Kyrenia, Oscar Resort Hotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1 / 5
56% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kyrenia, Oscar Resort Hotel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kyrenia, Oscar Resort Hotel

Kyrenia, Oscar Resort Hotel

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“no evening entertainment, .the bar is very overpriced .”

Written on: 13/10/2014 by bogtrot (1 review written)

staff friendly and helpful, food good. gardens and pools excellent.rooms generally good, they can get a bit tired by the end of the season. Evening entertainment very poor, not worth staying in for. When you are on holiday you need some entertainment after dinner. Come on Oscars we are on holiday and want to stay up late. Don't close the bar at 11pm and turn off the lights… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“eşimle birlikte bir haftalık tatilimizi ge irdiğimiz...”

Written on: 11/09/2010

eşimle birlikte bir haftalık tatilimizi ge irdiğimiz oscar otelinden olduk a memnun kaldık. Sahilini ok beğendik, yemekler, bir harika… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We found Oscars resort to be an extreme...”

Written on: 15/09/2009

We found Oscars resort to be an extreme disappointment. It is simply not 4*. We stayed in a mini villa, which was very basic and did not have sufficient cooking facilities to properly self cater. I would describe the villa as good 2* accomodation. We were moved from the first villa, which had no cooker or hob and an over poweringly bad smell. We did not want to spend any time in the villa. At night, the only lights were energy saving light bulbs sticking bare out of the wall. The gym consisted… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Been to Oscar Resort Hotel in Kyrenia twice and happy...”

Written on: 24/03/2009 by harryos (1 review written)

Been to Oscar Resort Hotel in Kyrenia twice and happy with the sevrvice. All staff was good enough need more English trainie but all was very friendly and helpfull. Nice sea view room well equipped with tea &coffe making facilities, hair dryer and the safe box, shower bath, nice balcony was superb view. Outside of area was nice and the facilities are fantastic like aqua park, the wave pool and the health club.
The restaurant food eas excellent, helpfull staff runnung behind you to make you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Rooms fine at Oscar Resort Hotel, clean and well...”

Written on: 24/03/2009 by mike moore (1 review written)

Rooms fine at Oscar Resort Hotel, clean and well maintained, all you need and very comfortable. Food was fantastic, the staff make our holiday more friendly. Restaurant food really excellent every night. Location and transportation facilities are very good. The little train was superb but need more services during the day. Health & Fitness Center fantastic sauna steam bath and the gym. Lobby bar lounge enjoy with the low music while using the free wireless internet
Definitly go there again … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have been the Oscar Resort for 2 times and it was...”

Written on: 20/09/2008 by EShellby (1 review written)

I have been the Oscar Resort for 2 times and it was fantastic. You can see whatever you want in this hotel. There are 3 pools and one of them is a wave pool with boats in it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Oscar Resort Hotel has an enviable position,...”

Written on: 19/09/2008

Oscar Resort Hotel has an enviable position, straddling the sparkling unique waters of the Mediterranean on the side and the imposing Five Fingers Mountains on the other. Recognized as the a little place in earth, touch by haven, Kyrenia ' s reputation as Cyprus ' s pearl finest resort. Oscar ' s Resort Hotel, Club Kyrenia is a resort type property,
offering three different types of accommodations as Main Hotel rooms (Land & Sea View), Pink Court Apt ' s (Studio & Gallery) & Mini Villas called… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“In general I wouldn't go to this hotel because its...”

Written on: 31/08/2008

In general I wouldn't go to this hotel because its very expensive and there's nothing to do at night time and there's nothing near it to go and have a walk round. I would not recommend you hire a car from Oscars car hire as my first car the clutch broke the second one had no seat belts but the third one was ok lol. Car hire is £25 a day for a car that is ten years old. I wish I never went… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Would not recommend to anyone due to the staff being...”

Written on: 23/08/2008 by joyful3 (1 review written)

Would not recommend to anyone due to the staff being be rude and unfriendly and the above bad points… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“This is in a nice position next to the Vuni Palace...”

Written on: 22/08/2008 by carolec (1 review written)

This is in a nice position next to the Vuni Palace Hotel which has a beautiful swimming pool. Oscars was recommended by the travel agent as we have children but Vuni Palace is far superior to Oscars and was only £200 more expensive for the four of us so wished I had booked the Vuni Palace. You can also use the pools at Oscars if you stay at Vuni Palace as they are next door to each other. The pools at Oscars are good - especially the slide pool, but the tiling needs updating as the tiles are… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I think it was over priced, does not seem to be a 4*...”

Written on: 18/08/2008 by mcpigeon (1 review written)

I think it was over priced, does not seem to be a 4* more like a mediocre 3*. We booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children (5&2). We paid almost the same price for the children as the adults and we requested a large room to accommodate all of us - again paying extra - when we got to the hotel it was a normal size double room jammed full with 4 beds and I thought the room absolutely reaked of stale cigarette smoke!
Found some of the reception staff to be unhelpful, and said that this was the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Our short break in Kyrenia northern Cyprus at the...”

Written on: 23/06/2008 by bushbybabe (6 reviews written)

Our short break in Kyrenia northern Cyprus at the Oscar Resort hotel which was absolutely fabulous. We got upgraded to a suite with Jacuzzi private bar and great views. The most amazing thing about this holiday was four nights Dinner, breakfast, lunch and all drinks at a very reasonable price.

The hotel was really good, food was buffet style but great choice and really good quality. We had three pools to choose from, a wave pool, a slide pool and a large swimming pool which our daughter spent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mcpigeon's Response to bushbybabe's Review

Written on: 18/08/2008

I think if you stayed longer at the hotel, you may have felt differently. Definitely not a place to bring children under 5.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Very good position, it is only 20 km walking distance...”

Written on: 03/03/2008 by archeruska (1 review written)

Very good position, it is only 20 km walking distance to old harbour. Taxi cost you 5 ytl about 2 gbp. We loved the little train which runs three times during the day. Staff & meals was perfectly good what else to say we will be back again soon… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good position of Hotel, superb Health/Fitness Club ”

Written on: 29/01/2008 by archers (1 review written)

Good position of Hotel, superb Health/Fitness Club
Choice of bars and restaurant served fresh food. Baverages super value. Absolutley good hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Overall, we had a lovely time, and you can not beat...”

Written on: 11/07/2006 by isisella (1 review written)

Overall, we had a lovely time, and you can not beat Kyrenia! It is a very beautiful place.

I would definitely re-visit Northern Cyprus, but I would not stay at the Oscar Resort again. The Villa at the Oscar Resort was advertised as a 4*, but it was NOT! It might have been when Oscars was built, but most certainly not now! It is in desperate need of refurbishment… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Oscar resort in Cyprus is a lovely place with so...”

Written on: 02/04/2006 by Lucy Armstrong (1 review written)

The Oscar resort in Cyprus is a lovely place with so much to do for families, couples and groups etc. in the town and around the harbour. We found the prices of boat trips and meals etc very likable, even managing to spend £12 on a full meal for 4! Rooms were very easy to live in, although small, but perfect if time was spent mostly in or around the rest of the hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“We arrived at Oscars after a very long flight from...”

Written on: 06/10/2005 by tra98sew (1 review written)

We arrived at Oscars after a very long flight from Manchester, (which included landing in Istanbul to enable 4 passengers to get off and 6 to get on), at around 3 am, where we arrived to a closed bar and very dim lighting. The room was way below our expectations and the roads leading to the hotel had all the charm and allure of downtown Basra, (not even a pavement!). The location of the hotel is some way out of Kyrenia, which took about 20 minutes to walk, if wanted to take chances with the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The quote of the holiday is from another guest I met...”

Written on: 11/07/2005 by Mr Objective (1 review written)

The quote of the holiday is from another guest I met whilst struggling to be served at the hotel bar, the other guest said" this was the first holiday he'd ever been on when a week would have been long enough".
The quote of the holiday is from another guest I met whilst struggling to be served at the hotel bar, the other guest said" this was the first holiday he'd ever been on when a week would have been long enough". Arriving on time after a very efficient flight from Manchester with Cyprus… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Disgruntled0001's Response to 201312_Mr Objective's Review

Written on: 13/10/2005

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Oscars Resort - worst holiday we have ever had! Bar staff sleazy and rude - actual mini villa itself was o.k. - however be aware that the beach has raw sewage pumped into it from the hotel! Fortunately we spotted this when we walked a few yards from the main beach area so were saved the disgusting experience of actually swimming in it! Also the gardens are watered very late at night with what certainly smells like toilet contents again - the result is amazingly lush banana trees - iris's lemon trees fig trees etc - however the smell meant you couldn't bear to sit amongst it. Also if you are blonde you will be leered at constantly by the gangs of soldiers roaming the town on their days off even if - as in my case you are with your 6ft 4 boyfriend! The leering is not just restricted to the soldiers - we didn't take a taxi again after a driver turned round and blatantly looked up my skirt!
<br>The shops in Kyrenia are good - quite nice souveneirs reasonably priced - the guy selling the hand carved puzzle boxes is a great showman and is one of the few non lechy men out there!
<br>We ended up hiring a car for (11 days from oscars car hire which was reasonable at £20 per day inc air con and insurance) because that was the only way to get to non polluted beaches - the Escape is beautiful although you pay £4 - but the food served there was some of the best we tasted.
<br>Another thing - if you like kebabs at every meal you will be OK but if you would like to try anything else you you will be hard pressed to find anything apart from greasy versions of lasagne or chicken kiev.
<br>Avoid the Lemon Tree restaurant along the coast road - we were confined to the villa for 48 hrs after eating there with severe upset stomachs.
<br>Sorry to be so negative but these are our experiences.- The odd thing is most people we spoke to had all been coming to kyrenia for years and those that hadn't said they would come back! I don't know if it was the time we went - 26th sept - 10th oct but all other tourists were in the 60 + age bracket and maybe were less discerning re food and smells than us!
<br>And the sad thing is that the country is truly beautiful - The sea is a genuine travel brochure turqoise as was a beautiful lake we discovered high in the mountains - however litter is everywhere. I believe it to be the residents rather than the tourists - they just don't seem to realise that beer bottles and plastic bottles will not break down for years and years so unless they stop littering - the island will eventually become a huge rubbish tip.
<br>Also they are intent on ripping up olive groves etc in order to throw up villa after villa - so yes - the mistakes of Benedorm etc in the 70's will be repeated in Nortern Cyprus.
<br>If you have already booked - sorry - I hope you have a better time than we did - otherwise - look elsewhere!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview