on almost THREE to FOUR times per week. I am not sure whether it is a fire alarm or someone deliberately set on the fire alarm just for fun, the fire alarm just ranged TOO frequently. Sometimes during daytime, sometimes during midnight, without any notice. It is not acceptable to trouble a paid customer for such a frequent amount of disturbance. Secondly, there is at least ONE maintenance access to your room every SINGLE week, considering I am staying in that building for a year. The number of times to access the student room is too frequent and not acceptable. Also, there will surely have other workers (i.e. strangers) outside your room door every week. This cause unreliable and unsafe feeling to my room safety, considering they also have the right to access the room. Thirdly, some of the public facilities situated inside the building is also not acceptable. For example, there is no space for dropping garbage inside the building and you have to carry your own stinky garbage walking right front of the crowded Kingston rail station and turn to the building backspace (i.e. car park) to drop your garbage. In conclusion, all of the points that I have mentioned above did not exist in other student accommodation that I have lived in. For example, I have lived in Nido Spitalfields in the year which the building is also newly opened. They DO NOT have all of problems mentioned above. They have the private garbage space every floor, and there is only one to two times in ONE YEAR the fire alarm has rang or the room required maintenance. The Greeencoat Staff argued that it is a new building thus it is not doubt that there will be some issues. In fact, I have to say I don't care what problem you have because I am a paid customer to stay that building and thus I am expected the standard FULFILLS the price. If the building is not ready, do not open it. A Kingston University Student Summary: Awful

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“study the contract”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/08/2013

Well, through my own experience with Unite Woodland Court staff, I must say that they are very intelligent with words and contracts. My very own and only advice to people or students who want to stay at this place is that, if you have seen the place and you are ok with it, study the contract carefully. Everything you sign might go against you in the future. Students are like this. Their worlds are still nice and clean. I have been naive but this place and a huge amount of money I lost really gave me the incredible experience. Do not listen to what have been said, but see the words in the contract. If they say they were return the money to you, see if the contract said so. The money paid is highly likely not to be returned. So if you pay something, do not deem to have it back. Study the contract. Stick with their words. Money very carefully paid. And you might be able to be likely to live well there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“People need to chill out.”

★★★★☆

written by on 30/03/2013

I have lived here for 6 months now and i genuinely think it's great! i didn't move their to make friends, i moved there to make a home, for the location and no bills etc... i live in a premium studio with my best friend! it has an amazing view, the flats really warm and cosy, the staff are super friendly and really like to help out! there are a few building work noises, but this never bothered me and it will be finished within the next month or so! i think people seriously need to chill! it's a nice place to live, good 24 hour shops close by, and just a great part of london! also a 24hr security team, two parks close by, and camden only 10 minutes away. it's not the worlds greatest value for money but if your new to london and can afford it, i'd say go for it! it's so much less stress not worrying about bills etc... i'm having the best time of my life here, and you could to!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The worst student accommodation..don't recommend it at all”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/03/2013

I have lived at woodland and Wedgwood court over a period of this past year and eventhough the living halls and rooms have been good..they're not worth the 210+ pounds the weekly rent.. This past year have made the best of mates at the halls. But the unite staff,everything about unite made my experience living there terrible.. I don't normally write reviews,, but my disgust at these unprofessional people forces me to do so.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Giuliacalifornia's Comment

Written on: 02/04/2013

hey I have just read your comment and I am worried as I didn't know about the situation in this residence. I should come in woodland court this sunday and I'm really concerned. How did you manage to live there?
thanks in advance for your answer!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“INHUMANE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by halokaika on 16/01/2013

I am sick and had to leave the place. As I have chosen to pay 2 instalments and having to leave the place because of my health problems since the week 7-8 .. they are not returning any money and hthis, this place is highly a NOT-RECOMMENDED place for living in London.ave sent me the mail telling me I could be sued if not paying them the about 500 pounds more for the cost of having to make a new contract since I had to move the room 'cause I was allocated to live in an 8-people-flat. INHUMANE would be the word. If they continue doing the business like this, this place is highly-NOT RECOMMENDED.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WOODLAND COURT RIPOFF ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 19/09/2012

WOODLAND COURT ON MARKET ROAD (NEAR CALEDONIAN RD) TOTAL RIP OFF!!!!!! £215 a week to be surrounded by the most anti-social people in the world (your not allowed to play music of you get reported by the stuck-up I live off mummy and daddy platinum credit card students), THE PEOPLE THAT LIVE HERE USUALLY GET THINGS DONE FOR THEM MEANING THEY DONT KNOW HOW TO CLEAN TURNING YOUR KITCHEN IN TO CESSPIT OF FILTH, your also band from the courtyard after 11:00pm, the security are all perverts, plus security for this place is pointless anyone can get in to the building, my mate literally managed to not only get through the gate but in to the building, and out side my flat door without a code, keycard or being stopped by security, its that easy!! A lot of the appliances they supply don't work, even had to change my mattress because the spokes were sticking in my back, a number of people I talked to here who were on the verge of moving out said they had been charged for damages they didn't do; the money was taken from their account without them knowing. If you are thinking of coming here view this place first, but to be honest if you have any common sense you will keep as far away as possible because once you're here it's a nightmare to get out some have managed too but other like my self are stuck here! Also you get random people in your flat and going in your room without you knowing I've been in my bedroom a number of time and had someone trying to get in, lucky theres a lock on the inside; maintenance and the office staff don't tell you nothing!!! Plus the biggest problem i had with them was them accusing me of not paying my last rent instalment and harassing me and my mother about it with phone calls, emails and threatening letters about going to court, i even showed them proof of my payments and they still kept going, money is all that matters to them. Also still haven't had my deposit back from them its been 3weeks and they've accused me of damages that were never made. WHAT EVER YOU DO DONT LIVE HERE!!! Personally having stayed in many hostels I wish and would have preferred to stay in one until the right accommodation came up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The worst place to live in london ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by liverpoolgal91 on 21/05/2012

Unite is the worst accomodation I have ever lived in. If you are compelled to live here then get prepared for the annoyance, frustration, stress and anger you will experience!The measures this company goes in order to get their hands on student's loan money is absolutely sickening when you consider how poor their service is! I especially asked them for a quiet place at the marketing office as I was entering my final year. They told me that they provided this environment - as it was after all a student accomodation. I asked to see the rooms and they refused, saying that the rooms are being painted and decorated. It was of course, a lie. Upon my arrival, with 4 heavy suitcases - none of the customer service/reception team offered to help me carry it up the stairs to the third floor where my "flat" was. When you enter, you come to a very narrow hallway where the divide between your room and your neighbour is a piece of cardboard falsely labeled as a wall. They have absolutely no respect for your privacy and carry out inspections, maintenance work and disturb you for the purposes of carrying out painting and decorating (errr I thought you were doing the painting when I asked to see the rooms? How many times a year do you have to paint the same walls?) Students partying till the hours of 5 a.m and slamming the doors late at night. You have to share your flat with 5 others and if you are lucky only one will be dedicated to actually studying! The shared kitchen is an absolute mess and they expect you to clean the hallways and kitchen yourself. I get it if we have to keep our own rooms tidy but they say "if you want our cleaner to clean the kitchen then you have to pay her yourself" err excuse me?where does the £200 rent a week go then? Receptionists/ customer service very unfriendly and cold. They refuse to do anything about the constant noise keeping me up at night. You have to pay money for everything, lost keys, letter box, hell - even to call security so they can warn your "flatmates" to keep the noise down! Forget about the ideals of living independently as it will feel like you are living with a bunch of immature party animals 24/7! Not fun when youre studying for finals! I think it should be called a party accomodation rather than a student accomodation. Be warned if you're even thinking about wasting your money on this place! Overall a terrible experience!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unite are shocking, I spent the worst year living...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 26/04/2012

Unite are shocking, I spent the worst year living there due to people getting drunk all night every night, and when I complained (There is a charge to ring security...) nothing happened! The walls and floorings are paper thin so it is as though everyone is living in one big room (I could hear the person above me peeing into the toilet!) The rent is supossed to come out automatically through a direct debit, but on one occasion it didn't as i had gotten my loan late. I did explain this to them and they said it was ok but then they ended up charing me £25 and refused to give it me back. If you want to waste money and have a bad living experience, pick Unite. Otherwise, I strongly suggest choosing elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ELISABETH CROLL HOUSE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by inRAGE on 12/03/2012

I am a resident at the Unite flats in London and I regret EVERY MINUTE OF MY LIFE FOR CHOOSING TO LIVE HERE. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE NOISE FROM MY NEIGHBOURS AND OTHERS HAVE AS WELL AND THEY ARE SUCH COWARDS AND DO NOT WANT TO LOSE THEIR MONEY BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT THROWING THE DISRESPECTFUL NEIGHBOURS OUT! ITS A TORTURE TO TRY AND STUDY AND TILL LATE AT NIGHT AFTER MIDNIGHT PEOPLE RUN IN THE HALLS, TALK LOUD, SLAM THEIR DOORS. AND I AM SUPPOSED TO STUDY ! IT IS A TOTAL RIP OFFF! DO NOT SIGN TO LIVE HERE. WE HAD SO MANY TIMES PROBLEM WITH THE HEATING, AND WHERE LEFT WITH NO HEATING AND HOT WATER FOR MORE THAN A WEEK. NO COMPENSATION WAS GIVEN TO US. I CANNOT LEAVE FROM HERE AS I HAVE NO WHERE TO GO TILL MY YEAR AT UNI IS OVER. I AM EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED. AT THIS POINT I AM TRYING TO SLEEP WITH EAR PLUGS TO NOT HEAR THE PEOPLE SLAMMING THE DOORS. STILL THE ROOM SHAKES AFTER THE RESIDENTS SLAM THEIR DOORS. POOR CONSTRUCTION OF THE BUILDING . SO IF YOU WANT TO COME BACK HOME TO RELAX AND YOU ARE GETTING ANGRY AND FRUSTRATED MOST OF THIS PLACE ( ELISABETH CROLL HOUSE ) IS NOT THE PLACE TO LIVE. HOPEFULLY SOMEBODY WILL AGREE WITH THIS POST.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I do not recommend Unite at all for student living in...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/09/2011

My son has just spent 9 horrendous months in London living in Unite Accommodation in a "brand new" building. If you want to live in a sweat box then certainly book to live here. The rooms are designed with little or no ventilation and at one stage the room temperature reached 34 degrees even with the window open.It was suffocating all the time. If you are on the slightly larger size you will not fit into the room. Also only share with people you know as my son had the misfortune to have to share with people from foreign climes and they were the dirtiest, filthiest, people we have ever come across. The kitchen was a health hazard after they had finished cooking,they never cleaned up for themselves to the point that there were maggots in left over rice.Refuse left for days on end with flies swarming around.Dirty dishes left for weeks on end. They even managed to burnt the aluminium on the cooker. The fridges were left with out of date food and the smell was disgusting and at one stage someone had not closed the freezer door so it iced up and their way of dealing with this was to prop it closed with a chair.!!!!! No amount of notices pinned on doors by my son to get them to clean up after themselves made any difference. I really believe they thought it was my sons's job to clean up after them. Many photos taken as evidence and given to management with no support with letters of complaint again with little or no support.Internet offline and you have to sort this out yourself with the internet company. No hot water at various stages. All this for £190 per week. Complaints to head office and have heard nothing back. So do not I repeat do not go and live with this company and if you do make sure you are sharing with people you know.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AWFUL service Unite Student, woodland court , london”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/07/2011

This is a review for the == [UNITE STUDENT] ==, student halls. The one I am going to talk about is == Woodland court == near caledonian road station , London. == '''My experience in the Unite halls was awful,''' == I have to admit I met great people and some of the people I lived with were excellent, but in terms of the service and everything that is advertise on the website, it was the most ridiculous , waste of time and money consuming thing I have ever done. I want to also make clear that this opinion is not just mine but most of the student in the building. To start with we pay £200 p/w which come £800 a month, which is already overprice. == Construction next door == two months or less into the contract we started noticing that just next door (literally outside my window) a construction company called "Ardmore" started demolishing the buildings next to us, in some places the building almost share the same wall. It is a big site and it goes around 60 to 70% of the halls. It produces unbelievable amounts of dust , noise and in some occasions it shake the building the beds and even in the showers it can be felt. To prove that I am not exaggerating any of these I have posted 3 videos on youtube (woodland court - united student ) showing what it is like. We were never told that there was going to be that next door and we sign a 53 week contract with the company because there was no choice of any shorter contracts ( I am aware that in some other buildings there is ). We never received an explanation or even an apology. Then we tried to contact the main office about the situation. first we called and they said that we could not complain about it on the phone we had to do it by email , they gave us the email. I have too add that on the website it does not provided any email addresses , in fact when you go to the complain section it says " we hope you never anything to complain about BUT IT DOES NOT PROVIDE THE EMAIL. When contacted by email , we had a response from the building manager who met with us. He was vague and gave us the (we look for the benefit of our clients speech) which was poor and lacked professionalism. After the meeting he sent us an email saying "They will be working from 8am-5:30pm Monday-Friday and 8am-1pm Saturday (although they will try to avoid working Saturdays where possible) We will ensure all residents are given advance notice of these times so you can decide whether you can tolerate the noise, or whether you prefer to plan your studies elsewhere for that period of time, e.g. library or a friend’s house." Basically if we could not stand the noise then we had to leave the building we pay for everyday of the week and saturdays!. After a few emails with really poor excuses of a response , we decided to contact the council , who came and told us that we deserved some compensation for it. She said that noise was more than the legal limit and the hours and were the hours of work. we emailed them and we had not have any response yet. Ardmore also add when talking to the council that there have met with them previously at least 4 times, and they assumed we were told about the situation. Additionally in exam time and assignment time, the noise was unbearable, very difficult to work in and uncomfortable. == Washing machines == : the whole building which has a capacity for at least 500 students , has a laundry room of about 10 to 12 washing machines and and 10 to 12 dryers. They are owned by an external company called Circuit , meaning that every time they brake or take your money , you have to call them and tell them what happened. the call takes about 15 minutes and the stuff on the other side of the line is unbelievable rude. In average there is one to two machines broken every week and there is nothing they can do about it. sometimes all the machines are broken at the same time. == fire alarms == are constantly going off in the middle of the night without any explanation this happens at least 3 times a month. sometimes is goes on for an hour long. Because have been so use to the sound we do not go downstairs anymore; in case there was a real fire we will all die because we are so use to it going off. The "security" down stairs has no idea what to do when this happens , and does not know how to switch it of sometimes. What they do, is they call another number so they can tell them what to do in the middle of the night ( the call can take up to 20 minutes to be answered).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Poppym's Comment

Written on: 08/08/2011

what about rooms and building? does it look like in the pictures on their website?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview