Black Katz Reviews - www.blackkatz.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
72% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com

Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com
Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com
Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com
Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com
Black Katz - www.blackkatz.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Excellent student service ”

Written on: 23/08/2022 by FJA2002 (1 review written)

Having been treated awfully by other London estate agents, specifically: Acorn, and Foxtons, the difference is light and day with Black Katz Camden. Being first time renters me, and my two student friends where extremely intimidated by the prospect of renting in London. Any worries or fears however where soon swept away by the excellent staff and customer service at black Katz Camden branch who where extremely helpful, clear, understanding and accommodating in every correspondence. We have all recommended this letting agency to all our fellow student friends and believe that this is an exemplar example of what a letting agency should be.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst agency!”

Written on: 18/11/2021

From the beginning they did it wrong, they gave us BROKEN furniture and they said we could throw it away, they gave us a house with the kitchen drain clogged and the water in the RED pipes, we sent them a message and they never answered us. To finish we left that house because they passed us and they did not want to give us the deposit because the BROKEN furniture was gone, we had to fight that we had bought some NEW furniture (that was fixed) but in the end they have charged us 277 pounds cleaning for a small house and also, WE HAVE HAD TO PAY FOR THE KITCHEN THAT WAS BLOCKED THAT THEY ALREADY GAVE US IT LIKE THIS !! The deposit has taken two months to settle it, we have had to show evidence of what we said because they did not believe us. Definitely a shame, and they have charged me the of a kitchen that was not even mine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“worst agency ever”

Written on: 06/09/2021 by DDDreviewD (1 review written)

Had a nighmare in the West Hampstead Branch, smug unfriendly staff that left me and out tenants in a mess. DOnt want to save anything 'computer says no' attitude Avoid

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic Letting Agency”

Written on: 22/08/2019 by 2Porter (1 review written)

Black Katz run in Camden was brilliant. The person I dealt with is super professional, always polite, helpful and keen to ensure that the client is happy. Would definitely use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We used Black Katz to rent a flat in Angel for a year....”

Written on: 21/06/2019 by CollinTaylor270 (1 review written)

We used Black Katz to rent a flat in Angel for a year. The agent, as well as pushing us into signing the agreement then and there, told us that BILLS WERE INCLUDED (we were specifically looking for flats with bills included). We believed him, stupidly, and signed the contract (a standard ASTA). Actually, it is probably the only reason we signed the agreement. We went the whole year without realising that this was not true, as the bills were still in the name of the previous tenants, and have now been hit with a bill for over £1000. They maintain their agent would never do such a thing, and as we have no proof, they and are holding our deposits until we pay it!! They probably saw two international students wanting to quickly sign a flat and though we would be easy to take advantage of for some quick cash. The agency has taken absolutely no responsibility for this, they are rude, unhelpful, and clearly do not care about their clients in the slightest. I am appalled and considering going to the DPS.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Friendly and Professional ”

Written on: 17/01/2018

Staff were friendly and down to earth. Helpful with advice and information about the area. Got taken to two properties straight after dropping in to enquire about what was available around the area and for my price range. Great service will be recommending to friends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very helpful team”

Written on: 03/09/2017 by bhChurch411 (1 review written)

Thanks very much to Black Katz, they were extremely helpful and always punctual in responding to our emails. Would recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good overall expereince”

Written on: 01/07/2017 by CorinaM (1 review written)

I rented a studio through Black Katz and had a good overall experience despite issues with the landlord which were eventually solved. The agency fee is low compared to other rental agencies which is a plus.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Response to CorinaM's Review

Written on: 10/07/2017

Dear Corina, I am sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We work very hard at providing the best customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. Please provide the full property address and we will urgently look into matters.
Apologies again that you have felt the need to complain.
Regards, Andrew Black

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Corinam's reply to Andrewblack's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2017

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your reply, I appreciate it.

The issue was solved by the landlord (as stated in the contract) on the following Monday. I have to apologize for my bad review, as you can imagine I was desperate with a flooded apartment in a new city, not knowing if the whole thing was a scam as people from the agency or the landlord haven't answered my calls for almost 2 days.

I have tried to update my review or delete it, but unfortunately I didn't manage to. Please let me know how I could do that so that it doesn't affect your rating negatively.

Thank you,
Corina Marin

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Friendly and Straightforward Agency - No Hidden Fees”

Written on: 22/04/2017 by Dayana353 (1 review written)

I came to Black Katz Camden having had a wonderful experience with their London Bridge office two years ago. The staff at Black Katz are friendly, honest, transparent and efficient. I was able to arrange multiple viewings on the same day, and the admin for arranging the contract was dealt with promptly. What I think sets Black Katz apart from other London agents such as Foxtons is that they do care about the product and services they deliver. There are no hidden fees (although the 60 GBP reference processing fee seems slightly excessive), and with offices all over London and a good selection of studios and one-bed flat, I wouldn't ever consider a different London agency in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very professional and friendly agents ”

Written on: 20/07/2016 by LeilaH1705 (1 review written)

I have been coming to Black Katz every year since I moved to London. This is the 8th year and the fourth flat which they have helped me find. The agents, management and admin staff are all very friendly, professional, efficient and understanding. Unlike other agencies, they listen to what you want and won't waste your time taking you to properties which do not meet or exceed your requirements. Once my offer had been accepted, the paper work was sent to me in a clear format and the process was very transparent and easy to complete. Thank you Black Katz for helping me find my perfect flat every time! I wouldn't and haven't gone elsewhere since I found them! Best

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Incredibly unhelpful”

Written on: 26/08/2015 by Ricedq32 (1 review written)

Black Katz are very unhelpful. Despite charging quite a bit of money for admin and agency fees, they did nothing to help us in our dispute with a very difficult landlord. Also in terms of finding a flat they are pretty sales heavy and don't actually listen to what you want - they just show you whatever is on their books. They are speedy with paperwork but that is the only reason I haven't given them one star.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2015

We are sorry that you have had reason to complain. We work very hard at providing a good service and consequently get a lot of good reviews. Please provide us with your property address and we will urgently look into matters. We look forward to hearing from you. Apologies again.
Regards,
ANDREW BLACK

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst ever!”

Written on: 07/05/2014

We got a very good first impression of Blackkatz and without a doubt we did pay the first deposit, After that the hell on earth started, the price went up, we where given a contract that did included fees we never been told, The administration Lady was the absolutely worst, she did harass us, change the deal, started to push us in a way that mad us feel like there might be something dodgy going on, and yes there was, the flat was still on advert so I would not be surprised if there is a lot of people in the same position as us paying and getting let down, she is also extremely rude and did even call us “people like you” when we no longer felt like dealing with them cause of the bad service, lies, lack of customer service, knowledge of her job. She also had the courage to insult us verbally in a very discriminating way witch is unacceptable by my opinion. Regarding our deposit, we never saw it again and probably never will.. I do understand that they all get a commission but this is more like a rip of, I would never recommend them, save your self from a lot of problems… Use a reliable letting agent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2014

We are sorry that you have had reason to complain; we work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. Having looked into your file and all relevant notes which are detailed your comments appear very, very, very unjust. The record as we see it is as follows but can we start by stating that we did NOT change the price, all properties are adverised on our website but we do NOT once an offer is agreed try to collect further offers to replace the 1st offer and our contracts carry a renewal admin clause which are standard in many contracts in relation to admin fees on renewals (which are reduced).
1. 24/4/14: Deposit taken with a proposed move-in 5/5/14.
2. 25/4/14: Detailed email sent to you the tenants outlining references and monies required. It was noted on the email that the offer was accepted on provision references/monies all in prompty and by 1/5/14.
3. 28/4/14; You the tenants chased, responded by saying you the tenants had been busy and would deal with asap.
4. 29/4/14: You the tenants chased again, responded saying we would get document to us within 15 minutes. Documents started to come-in, references applied for and signed contract..
5. Landlord had previous offers fall through and feeling a little insecure as these tenants had not paid and so we contiued to chase monies.
6. 30/4/14: You the tenants spoke to the Manager, stating that there were some questions which would be eamiled to Lauren, Administrator.
7. 6/5/14: After the proposed move-in date and still we had not heard from you the tenants. Email received in relation to fees in our contract regarding renewal; you the tenants were concerned as to why we were chasing payment but this was after proposed move-in.
In summary we continously left messages and sent emails to you the tenants to contact us, the response was poor and main issues were raised after the proposed move-in and which had no justification.
We can only conclude that you the tenants decided you no longer wanted to rent the property, were concerned that this would mean losing the holding deposit and so choose to ignore us and then make unjust claims against us.
If you truly feel you have been unfairly treated we are happy to arrange a meeting at our Camden Offices with myself where all issues can be discussed.
Regards,
ANDREW BLACK
DIRECTOR

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nick..'s Comment

Written on: 16/06/2014

Hi,
Thanks for taking your time to reply to my complaint, du understand that there is always two sides of a story and I would have appreciated if you did make a bit deeper research before answering, so let me just clarify a few things.
Yes, we where looking for a new flat, we where short on time, and we did inform him about that when we started to look for a place whit you.
I also told him that I will do all payment, and I want everything just clear and precise, no hidden fees, no extra charges or similar, I told him clearly that I will be happy to pay but I want everything sorted in one go and no additional, cause I lived here for a while and I know the market and I am tired of being mugged.
We did like the flat and we where told 300per week 6 weeks deposit, the dog is ok as he did say
“You can even have a Lion or a Leuguana if you wish to, the landlord is fine with it.”

So agreement was 300Gbp per week, 6 weeks deposit and a letting fee of 2 witch I do not remember but I do believe it was around 200GBP, and we did decide to take the offer. And we where told to pay one week asap, and the rest on the 1st of May
I told my partner to go to the office to pay the deposit but unfortunately I did transfer money to the wrong account and the card did not work, your office did then close for the day so I did call up the first thing on the morning after apologising for not paying the day before, However I did transfer the money at 9am and did send a screenshot directly to both the agent and to the office.
After an hour [name removed] did call me and said the landlord did not accept our offer, he wanted to race the rent with a 40 pounds per week cause of our dog? And I was told that we needed to pay an extra 8 weeks instead of 6 and I even got a comment from her saying “You better accept it cause you should be glad you can keep the dog cause in London no one wants a tenant with a dog”
So we where told we no longer could have the flat that we already did pay the deposit for? We then did ask for a refund and I was told to wait and that I would get a call back. I did inform xxx that I do work on stage and therefore I will be unable to answer the phone after 12pm and I will rehearsal a lot for an upcoming show and also travel around since I do work as a performer.
I then got a message telling I could have the flat and I then did call your guys and said that I did clearly say I am not happy to be mugged, I want a reliable and trustful offer, we got the contract and I did provide you with the paper you did ask for, I then called back because I was confused that the contract did say I had to pay an extra fee if I did wish to stay in the flat? And [name removed] was extremely unhelpful so I did ask to not have her dealing with us and I was told that that would be ok, after that I still got a few calls from [name removed] saying that I needed to pay the outstanding balance before lunch or we do not get the flat, but in the agreement it was to be paid on the 1st? Not the 25th? And the amount was incorrect and she was just rude and started to act a bit wired like she was in a desperate need of money, I did again aske [name removed] and did ask to be left alone by [name removed] and I was happy to take all details from him. But [name removed] did keep on calling me
At that time we started to bee a bit worried about the reliability on Black Katz. The flat was still on advertising even though we did pay the deposit, the price and dates did keep changing, the contract was incorrect and then on top of that when I did raise the issue whit [name removed] she did scream at me on the phone, I came whit a complaint and constructive critics and her answer was simply
“ I am very good at my job” regardless of our issues with Black katz, I do not blame here for believing that, there is people believing in aliens so I do actually think it is cute that she think she is good at what she is doing but that’s not of my business.

So no i do not believe my comment are unjust, and to answer your proposal..
Yes I would really like to sit down and go thru the details at the Camden branch, why not let [name removed] pencil it in for us?, whit all the respect I do not believe anyone screwed up so massively ever before like she did.


Warmest regards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“bit too thorough”

Written on: 04/04/2014 by EmmanuelHull1951 (1 review written)

In some ways its a good thing that Black Katz were so thorough but asking to see my guarantors bank statements, as well as my own, was one step too far in my view. They themselves were very professional and friendly. But £150 admin fee is at the top end of what I wanted to pay. Plus making my folk go to the bank to get statements was unnecessary. Because of this I would definitely look with other agents before going back to them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2014

Good Morning,
We are sorry that you felt we were too through but we must ensure that the tenant can meet all their contract obligations including financial. We would not, for example, want to put a tenant into a flat they could not afford as this would cause problems for all parties. Regarding the fee we do try and keep this priced competitively.
We do hope you use us again.
Regards,
Andrew Black

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The absolute worst estate agents. Period.”

Written on: 24/09/2013

Black Katz are the absolute worst estate agents I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Rude, thoughtless, and their staff are totally inept. If something needs to be repaired, you will need to pester them continually for any kind of answer, regardless of whether the repair may need to be carried out for reasons of health, i.e. mold. Even worse, now that we have decided not to renew our lease they treat us as if we have no rights to the property even though we still pay rent there: I've literally had one of their agents ring me up at 12:57pm asking if they could show the flat at 1pm! They will let workmen onto your property without advising you, and their agents don't even give a courtesy knock when they come for a viewing, they burst into the flat! Honestly I would recommend you to go with anyone else. It can't get worse than this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Comment

Written on: 24/09/2013

We are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We work very hard at providing a high level of customer service which is why we receive so many positive reviews. Please supply the property address and we will look into matters asap. Again our apologies that you have felt the need to complain. We look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
ANDREW BLACK

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frank90's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2022

Funny, all you we get from estate agencies are apologies. For them, only want money, don't listen and don't care your problem. DO not want apologies, just do your job! We are not asking too much. do we?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling service”

Written on: 19/09/2013 by meghangrove (7 reviews written)

Took over a room from somebody with a short time on the contract. The previous tenant had told me this but I noted Black Katz never mentioned it. Anyway, a few weeks later they announced a hefty hike in the rent without any upgrades to the flat. One of the other tenants decided it wasn't worth it and told them he would find someone else for the room. Next thing I know I'm getting aggressive phone calls during my lunch hour from one of the guys in the office demanding to know what was going on. Then we were told the landlord was fed up of tenants changing over and was evicting us all. If this was already such an issue I don't understand why BK facilitated me moving into the property. I found another flat and moved before the eviction date - I paid the rent up until the date I moved. BK refused to give me my £700 deposit back as I didn't pay the rent up until the eviction date. So not only did I have to pay to move my things twice, pay a connection and large cancellation fee for the internet account we had just set up - they expected me to pay rent for time I wasn't living there. After a few email exchanges I was then ignored as I wasn't getting the deposit back unless I paid the rent. They are appalling. Avoid!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Response to meghangrove's Review

Written on: 25/09/2013

Hi,,
We are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We work very hard at good customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. I understand you have now provided us with the proprty addrss so we will look into matters ASAP. Again, our apologies that you have felt the need to complain.
Regards,
ANDREW BLACK

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“AMAZING ”

Written on: 15/07/2013

Black Katz were a pleasure to work with - really friendly and positive - they gave us the heads up on a flat before it went on the market and negotiated a great rent for us that we are really happy with. The advisors in paticular were extremely helpful - a real change from other estate agents we had worked with!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Very good”

Written on: 22/04/2013

BK were direct and to the point If you need somewhere fast, ....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude, pushy and unhelpful”

Written on: 01/03/2013 by Londongirl22 (1 review written)

I rented a propert from this letting a agent and whilst the property was find found the service pushy when I was a prospective client and even worse when I had to move out. Although I understand they have a job to do they are completely rude and ignorant to the tenants in the property. Don't use them if it can be helped!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andrewblack's Response to Londongirl22's Review

Written on: 27/03/2013

I am sorry that you have needed to complain. We work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. Please provide your property details and we will look into matters. Again my apologies that you have needed to complain. We look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
ANDREW BLACK

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Delivered calmly, efficiently and with the minimum of...”

Written on: 16/01/2013

The team at the Camden office, in my case Zia, Spencer and Lauren, delivered a 1st class service. As soon as I called them about the availability of my flat for rent they went into action. A number of viewings were held as soon as they were allowed in the door and a new tenant was in place the same day. Most importantly for landlords like myself, I don't feel ripped off as I have in the past when I used other agencies. I personally like the fact that I know who my tenant is and have direct contact. I will certainly use black Katz in the future and cannot recommend the team I worked with - Zia, Lauren and Spencer - highly enough.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“superb from Black Katz Camden”

Written on: 16/01/2013

everyone from those showing me flats to the boss to the collecting the keys and signing contract was all just excellent. Incredibly friendly and hassle free. Felt like I was dealing with grown ups. Very impressed. I wouldnt normally write a review like this - but I am genuinely impressed by the level of service i received

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview