Marks & Spencer Furniture Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Marks and Spencer Furniture - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Marks and Spencer Furniture

Marks and Spencer Furniture

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Terrible customer service.”

Written on: 03/03/2021 by BeatrizKora (5 reviews written)

Terrible customer service. My issue remains unresolved with a gift card activation. I also had to chase customer services as they did not respond for several weeks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nantucket chaise sofa not fit for purpose”

Written on: 01/03/2021 by Nantunket (1 review written)

My Nantucket Chaise sofa arrived at the end of 2019 but by Easter the sofa was sagging where the two base cushions meet. Eventually repaired in October but the sagging issue returned and a Technician came last month and advised there was not a manufacturing issue because the ONLY correct place to sit in is in the middle of the cushion! On Tuesday February 23rd the M&S Chairman’s office stated in response to my complaint ‘....,.,that your expectation of being able to sit between 2 seat… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor quality and unfit for use.Did not think it was...”

Written on: 19/02/2021 by Beowolf (1 review written)

WE bought quite a lot of the Arlo range bedroom furniture and study furniture.Because of the covid outbreak we had to assemble it ourselves which was a bind but understandable during the assembly it was apparent that the furniture is poor quality and sub standard had it not been for the circumstances I would have sent the lot back.we had two chests of drawers which continually fell to bits the drawer fronts coming off and the tops coming loose.When we complained they sent a guy to repair them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Delayed delivery ”

Written on: 19/02/2021 by Freddy58 (1 review written)

Ordered a kitchen table and 4 chairs on 21st November 2020 and paid £762 . Knew I had a 12 week wait but after my delivery was delayed 3 times I cancelled my order. No wander M&S is in trouble their inefficiency is unbelievable. I will never order furniture again. Do not order from them unless you’re prepared to wait indefinitely. Very disappointing! Just hope my money is returned promptly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Self assembly of upholstery needed-no advance warning.”

Written on: 25/01/2021

Lincoln compact sofa, armchair and footstool delivered today. The delivery men brought into sitting room & left- saying they no longer assembled (despite email to contrary 1 week ago) and that easy to fit the feet. Despite being in our 70s, we are reasonably fit , and as also compact range - we are able to manoevre the furniture and extract from substantial ammount of packaging.This would have been really challenging if a full size sofa.. However, not at all obvious how to fit the feet -… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“lincoln sofabed 2 chairs”

Written on: 24/01/2021 by rosiefan (1 review written)

Arm of sofabed damaged during delivery,seat cushion on armchair one wrong size and wrong design,arm on chair two not enough padding,repair carried out on chair still not right.Cushion replaced after 2 months,sofa arm repaired ,now padding on chair arms puckering up.CUSTOMER SERVICE very bad no reply to EMAIL,very dissapointed.Still awaiting repair,some delay can be put down to Covid lockdowns,but sofabed and chairs showed never have left factory,very poor quality and CUSTOMER SERVICE VERY POOR… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“JUST AWFUL”

Written on: 04/01/2021 by likestobeperfect (1 review written)

I shall try extremely very hard to keep this summarised. Ordered and waited 19 weeks for 2 x sofas July 20. After numerous delivery dates given with no reasons at all re the delay eventually got sofas after a 19 week wait. During this time I eventually got someone in authority or at least I think I did and mutually agreed compensation for the long wait. Obviously did not start out thinking this was going to happen. Had sofas for less than one week when we noticed indentations in the two seats… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jfc31's Response to likestobeperfect's Review

Written on: 15/01/2021

Hello we have had the same issue. We ordered a sofa in June and the delivery was pushed out several times. We finally got it 29 weeks later. After a couple of weeks our sofa had indentations in the foam even after I rotated the cushions. In addition the cushions had different densities of foam, this made the sofa inconsistent. We did have someone to come out and assess who did confirm there was an issue and we are getting replacement cushions I have opted for a different filling as they can't guarantee the standard will be the same. I have had to call multiple times, been passed from 2 different companies and more often than not they never bothered calling back. Its only when I said I was going to take this further I got a result. Just waiting for the replacements to see if they are any better.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Likestobeperfect's reply to Jfc31's Comment

Written on: 15/01/2021

Thank you for sharing this information with me. I am absolutely appalled at the lack of interest shown re my complaint about sofas from Marks and Spencer. They suggested I take it to the furniture Ombudmsan - did you do this please? I am very unhappy with our new sofas they just don't meet our expectations at all. They are def not going to last any time despite us only using them in the evening time. They weren't cheap either.Can I ask who you contacted and how you suggested that you would take it further before you got any satisfaction. Any advice/help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kt123's reply to Jfc31's Comment

Written on: 01/02/2021

I'd be interested to know if the replacements have made this any better for you?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kt123's Response to likestobeperfect's Review

Written on: 01/02/2021

This sounds all too similar with our experience too! Customer Service didn't want to know and promised several call backs only to be left having to call them almost daily to get anywhere. We eventually spoke to a lady who was supposedly on the board who in fairness to her did get our sofas sent to us as one seemed to go missing in the warehouse as nobody could locate the 2nd sofa.
We are now 1 month in and experiencing bumps in the foam and loose fitting fabric as a result of this. We too are both relatively small people and the sofas would only get light usage. Apparently an engineer will be coming to take a look at this although from these reviews I'm doubtful this will resolve our issues.
We also got some compensation but considering the time and effort we put in (whilst doing Customer Services jobs for them) I felt what we were offered was a massive kick in the teeth however I was not involved in that call and my OH took that offer. It equated to 10% of our order, I may sound like an ungrateful person but Next offered 20+% back for some damaged furniture (that was replaced free of charge) however we did not have to phone daily Next Customer Service did all the work for us.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Likestobeperfect's reply to Kt123's Comment

Written on: 01/02/2021

Thank you for your comments and sorry you have gone through this horrible experience with Marks too. You say you will be having an engineer look at your problem, that's more than we have been offered. As I write the sofas get worse daily. I was told to take my complaint to the Furniture Ombudsman but tbh is it worth my while I ask myself? We also got compensation but again this was not what I really wanted I just want my sofas to be comfortable. I may take this up again as the sofas are def getting worse. If you can, please advise any outcomes. Thank you so much.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Abysmal customer service ”

Written on: 21/12/2020 by PaddyMorr (1 review written)

Ordered table and chairs, they assured me of a delivery date but cancelled at the last minute.Tried to contact customer service, just holding and holding-no joy. Eventually got through and was promised a call back,,,, that never happened. If you are ordering from Ireland just forget about it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sofa”

Written on: 08/11/2020 by Garrisonzj15 (1 review written)

Bought a corner sofa from M&S. Within 12 months of very little use (there are only 2 of us) the fabric began to pill, so badly that it was uncomfortable to sit on we had to sit on a throw. M&S sent an inspector who claimed it was caused by us sitting on it!! The store we ordered it from admitted it was unsatisfactory but refused to take the complaint any further. The sofa looks dreadful and is so uncomfortable to sit on we are considering recovering it at our own expense after barely 2 years… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clayton79's Comment

Written on: 12/11/2020

We are having a similar issue. Just had the chap from Castalan (furniture sure) out to look at it and he took one look and said it’s the fire retardant covering on the cushion covers... when he unzipped it you could clearly see the retardant material had started to come away and was forming clumps etc in the cushions

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Leather armchair.”

Written on: 29/10/2020 by Ronjackman (1 review written)

Purchased a leather armchair from M&S in December 2019. Took delivery of the same on 2nd March 2020. Within 5 months all the colour is peeling from the back of the chair. M&S organised an inspection and about 3 weeks later I received a E-mail stating that there was no manufacturers defect. The chair looks dreadful and unsightly and M&S will do nothing about it. Their customer service is a disgrace. Please do not purchase any leather furniture from these people. It is poor quality and you will… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Flat pack bedside tables and chest of drawers- compact”

Written on: 19/06/2020 by KanePenn302 (1 review written)

Shoddy quality that was damaged in the box, mDF all splintered on a few pieces in the box. Tried to put a bedside table together and there were panels missing. Asked for collection and refund and have been waiting 2 months for them to collect this rubbish product… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Fumes!”

Written on: 03/02/2020 by ECleland (1 review written)

After the terrible customer service I’ve had from M&S and them refusing to satisfactorily publish my review on their website (funny that as it’s not a good one) thought I’d share it here.... Relates to a CHILDRENS bed..... This bed looks great and is solid but the smell of fumes coming off it are a health hazard! I contacted M&S after delivery to complain and was told it has happened before and the bed must be from a "bad batch" and it should go within 2 weeks. Said if they were to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bridgedon1's Response to ECleland's Review

Written on: 22/02/2020

It is toxic and harmful. We’ve had the same issue with wardrobes from the ‘Hastings’ range at M&S. My husbnd tests air pollution for schools as part of his job so he decided to check the levels of VOC’s and formaldehyde coming off our wardrobes. The monitor started with a ‘healthy’ reading throughout our house, then in the bedroom wity the wardrobes the alarm starts to sound and the readings are ‘unhealthy’.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Leather 4 piece suite”

Written on: 05/01/2020 by 6Melton (1 review written)

Ordered Berkeley furniture summer 2018,unable to defer delivery due to storage charge and building delays.. when moving furniture into house for Christmas 2018, noted that electric recliner had been smashed, dropped from a high height, manual recliner chair was badly scuffed and sofa cushions had slash marks on them. We were devastated has it had been a major outlay. Customer service required a lot of chasing up, made sympathetic noises once they had seen photos of the damage, replacements were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad customer service”

Written on: 11/12/2019

SHAME ON YOU MARKS AND SPENCER CUSTOMER SERVICE My mum went in Cheltenham store and saw nest of 2 tables she liked, she ordered them there and paid, delivery was ok but full light my mum noticed large table was faulty, a big dark strip running across table, she rang them up to discuss a change and somebody promised to get back to her within 24 hours, but they didn’t, after waiting a few days she rang again, same thing happened, a week later she tried again and same thing happened, this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Abbey sofa”

Written on: 30/10/2019 by unABBEY (1 review written)

Having owned 2 abbey leather sofa 14 years ago, 14 months ago got rid of one of them as is was two big for the room and Bering happy over the last 14 years with the sofas we orders another one but smaller, well what a costly mistake, after 14 months of use the lacquer has started to peel on one arm of the sofa, called M&S who arranged a person from FIRA to come out and have a look, the technician arrived and I showed him the problem with the arm and that we Han never had a problem with the ones… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Abbey sofa bed”

Written on: 02/10/2019 by Luciana20 (1 review written)

The Abbey sofa bed was in storage till we flitted on1st of July. We did not see the bed out in the shop. We had a guest to stay and tried out the bed. In the past I had exactly the same sofa bed and it had a really thick mAttress before. I had no sleep and felt the metal bars and slats. The new mAttress was so thin you felt everything. I was very disappointed and had to pay to put my guest up in hotel. I feel very let down by what should have been a quality sofa bed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“chest of drawers has foul chemical odour”

Written on: 16/09/2019 by Pamelat1974 (1 review written)

Purchased a Sandhurst 3 drawer chest and delivered on 11 September. Two serious faults with this - although the photograph on website shows three deep drawers when opened they are nothing more than very shallow trays so useless for jumpers etc. The drawer fronts are deceptive and OK there is a very small pic showing these drawers slightly open but who on earth would suspect that such deep drawer fronts would contain such shallow interiors? Far worse to come - the smell coming from this piece of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wrong furniture, no furniture, appalling Service”

Written on: 17/03/2019

To cut a very long story short, we will never give M&S our custom again and can I respectfully suggest that you do the same unless you can easily tolerate gross incompetence and have nothing better to do with your time but wrestle with M&S to get the service and furniture you paid for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“M&S Copenhagen corner sofa”

Written on: 14/12/2018 by Nylah249 (1 review written)

Marks & Spencer Copenhagen Corner Sofa - Poor Build quality. On delivery, couldn't put the 2 sofa pieces together as the metal clasps were missing, they had never been fitted at the factory, sofa useless as seats move apart. MS promised the parts would come, after 9 days they said they would not be available till January and as this would leave us without a sofa over Christmas we rejected the item and will buy from a reputable furniture outlet. Shocking service all round, never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Damaged & poorly finished”

Written on: 24/09/2018 by Lezdeb (1 review written)

We purchased and stored a bed for 2 months as we were having our house refurbished.when we unpacked it there was damage.M&S sent an independant assessor to check it . It could not be repaired and we should have reported it a lot sooner.We also pointed out that the bed was poorly finished with screw holes visible as they had not been covered and smoothed over neatly. They said the report stated there was nothing wrong with the bed and told us to speak to the ombudsmen and they would not speak to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview