J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
85% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Hobbit is one of the most popular and loved fantasy...”

Written on: 16/02/2021 by Sandovalqp409 (1 review written)

Hobbit is one of the most popular and loved fantasy novels.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“ Definitely recommend it.”

Written on: 24/12/2020 by CruzBrown (7 reviews written)

The Hobbit is a must-read if you're a fan of fantasy. At first, the book is slow, sure, and yes it's a little long for some readers but it is a great read once you are about ⅖ into the book. Although this book was made in 1937, it's still a classic. Definitely recommend it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Awesome book, one of the best books ever released....”

Written on: 12/11/2020 by 1984Hanley (1 review written)

Awesome book, one of the best books ever released. Enjoyed it a lot, a very nice book.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Favourite books”

Written on: 18/09/2020 by bethomas (4 reviews written)

I've read a lot of novels, including The Hobbit. It is one of my favourite books.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Still the Best”

Written on: 07/08/2020 by Tolerykinoe (1 review written)

I am an avid fantasy readers and the Books by Tolkien are still the best,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best”

Written on: 02/07/2019 by odetarose478 (1 review written)

Best fantasy book I read it in just 5 day. So interesting characters and story.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Classic Fantasy at Its Best”

Written on: 31/05/2019 by Landin386 (1 review written)

This is a classic book, and great for adults and kids, including 12 year olds. It has magnificent world-building, relatable and memorable characters, a great story arc and all around great book. I highly recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“GREAT!!”

Written on: 10/04/2016 by Pollinezia (10 reviews written)

Just I love it! Honestly, I just do not know his biography and what books he has written other than Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit and all written there. But! One thing I can say with confidence - a book about the fantastic country of hobbits, orcs, elves, dragons and wizards - UNIQUE! I do not know a person who has not read the book or watched the movie based on the book. This tale, which makes us believe in miracles, shows the eternal struggle between good and evil. What Tolkien optsyvaet landscapes, battle ... Just no words to describe it. Read on and if there are present, you see all hang out with all the characters, grieve for each lost a "friend." Re-read the entire trilogy with The Hobbit probably 6 times and I will re-read many times. And this is the tale that would began to read for my children.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Excellent book...one of Tolkien's classics...The...”

Written on: 03/05/2008

Excellent book...one of Tolkien's classics...The Hobbit is essential to understand the trilogy of the Lord of the Rings...
Have fun and read it!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit is written as a young...”

Written on: 07/07/2006 by thepaladin (49 reviews written)

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit is written as a young persons novel, and it's wonderful. It will lead into Tolkien's other works and open the door to imagination in a wonderful way.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I would have to start off by saying that The Hobbit:...”

Written on: 21/12/2005 by ZackMan (7 reviews written)

I would have to start off by saying that The Hobbit: The Enchanting Prelude to the Lord of the Rings is one of my favorite books. The Author is J.R.R. Tolkien, who is the author of the Lord Of The Rings Trilogy, as well as The Silmarillion and many other excellent books.

Once you get into this book you will be spending all of your spare time reading it. It is very addictive. It also lays a must-have foundation for the rest of the Lord Of The Ring series.

It is about the travels of Bilbo Baggins (Frodo Baggins' Uncle), and the finding of The Ring, as well as the Battle of Five Armies. It contains a lot of the L.O.T.R. history, and it is definitely a book you must read.

The only downside to the book is that it does contain many songs (or poems) in the story, which may become boring to read if you do not like that kind of literature. All you have to do though is to skip the songs because they have no real importance to the story.

I must finish this review by stating that you will greatly miss out on an excellent book if you do not buy this one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit - Well, as much as I have...”

Written on: 16/09/2004 by GimliOfTheHole (1 review written)

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit - Well, as much as I have really tried to enjoy this collection, I will still have to give it an overall thumbs down. Good sound-effects do not make up for the utter lack of skill on the parts of the actors/voice effects. This could be the fault of the producers too. All of the characters save two, Thorin and Beorn, sound like munchkins from Wizard of Oz...including Gandalf. As was already stated, the creatures in this re-creation all sound as though they are robots because of the voice manipulation. When more than one creature is talking it becomes a mishmash of unintelligible rabble. Gollum is the exception to this rule. He is very well-voiced, if not even a bit scary with all of his sputtering and gollum-ing. Some mispronounciations of characters (Gollum is gah-LOOM and Thorin is toe-REEN) are also a minor distraction. I won't even get into the singing.

This collection very plainly states that it is abridged...so if you're looking for something that is unabridged, the best bet is the collection voiced by Robert Inglis. Though sans sound effects, he absolutely captures the characters in all regards...though the singing here is also questionable, it is far superior to that of the reviewed collection.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“”

Written on: 14/12/2003 by Swehrlee (8 reviews written)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
overview