Gran Turismo 3 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Addiction Level

  • Graphics

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gran Turismo 3 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Gran Turismo 3

Gran Turismo 3
Gran Turismo 3
Gran Turismo 3
Gran Turismo 3
Gran Turismo 3
Gran Turismo 3

Specification for Gran Turismo 3

Main Features
Genre Racing / Driving
Multiplayer / Online Mulitplayer Yes, Online No
PEGI 3+
Main characteristics
Publisher: Sony
Genre: Racing / Driving
PEGI Age Rating: Age 3+
Other Features
Online: Online Gaming Support
Max. Number Of Players: 2

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“I like everything about the game from the choice of...”

Written on: 27/09/2008 by 1256236 (1 review written)

I like everything about the game from the choice of cars (too many to list) to the wheel shop and the license centre.

The only thing I dont like is the fact that I drive (in real life) a Nissan Skyline GT-R V-spec II (R34) the very same one from the game and I have spent over £130,000 tuning the engine. In the game the car sounds very much like a factory spec car even when tuned up like my own and I assure you mine does not sound factory spec...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Superb graphics with many tracks and cars. The sounds...”

Written on: 04/09/2006 by brains (36 reviews written)

Superb graphics with many tracks and cars. The sounds of the cars are very realistic. Your can hear different engine sounds from different makes and models of cars. Sounds very realistic. You can do license tests to unlock more levels. Being able to upgrade your car is the best; you can make your dream car with its cool customization. In multiplayer you can play many of your friends, if you have multi-tap you can make the game even more exciting. Collect winnings to customize your car mechanically,
electrically, suspension, brakes and tires to improve the cars overall performance. Many cars to choose from everyday commuting cars to the ultra high performance luxury sports cars including classics like A.C Cobra. Race in many different tracks from public roads, rally circuits and race tracks. The scenery backdrops are very realistic but the music soundtrack may not be to everyone's taste. Quite an enjoyable, can be purchased quite cheap as it's an old game. I recommend the game as it still stands up to the new more expensive games. Recommended. A good classic.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Gran Turismo 3 may I say in my opinion the best racing...”

Written on: 20/06/2005 by jeffw1990 (8 reviews written)

Gran Turismo 3 may I say in my opinion the best racing game of all time until Gran Turismo 4 hit the stores! The Graphics are excellent considering how old the game is - it was put out in 2001 if I'm not mistaken. The cars are great and look so realistic and the scenery of the tracks is very advanced much better than most of the racing games that are being made today. Overall this game is the legend of all the Racing games out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The PS2 game Gran Turismo 3 is by far the best driving...”

Written on: 15/07/2004 by Bojangles (143 reviews written)

The PS2 game Gran Turismo 3 is by far the best driving game ever created in my own opinion. The graphics are breath taking, they have so many beautiful exotic cars, I loved sooping my car up,and racing in competetions. This game has a very fun and interesting story line. Buy this game and you will never stop playing it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Gran Turismo 3 is the best driving simulator (until...”

Written on: 16/03/2004 by archer dan (3 reviews written)

Gran Turismo 3 is the best driving simulator (until GT4 comes out), if you havent got it yet, you really should, you won't regret it, takes time to complete, but you won't notice with the amount of fun being had.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“There is nothing bad about Gran Turismo 3 on the...”

Written on: 10/10/2003 by michaelcharlton121 (7 reviews written)

There is nothing bad about Gran Turismo 3 on the playstation2, you can't complain about the length or about the realism, what more can i say this game is faltless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Gran Turismo in my own words come short of what it was...”

Written on: 28/03/2003 by Deadman. (1 review written)

Gran Turismo in my own words come short of what it was expected of. still taking into fact that it is still a great game, there were several areas that added to disappointment. Polyphony somewhat came short of the standard they set for Gran Turismo and Gran Turismo 2. Hardcore car lovers would still consider this a must buy though, so peoples' taste still come into consideration.




GRAPHICS


by far the greatest aspect of Gran Turismo. amazing visual detail of the vehicles has been coupled in with very detailed surroundings.




SOUND


the sound of the cars are very realistic. it's like they've shoved a microphone up the exhaust pipe to really feel the bore of the car.




GAMEPLAY


still the same as the other gran turismo games. replay options and licence tests are still available. being able to upgrade your car to become your dream machine is a high point.




MULTIPLAYER


although this is still good, i am disappointed that you couldn't race against a friend and four other cars at the same time. great fun when you have a multi tap.




OVERALL UPS AND DOWNS


the biggest let down is the severe tyre damage. it is way too harsh and makes your high powered vehicle almost impossible to control on sharp turns. this allows opposition to overtake you when they have no tyre damage at all. even when you race with perfect control you will be penalised with severe tyre damage.




the game lacks the amount of cars it has in Gran Turismo 2. with the PS2s power it is more than possible to have this. Gran Turismo 2 caters for car fans with more that 400 cars while Gran Turismo 3 has a mere 190. although the best brands are there, some fans might miss out.




licence tests are great and will really challenge you. i particularly liked the last test on the international a licence because it tested your turning capability. there many tests that will make you proud when you achieve earning your licence.




OVERALL RATING


i think this game has many ups and downs but still came short of its standard set. or maybe we expect to much of polyphony digital. overall i give this game a 7/10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Great game that is medium difficulty. But it lacks on...”

Written on: 17/12/2002 by veally boy. (1 review written)

Great game that is medium difficulty. But it lacks on the amount of cars. It has great graphics worth at least a nine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It's a really all around sweet game. I've been...”

Written on: 08/12/2002 by Freakshow. (1 review written)

It's a really all around sweet game. I've been playing this game for three weeks and love it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Gran Turismo 3 for the Sony Playstation 2 is very...”

Written on: 26/02/2002 by DJ Mowglee. (1 review written)

Gran Turismo 3 for the Sony Playstation 2 is very good, 'nuff said!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“first the bad points about Gran Turismo 3 on the Sony...”

Written on: 23/01/2002 by fru. (1 review written)

first the bad points about Gran Turismo 3 on the Sony Playstation 2:
As the playstation 2 doesn't appear to have anti-aliasing support, the backgrounds appear blocky and slightly wavy. But this is more to do with the game playstation unit itself.
Next of the major problems is the handling of the cars. The cars take several (what feels like) seconds to respond and once they do if you are not light on the analogue or D pad doing high speeds the car goes into a skid, even on the lightest touch. If you are doing a fairly low speed the car seems to turn slow. Overall, the handling of the cars are very unrealistic and detracts from the games good looks.

The good points:
The game uses every last ounce of the playstations resources to push the high quality textures which do look pretty realistic. The game also uses a high polygone count so the cars look extremely realistic.
There are also masses of cars to choose from in a wide range of classes so if you can put up with the handling the game will keep you occupied for weeks.
Last is the cost of the game. Sorry but I feel the playstation 2 customers are being frankly, ripped off. I own a Ps2 and a PC and I feel having to pay and extra £15 squiglies for a game is just too much. But, considering all of the games are high priced for the console I feel this game is really good value for money. Especially if you want to show off the graphics its the game for you.......just don't look at the background ehhhhh ;-).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

21734_Slipknot.'s Response to 10404_fru.'s Review

Written on: 30/04/2002

Without wanting to demean this review, I have to say I strongly disagree with some points. Although GT3 has now been out for a while and went onto the platinum shelf months ago, it's still the best console driving game by far. All the graphics capacity were spent upon the cars themselves, the movement, appearance etc. The result is jaw dropping with real cars & brand names accurately represented & all available for you to thrash!
<br>
<br>Although each version of GT appears to have made for slower gameplay, it's actually got more realistic. For example, in GT1 you could corner faster than is physically possible in real life. GT2 got closer to the real deal, but still some ludicrous manouevres were possible. GT3 really does simulate the real thing, make a silly mistake and spin on a corner and you've most likely thrown the race! You really have to think about weight distribution & car setup seriously.
<br>
<br>In short, despite the PS2 having a smaller brain than the Gamecube & Xbox, it delivers the best driving game by far. Most importantly, as per usual for playstation, it's playability is unrivalled.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rowan's Response to 10404_fru.'s Review

Written on: 06/01/2004

Did you have your eyes closed whilst playing the game!?
<br>It is beautifully realistic and it seems near impossible that GT4 will look even better!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carsncars.'s Response to 10404_fru.'s Review

Written on: 27/12/2002

I strongly disagree with this review. I mean, if you were really going at like 120mph, and tried to manouver, don't you think it'd be a little easier to spin out?!? And the car only responds slowly if you only lightly tap the stick, but if you push the stick further, it will manouver quicker. I think that's good because if you're on a larger curve, then little, subtle, adjustments are needed. For the turning at slow speeds, you have to go slow, but not too slow or too fast. Ten it turns perfectly. Also, the backgrounds might look a little wobbly because there is a simulated 'mirage' effect from the heat of the tarmac. If you go into the Stage 5 Rainy mode, then you don't see this. The graphics are REALLY good.... I agree with that. :) The rain graphics are really good, too.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“GRAN TURISMO 3 IS WICKED. BUY IT”

Written on: 02/11/2001 by peter. (1 review written)

GRAN TURISMO 3 IS WICKED. BUY IT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview