E & L Wedding Insurance Reviews - www.eandl.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆
0.8 / 5
0% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
E and L Wedding Insurance www.eandl.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for E and L Wedding Insurance www.eandl.co.uk

E and L Wedding Insurance www.eandl.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Too many Exclusions”

Written on: 22/12/2015 by Tamara80 (1 review written)

I took out band 5 insurance for my wedding. When I was booking it there were no mention of exclusions until they sent the policy information, after which I did not really pay a lot of attention to (very wordy and I was hoping to never need it). When the groom had a mental breakdown and cancelled the wedding due to stress I was told that this wasn't covered in the policy and they would not pay out at all. On further investigation into the exclusions - there are loads! Much more than circumstances that are covered. They were very unhelpful and I would not recommend them to anyone.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“chaotic”

Written on: 18/03/2015 by Hawkins43 (1 review written)

I am about to cancel our insurance because they cannot get the initial details correct and their communication is zero.. They have got our bank details incorrect twice and so they cancelled the policy..then reinstated it when I eventually got through to them on the phone and now its incorrect again! They send out e mails saying 'check the attachment' but with no information regarding what it is about. They do not reply to e mails.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID THIS COMPANY”

Written on: 14/09/2013 by BridesMum2 (1 review written)

I took a policy online with E & L Wedding Insurance for my daughter's wedding, when the premium appeared on my credit card statement they had taken too much. I tried to phone and the only time I got an answer was at 2.45pm on a Tuesday afternoon when I was told they were closed and to phone back later. I emailed , faxed and wrote to them, but had no response at all. In the end I applied to my credit card and they arranged a full refund for me. I took out a policy with another company , I phoned this new company and had spoke to a lady straight away so I knew this company were contactable. It only cost me £3 more but at least I have confidence in this company. If I couldn't make contact with E & L to discuss the premium what chance would there be of them paying out on any claim. Since I took out the policy with E & L I have seen loads of bad reviews online so I am not an exception. The reason you take out wedding insurance is for peace of mind should the worse happen and this company does not provide that. Look elsewhere

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Read the small print”

Written on: 09/07/2012

I insured my Daughters wedding with E&L Wedding insurance, unfortunatley the couple have had a change of heart and I have already paid out £3000.00 in deposits, to Hotel, Photographers, Dress & Stationary. When I phoned to see if I was covered I was told they do not insure for "Change of Heart".I thought the whole idea of insuring the wedding would be to take into account that these things do happen.

Chocolatecookie's Comment

Written on: 08/01/2013

I understand she is your daughter. But if they had a change of heart maybe you should have thought of asking your daughter and her partner to pay you back on all the deposits you paid. I know I would! If my Mum had helped pay for my wedding and myself or my partner decided to cancel. Paying her back would be a no-brainer! Insurance is to cover for events or circumstances beyond your control. Your daughter & partner I assume made the choice to get married and then made the choice to change their minds.

Reply to this comment

Will.ashton's Comment

Written on: 06/09/2013

Had you read the policy documents prior to taking out the insurance? and when you receive your copy? why would change of heart be covered under a wedding policy I mean get real

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish company”

Written on: 10/03/2012 by Cazreed (1 review written)

I have paid 3 times for my wedding insurance with this company and have now received 3 letters confirming that the payment has been rejected. I have spoken to my bank who has confirmed that there is no problem with this payment as money is in my account so the problem has got to be their end. Now I know why their insurance is so cheap - going to cancel this policy and use another provider as I don't need this hassle whilst trying to organise my wedding as well. If anything did go wrong as per the other posts there is no guarantee that they would pay anyway !

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I insured my daughters wedding with E and L. It was...”

Written on: 23/03/2011

I insured my daughters wedding with E and L. It was held on 18th. December the day the snow came down. Less than half the guests managed to get to Church or Reception. Video pphotographer was late arriving, flowers did not arrive, bride went to Church in 4 x 4. Vicar was stand in as original Vicar could not get there. All guests that did arrive left immediately after meal as they were frightened they would not get home. E and L paid £100 goodwill gesture. Horrified and taken claim to ombudsman. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This company never read the FSA regs to you when you...”

Written on: 02/01/2011

This company never read the FSA regs to you when you rang & couldnt process my payment after several attempts. I was very worried when I rang & was given someone elses bank details on my account. After deciding to let the policy lapse and 6 months later E & L too £225 out of my bank account without notification it took them 3 days to refund me the cash after they said it was a technical glitch. Horrendous service! If they cant take a payment how on earth could they process a claim? 0/5 if I could!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ABout to cancel my cycle insurance with this company. ”

Written on: 15/06/2010

ABout to cancel my cycle insurance with this company.
Took it out as they seemed perfectly ok, but I am now discovering that they clearly are not.
Received a letter today 15/6 telling me that there were policy enhancements available, assumed it was just offering me a better policy so went to throw it in the bin. Only when i read it very very carefully did i discover that unless i contacted them in writing or by phone, these enhancements would be automatic, and they would increase my direct debit from the 7th July. (Just three weeks notice).
I wonder how many people even bothered reading the letter properly or just threw it straight in the bin and are now going to have increased premiums put on them without their knowledge.
It said in the letter, write to us using the enclosed prepaid envelope. Guess what, no prepaid envelope enclosed. I am leaving today. If they are willing to act like that I dread to think how difficult they would be to get money out of in the event of any claim.
AVoid this company.!

Adman Ii's Comment

Written on: 24/07/2010

Says a lot when you place a cycle insurance comment on a wedding site !!!!!Read your policy wording if you are capable.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I was looking for wedding insurance and was told that...”

Written on: 27/08/2009

I was looking for wedding insurance and was told that E&L would cover it so thought I would take a look. Having experienced E and L with horse insurance in the past I was sceptical and having read the reviews here have discovered they treat their bridal customers much the same as their equestrian ones!
I will be looking elsewhere.
Only rated as unable to pass a 'no comment'

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We had to rearrange our wedding with just a few weeks...”

Written on: 24/08/2009

We had to rearrange our wedding with just a few weeks to go as the venue went bankrupt, we really couldn't afford the extra costs as we had already paid registras, room hire and other deposits - but we were fully insured for the extra costs, so we thought. To save money on the re-arrangements we even cut back on or cancelled lots of the things that make a wedding special, like the hen party, having my hair & makeup done, chair covers, bridal flowers and buttonholes (I had to take an extra holiday from work and do my own) and some of the entertainment. The whole thing has been extremely stressful, but 3 months following our claim all we get, when we call, is that the "claim is being processed". We have not had a written acknowledgement of any email or letter that we have sent to them, to date, and after reading the reviews online I suspect our only choice is to follow up with the threat of solicitors or ombudsman, as if we hadn't had enough to contend with. I really hope no one else insures their wedding with E and L - this is just too important a day for it to be spoiled like this. The computer has made me give them a one star rating, I would prefer to give them NONE.

Richardwb's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2010

I found this review very helpful because it gave fair warning about how bad this company is. Damning reviews are often more helpful than good ones!

Reply to this comment

Alan Campbell's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2010

I found this review very helpful because...as the company concerened are not very 'customer orienated' will be looking elswhere!!

Reply to this comment

Splottlandsonthemoors's Comment

Written on: 20/09/2010

I found this review very helpful because it gave me a heads up on a company to avoid based on a first-hand experience.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“E and L Wedding Insurance renewed a policy...”

Written on: 17/08/2009

E and L Wedding Insurance renewed a policy automatically that I intended to cancel.

I emailed them, but got no response, so phoned 3 days later and got told cancelling the policy was no problem and they would post me a cheque.

5 weeks and a few calls later, still no cheque, so they cancel the one they've sent and say they will send another. I receive a cheque after 6 weeks, pay it in but it has been stopped.

Another 2 weeks since they said they would send the new cheque and nothing has arrived, phone calls are going unanswered.

Have now approached my credit card company to get the money back. They are incompetent.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Had my photo equipment stolen from my car, E&L Wedding...”

Written on: 11/08/2009

Had my photo equipment stolen from my car, E&L Wedding Insurance are refusing to pay out as there where no visiable signs of entry. I have given all the details required i.e police crime number, photos of equipment stolen, receipts etc, but they are still refusing. My advise would be to stay well away from E&L for any type of insurance, as they are no better than the people who steel your goods. Wish I checked them out before insuring the tools of my trade with them. The claim is still on going.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“After giving my correct payment details on the...”

Written on: 24/01/2008

After giving my correct payment details on the Internet I received a letter stating that my payment could not be processed. I called and checked all was ok and was told the payment would go through. Then a week later I got the same letter again. Too

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“In early March 2007, I had an accident with my wedding...”

Written on: 04/06/2007 by LunaMoon (2 reviews written)

In early March 2007, I had an accident with my wedding dress and tore it at the front. I called E and L Wedding Insurance on the 16th March 2007 to request a claim form, and it never appeared. I rang to request it again, and the member of staff suggested I get a quote for a replacement dress. I told him that my dress had been discontinued. He said if I got a confirmation email from the supplier confirming that fact, then that would be fine, and they would refund the cost of my dress providing I had all the receipts. The claim form turned up on 26th March 2007. I impressed upon them in the claim form that I was getting married in June 2007, and I needed to get another dress, which I couldn't afford to do until they paid out. I sent the form back that same day; with all receipts and the supplier email confirming that my dress had been discontinued.

They replied on the 4th April 2007 stating that they wanted me to take my dress to a seamstress and get her to assess whether my dress could be repaired or not. Also, the letter stated that they noted that my dress was discontinued, but they still required me to go out and obtain a quote of "the nearest equivalent" dress from a dress shop!! I wrote back straight away and told them that I did not have time to go to bridal shops looking for a dress that was similar. I had provided receipts that proved the value of my dress, and that was the amount I expected to be refunded. I implored them to hurry up, as I needed to get a replacement dress in time for my wedding, as most dresses take some months to arrive into the shop after ordering.

They then wrote back on 11th April 2007, stating that they were prepared to "overlook" the issue of me having to chase around to get a quote for a similar dress, but that they still needed a seamstress to examine the dress to see if it was repairable and provide a written statement to this effect. This meant I then had to find a seamstress who was willing to do this for me, not charge me too much for doing so, and who could fit me in ASAP, as most were very busy as wedding season was beginning. On the phone to E&L, I had offered to send them photographs of the dress so they could see the damage for themselves, but they wouldn't accept this as evidence. I managed to get a seamstress appointment for 2 weeks later. At this point I was distraught. I'd got just under 2 months until my wedding and no dress.
I posted the statement to them as soon as the seamstress had sent it to me. On the 16th May 2007, E & L wrote to me agreeing to pay the full amount minus my excess. I was so pleased, and I wrote back immediately saying that I accepted this. They were supposed to send me a cheque. To date (4th June 2007), this cheque still has not appeared. I rang E & L this morning, and the operator said they've been having delays. He said my acceptance letter was not received by them until 21st May (I posted it 1st class on 16th), and that the cheque SHOULD be with me in 10 working days. I asked if that was 10 working days from the 21st May? He advised no, from todays date. This takes us to 18th June 2007, which is 3 days AFTER I get married. Then you have to allow time for the cheque to clear of course. It's a good job that my Mum was able to lend me enough money to buy a new dress.

Jammyrhona's Response to LunaMoon's Review

Written on: 12/08/2007

I found this review helpful because...
<br/>Exactly the kind of review I am looking for - I don't want to know how they rate on prices and websites when signing up, I want to know what they do when you need to make a claim. Will be steering well clear of E and L Wedding Insurance for my wedding!

Reply to this comment

Splottlandsonthemoors's Response to LunaMoon's Review

Written on: 20/09/2010

I found this review very helpful because it gave me a specific example of the hassle you want to avoid should something go wrong! Surely the purpose most people get insurance in the first place.

Reply to this comment

Mummybride's Response to LunaMoon's Review

Written on: 24/09/2009

I found this review very helpful because...i was going to use e&l as my wedding insurers but whats the point they sound really bad

Reply to this comment

347500_Hamish853's Response to LunaMoon's Review

Written on: 25/02/2008

I found this review helpful because... I am looking for wedding insurance that doesn't give you a headache if you should need to claim. This answers my question about this insurer how I will not now be using!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 4 Comments
☆☆☆☆☆

“An opportunist thief entered my house and stole my...”

Written on: 23/04/2007 by jagblade (1 review written)

An opportunist thief entered my house and stole my Nikon D100 with SB600 Flash and brand new 18-200mm lens.
Total amount - £1500. It it took them 10 days to send out a claims form!
6 weeks later they told me they were not 'paying out', as my door had not been locked!
It was 6pm and 7 members of the family were in the house at the time.
I believe the thief may have taken the keys to my sons car as well. Car insurance paid no 'quibble'.
I am currently in negotiations with the firm.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Took out cover with E & L 26.12, now 2.2.06 and I have...”

Written on: 02/02/2006 by rabbit with a habit (1 review written)

Took out cover with E & L 26.12, now 2.2.06 and I have wasted weeks trying to sort out errors on my policy. I sent my cheque and policy details to commence cover and the cheque appears to be lost. I am looking elsewhere. Sadly, great value cancelled out by poor admin and customer service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview