Special Days Cakes, Uddingston, Scotland Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.5 / 5
87% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Special Days Cakes, Uddingston, Scotland - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Special Days Cakes, Uddingston, Scotland

Special Days Cakes, Uddingston, Scotland

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“The absolute best! ”

written by KelseyM1995 on 06/09/2021

I can’t thank Special Days Cakes enough! They made me the most amazing first birthday cake for my niece that I could ever imagine! The team were fantastic at accommodating everything I wanted to include. I showed them a photo of the type of thing I was after and it went well above expectations. Everyone at the party commented on the cake and couldn’t believe how amazing it looked and tasted. The only bad thing that I could say about the whole thing was that it all got cut up and ate so there was none for leftovers!! Nothing was too much hassle for the team at Special Days! I have had many cakes from here over the years and wouldn’t go anywhere else - you only pay for the best here!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting Customer Service”

written by JamesDLed on 30/07/2021

We had paid extra for an additional tier for our wedding cake from special days as we had the cake as part of a wedding package. Due to COVID we had to reschedule our wedding and then my 2 grandparents passed away so we had to completely cancel our wedding. We have asked for a refund and was told they charge £25 per cancellation date but this is not within the term and conditions within the contract. We also paid for a cake topper which was never received either and asked for this to be told we keep them 6 months then dispose of them. I will be taking it to trading standards to get my money back because the contract does not state any of the above

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 3
★★★★☆

“Best to Order for Wedding”

written by Boutine on 09/10/2020

Many thanks for our beautiful wedding cake. The matching color was just fine. I really couldn't go somewhere else for my cake after hearing lovely compliments about your business and the great reputation you have. The cake fillings were all enjoyed by our guests.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Yummy Cake!”

written by TeresaDcruz on 09/09/2020

Thank you so much for wedding cake. I ordered the cake for my sister's wedding ceremony. The cake quality was yummy and delicious. It was presented very well i.e colour was great and matching. Everyone loved the cake very much. Prices are reasonable and value for money. Staff is great and helpful. Looking forward to buy the cake next time. Happy Customer!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No cake and no refund!”

written by Kendall353 on 19/08/2020

Paid £115 in full when ordering my grandaughter's 1st birthday cake for March. We went into lockdown-they had made the cake- (too early- we had requested very fresh), but didn't tell us, and refused to refund .Various emails later, with the standard 'gesture of goodwill' to make us another cake in July ,that boat had sailed. There is nothing good will about them having the cake AND the money. The shop wont deal with it referring us to office 'email', who wont respond to any of our questions, in fact told us to get in touch with trading standards!! Now not answering emails at all! Gutted disappointed and angry - where do we go from here? Have lost a lot of money to the worst people I have ever had the misfortune to deal with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 4
★★★★★

“Lockdown cakes 2020”

written by Nicolakane81 on 18/05/2020

Would like to say a huge thank you to special days cakes. The service they have given to care homes across north Lanarkshire is unbelievable. They decided to give there bit back to the community during lockdown 2020 by baking free birthday or special day cakes FREE to all care homes which is absolutely extraordinary. The joy and smiles they have put on people's faces are fantastic especially my gran who was 85. Huge thanks once again and stay safe.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Totaly outstanding service”

written by Loranzo on 16/10/2017

This company is warm friendly and attent to all your needs so professional and have outstanding talents I would highly recomend this company best cake I have tasted. The standard and quality is perfection as a chef I love trying new thing and these cake are best ever. The staff are amaing and really take the time with you to make sure you have the best standard thinks for everything x

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“great company”

written by Breidge on 16/10/2017

Extremely Friendly service.... attention to detail second to none..... very talented cake maker. .....would highly recommend special days.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Wedding Cake that was just perfect”

written by Dixonpo411 on 11/07/2017

Thank you so much for our stunning wedding cake. The colour match was just perfect. You guys are truly amazing. After hearing lovely compliments about your company and the great reputation you have, I just couldn't go anywhere else for my cake. My husband and I are just back from our honeymoon and looking through some of our wedding pictures. Our guests all loved the cake fillings. Thanks again for being such a special part of our day.  Vintage Rose Cascade 4 tiers

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Amazing Birthday Cake!!!”

written by 152Pruitt on 11/07/2017

Hi! I just wanted to say thank you so much for my amazing and beautiful birthday cake, you seriously knocked it out of the park! It looked better than i could have ever imagined and everyone loved it.One of my friends even said it's the best tasting birthday cake she's ever had. Thank you again from the bottom of my heart for helping to make my birthday special!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Saved The Day”

written by on 03/06/2017

I wanted to say thank you to Special Days Cakes for great customer service. I had originally ordered a cake with All Occasion Cakes, Uddingston 2 months before my son's 21st birthday. However, 2 days before the event, I contacted them and with no response I was left to realised there would be no cake. I contacted Special Days Cakes, who were extremely helpful. They stepped in and made a fantastic cake which I was able to collect in time for my son's 21st birthday. Thank you so much for great customer service and saving the day.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“A massive thanks!”

written by Paynewu206 on 07/04/2015

Thank you so much for the anniversary cake we collected last weekend. Not only was it better than I ever imagined , it tasted phenomenal. 7 days later and it's still as soft as the day it was cut. My guests commented so much on the cake so I have passed on your details. The staff in your shop are so happy and helpful. Looking forward to the next time I need a cake already. If I could award more than 5 stars I would x

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Nightmare days and nightmare after sales”

written by Warren376 on 01/04/2015

So disappointed with service. A customer for 15 years! Wedding, christenings, birthdays... Recently I ordered a cake for my little boys Confirmation. It was all a big surprise. Cake looked amazing and we were so excited. We opened and cut the cake around 9pm. The cake was dry and hard on the inside. Everyone at the party commented and not in a good way! I decided to return both tiers to give constructive feedback. Staff not interested. Insisted there was nothing wrong with the cake. However, cake not eaten, 20 guests later , even my wee auntie who was a baker in a well known local baker for 29 years agreed it was sub standard. Clearly something was wrong with the quality. After sales service was shocking. Training required. It was non existent and the owner was downright rude. My son was soooo disappointed as was I. I will NEVER be back!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Happy67's Comment

Written on: 07/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry our Madeira cake was not to your taste. We have a free 'taste before you buy' facility which is on offer to everyone. We did examine your cake and it was indeed fresh and the same excellent quality as our free cake samples. This was demonstrated to you in our shop.
As there was no fault whatsoever, we were unable to offer a refund on the basis this flavour wasn't to your particular taste.
I'm sorry you thought we were rude, this was not our intention and we do appoligise if this is how we made you feel. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andyc65's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2016

I had a taste of this wonderful after service as well. Special Days are only interested in themselves and not their customers. When things go wrong, as is natural to happen sometimes, they turn nasty and refuse to help or admit that they aren't perfect.

They also bully and threaten customers into deleting negative reviews and feedback.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Amazing service ”

written by Audreyxcx on 21/01/2015

If I could more than 5 stars I would! The girls were absolutely fabulous with helping me even though I recon I came close to the most awkward customer ever. Nothing was to much for them & I wasn't even in to pick a cake ! I was wanting to surprise my friends by paying off their order so can only imagine how brilliant they'd be if I was the one getting married! Based on service alone these girls are outstanding so can only imagine how good there product must be. Top marks girls best customer service I've had anywhere in a long time!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Stunning design and amazing showroom”

written by Dunn237 on 08/03/2014

Designer cake shop, well priced and out of this world service. So happy I picked this company to make my wedding cake. Can't wait for our christening cake next . Would highly recommend to everybody. The level of service is outstanding. So amazing to actually find a company who bakes all their own stuff. Thank you to all the staff

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Just picked up an amzing bed cake”

written by jamieander78 on 08/03/2014

Stunning and full of bling. The perfect cake for a teenager. Loved the whole bedroom these. Highly recommended. I have used this company before and they continue to amaze me. Really helpful staff and a greats service overall.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Overpriced and terrible service”

written by BGSMG on 06/03/2014

Overpriced cakes and unhelpful staff I visited the shop before I ordered and I was really impresses, however, having picked up my cake tonight, I cannot express how disappointed I am; not only with the cake but the attitude of the staff/owner which was dismissive, unhelpful and rude. The cake was for a 30th birthday with a marathon runner theme. The cake was a road with a man in shorts and t shirt, the only thing relating to the marathon was a banner which said 'NY MARATHON' which collapsed within an hour. I phoned the shop and was told because I had signed for the cake in the shop, they would only fix it for a fee. As I had already paid £60 for the cake and the collapse was not my fault, I found this harsh. I did say I was willing to pay as I would have been embarrassed to give it as a gift in it's current state. The owner phoned me and immediately had an defensive manner, I tried to explain what happened, unfortunately he hung up on me. I cannot believe people actually get away with running a business in this way

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Happy67's Response to BGSMG's Review

Written on: 12/03/2014

Dear Shelia, You inspected your cake before paying for it, and signed a document stating you were happy with your cake. This is confirmed on our CCTV, you described your cake as 'brilliant', great! However on our CCTV, we also have our staff ask you to transport your cake flat in the boot..you refused this advice and put the cake on a passengers knee, against our recommendations. 1 1/2 hours later you called to say the cake was damaged. We offered to repair the cake for a minimal charge of £5, your response was you would plaster bad reviews online if we didn't repair it for free. You became aggressive and we were forced to terminate the call. I'm sorry you have chosen to carry out your threat, however we have CCTV footage which contradicts your version of events.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bgsmg's reply to Happy67's Comment

Written on: 14/03/2014

The calm, reasonable tone of this reply is completely different to the unhelpful and rude response I received the night I contacted you to inform you the signage on the cake had collapsed. That night your staff member was very unhelpful and you hung up on me. After I posted my review, you sent an email to my personal email address calling me ‘malicious’ and assuring me you will pursue me for compensation and all legal costs; this was then followed by a recorded delivery letter repeating your intention to pursue me further. I never would have imagined a simple/honest review could provoke such a hostile response, I now understand why people would be wary posting any reviews that were not fully complimentary as this experience has made me feel uncomfortable and intimidated.

It is completely untrue that my response to your offer to repair the cake for £5 was that I was going to plaster bad reviews online. Money was not the issue however I considered any charge unreasonable as the sign collapsing was not my fault; I actually accepted the offer as I didn’t have time to get another cake made. I strongly object to being referred to as aggressive, this was not the case and a transcript of both calls can bear this out.

The dispute in this case relates to the banner collapsing after I left the shop and your conduct when handling my complaint. Your focus on cctv footage taken prior to the banner collapsing completely distorts the chronicle of events and has no relevance.

I was advised to put the cake in the boot but as the cake box didn’t have a lid and was covered by cellophane I thought it would be better that my daughter held the cake flat during the short journey home. It was after I got home the cake collapsed – I have photographic evidence that the cake banner was intact when I arrived home from a picture I sent to a family member. Without the banner the cake no longer had a clear theme, was not personal and had little relevance to my original request of a marathon runner theme.

My concern was, if you were going to re-do the sign, it would happen again, I asked your staff member if you could call me back to discuss how the sign would be re-done however I did not get the chance to ask you this as you put the phone down on me.

Money was never the issue; I paid my deposit, followed by the full amount on pick up and at no point have I asked for any kind of refund or reduction. I wanted a themed cake with no hassle and was prepared to pay whatever it cost.

Since my original review on Thursday, I have now tasted the cake which was dry and lacked flavour. This would normally have merited a negative review on its own, however, as this process has already left me feeling harassed, unless an apology is forthcoming I would request there is no further direct contact from you and that all my personal details are deleted from your files.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“WOW!! BEST CAKE DESIGNER EVER!!”

written by jaq78 on 01/10/2013

As a returning customer to Special Days Cakes,I can honestly say that I have never been so delighted.Our most recent purchase was a Chanel inspired celebration cake and we most certainly weren't disappointed,from start to finish,dealing with Special Days was an absolute pleasure,nothing was too much trouble.Everyone commented on how amazing the cake looked and,believe me,it tasted even better!! Next purchase for us will be our wedding cake,but with so many fabulous designs to choose from,i'm sure this won't be an easy task.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Highly recommend ”

written by on 28/09/2013

Another fantastic cake got for my husband 4oth was amazing Everyone was talking about it can't thank special days enough your stuff is Beautiful will be back soon .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic value for money”

written by marydavie on 27/09/2013

Have had wedding cakes for my kids now can't wait for wedding exhibition to order my granddaughters. They go that extra mile to do what you like. The cakes look fab but they also taste fantastic.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by joyceybaby on 6th July 2014 Report this content
Do they sell cake toppers?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview