Konica Minolta Dimage Z1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
75% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Image Quality

  • Battery Life

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

Summary

3.3 Megapixel
10x Optical Zoom
Standard Point And Shoot
Video Capability Included
1.5 In. Lcd Panel
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Konica Minolta Dimage Z1

Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1
Konica Minolta Dimage Z1

Specification for Konica Minolta Dimage Z1

Main Features
Resolution 3.2
Optical Zoom 10
Battery Type Alkaline or Rechargeable

Manufacturer: Minolta
Features:
  • 3.2 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create photo-quality 8 x 10 prints and medium-quality prints up to 11 x 14
  • 10x optical plus 4x digital zoom (for 40x total)
  • Includes 16 MB Secure Digital card; also compatible with MMC cards
  • Unique SLR-style; fast f2.8 - f3.5 lens allowing fast shutter speeds for sport or natural-light photography; 2-second start-up time
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries (alkalines included); connects with Macs and PCs via USB 1.1
  • Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “The Konica Minolta Dimage Z1 is an excellent digital...”

    written by KingsleyKid on 10/01/2006

    The Konica Minolta Dimage Z1 is an excellent digital camera if want a little more than a point and press 3 x digi compact. It will provide a new world of photography, and shoot remarkably good pictures. This is the sort of camera that makes you want to buy a DSLR, as it gives you a taste of what photography is all about without having to spend 6 weeks learning the manual.

    I would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from standard holiday snaps and start being a little creative!! And at that price there is nothing to touch it under £300!!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Bertie's Response to KingsleyKid's Review

    Written on: 11/01/2006

    About 2 years ago, this camera was selling for about £230 and initially cost over 400 USA dollars.
    <br>
    <br>This just HAS to be a bargain!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★★

    “I am a bit of a motorsport and airshow fan, so when I...”

    written by terryp on 05/02/2004

    I am a bit of a motorsport and airshow fan, so when I wanted a Digital Camera to compliment my Cannon EOS300 SLR, that I use with a 75-300 zoom, then there were quite a few to choose from, Kodak DX6490, Olympus C740, HP's 945, Toshiba PDR-M700, to name a few.

    Eventually after much browsing review sites and even nipping in to camera shops with the pretence of looking to buy one, but just getting the feel of them, I plumped for the Minolta Dimage Z1, why? because it offered the best range of features for the price.

    I'll try to be brief, the Z1 isn't meant to be a top of the range camera, most of the major manufacturers including Minolta have top end cameras that are of professional standard and have professional prices, so let's get one thing straight, it's built to a price! this is not to say that it feels tacky, I don't think it does.

    Okay it's not perfect, so let's get the gripes out of the way, If your using the viewfinder, and I do because my eyesights not all it should be for looking at the screen, the buttons for changing shutter speeds, aperture, etc are a bit close to it, so you have to move you cheek or nose away from the camera to get to the buttons.
    the diopter is a bit fiddly, but you should only have to adjust it once.
    The battery compartment does need the gentle touch when closing the lid, but after about 3 or 4 battery changes, I'm confident it will last.
    Pity that the flash is not an auto popup like the EOS, when it senses low light, but the "shaking hand" symbol soon reminds you to use flash.
    and as far as I'm concerned I can live with these minor grumbles

    here's why I consider it is worth buying, the range of settings for someone who wants more than a point and shoot, are equal to many mid range SLR's including my EOS300, which is by no means a cheapo camera.
    There is a full range of modes from full auto to manual, I'll not drone on about them all look at the specs page, suffice to say it's more than enough for the serious photographer, but still easy enough for someone who wants to switch it on and shoot, which by the way is brilliant, hit the button and in less than two seconds it's ready to take a snap.
    The drive modes are very good for this price range, the continuous is 1.5fps, and Iv'e had it take upto 14 frames before not being able to save from the buffer. The 10fps burst mode is great for capturing very fast action where your trying to track a fast car for instance, just move a bit faster than the car and your bound to get at least two or three well framed shots, then discard the rest.
    The camera shape is spot on for my medium sized hands, and sits snugly, the shuter button and the zoom control are well placed and finger and thumb fall naturally on them both.
    Picture quality I feel is more than adequate, with 3.2mp it's good enough for 10x8 or A4 size prints, want more then go for a 4 or 5mp camera but expect to pay a hefty premium and not get some of the features, hey, how often do you want to print bigger than A4?
    Colour representation is pretty good, you'd have to be very critical to complain about it not being true to life.
    At the price I paid at the time £232.00 inc vat and postage, (PCworld had a web offer on it just before and after xmas) it was about thirty odd quid cheaper than the nearest rival.

    There will always be detractors on any review site, but do what I did spend a week or so looking at all the reviews you can, I estimate that between 90 to 95% of reviewers inc' professional reviewers rated the Z1 very good to excellent value for money.
    If you want perfection then go and spend 2 or 3 grand on a Nikon or Canon SLR digital.
    If you want stonking good value for money the Z1 fits the bill.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 21 0
    ★★☆☆☆

    “I was very excited to be buying this Minolta Dimage Z1...”

    written by Adam A on 13/01/2004

    I was very excited to be buying this Minolta Dimage Z1 digital camera, as it has so many features for a great price. However, there are many fundamental problems with it that should be sorted out for future models.

    The 10X zoom is brilliant, but that is about the only redeeming feature of this camera. It looks and feels awkward. The shutter release button is placed at a strange angle, and is difficult to depress without moving the camera - very bad for longer exposure shots.

    The camera is difficult to hold as the grip is not textured, and is a peculiar eliptical shape.

    The lens barrel wobbles and is not secure.

    The battery compartment has plastic hinges which are liable to break and render the camera useless. They also appear to be under a lot of pressure due to the sprung battery contacts. The flap flexes and bends.

    The circular strap attachments constanly rattle and cause annoyance.

    The autofocus is very noisy as it is constantly on the go (there is a setting to turn this off so that it only focuses when you press the button halfway).

    The mode selection dial is recessed and surrounded by obstructions (the zoom lever for instance) and is nearly impossible to turn without hitting other controls.

    Generally, image quality is good, but at only 3 megapixels you might as well spend a bit more and get something like a Kodak DX6490.

    Video clips are impressive and capable of VGA resolution @ 30fps, but the noise of the shutter can be heard on the audio when it is played back.

    I thought I would be able to get over how ugly it was due to its features, but given the build quality it emphasises how flimsy and cheap it is.

    If you want a camera packed with features, then this is a good buy for the price. However, if you value build quality then you will be dissapointed. This camera is cheap and nasty in my opinion.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Djgazza's Response to Adam A's Review

    Written on: 25/01/2004

    this reviewer doesnt know what hes on about i have 1 and its great DO NOT listen to this reviewer for the money this is a fantastic camera

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Kenwood33's Response to Adam A's Review

    Written on: 08/01/2005

    I have owned my Minolta Z1 for about a year or so and have found it to be a cracking little camera. The guy does not know what he is talking about and I am a Woman who takes loads of goods shots!! To be perfectly honest it is a brilliant little camera for the money and what more do you want? If you want to go top rate then you buy a top rate camera but other than that this camera has everything I would expect from it and more!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    167386_Blugnu's Response to Adam A's Review

    Written on: 26/08/2004

    Can't agree with this reviewer at all. I have no problems with this camera in terms of holding it, yes it is somewhat different from the norm, but everything falls to hand very nicely. I've read all sorts re the lens "wobble" and it's true, it moves slightly within the housing, but it has no effect whatsoever on the quality of shots, which are excellent. It has way more features than you'll ever need, and the movie mode is excellent. The battery housing simply requires sensible use, but I have no concerns over that either. Incidentally, battery life is excellent.
    <br>
    <br>I've always been a Minolta fan, and this camera meets all my needs. You won't get the same facilities for the price with anything else.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Krieger's Response to Adam A's Review

    Written on: 03/05/2004

    After being a little worried by the issue of the wobbling lens, I sent an email to Minolta, querying the problem.
    <br>
    <br>It would seem that the lens wobble is actually a feature of the camera, and will not affect the quality of the pictures taken with it. In fact, their reason for the wobble is supposed to make your pictures even higher quality. The rattling lens occurs because of a balancing system in the lens housing. This is designed to mechanically cancel small amounts of shaking caused by the unsteadiness of the human hand.
    <br>
    <br>It would seem that Minolta say that this 'feature' is a cheaper version of the highly expensive 'digital stability control' which we see on the top-end camera. This is where the camera uses digital methods to ensure that all shaking is removed from the camera, to gain the sharpest possible shot with minimal blurring.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Terryp's Response to Adam A's Review

    Written on: 04/02/2004

    I'm afraid I've got to agree with the other guy who left a comment. I considered all the reviews and the Z1 is an outstanding camera for the price.
    <br>The lens rattle which Minolta have said they designed it that way to make the autofocus faster, is only apparent if you violently shake the camera, something we do all the time eh!
    <br>The battery cover could have been a bit sturdier, I just make sure I apply even pressure when I close the lid.
    <br>The build quality is not as bad as the reviewer makes out, of course it's not in the same class as a some of the more upmarket models, Minolta included. But mine cost me £232.00 inc' postage from PCworld, compared to the £340.00 for the Kodak, I'm well satisfied.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 3 4
    Read 5 Comments
    ★★★★★

    “The Minolta Dimage Z1 was my first semi-serious camera...”

    written by Greg Tottenham on 16/12/2003

    The Minolta Dimage Z1 was my first semi-serious camera bought on a tight budget. Although only 3.2MP the photo's are cracking, and the 10x zoom makes up for the rest! Good menu's and easy to use, would recommend to anyone with £300 to spend!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 4 1

    Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

    Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

    Thanks for asking a question.

    Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

    We will email you when the question is on the site

    overview