Navman iCN 650 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Navman iCN 650
50.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Clarity of Instructions

  • Map Accuracy

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Navman iCN 650 - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“I bought a Navman ICN650 for £600 in 2005 just as...”


written by AView on 04/02/2008

I bought a Navman ICN650 for £600 in 2005 just as Tomtom were bringing out their GO series but the European version didn't become available in time for our vacation in June so I bought the Navman. I was a little bit wary of a company who had ditched their previous software and customers who bought the previous software (Navteq) for the better (so they said) Tele-Atlas software, but as I said the choice wasn't there so I bought the Navman. The ICN650 performed reasonably except it was a slow start on some mornings but we would just set off and let the unit wake up and find the satellites on the way this took about 10 minutes on a couple of occasions.
Returning to the UK the unit worked well but copper roofs seamed to have a sticking effect throwing the unit into confusion, on the whole I was pleased with the ICN650 so in the spring of 2006 I decided as the new SmartST2005 software was available I would upgrade to the new maps which I purchased for £75,00 and loaded into the unit. The new software that runs the mapping is quicker than the SmartSTV3 because it doesn't need to load all the maps only the specified countries but the background and the roads no longer line up correctly, so much of Morecombe for instance is in Morecambe bay and the docks at Calais are floating in the Channel etc. and the mapping was probably from 2003 because roads that were well established were still missing even though they appear correctly on the Tele-Atlas web maps.
I of course contacted Navman each time some thing was amiss so that they could correct things with the next up-date they had promised when I bought the ICN650, only I was to be totally ignored, I never received any acknowledgement and the updates didn't happen.
If you check their web site you will see that they no longer support the ICN650 and the new SmartST2006 or higher software is not compatible with the older units, again the wonderful people at Navman have dumped their customers and software what more can I say. I have spent nearly £700,00 and I would have paid more to keep the unit up to date but it looks like Navman want me to buy a new unit rather than pay for new software.
To sum up Navman make reasonable Satnav units but I cannot recommend a company that behaves like Navman had I been able to buy the Tomtom (I was 2 months too early) it is still supported so it would have been a better buy in the long run, all I can tell you is if I buy another unit it won't be a Navman.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I bought the iCN650 because we were going to Sweden on...”


written by Stevesview on 04/07/2005

I bought the iCN650 because we were going to Sweden on holiday and the combination of driving on the right in a hire car with foreign place-names, maps and bifocals was becoming difficult. The unit performed superbly taking the hassle out of many miles of travel (about 2,000 miles it's a big country) There were times when it struggled to find stable satellite bearings especially when starting it up in a street with high buildings having copper roofs but we found by starting the satnav first then loading our other things like cameras, coats etc. By the time we had got the car moving it had sorted it's self out, also we found that there were certain dead spots where the signal was lost for about 20 seconds before the chirpy voice informed us to "continue for the next ----".
Having the full Euro maps ready loaded was superb and the level of detail was astonishing allowing us to explore forest roads we wouldn't have dared to use without knowing where it would take us as we didn't have a 4x4 and Sweden has vast areas of woodland and lakes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site