Y Cantreff Inn, Abergavenny Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
71% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Y Cantreff Inn, Abergavenny - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“very dissapointed !”

Written on: 05/02/2016 by AmirahWatkins (1 review written)

recently took my wife for lunch, never been there before. the whole pub needs a complete refurb the starters and main meals were of very poor quality as every thing we had was overcooked .and the prices were far to high for the food we had, will not be going back

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just like Nanas home made chips”

Written on: 15/11/2012 by Hamarastar (1 review written)

Walked in with husband and two little ones, pleasantly surprised by the fresh and modern feel to the pub, entrance is lovely and cosy, we had lunch, chicken just how Hubby likes it perfectly cooked not Undercooked a bit, home made chips delicious, never had chips In restaurant home made before, scampi was delicious and tasty and we had a lovely lunch. The staff are genuinely lovely people willing to do anything for you, both husband and wife were friendly and down to earth. Overall we enjoyed it so much there we decided to book our Christmas lunch for Christmas day for our family ,as the lunch is homemade traditional as our children would like, so very excited to return for Christmas lunch 10/10 for a lovely afternoon and child friendly 100% now that's one big plus for the added star! The pub is newly run so ignore any old posts because I am very sure this couple is going to make a good success with the running of the restaurant as I hear the chefs they have there are good, well done first impressions count they made our day a lovey one, thank you ! The only thing I didn't like was the half glass of juice, for child yes, but asked to fill up to the top, I think a full glass is polite than half. But very happy with all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Cantref Inn is a brilliant place to be new owners...”

Written on: 20/04/2010

The Cantref Inn is a brilliant place to be new owners for 2010 Liz & Rich have really improved the current Inn. The Inn has two separate areas bar and restaurant. The bar man is always smiling and welcoming and the beer is very nice! The restaurant will be open soon and will be the place to be in 2010. I strongly recommend checking out. Clean, Friendly and Refurbished a perfect place for any family meal.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This Y Cantreff Inn was a real dissapointment,...”

Written on: 08/04/2009

This Y Cantreff Inn was a real dissapointment, probably one of the worst meals we have had. I would like to say something good about this place but i can't. I believe that some of the food had been microwaved, which is not a crime but at the price i expected better. My wife had hunters chicken which i would stay well away from, cheap chicken laced with rough bbq sauce wrapped in overly salty bacon and topped with far to much cheese all just chucked in a microwave. To top it all off they seemed to get around serving any salads or veg by not really asking you at the time of ordering only to mention it when they have brought the main meals to the tables why would you do this surely you establish what the customer wants from the start? I can't see how places like this survive and i am afraid i will never go back, it actually made me angry especially as it was for a birthday meal.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Visit the cantreff for food or drink and you are sure...”

Written on: 04/04/2008 by maggymm (1 review written)

Visit the cantreff for food or drink and you are sure of a warm welcome and excellent products. Excellent food - restaurant menu being launched new week is superb. The food on offer is always of excellent quality when paul oversees it. We also love the real ales served by young barmaid. Current owners paul and margaret are excellent in their vision - this is no usual pub. The bar is welcoming with "no locals glaring at you" like the first time we visited 4 years ago - Hurray they've gone - pity the poor pub they ended up at!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great menu, speedy delivery anywhere in town. Jim at Y...”

Written on: 22/01/2006 by gourmand (1 review written)

Great menu, speedy delivery anywhere in town. Jim at Y Cantreff Inn is a fine man who lives to serve.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“PLEASE IGNORE ALL REVIEWS PRE 2011. ”

Written on: 28/04/2011

PLEASE IGNORE ALL REVIEWS PRE 2011.
My wife & I first thought we'd give Y Cantreff a try as new people had taken over, we,ve been again with our friends since & are going again with the same friends + my sister & brother in law.Impressed with the light & airy ambience & tasteful way that the tables are set out. Very friendly staff, thought the food was very good, proper garlic mushrooms to die for & real chips, only complaint the onion rings are a bit heavily battered for our taste. Haven't tried the desserts as too full after starter & main, (even though we shared the garlic mushrooms starter) Give it a try, I'm sure you wont be disappointed unless you are after cordon bleu. Glyn & Jenny Evans

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview