Project Solar UK - www.projectsolaruk.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by natashaturnham on 1st March 2018 Report this content
How much is the boiler doctor and is it worth using on a new boiler?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content COLOX11 Written on: 01/03/2018
Our boiler which is 2 years old is covered by our boiler manufacturer so I cannot comment on boiler doctor. However since having solar our electricity bills have reduced by almost 50% and that has been during the period August till February
Report this content scotttoye Written on: 01/03/2018
My house is all eletric but did have the hot water system put in the solar iboost its ok. If you time it right but do miss the constant hot water if i want water on in the winter and its already been on have to press the iboost button for 15 mins intervals at a time up to two hours for hot water hope this helps
Asked by sbartrip on 20th March 2016 Report this content
I have a question I need to ask (but not directed at this solar panel company where I have got mine from). My parents (pensioners) have solar panels and I suspect that the company that installed them have gone into liquidation. Will they still get FIT payments and who do they contact if there is a problem? Is there a governing body like Ofcom? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content abdulraoufackad Written on: 23/03/2016
Dear Sbartrip Your parents should have registered the feeding Tariff with any energy company. This way it does not matter if the company that installed the panels is trading or not. The forms and documents take approx. 5 weeks to process. Regards Abdul Raouf Ackad
Asked by mamunmail on 9th November 2015 Report this content
Can anybody tell me how much are you producing over the last 2/3 days given the bad whether condition? I have installed it last week and my 4kw system is producing on average 300 watts which not even covering my washing machine which consumes average 600 watts on its one run and in a day it comes to 3.2kwh. I'm not sure my system is performing in optimum level given the bad weather.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content isambardkingdom Written on: 10/11/2015
I'm producing between 340 watts and 490 watts (at present and exporting at presentas well) It does vary and it's not good light at present so it will be lower than usual. You won't get a balanced distribution in a week...... I will be getting my first cheque in the next couple of weeks, and overall I think it should be good! This is my readouts from OWL Intuition Today 1.2 kWh 0.1 kWh Yesterday 2.6 kWh 0.1 kWh Yesterday you generated 0.6kWh more electricity than the day before. Last Week 16.2 kWh 1.2 kWh Over the last 7 days you generated 16.6kWh less electricity than the previous 7 days. Last 30 Days 139.5 kWh 38.9 kWh Over the last 30 days you generated 140.1kWh less electricity than the previous 30 days. Since Install 1070.2 kWh 508.3 kWh
Report this content Marsbars Written on: 10/11/2015
Hi my system has been installed over a year and since that time I have only generated £32.00 from the FIT. I recognised there was a problem with the system not generating as expected and informed project solar about this. After a year and some months I am told that an engineer will be inspecting the system. They also guarantee your payment as stated in your contract and should honour any loss in generation to the amount stated in your contract, they only do this in the first year. Get onto them quickly and ask about loss in generation. You should be generating a lot more than you stated despite the weather.
Report this content mamunmail Written on: 10/11/2015
Thank you. As I write my system is produing 240 to 280 watts. Until now as at 11.52 am produced 1.5kwh and exported 0.5kwh. Weather is mostly cloudy. Yersterday I produced 3.1kwh and weather was better than any other days since installed on 6/11/15. I dont think today it will be 2.5 kwh as its very cloudy today. Not sure system has any issue. I will contact them again today. I guess your (Isambardkingdom) sysyem is working better. Marsbars I hope solar project will resolve your issue. Thank you for your advice. I have contatcted them yesterday...they checked on the owl system and informed me that its fine and working ok. Thank you very much
Report this content abdulraoufackad Written on: 11/11/2015
Give it time and it will get better. Which panels did you choose to install ?
Report this content bazlewis Written on: 12/11/2015
yes during the winter when there is less sun you do produce less power. but do not worry some days are sunnier than others. you can get your system checked if you want but I always check my system by the amount of power I get on a sunny day. if its good on a sunny day its good when its not.
See All Answers
Asked by mamunmail on 21st October 2015 Report this content
Their price is too high in comparison to the market. Are they really that good? Please advice

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Marsbars Written on: 22/10/2015
I would advise you to avoid Project Solar. Not only are the prices high compared to others, but the systems are of poor quality. I had mine installed over a year and have had very little benefit from it. Reported problems with the system not generating what I was told it would and to date this has not been resolved. After sales customer services I can only describe as a joke. Only problem is that the joke is at my expense. :(
Report this content isambardkingdom Written on: 22/10/2015
Bit too early to fully assess When I asked about when I could expect to see a return I was told that it will take a few years to recover my outlay. They were totally honest and I didn't see it as some sort of magic wand. I'm due to get my first cheque in a few weeks and my monthly account from my electric company. I will then be able to start assessing the future benefits. I've also got to start to adjust how I use it in relation to the immersion heater and switching off my gas to fully assess the real benefits!!!! Wouldn't agree with some of the points made by Marsbars but then I don't know what system he had nor his location!!!!
Report this content Marsbars Written on: 10/11/2015
Simple answer to your question - NO. I should have shopped around. Getting them to install my system was the biggest mistake ever. Their after sales customer service is a joke. Should be on Watch Dog as a Rogue Trader.
Report this content Mrsfloppyjumping Written on: 15/10/2017
do not use project solar i am still having problems nearly 5 years on and there customer service is shocking I am now getting an independent to look at system and will also be informing ofgen as to the mis selling of this product
See All Answers
Asked by nsamuel61 on 15th July 2015 Report this content
Do the financial claims made by the reps equate in real terms of generation and payments received?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content cartergail Written on: 16/07/2015
We are generating significantly more than was predicted. We do have a true south facing bungalow, so get all day sun/ light.
Report this content bazlewis Written on: 17/07/2015
we have made more than was stated at the sale's quote.
Report this content Marsbars Written on: 22/10/2015
Not generating much at all. In fact far less than stated when sold to us.
Report this content Mrsfloppyjumping Written on: 15/10/2017
no no and no told us the system is self funding load of rubbish
See All Answers
Asked by technika3 on 5th December 2013 Report this content
Has any one had any after-sales problems with Project Solar UK please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Marsbars Written on: 22/10/2015
Who has not is a better question.
questionAnswer