Johnson's Shoes Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Johnson's Shoes
★★☆☆☆
1.8
25.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Johnson's Shoes - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Johnson's Shoes

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“No delivery and unable to contact”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LinaGibbons373 on 07/12/2021

I ordered a pair of boots on 24 Nov and received an email confirmation straight away. Since then I've heard nothing. I sent an email on 2nd December requesting an update on the order and have not received a reply. I have tried phoning on several occasions and the phone rings until it cuts off. The boots were a birthday present, so I'm getting them elsewhere and will try to cancel the order.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid at all cost”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kira6543 on 30/06/2021

Avoid at all cost!!! They have the strangest return policy ever, when they give you a credit note that you can use ONLY for a month EXCEPT Discounted products that you CAN NOT RETURN at all. AND the worst (AND obviously VERY CLEVER from their point of view) thing that when you buy the product, NO ONE WARNS YOU about this policy. YOU are caught BY SURPRISE when you try to return it. They are pointing you at something that written with a small font behind their backs. DISGUSTING!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Such poor service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by drwjones on 06/04/2021

I bought two pairs of shoes from Johnson's Shoes. 7 weeks later, about 10 emails later, no shoes, and eventually a refund. It sounded a mess on their side. They didn't know where the shoes were with the delivery people, they apparently didn't have my address, I dealt with 3 people in the office. I wanted the shoes, I didn't get them. It looks like a professional shop, but it wasn't. And they can't claim Covid now - they've had a year to sort themselves out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Quality Shoes”

★★★★☆

written by Libni on 22/02/2021

Johnson's shoes are of great quality. Shoes are stylish and have a variety for both men and women. The shoe is flexible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Sent the wrong boots and will not pay for return postage”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JeremyFromBucks on 01/11/2020

I purchased some boots through Johnson's Shoes online. They were the best price I could find on the internet. They turned up a few days later, excellent quick service. Sadly, they were brown and not black so I returned them. Clearly, this was just an accident, so not harm done. Again, positively, Johnson's Shoes repaid my credit card within days, no hanging around for a month. I paid the £20 postage and then emailed them asking how they were going to refund me due to their mistake. No response. In fact, I sent them four very polite emails asking about the refund of my postage costs. Have never heard back from them. This is customer service at it worst. They have lost a sale and a customer for life. Why did someone just email me back, if they had done that I would have still bought the boots again from them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Good Quality Products”

★★★★★

written by Murphy_Brown on 14/10/2020

Once I ordered a shoe from Johnson's Shoes and it got delivered too fast. Quality is excellent and the shoe is flexible. Worth the money. Happy customer. Recommended to friends to buy shoes from this store.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“No refunds even when they are at fault”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cabes67 on 08/09/2020

Useless customer service, terrible stores, only offer credit notes instead of refunds, even when - as in our case - they boxed up the wrong shoes. Struck me as deliberate/ sharp practice. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“No refunds given - watch out!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McCollumvh345 on 16/07/2019

Very disappointed with my experience at Johnson Shoes, Twickenham. Bought a pair of shoes on Saturday for £75 - was served by an employee who was helping me find a pair of navy shoe sandals to match a dress for my son’s wedding. I picked one pair, but was in the sale, and when said I might have to bring back she told me no refund on sale goods. So picked full price pair for £75 and confirmed could bring them back if the colour didn’t match. Took back today, only to be told that I couldn’t get refund , only credit note. Company policy, written on back of receipt and on small sign in front of till. Needless to say I didn’t see either, and neither was it explained or brought to my attention. Very cross - not even a website to buy a pair of shoes on line. How can that be in this day and age?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Useless staff and policy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Perisan on 23/04/2019

The whole point of giving gifts is so they can be taken back in case the person don't like it. This useless store has useless management that are mad about refunds for unwanted items that were bought just a day before. Low quality shoes at extremely high prices. Don't recommend. Also just one staff on the shop floor, this is not how a store is ran.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Good customer service ”

★★★★☆

written by forgiodnesssake on 17/10/2018

I went into Johnson’s I Teddington today. Despite the fact that they didn’t have what I wanted the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. They gave me such good advice and certainly understood my needs! I will certainly visit again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They don't honour their returns policy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JayleneGriffin-Alt436 on 02/08/2018

Avoid like the plague... Horrendous customer service... Very charming when they take your money but do not honour their returns policy. Having spent £60 in the johnsons shoes windsor store on shoes and 2 sets of insoles, one for my husband and one for my son. The set for my husbands shoes were totally ill-fitting so I brought them back into store with my receipt and in their original packaging and asked for a refund... I was told I couldn't have that so asked for credit note or something as they promise in their policy. I was told by Johnsons shoes that I was entitled to nothing and should go and research my rights. I called the johnsons shoes head office to log a complaint... And had the less than delightful the person from 'customer services' launch a defensive attack on me. I would be astonished if she d had a day of training in customer services in her life. Once again she refused any credit note or that they were under any obligation to do anything for me. They ve lost my custom for good... And I ll be advising my friends that the school shoes we ve been buying there over the last 5 years can actually be bought cheaper online with free delivery and no need to face the unpleasant manager and 'customer services'... Done me a favour in the long run as I ve found a better alternative :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Oh dear”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Roachwy250 on 17/08/2017

Phoned store with an enquiry regarding school shoes. The assistant was being quite helpful until she decided I was taking up too much of her time. She said she had to go as it was busy and she had customers to deal with! I am also a customer but clearly not as important as those in store.found this approach very rude. They will not be getting my custom..... unfortunate to loose approximately £100 on 2 pairs of school shoes because I'm not important.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kindnessandempathy's Comment

Written on: 26/08/2017

I completely understand your frustration but I suppose at this busy time of year with everyone buying school shoes the assistant may have been beset with customers - please do remember that if you yourself are in a shop you do not expect to wait for a sales person to fininsh a lengthy phone call when you have made the effort to come into store with your children. we are all human and I myself have witnessed how busy the store gets! at least the assistant was helpful initially! in my experience that counts for a lot!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst ever customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by OliveMcCabe367 on 30/08/2016

We have ordered a pair of plimsolls for our DD from Johnson's Shoes Staines and we were told that they will call us to collect the order in 10 days once its delivered to the store. We have approached them after 15 days as there was no call from them. They have simply replied that it was delivered and mistakenly we have sold to some one else. We have re-ordered again and 10 days we have approached them today. The answer was they could not find the while plimsolls hence the order was not completed and the Manager was simply lying every word that he has tried to call us 3 times and our phone was keep going to voice mail. It is almost a month we were waiting to get a pair of shoes for our DD's school and now we have to find a different one before the school starts.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Dissatisfied”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Eaton01 on 06/07/2016

My 86yr old father in law bought a £55 pair of Drapers mens slippers about 2 weeks ago in Johnsons New Malden. He tried to wear them in the house but they were just too uncomfortable. I popped in on Tuesday to see if we could return them and was told we could have a credit note. I asked if it would be a problem if we hadn't kept the box. No problem. Today I brought my father in law to Johnsons in New Malden. We asked if we could return the slippers. We were asked for the box. We were told in no uncertain terms by the Manager that they never accept returns without the box. She proceeded to talk across me and said they have signs all over the shop about their policy. I will never shop in Johnsons again. Staff should be told to explain to customers their returns policy verbally. Manager needs a little Customer Services training. Johnsons Shoes must be losing lots of customers with this returns policy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Susana777's Response to Eaton01's Review

Written on: 19/02/2019

Very similar experience in the same branch and with the same, unpleasant manager. after 8 years buying my children's shoes there it is very disappointing that this has had to end this way, as I will not be going back there to buy ever again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Appalling customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by welshdragon-66 on 12/06/2016

Today I purchased a GABOR handbag from the Walton on Thames store. I liked the design but was not sure about the colour ( it was a Beige tone) and I mentioned to the salesgirl I wasn't 100% sure. After deliberating I bought the handbag. By the time I had got home, looked at it in proper daylight I decided it was not the bag for me. I live in Staines and was pleased to be able to return the bag to the Staines branch of Johnson's shoes. How wrong I was. I explained I had just bought the bag an hour ago and changed my mind about my purchase. The sales assistant was incredibly rude and dealt with my request in a manner I wouldn't have expected from a decent shoe shop. My request for a refund was denied in a very abrupt way and I was almost told off for not checking the terms and conditions on the receipt. Strangely Johnsons only provide an exchange or credit note even on fully priced articles. There wasn't another handbag that I liked so was forced to accept a credit note. I've shopped in Johnson's shoes for many years and this was the first time I needed to return my purchase. The customer service is so poor in the Staines branch. What an appalling way to treat your customers. I shall not be using any Johnson's shoe shops in the future. I found the whole experience very upsetting. Do Johnson's shoes give any customer service training to their staff?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Worst customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lemon08 on 19/01/2016

I bought a pair of leather boots from Johnson's shoes in Windsor in December. I wore them once and it rained. The rain left marks on the boots. I took them back to the store within 5 days and was treated in the most appalling and accusatory manner by the Manager, who threatened to have me removed from the store by Security when I insisted on being given a refund, which he categorically refused to give to me. A Director of Johnson's Shoes based at their head office treated me in a similarly appalling (and patronising) manner when I complained. Note - Johnson's Shoes do not record phone conversations with customers. One month after my original complaint, Johnson's Shoes still have my boots and they also have the money that I paid for the boots. Johnson's Shoes' customer service is appalling - DO NOT buy from this company. If you have a problem with their goods, you will regret it and are likely to suffer the distress that they have put me through.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Janie54's Response to Lemon08's Review

Written on: 04/12/2017

I AM GOING THROUGH THE SAME THING AT THE MOMENT SO ANY FURTHER INFO YOU HAVE PLEASE LET ME KNOW

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Dreadful and arrogant customer service”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 11/09/2015

I have 3 children and have been a loyal customer of Johnsons Shoes in New Malden for over 12 years. I was absolutely staggered when having accidently purchased the same size school shoes for my eldest son that they would not offer me a refund. This on top of the fact that I had had a conversation with the assistant helping us as I wasn't sure that they would be needed and he had not once mentioned that their returns policy meant that I could not get a refund. When I went to return the shoes I was told that 'they didn't need to tell me because they had signs around shop'. I find this arrogant approach to customer service in this day and age absolutely staggering. It is the first time in 12 years that I have made a mistake of this nature and the lack of appreciation for customer loyalty is incredibly ignorant. They have lost a customer and I will make sure that all my friends are aware. Clarks in Wimbledon is a great alternative!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Good but not enough”

★★★☆☆

written by lancebell on 05/09/2014

Please improve your customer service, and you are gonna be the best shoes shop. The quality of the products is really good, and the prices are great. I like

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good but not enough”

★★★☆☆

written by lancebell on 05/09/2014

Please improve your customer service, and you are gonna be the best shoes shop. The quality of the products is really good, and the prices are great. I like

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No refunds - really?!”

★★☆☆☆

written by glenc on 16/01/2014

Johnsons is a small chain of about 6 or 7 shoe shops in South West London. Their range of shoes is good and their prices are OK (often not as cheap as online, but most physical shops aren't) The issue I have with them is that they have a dreadful returns policy. I don't understand why shops that are competing with online and other retailers decide to alienate customers by having poor returns policies. For example, if you buy a product in the sale they have a policy that you're absolutely not allowed to bring the shoes back for a refund. I find this incredible in this day and age and for this reason I will never shop at Johnsons again and would recommend that others also avoid them if they want a 'modern' returns policy that the majority of other decent retailers have. It's a real shame as I prefer to support local businesses, but they are just way out of kilter with what consumers want. Sorry for the pun, but I'm voting with my feet....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview