McVities Digestive Biscuits Reviews

Click here if this is your business
McVities Digestive Biscuits
★★☆☆☆
1.8
17.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
McVities Digestive Biscuits - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for McVities Digestive Biscuits

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“My fav biscuit has been ruined ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Simba82 on 07/03/2024

I have always loved digestives I bought a double pack today and it will be the last time I buy them . Not only have they gone thinner tasted changed but the price has hiked up,this is a case of extortion and nanny state controlI should be able to eat as many calories as I want stop trying to control people's diets ...if people want to over indulge they will always find a way This is mainly just about ripping people off ...no more digestives for me

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Digestive Pack size”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sadnoels on 02/03/2024

Used to love digestive biscuits for cheese cakes and just for dipping into very shocked to see you in Australian supermarkets now’s packs of mine cut the small ones but price has increased how is that fair on the consumer everyone loves the cheesecake specially in summer bad call McVities I don’t use the obesity crisis as an excuse because people have to buy two packets now to make a decent cheesecake

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Gone Forever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Haysil437 on 14/01/2024

I have been eating biscuits for almost 80 years. And during the last 15 years all biscuits have changed to be more healthy fortunately I can still buy real butter and not the watered down spreadable stuff. I have always bought Ginger Nuts and they have changed so much I don’t buy them anymore. So for the first time in many years I bought a packet of McViities Digestive biscuits. What a shock when I dipped one in my tea, I didn’t like the smell and the lovely creamy taste has gone left with a tasteless mush in my mouth. In my 80 years so much has changed and most not for the good. Ginger Nuts and now Digestives leading the charge.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 0

“Undercooked and bland”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Fishtailing on 05/11/2023

I have bought these biscuits for years they used to print on the back Double packet where they were baked the taste was different from one bakery to the other I complained to them about the taste being bland from the one bakery and under cooked they replied they where sorry that was about three years ago but they are still the same and they have stopped printing on the back the bakery where the come from

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“WHAT ON EARTH?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MaryMcKinney1959 on 29/10/2023

Ive eaten mcVities digestive biscuits all my life but no longer. Considering the price of these I always thought it money well spent... I couldnt believe it when I bought my latest double pack...They taste like cardboard, tasteless! No longer will I look forward to my digestive and cup of tea. I took two out of a new packet, had two bites of one biscuit, the rest have been thrown out for the birds. I will no longer purchase any McVities products. Tasteless, expensive, rubbish. Get your act together McVities.....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

“Mcvities, what have you done?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Brenton104 on 27/10/2023

Well, the reason I'm on this page is as I thought I'd got covid again.. I tasted one of these so called 'Tasties' and immediately noticed the difference, bland, horrible taste, cardboard like.. just not anywhere near the sane as they've tasted for years. I too won't be buying them again and certainly won't be recommending them to anyone! Was the original formula found to be damaging out health that much that it had to be suddenly changed??

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“OMG Heaven on Earth!”

★★★★★

written by CharlieLMC on 24/08/2023

Hobnob Coconut Macaroon! Wowsers, the most delicious divine biscuit I have ever tasted! My tastebuds are in ecstasy after eating a few of these fabulous extraordinary creations! The coconut, macaron and oats combine to give a holiday in the mouth! The person who came up with them in McVities deserves an Oscar or the cookie equivalent. Wonderful wonderful wonderful!!!! Everything about them is gorgeous. Need I say more?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Horrible”

★★☆☆☆

written by xqSpence483 on 08/08/2023

I have enjoyed these biscuits for years . I opened the packet instantly look different took a bite YUK !! Thin bland just awful ???? why change a brilliant recipe? It's not working please change back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Bland, Thinner and leave horrible taste”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cherribear on 03/08/2023

Used to really enjoy these, but won’t be buying them again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“For armageddon only, and then only for the dog”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Grumbleduke88 on 30/07/2023

These biscuits were great when I was a kid now they're dry, tasteless, and reminiscent of cardboard ( not that I eat cardboard much) Another British institution utterly ruined, avoid at all costs except perhaps eat only if armageddon should strike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“So What happened??”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Taylorwi28 on 28/05/2023

We used to love these biscuits . In fact we would go so far as to say they were our favourite biscuit of all time.Not now!They are now thin, dry, overcooked, fatty and lacking in flavour. The consistency that was so appealing didn't even feature anymore . Our verdict... disgusting. Give them a wide berth!!!! There was nothing good about this biscuit to comment on, sorry

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Compressed Woodchips in biscuit form”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Simbosan on 09/05/2023

Just stunning that they paid for hours of research on this and think that they are similar to the originals. I've tasted better packing material (don't ask)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Biccilover's Response to Simbosan's Review

Written on: 28/05/2023

You've nailed it ????

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Dont buy !!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DonteMcDermott on 12/03/2023

The biscuits i wouldnt give to the dog let a lone eat them my self, poor quality tasteless very thin on chocolate not worth the price. "Talk about tricking the public off" Buy the cheap chocalate biscuits they are what mcVities use to be. Will never buy mc vities again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“McVities "Tasties" Digestives are NOT Tasty !”

★☆☆☆☆

written by iantommo on 10/03/2023

I got these from B and M stores as an alternative to the Tesco "reduced sized" normal McVities Digestives that they were asking £1.15p for a similar sized packet! The new name "Tasties" sounded good... HOW WRONG I WAS! It seems this new "Tasties" version of the classic McVities Digestive is yet another pathetic attempt at duping the public to waste good money on an inferior version of a classic product. Think of the many copy-cat packaged cheapo alternatives to McVities Digestives and the taste that just doesn't hit the mark and you have McVities "Tasties" summed up perfectly. I bought 4 packets, assuming they were going to taste good and now wish I had not bothered. As tasteless and actually MORE bland as most of the cheapest alternatives. These McVities "Tasties" digestives are NOT Tasty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 11 0

“Why?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pranav363 on 07/03/2023

Why change something that wasn't broken in the first place? What have they done to the beloved digestive?? I'm glad I found this page because I honestly thought it was me! Leaves a horrible after taste, I can't quite put my finger on it but it's just horrible. Mcvities should hang their heads in shame people have been eating these biscuits all their lives and now they have ruined it, needless to say I won't be buying them again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 10 0

“Heinous ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ReeseBarry488 on 28/02/2023

Insidious biscuit. Not fit for human consumption. Not even a shadow of the biscuit that these titans once were. So so sad. Mcvities should be hanging their heads in shame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 0

“They fixed something that wasn't broken.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TilerMcDee on 17/02/2023

Totally agree with all the previous reviewers. These biscuits are dire. Whatever possessed them to change the recipe one can only be guessed at. Probably some health guru in management out to make a name for themselves. That said, all is not lost. I have found the perfect replacement : Hill's digestive biscuits. They're well baked and better, in my humble opinion, than Mcvities digestives were before they messed up the format. Give them a try. You won't be disappointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Tasteless pap”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JamalDaugherty191 on 28/01/2023

Absolutely disgusting, tasteless and will mot be buying again. Bought by mistake and I will watch carefully what I pick up next time . Will feed to the wild birds!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Back to old recipe please.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lozca on 24/01/2023

I immideately noticed the difference. I assumed it was out of date or package was damaged. I threw the whole thing after tasting again. Why could they not keep the old recipe and introduce the new one with a different name?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Just horrid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CamrenFord70 on 12/01/2023

I would have given these a minus star rating if I could. I bought two packets yesterday as they were on offer, tried the first packet and the biscuit tasted burnt, like cardboard and just horrid. I dunked it in my tea to see if it was any better and instead of melting in my mouth, it left a gooey sticky horrible mess in my mouth with a rank horrid taste that I couldn't get rid of quick enough. I figured this might just be that certain packet so I opened the next packet and was exactly the same. I then asked my husband to try them in case it was my taste buds on this particular day and he agreed they wasn't nice, so both packets are now in the bin and I wont be buying them again. What a shame. They are my favourite biscuit and now I can't stand the taste of them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Onedognow on 4th September 2014 Report this content
The new biscuits are thinner and harder. Has anyone else noticed this? What has gone on?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview