On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
30% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid like the plague!”

Written on: 17/09/2022 by ElijahBirch (1 review written)

We travelled to Antalya, Turkey on 6th September to 16th September and was overall a horrible experience. Our flight was cancelled a week and a half before we were due to fligh out and the options given were pay £700 extra for new flights or cancel the holiday all together. When i enquired about changing dates/airports they found same dates at a different airport at no extra cost so was peeved they didn't offer that to begin with. When we arrived at Antalya airport we met the rep for our transfer shuttle which was booked with Golden Sea travel and after an hour and a half of waiting and constantly asking for an update, we were told they have no idea when or if they were coming and was told to book a private taxi at our own cost. The rep booked the taxi for us and made us pay 2800 lira (I later found out average price for a taxi to our hotel were 1100 so the rep charged more to line his own pockets!) We stayed at Eftalia Splash resort for 10 days which was advertised as a 4 star hotel but it definitely a 3 (at a push)! The whole experience was horrible, the food was worse than what you would get at a hostel, just chicken nuggets, burgers, chips and pizzas. The photographs of the food served was nowhere near as good at what we got during our stay and my 2 year old would only eat chips for the whole stay as there was nothing on offer to cater for children. Quite a few facilities were closed as well like the Effes bar and the kids pool was closed 4 of the 10 days we were there also which wasn't great. The rooms were fine and housecleaning was regular so no quarrels with that but the walls were paper thin and could hear all the neighbours arguing and partying until the late hours which kept us all up. The pools were nice enough but again the photographs made them look much nicer than what they actually were. Eftalia island was a quick shuttle away and we spent most of our time there. The food on offer was pretty much the same but much nicer pools and better choice for small kids. We ventured out to the local shops once and had every shop owner try to sham us left and right so we stopped going out for fear we would be tricked into paying for something like a photograph with a camel that quickly turned into a camel ride and then demanding 800 lira for the experience despite stating we didn't have any cash on us in the first place. The 'clientèle' was just parents looking to let their kids run wild while they inhaled as much free booze as they could get their hands on which made for the hotel to be extremely loud and rowdy when everyone was trying to sleep so stay away if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with your family or young children. On our way home our flight was leaving at 8.15am and our transfer shuttle (Golden Sea travel) told us they would pick us up at 4am which didn't give us much time but there wasn't anything we could do about that. 4am rolls by and no shuttle....My family and 3 other families waited until 4.30 and despite several phone calls to the company they advised they didn't know where our driver was or if they were even coming. After chatting to the other families we learned they also did not get picked up from the airport either and had to pay for private taxis. Another 1000 lira to pool with another family for a taxi and we finally got there at 6am so it was a mad dash through airport security etc and made our flight with minutes to spare! Overall this has to be the worst holiday experience I have ever had and unfortunately was our daughters first. Luckily she will forget the horrible experience over time but I sadly will not. If you are thinking of staying at this hotel or you have already booked it and are looking for transfers DO NOT use Golden Sea travel and change hotels if you have time (or cancel your holiday with On the beach if you still have time!). Their customer service is shambolic, their responsibilities to you are a service provider are non existent (as they clearly like to state all over their website) and it will take weeks or months to get back to you with a reasonable response due to closing their customer service call centre, which is convenient for them but not for you as a customer. Go with TUI if you can or just don't book an all inclusive holiday in Turkey and expect a high quality hotel with the 'great' facilities they advertise with aesthetic pictures that aren't the same in person. I've made a complaint directly to the transfer company in Turkey and one with On the beach for my out of pocket expenses (4000 lira) and the £98 I paid for the airport transfers that we did not receive and will make sure I book with a more reputable company in future I would advise you all to avoid On the beach and Eftalia resorts like the plague!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid by any chance!”

Written on: 01/09/2022 by 428Lyon (1 review written)

Customer service is non existent! All they have on offer is taking a payment, that is one function on their website that actually works. My outbound flights were cancelled, they informed me about and did not action it at all. I had to chased it to beg them if any could be done. It took me many weeks to obtain any information since they are not engaging and they don't answer questions. I ended up buying my own tickets, but contacting them was extremely time consuming and all suitable flights were gone by then. Currently, I'm abroad having 17 hours left to my travel and my inbound ticket is nowhere to be found. Lines are closed due to apparently COVID,and they don't respond messages.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Transfer chaos ”

Written on: 28/08/2022 by DaniaCunningham318 (1 review written)

So we flew with Ryan air from Manchester to Barcelona my paperwork says I have a shuttle booking with MTS travel I've printed out voucher and handed it to MTS as I could find our driver to be told it had been cancelled with no notification from them and we had to get a taxi from air port for 9 people to our hotel 2 hours away which cost €300 far from impressed looking for a refund for our transfers no answer from customer services

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Club tarhan worst hotel turkey”

Written on: 16/08/2022

Hotel club tarhan serenity didim Turkey Holiday The hotel look lovely and lavish offering 5*, This is not so !! British family’s are ignored/unwelcome and given a Google translate to communicate and told NO English but you tip the bar staff and all of a sudden they speak English (broken but workable) The hotel offers water sport jet skies ect this is not available and no signs they ever were! (Big letdown) the beach good looks clean and give you some amazing views at night but the sea is dirty with brown mud splashing at the beach front, we watched the staff frequently brush the over flowing mess from the toilets in to the sea and beach. The pool is ran down with sharp edges around the pool where the trim has been broken, there is wires hanging out of the walls where light fittings have not been replaced, there was a hole where a grate had broken and was left (big enough for an adult man’s foot to get stuck) the slides are fun and kept us entertained but there isn’t a single lifeguard to control this with people pushing there luck this is dangerous, we saw a number of times children jumping off the top rocks of the pool bar this water is not deep enough for this!!!! The pool area is a death trap once the floor is slightly wet we saw children and adult slipping and falling continuously. Why at the pool the music at times is deafening this is the same with the kid disco, song they play are not for children they are full of F/N/C due again to lack of English understanding ! The entertainment team are not as good as previously stated comments they do not communicate with the British I question some of the earlier reviews on them. I found our room was clean but not cleaned the bedding was never changed at time struggled to get clean or fresh towels. The bars staff are polite and friendly (once tipped) , drinks are difficult watered down and local only, they offer cocktails but there is no consistency at all. There is a bar in the pool and a bar before the lower entertainment area these are closed and never open! The spa was nice and a relaxing day but need maintenance the showers do not work and if you do shower here you will shower in the dark (lights only work with content movement), you will be told This should not be on the website and definitely should not be a 5 star !

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Non collection from hotel”

Written on: 25/07/2022

we had a wonderful holiday but our prepaid transfer from the hotel to the airport didnt arrive so we had to get a £100 fare in a taxi and only just managed to get onboard our flight home various emails have been sent to on the beach asking for a refund and i have tried several times to call but you just get cutoff! i have sent proof, ie receipts etc but cannot get hold or speak to anyone - they are not interested if anyone has a problem, just want to take your money i will get my refund and they will get so annoyed with me hassling them! plus i will not be using them again

Mindyabusiness's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2022

Exactly the same problem which we had. Made it to the airport and through security with minutes to spare. Its not only the cost of the transfer, its the stress and anxiety that it brings with it .....

Reply to this comment

Jules1511's Comment

Written on: 23/08/2022

We have now received a full refund for the taxi fare, took nearly 3 months but I wasn't going to back down

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Keeping my refund ”

Written on: 12/07/2022 by Frankiee26 (1 review written)

Booked a package holiday in 2020….it was cancelled due to pandemic and voucher for my flights with BA was sent to on the beach, this year BA have said anyone who had to have voucher in 2020 can now cash in. I have called OTB numerous times and spent 160.00 on calls and sent messages and emails asking for my refund. I contacted BA and they told me my voucher had been refunded to OTB. I’ve still had nothing and been fobbed off with messages saying they are waiting for it. Absolutely appalling company, they are happy to take sales calls but not complaints ….now taking them through small claims.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Airport shambles”

Written on: 29/05/2022 by Pedro1962 (1 review written)

Had a lovely stay in Pierre & vacances hotel benalmadena costa del sol. But unfortunately on travelling back to Birmingham it all went wrong. Our flight was due to leave Malaga at 20.55 as the time neared to departure the gate number came on screen so we waited there. The time of the flight passed and nothing no Ryanair  staff to explain what was happening nothing came on screens. Then at around 11 pm a member of staff appeared and said flight was on way and would be around 1am . The plain arrived we were told to board then after queuing for half hour was told flight was cancelled till 6.50 in the morning because Ryanair  staff had worked to many hours . We were then just left and told we had to wait, till then no proper communication from Ryanair staff at all. They knew hours before that this flight wouldn’t happen. To top it all off, when we did board plan we sat on tarmac for an hr because there wasn’t anyone available to help the disabled people board. Then when we did eventually land we had to wait further as no one got luggage from the plane so after over 16 hrs delay don’t think will be using Ryanair  again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Nearly perfect BUT”

Written on: 21/05/2022 by wtMcLean414 (1 review written)

Flights arranged were good, I had no problems adding extra legroom and getting all my documentation. The Napa Plaza hotel was fantastic and great value for money. The trip was less than perfect as the transfer from Larnaca to Ayia Napa was really bad, arrange your own it can't be as bad as the agent on the Beach offered. It was expensive, poor quality. The drivers were unhelpful, didn't make sure we got off at our hotel, mumbling hotel names and not checking the right people we off the bus. The return was just as bad, checked our name and then after three more stops wanted to check who we were again, shouting at us when we did not respond immediately ( needed my glasses to see what he was showing me) The seats were broken on the return minibus.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★☆☆☆

“Family hotel with no facilities for children”

Written on: 20/02/2022 by BrAzzAA (1 review written)

We have just returned from holiday in the Labranda Bahia De Lobos hotel. We were very disappointed at the lack of entertainment in the hotel. There was zero for children. The kids club day and evening which is advertised and a major reason for choosing this hotel was not running any day or evening. There was a tatty dartboard with 1 dart, a well used table tennis table with 2 tatty bats and no balls, and a football game that costs €1 to play. It was half term in England and I expect better from a 4 star hotel. The hotel did not appear to care and were little help. I counted at least 12 young children staying at the same time as us. On the beach are not interested in my complaint and keep rejecting my emails.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No information left stranded with kids at airport”

Written on: 12/01/2022 by Olly61187 (1 review written)

With regards to my recent holiday I am deeply astonished at how my recent holiday had gone with yourself. My wife could not go due to family illness so I won't away with my 2 children aged 10 and 4. On my return flight I was denied onto the plane due to my negative COVID test been done incorrectly. The information to myself was not there for me to correctly have a COVID negative certificate. I should have received an email with instructions but it was never sent. On arrival to the check in desk I was refused to fly due to not having this certificate and only my negative test. I phoned your company to see what I had done wrong and after a 20 minute phone call got told to ring collision who was the test provider. I phoned collision to see what had happened and why I hadn't received an email on instructions for the test procedure to be told I should have received an email from yourself and to ring you back. Another 15 minutes wasted on the phone. So I rang yourself back a phone call for nearly 1 hour in an airport alone with 2 children as before aged 4 and 10 getting very anxious at this point for the blame to be put on collision and my self for A. Them not sending an email with instructions for the test B. Myself not asking how the test works. I was led to believe I had been sent a test and all I had to do is take it 2 days prior and take it with me to be allowed home. No other information or email was related to me so I did as I thought. After nearly an hour on the phone to one of your representative of the company I was told I had to arrange getting home myself. I was stood in a foreign airport with 2 kids no where to go and no clue of how to arrange getting back. I am sorry to say that I was apolied on how I had been treaten with no apology or even offered to see if you could find me a new flight even if I was paying for it. If this is customer service from youselfs it isn't very good. Both yourselfs and collision passing the blame to each other about who should have sent the email with details in. Overall this holiday was a mess coming back more stressed than I went.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Always booking through them always smooth holidays”

Written on: 03/11/2021 by IrmaBax (1 review written)

Had a very good holiday apart from transfers. Paid to get a faster tramsfer, but it took longer then the one without paying extra would be! More to it, the driver stopped half way for his smoking break, and went through red lights whilst driving, also didnt know where our or other guests hotels were, went past it many miles away, then asking random people in the street. Didnt know hot to use maps..tragedy!!! We were in that bus for over 3 hours whilst return trip was only 1.5 hours...missed dinner and were furious! On the beach:you need to change transfer conpany in Antalya ASAP they are dreadful!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst holiday company in the UK”

Written on: 31/12/2020 by Bryantef202 (1 review written)

The worst holiday company in the UK. Worst customer service ever. The only way to contact them was via message system which they often deleted rather than respond. Our holiday was cancelled due to Covid, not our fault and it took 8 months and the threat of legal action before we got our money back. If you are reading this, please don't risk it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware”

Written on: 06/10/2020 by GaborN (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with onthebeach and bought insurance from them too. THEY cancelled my insurance. I contacted them about my refund numerous times, first response after nearly four months telling me the insurance THEY cancelled for a trip that NEVER happened because THEY cancelled it is non-refundable and they keep the money. This is all in the light of the T&Cs of the insurance contract clearly telling there is a refund. It may be that many customers don't read what they sign but unlucky onthebeach, I actually do. Breach of conduct reported, financial claim initiated. I am sure I will get my money back at the end but neither appreciate the waste of my time, nor the sneaky attempt to make me a victim. Stay away for this company if you want a peaceful holiday instead of wasting your time and money.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Still Waiting for Refund for Cancelled Holiday”

Written on: 11/09/2020 by dfBateman267 (1 review written)

Holiday to Spain got cancelled following FCO advice. But we are still waiting On The Beach to refund monies. Check out facebook group hundreds in similar position to us.

Joclaydon's Comment

Written on: 17/09/2020

Same here.....they cancelled our holiday and they keep sending a message saying I cancelled it, it is infuriating!
Have booked numerous holidays with this company but never again.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Still no refund”

Written on: 10/08/2020 by Forcedtocomplain (1 review written)

I had a holiday booked for June 13th 2020. I was informed on 10th June I would get my money returned in 2 stages as it was cancelled to to coronavirus I received accommodations money back within 2 weeks but as yet no flight money has been returned to me. I wrote to customer services but no reply or acknowledgement of my email. This is totally unacceptable. I would not recommend this travel company to anyone. I am now going to lodge a complaint about the company to ABTA and I hope the company gets penalised. On the beach is a company that is quick to take your money and then doesn’t care. Very disappointed.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stranded ”

Written on: 04/08/2020 by Kayhamilton (1 review written)

Booked a holiday to Greece with a stopover in Stockholm,got to Stockholm and flights to Greece had been cancelled so was stranded in Stockholm,no notification from on the beach,can not get hold of them and won't answer calls, had to pay for flight home

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No contact”

Written on: 21/07/2020 by Robbo999red (1 review written)

Booked a hotel only via website for may 2020, as atol don’t cover anything other than a package holiday I contacted the hotel and they gladly moved our holiday to October 2020. Now been contacted by the hotel to say that on the beach have cancelled our booking with no payment to the hotel as they pay when you check out. Not heard anything from on the beach and no responses via the contact centre as want to know where our money has gone???

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No contact”

Written on: 09/07/2020 by Bren100470 (1 review written)

I have been trying to contact on the beach via my booking as it says I’m due no refund But I am due a refund They are not responding to any messages

Sm55's Response to Bren100470's Review

Written on: 17/07/2020

I am in a similar situation. They cancelled my holiday in March and have refunded the accommodation but I am still waiting for the flights to be refunded. They emailed saying they would refund us on Monday 13th July but we have not received it. They are impossible to make contact with. I have sought help from my local MP. I advise you to do the same. Appalling conduct from On the beach.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer servicea”

Written on: 08/07/2020

After booking and pressing pay deposit button all the name changed to the same name. I have tried all day to contact on the beach getting absolutly no where. I carnt go through manage my booking as booking is not confirmed. I have tried to contact on 3 different numbers and all are constantly engaged as if the the phone has been taken off the hook. Customer service is none existant.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dynastic hotel booked via On The Beach”

Written on: 16/12/2019

Holiday booked at Dynastic Hotel in Benidorm Spain via On The Beach 1: on arrival at the hotel I was informed that I would only have one free access to the swimming pool or spa. If I wished to use the facilities more than once I would have to pay. 2: There were no tea or coffee facilities in my room, on asking for kettle I was charged for it. 3: My room was extremely dirty with a strong smell of Urine. Although I kept complaining to the reception, they would send housekeepers who do not speak or understand English which of course meant they did not rectify or clean the places they needed to clean to get rid of the dirt/ filth and smell. The shower head was black with dirt and limescale, when I pointed it to the head housekeeper she used a white towel to wipe it and even she could not believe because it turned black. The taps were full of limescale and were all black. When you turn the tap on to run a bath, black things would appear in the water and I would have to drain that water and start all over again. 4: The staff at the restaurant were very unhelpful. I am 5 months pregnant and had a 2 year old toddler, on requesting a high chair they would arrogant point to where they were and expect me to carry a toddler in my arms and a high chair. This happened at every meal time and only changed on my last day following a series of complaints. 5: I had to purchase WiFi because it is not included. The reception informed me that only those guests who booked directly with the hotel get free WiFi and use of the spa and pool and not those guest like me who booked using travel agencies. On the beach were aware that all inclusive does not include use of spa/ swimming pool, free wifi, tea and coffee facilities but still withheld this information. They charge you but do not tell you that you will have to pay for these facilities when you get to the hotel. Had they given this information i would have chose a different hotel. I chose Dynastic hotel in Benidorm Spain based on partial information that On the Beach provided on their website. 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview