Tristar Standard Trumpet Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0
62.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Appearance

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tristar Standard Trumpet - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“student trumpets”

★★★☆☆

written by Kennedy43 on 23/11/2014

Got a T/S trumpet on E-BAY last week...$10.00.....Was damaged in shipping to original purchaser.Bell flair severily dented,twisted (During Shipping?)Intonation is unusual, to say the least...Not insurmountable with good ear,embrochure and slide adjustment.I rolled out the bell and discovered the the metal to be VERY 'stiff' !This may be due to the Nickle? plating being very thick or a lot of zinc mixed with the copper when making the brass...NOT a pro horn, but OK for kids on a budget starting out!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Definately worth the money”

★★★★★

written by Classybassman on 23/04/2013

I bought a Tristar Euphonium off Ebay - brilliant value. Now lets face it, you get what you pay for. As an ex-bandsman wishing to start again in my retirement, I needed something to get my lip in and see if I could play reasonably well again. This Tristar instrument ticked all the boxes and though not the Jaguar of the brass band world, as a Ford Fiesta it is an excellent beginners tool to see if you have that ability and commitment in the first place. If and when you achieve a higher standard, it would be worth spending the extra money then. With new pads and springs this has now lasted me nearly three years and though discolouring slightly in one spot the tone is still excellent. In conclusion, excellent for the beginner and excellent value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“From where i buy my first trumpet?”

★★★★★

written by on 01/04/2013

I bought my daughter a used Tristar trumpet, which wasn't on the list of the music teacher.  Paid only $50. The eacher said it was great. She used it for a year.I just bought her a brand new Tristar trumpet now. Surprisingly it cost less than $100 and came with a nice case and a mute.Since then, a lot of her friends have bought a Tristar trumpet too and all the parents have been thanking me for bringing this great value for money trumpet to their notice.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“I recommend Tristar Trumpets”

★★★★★

written by robin10100 on 29/03/2013

I bought a Tristar trumpet for less than $100 2 years ago, and it works great. I was worried with a lot of people warning me not to buy the economical trumpets online, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I now recently upgraded to their professional model costing me about $350. And I have been even more pleasantly surprised, because this is none other than a Besson trumpet with stainless steel valves (700 series I think) with the original Besson case! I just realized that they are OEM suppliers to large brands, and have access to the R&D and know how of all these large brands. No wonder Tristar can make good trumpets for $100 without having to spend on technology. They also have good cornets, I plan to buy one soon. I shall post my comments once I have used them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Great Trumpets”

★★★★★

written by ritadlima on 12/03/2013

Tristar are developing a very solid reputation for brass generally, and they have several great trumpets in the lower price range. I have a Tristar trombone which is exceptional, and less than $350.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Just Valves For Me”

★★★☆☆

written by on 01/03/2013

The Tristar Trumpet Is CHEAP BeCause Of The Materials Are CHEAP Before You Even Play It You'll Have To Clean It. I Did A Two Hour Cleaning Season For It And It Still Is Dirty! But I Did Not Try One Thing. Take It Apart And Lay Every Part In To The BathTub ( Make Sure The Water Is Past The Bell And Warm ) Wait For 30 Minutes Then Put It Back Togheter Then Scrub The Valves Area. It Should Get The Valves Working Better, But Its A Good Begginer Trumpet But Not So Pro Trumpet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnsmith1111's Comment

Written on: 17/04/2013

dont worry buddy, just write to Tristar, they have a very good customer service, rest assured they will resolve it to yur satisfaction

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Keytar25's Comment

Written on: 25/06/2013

Not true... I've sent the same email 4 times now over the past 2 weeks trying to get a response on a bum Flugalhorn I purchased. For the price, I didn't expect great...or even good, but I did expect to be able to play a scale in one key at a time. And I did expect the valves to work. Very disappointing. And now, being ignored by customer support...even more so.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“JUST MOUTHPIECE, NOT FULL TRUMPET”

★★★★★

written by AlanKotun on 11/04/2012

Hi everyone i am a beginner trumpet player and i am using a Gear4music deluxe trumpet. I recently bought a Trista trumpet mouthpiece seeing my unbranded one which came with the trumpet got damaged and I just want to say I am loving it. First off It is nice and warm since it is Gold plated with 24 karat gold and it really is different from the first one which is always cold in near all climates. It was much easier to play with when i compared the two, and it gave a much fuller sound. It seems to have a smaller diameter hole (if you know what i mean) and i think that's why it is easier to play high notes than low notes similar to a lead trumpet mouthpiece. I never knew mouthpiece make such a difference.I am a beginner after all so my opinion is not a good as a professionals. Trumpets may be bad but the mouthpieces sure are good!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I bought a Tristar student trumpet last year from...”

★★★★☆

written by on 13/04/2011

I bought a Tristar student trumpet last year from their North American reseller on ebay (canada warehouse I believe). Then, more recently, I bought their professional trumpet for about $350.
The student trumpet has been performing quite well so far. For under $100 it was definitely a good buy. The sound quality is quite acceptable (not comparable to my $2500 Yamaha, but then I paid only $100!). It looks quite good. The finish still holds after nearly a year.
All in all, this is not a pro horn. But for $100, its a great beginner trumpet, and beats the $300 Chinese stuff anyday.

The pro model horn is supposed to be an OEM. By the look of the trumpet and case, I could make out that it's none other than a Besson. Even the case is an original Besson. Good stainless steel valves, nice lacquered finish. Its just a month old, so lets see how the finish holds up.

However, I would rate the pro horn equivalent to a Yamaha intermediate horn. But yes, a $1000+ Besson for $350, and its definitely a steal!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Well... I myself am an intermediate bass player who's...”

★★☆☆☆

written by JustKnowz on 15/05/2010

Well... I myself am an intermediate bass player who's always been fascinated with the trumpet (I'm a big Lee Morgan fan, Miles Davis is the man, but Lee made me want to play trumpet!) I'm about 35 years of age and I didnt want to invest too much money. I just wanted to see if there was some kind of chemistry between a trumpet and myself or if it was just a "fever" that would soon pass. Well, as for the Tristar 7C Trumpet-- I paid cheap, and I guess I got cheap... but I was expecting that. I bought it on eBay. I have sound coming out of the trumpet, but the valves are somewhat "weird"- not easy to manipulate sound and hit the notes... but I'm learning on my own so I guess thats part of the process. I believe I got my money's worth which is why I gave it 4 stars for value for my money. But I do agree that beginners should not be denied the opportunity to play this wonderful instrument due to lack of funds. Of course, I do agree that with time, a much better trumpet must be acquired. I'm still enthusiastic about playing so I guess it's not a fever! Let's look at the bright side: once you can get sound and play out of this crappy trumpet, you'll knock the socks out of anybody when you upgrade! :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“It seems to be made of very very cheap materials, and...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 02/09/2009

It seems to be made of very very cheap materials, and the valves are hard to push down, and it scratches like crazy! It looks nice but it is hard to play.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I got a convertible Tristar trumpet and I'll say this,...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 01/09/2009

I got a convertible Tristar trumpet and I'll say this, You get what you pay for. Tristar trumpets are made cheap and that is how come they are cheap. If you are looking for a trumpet to start out on it would be okay but it is cheap. If you want something fancy your going to pay for it, and if your like me I don't have that kind of money! But I got my Getzen for about the same price now it looks pretty beet-up but it play very well so just depends on what your looking for. Over all it's not a bad trumpet, it's got great sound quality, the valves are harder to move but like I said it is cheap so It just depends what your looking for!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Patrickhairdresser's Comment

Written on: 10/03/2023

Oil the Valves, clean them and appiture first. They and you will appreciate the difference!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I Just Got My Tristar Convertible Trumpet today and it...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 31/08/2009

I Just Got My Tristar Convertible Trumpet today and it is very very cheap! You can tell just by picking it up it ways way less than my Getzen. The only time I might recommend it is if the person wasn't sure if they were going to stick with it. I expected it to be made with cheap materials But the whole thing is cheap. Let me Just say that if you are considering buying cheap instruments off of ebay or something, that you consider going for a used higher brand! I thought it wouldn't matter but it does!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ Tristar Standard Trumpet. The valves are hard to...”

★★★☆☆

written by lilmoosic011 on 26/12/2008

Tristar Standard Trumpet. The valves are hard to move (even with oil) and the Concert "D" pitches are often sharp. The concert "C" notes are ok as long as the third valve slide is pulled out slightly. Very good sound quality. Overall a good trumpet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Tristar seems to be a poorly manufactured trumpet....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 23/11/2008

The Tristar seems to be a poorly manufactured trumpet. I have to agree with the majority fo the reviews that I have read. The Tristar is definitely not in tune which is probably due to the material used in the manufacturing of the trumpet. I would definitely not recommend anyone purchasing a Tristar trumpet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I am an experienced Brass teacher and pro Trombone...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by emandjay on 17/09/2008

I am an experienced Brass teacher and pro Trombone player in London and I had the slightly less than enlightened experience of having to teach students who turned-up with one of these things having been bought blind on ebay by well-meaning parents.
To say these instruments are Trumpets would take a real stretch of the imagination! They blow terribly, and I mean terribly, absolutely nothing is centred, the valves move and that's all you can say for them, the "lacquer" comes off when you look at it, the case is more suited to holding loose lego bricks than an instrument, the mouthpiece looks vaguely like a mouthpiece but just doesn't really work at all (just trying it in a half decent Trumpet will instantly reveal that!), I could go on but I think you get the picture.
There are cheap imported Asian instruments hitting the markets nowadays that are infinitely better than Tristars and are superior in every way (bar the lacquering, but for this budget you cannot expect anymore), and they cost only marginally more, i.e. you'll still get decent change from £100!
Other more experienced reviewers have also mentioned that they can contain materials that are considered toxic! Do you want your children to play one of these?
Credit to Tristar for trying to produce a budget instrument to make playing a Trumpet more affordable for many more young people but there are some budget instruments being produced not far from India (ie. China) that are roughly the same price and have brought real competition to the US/Japanese dominated market because they're excellent value for money. Buying a Tristar Trumpet is an absolute false economy in every way in my opinion!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“First of all, I think this trumpet is poorly made; in my...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by whatastrad15 on 03/08/2008

First of all, I think this trumpet is poorly made; in my opinion it has bad craftsmanship, second, looks of the horn, if is really a trumpet, it's horrible and has a nightmarish appearance in my eyes, I can't tune the horn, I think the sound is bad, and finally, some parts of the so called 'trumpet' has antimony and lead which is highly toxic. If you buy this trumpet you might be disappointed with the tone quality. I recommend that people looking on buying a trumpet to save their money and buy a better name trumpet like Bach, Yamaha, Conn etc.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“In my opinion this is by far the most miserable excuse...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/12/2007

In my opinion this is by far the most miserable excuse of an instrument to darken our doorstep! The plating was so poor that flakes of plating gummed up the valves - terrible! Valve cap threads are nearly impossible to match to put on. I could never recommend this brand. Please save your money and invest in a better instrument. 30+ years of teaching and 47+ years of playing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“I may have the runt of the litter as even for the...”

★★☆☆☆

written by HuffPuffMusic on 10/08/2007

I may have the runt of the litter as even for the cheap price I am disappointed with the instrument. The first valve notes are difficult to pitch (I am a pro player. You Tube search Paul Mayes) and the overall tuning, which is very important for a beginner, is not within acceptable limits even at beginner standard. I would advise paying slightly more for the next model up (I haven't played it). I have seen good reviews for these instruments but am commenting on my own experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pro Trumpet's Response to HuffPuffMusic's Review

Written on: 30/01/2008

He knows what he's talking about & I trust this review!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Good horn! Excellent for beginners, and a awsome...”

★★★★★

written by normster5659 on 07/04/2007

Good horn! Excellent for beginners, and a awsome practice horn. Once you've woked out the valve issuse (if there is any) you'll play like Mayanrd.......well, okay nowhere near as good as a Monette.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If you want to try trumpet get one of these Tristar...”

★★★★☆

written by radiomoscow on 29/05/2006

If you want to try trumpet get one of these Tristar Standard Trumpet, if you stick at it, spend $500 and up on a pro horn later.
This trumpet is a lot of fun. Saving up now for my next trumpet

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pro Trumpet's Response to 244761_radiomoscow's Review

Written on: 14/10/2006

I am a pro trumpet player of 35 years, and I don't sell instruments. My advise is don't go cheap and buy a third world trumpet! A beginner should learn on a well built trumpet. The trumpets coming out of India, Pakistan and Mainland China are made in sweatshops with little quality control and pride. No semi professional player in those above countries would ever think of playing on one of those trumpets!
<br/>
<br>There is a good reason why you don't see these throw away instruments in music stores. They are usually not repairable for many reasons, and they have no resale value. They are sold only on the web for a good reason.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview