Ocean Drive, Torquay Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
53% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ocean Drive, Torquay - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Visit with friends”

Written on: 07/09/2012

We are local to the area and had 8 friends down from up country to visit, they also had 2 small children that needed high chairs, We booked Ocean drive as it could accomodate children. It was the best choice we could have made, the food was very good the staff where very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, our friends are now talking of all coming back at Christmas and booking christmas lunch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Frustratingly Slow Service ”

Written on: 24/03/2012 by ablewilliams69 (2 reviews written)

I don’t think I am going to visit Ocean Drive again. While the food was okay, the staff was quite unfriendly. And to make matters worse, the service was frustratingly slow.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“had a meal on friday 29/10.2010.service was slow but...”

Written on: 06/11/2010

had a meal on friday 29/10.2010.service was slow but friendly.meal was awful 2 people out of group orderd mixed grill ,the burger was foul and was not eaible manager was horrible and would not except that the food was bad she was very rude and very angry she needs to be trained how to speak to customers properly.it felt very uncomfortable as she watches everyone on cctv and staff were on edge because of this.would never go back avoid at all cost you have been warned

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 15/12/2011

You must have gone to the wrong place in my view. as the Ocean drive is by far the best restaurant in Torquay. As I have frequently visited this establishment on many occasions with my family and have found staff to the quality of food to be excellent. Think you better stick to a Mc Donalds as this is probably what you are accustomed too.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“this was the worse meal i ever had, drinks were flat...”

Written on: 12/09/2010

this was the worse meal i ever had, drinks were flat when complained the owner argued with us and walked around with a sour face all night. at 16 pound a head for main meal it was definatly not worth the money. my food was raw although was asked for well done the answer i got was well someone else must have yours. 1 to a avoid

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Saw the place by chance and booked a table for our...”

Written on: 13/09/2010

Saw the place by chance and booked a table for our party of six. What a find, the food was brilliant and with a good choice and range of food. I will certainly visit again as soon as I can and cannot recommend it enough. It appears a strange restaurant but ignore the outside get inside and enjoy some great food.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“we passed ocean drive on the way to our guest house...”

Written on: 10/04/2009 by robertnewman (1 review written)

we passed ocean drive on the way to our guest house and were immediatly drawn to the garden with it's statues and unusual seating.
we went there on a monday for their special usa menu and loved it so much we went back wednesday for the italian. we were not disappointed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My husband, myself and two friends had our Christmas...”

Written on: 17/01/2009

My husband, myself and two friends had our Christmas lunch at Ocean Drive. We arrived at 12:30 we had the option of being seated at our table our going to the bar for a drink. We we're offered delicious mince pie's and clotted cream "yum" We had the most fantastic time. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. The food excellent with a gap in-between to allow for digestion. We we're not rushed everything was very relaxed in a fabulous atmosphere. We will definitely be having Christmas lunch at Ocean Drive again. We left Ocean Drive around 4:30 very full and very happy. Thank you all for making our day so special. xx Fantastic restaurant for any occasion.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Ocean Drive offered good food and quality, but I felt...”

Written on: 02/09/2008

Ocean Drive offered good food and quality, but I felt the service and attitude of staff let the experience down for me. Also, I thought adding additional charges for steaks i.e. £1.00 per person, was a bit off, when I was paying a high price anyway.

I did feel the atmosphere could have been better.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Had a table booked for 4 for 8.30. Told to wait in the...”

Written on: 11/08/2008 by nothankyou (1 review written)

Had a table booked for 4 for 8.30. Told to wait in the bar upstairs and make ourselves comfortable. However, the bar area can seemingly only hold about 20 people comfortably and there were at least 30 odd people up there. A menu was finally given to us at 9pm and orders were taken a further 15 mins after that. We were then finally sat at our cramped table and food served at 9.50pm. The steaks were a pound extra due to the increase in prime beef (something we'd never heard of?). One steak was meant to be medium rare, however that appeared more bloodier than my rare. It was also cold in the middle and a disappointing cut. The veg for four of us came in one small side bowl. In my opinion it was not even enough for one. A glass of red wine was ordered but there was no choice, and what came out I can only describe as cheap cooking wine. There was no attempt to apologise for the lateness in seating us and quite frankly I found the service quite abrupt at best. I would not return.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is some of the best food that I have eaten, the...”

Written on: 14/07/2008 by Newtie (1 review written)

This is some of the best food that I have eaten, the steak was cooked to a turn and the presentation was first class. The risotto starter was to die for and the garlic butter roast potato mash was a taste sensation, we could not fault it and look forward to our next visit

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Arrived 15 minutes before booking and greeted by a...”

Written on: 29/06/2008 by Steve Spurle (1 review written)

Arrived 15 minutes before booking and greeted by a warm and friendly waitress. After verifying the booking she invited us to go to one of the 3 bars where menus would be brought to us, which they were reasonably quickly. After leaving us for 10 minutes she returned to take our orders. After another 10 minutess we were ushered to our table which was excellently laid out. We decided on a group photo, six of us, so went to take the picture, another staff member came across and offered to take the group photo for us which she duly did very well. Drink order was taken and duly arrived very quickly. Food arrived very quickly and was absolutely fantastic, 4 off us had garlic chicken and the other 2 had gammon. 1 of the party was asked whether he wanted pinnaple or egg with his gammon and he requested both which was agreed too without fuss. There was a choice of 3 types of potato but the waitress offered a selection of all 3 be placed on the table, very impressed with that. Overall the whole evening went extremely well with the staff remaining polite and very helpful throughout. The atmosphere was cracking, all agreed, and the whole experience left us wanting to go back for more in the near future. Thank you all at Ocean Drive for a throughly enjoyable experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Five of us went one Sunday for lunch to Ocean Drive...”

Written on: 08/06/2008 by mrnick1234567 (3 reviews written)

Five of us went one Sunday for lunch to Ocean Drive Torquay. The laminated menu we had picked up for the place put us off, but one of our group was a local and wanted to try it. On arrival the place was not what we expected and I personally feel the pub garden was tacky, with film memorabilia covering every surface. The waitress was nice, but tried to seat us in a small dark table in an awkward corner, despite it being a sunny day and the place being empty. We opted to move by the window. The room was hot so we asked the waitress to open the door. She did, then informed us that the regular menu wasn't being served and it was Sunday roast only. One of our party was vegetarian, and this wasn't ideal. Fortunately they did make her a large starter to have as a main course. As for the food itself the roast was poor, the meat was tough and the gravy a bit salty, it seemed to be Bistro or similar. No one seemed to eat much. We ducked out of deserts and made a quick exit, pausing only to marvel at the 'Hollywood' themed garden (again more film stuff). Coming from London I think we are spoiled for choice, and this place wouldn't last two minutes in a more competitive environment. We won't be returning.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I went to ocean Drive last summer, it was a coldish...”

Written on: 10/04/2008

I went to ocean Drive last summer, it was a coldish night, we all sat outside under the heat lamps and had the most tasteful minted lamb I have ever had and it looked so creative it was great, the atmosphere was really laid back and they played 1950's music.. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Torquay in the summer. They have a lovely out side Piano bar with heat lamps which heat up the whole garden, its all 1950's theme and the food is fantastic, I would not be able to fault the place and wish there was something like it in London nearer to myself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Just visited this Restaurant Saturday March 1st 2008....”

Written on: 11/03/2008 by marmie32 (1 review written)

Just visited this Restaurant Saturday March 1st 2008. Had a table booked for 5 of us for 8.30pm. It was a special occasion as one of the friends was returning to wale's to live so it was a farewell party for her. Arrived at the restaurant for 8.15 we had a table booked for 8.30 at 8.45 we were told we would have a long wait as a table of 18 people had arrived late so they were being served first! By 9.30 we complained that we were still being kept waiting and there weren't any sign of menus or any other communication from anyone in the restaurant!! Finally at 10.00 we went to our table and eventually got to eat at 10.15!!! We were absolutely starving by this time as you can imagine! There were no apologies from the staff at all - only finally at the end of the evening when were told that they had grossly overbooked for the evening! Whose fault is that! And what bad management! We were all given a 10% voucher each for money off of a meal during the week! What a joke do they really think we are going there again after the way we were treated! I don't think so! The evening was totally spoilt for my friend - and we wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. My advice to the Management is get your act together soon before you go out of business! You are seriously getting a VERY BAD Name for yourselves!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Ocean Drive restaurant in Torquay had a nice...”

Written on: 20/11/2005 by wibbleone (1 review written)

The Ocean Drive restaurant in Torquay had a nice atmosphere, and the waiting staff were very helpful and accommodating. Starters were very enjoyable. However, 4 of the main meals were cold, and had to be sent back. One T-Bone was dry and overcooked (asked for medium rare), and also came cold. The management were politely informed, and we asked for a refund on that one meal. It takes a lot for me to complain about food (usually I just sit there and eat what's given). It was a complete shock when the whole party was asked to leave mid meal for daring to complain. Very Poor customer service by the owner/manager, and what started as a joint anniversary and birthday celebration ended in farce. There are much better places to eat in Torbay!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview