PS3 - Sony Playstation 3 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.0 / 5
78% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Graphics

  • Range Of Games

  • Value For Money

Summary

The PS3 is Sony's video game console. Offering BluRay DVD playback, the latest games, state of the art graphics and almost unrivalled gameplay, the PlayStation 3.

Have you bought one of the new slim PS3's? Write your slim playstation 3 review here.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for PS3 - Sony Playstation 3

PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3
PS3 - Sony Playstation 3

Specification for PS3 - Sony Playstation 3

Main characteristics
Console Type: Home Console
Platform: PlayStation 3
Gaming Type: Online Gaming LAN Gaming Multiplayer Gaming
Processor
Processor type: Cell
Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz
Memory
Installed RAM: 256 MB
Installed Cache Memory: 512 KB
Memory Bus Bandwidth: 25.6 GB/sec
RAM Speed: 3200 MHz
RAM technology: XDR
Display
Max. Resolution: 1920 x 1080
Graphics
Graphic Processor: NVIDIA RSX
Graphic Processor Speed: 550 MHz
Graphic Card Memory: 256 MB
Polygons Per Second: 75 Million
Storage Type
Hard Drive Size: 60 GB
Optical Drive Type: BD-ROM
Optical Drive Speed: 24x (CD) 8x (DVD)
Audio
Audio Support: Dolby Digital 5.1
Audio Out: Line Out Digital Out (Optical) Connector HDMI out x 2
Technical Features
Communication Type: Bluetooth IEEE 802.11b IEEE 802.11g Fast Ethernet Gigabit Ethernet
Expansion Slots: SD Card Memory Stick Pro Duo Memory Stick Duo Compact Flash (I/II)
Wireless Capabilities: IEEE 802.11b IEEE 802.11g Bluetooth 2.0
Input / Output Ports: RJ-45 4 x USB
DVD Movie Playback: DVD Movie Playback
Other Features
Other Features: Broadband Enabled
Other
Height: 9.8 cm
Width: 32.5 cm
Depth: 27.4 cm
Weight: 5 kg
External Color: Black
Release Date: November 17, 2006

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Amazing”

Written on: 10/12/2014 by matjens15 (8 reviews written)

I just bought my son this console, my son is obsessed and will not stop playing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Our families review”

Written on: 12/10/2013 by TheRounds (2 reviews written)

Much improved machine, having used the old for over 4 years we thought it was time for the family to enjoy an upgrade. The kids love it but more importantly we get to play together as a family. A perfect present for any young boy or adolescent!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good improvement”

Written on: 31/05/2013 by KnoxCraul419 (5 reviews written)

From the 2 this is a much better Playstation, the graphics have improved significantly, and so has the speed and precision. I love the fact that I can use it as a home network and have everything in the house connected to it, television, computer you name it, and everything is controlled from there, the space it has is more than enough to hold my music and movies, kids use it, wife uses it, and I use it, a great complete tool that functions as a game console as well as a home hub.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“PS3 REVIEW”

Written on: 01/05/2013

not to bad dont like how meny updates there is before you play a game is the best console to buy in terms of online could be alot better

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★☆

“Funtastic ”

Written on: 06/04/2013 by fredsta (2 reviews written)

Great got for my son loved it ergh he cant get off it now but oh well he loves it. So i'd recommend it for a gift.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“PS3 breaks as warranty runs out!! AGAIN!!!”

Written on: 17/03/2013 by Bazz74 (1 review written)

Ok, I have bought 3 brand new PS3's over this last few years and everyone of them have broken down as the warranty has run out... This time my PS3 is 6 months out of warranty, and Sony PS3 tried to sell me some remanufactured console for £110. If I am forking out a few hundred quid for anything I expect it to last for a few years. That's my 3rd now so I do think Sony are taking the P. Now they want my broken PS3 for nothing yet charge me for some other dud so it can break down just over the year as well. My review here is to make people aware about just what they are buying. If you want to be out of pocket go right ahead, this is just a warning. Does anybody else think this is a coincidence that 3 new PS3's have broken down as the warranty runs out. I have a laptop cost me £300 5 years ago and haven't had a problem. I have a Wii 6 years now and still working. PS3 and Sony have a lot to answer for. I won't be buying your dud machines again that's for sure. I will be selling all my games as I don't intend to make them any richer and if any of you have any sense, you will do the same. Don't listen to the rubbish its this good and that good. Imagine paying £300-400 for a new PS4 with 1 years warranty. That's a big sting in the pocket, for anyone. Don't bother ringing Sony for help, its out of warranty and they will want to take your broken PS4 and sell you another one but this time your lucky, you get 3 months warranty. Its ridiculous. Warranties should be 2-3 years, why not? I've a funny feeling this would cost Sony too much money. Do yourselves a big favour, SAVE YOUR MONEY, stay away from SONY and their terrible products. SONY try and sue me, see how far you get you scumbags!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“One of the best gaming consoles”

Written on: 15/03/2013

my time with the playstation 3 has been fantastic. when this amazing game is pared with the sony exclusive games such as the well acclaimed uncharted series, great visual overwhelm you, and you are given one of the most beautiful visual displays ever experienced. one of the many great things about the playstation would be its easy to learn controls, contributed with the games. also while playing u will encounter a very few amount of glitches, because of the game or system itself. all in all i would recommend this product to anyone looking for a console that will give you the most bang for your buck.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My Review On The Ps3”

Written on: 01/03/2013 by DezSanchez (2 reviews written)

I have had a Playstation 3 for about 2 years now. It is a great system to own and have! I play it about 10 hours a week and love every bit of it. I would highly recommend this system over a Xbox 360. Plus you don't even have to pay to play online! The system itself can take quite a beating as well! Hope this review helped!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“FANTASTIC”

Written on: 09/01/2013

its the best console by far, free online game play, great games, and really durable. :).. buy it.. NOW!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Best for Hardcore Gamers & Exclusives”

Written on: 12/12/2012 by shanlivingston21 (2 reviews written)

PS3 is best for hardcore gamers and for exclusives like God of War, Kill Zone, Uncharted, Metal Gear Solid. and their Graphics are also awesomeness.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“love this thing”

Written on: 22/10/2012 by wisonzelma (2 reviews written)

i bought the ps3 a few months back and have fallen in love with it, play it nearly everyday the graphics are great with such a great selection of games for adults and kids, i have a wii aswell but much prefer this asthe graphics and online game play are far superior. Get one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“ps3 updates stick with 360”

Written on: 05/08/2012 by dan360 (1 review written)

I brought a ps3 3 days ago and still have not played it as every time i go to play it has some sort of update , first the console updated which took some time so no joy that day, day 2 put the game in and message on screen to said to play this game it must be installed on hard drive which i thought would be quick how wrong, day 3 im sitting waiting to play as the game has 8 updates before i play what a joke , now i remember why I sold my first ps3 and stock with the 360, much better for people who dont have all day to play, quick updates cannot compare graphics as have not played yet ive only really brought to play games that are not on xbox but because im joined to love film so i just rent games and now blue ray dvds .why do update on ps3 take so long compared to the xbox it just so boring

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Slim, quiet, works like a dream!”

Written on: 13/07/2012 by GeraldH (7 reviews written)

I bought the slim ps3 around a year ago in a package with FIFA12. I'm mightily impressed by all the extras you get with this, such as the blu-ray player (which has changed my life!) and the web video services like iPlayer and 4OD. I heard some people complain about the level of noise the machine makes when it's running, but to be honest I hardly hear it when the TV's sound is on. Since I bought I soundbar for my TV (which I would also recommend) I hardly hear the playstation at all. The wireless controller's battery lasts a long time and the gameplay is a huge step up from ps2. I have never been a huge gamer so the extras that come with the ps3 make it perfect for me. Free online play is a great bonus, I enjoy thrashing cocky kids!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“An ultimate gaming machine”

Written on: 03/07/2012 by kiddy (2 reviews written)

An ultimate gaming machine with 7 processors which when used together gives ultimate performance to gamers. It can also be used for Multimedia as well. Glad to have it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best for Hardcore Gamers & Exclusives”

Written on: 29/06/2012 by drak3 (2 reviews written)

PS3 is best for hardcore gamers and for exclusives like God of War, Kill Zone, Uncharted, Metal Gear Solid. and their Graphics are also awesomeness. variety of Games is not good though!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“LOVE IT :)”

Written on: 02/05/2012 by gamergirl (1 review written)

YUP I AM SIMPLY IN LOVE WITH MY PS3 the exclusives have great life and the extended media support is just over the top!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cant fault it”

Written on: 09/04/2012

A reliable system. I like the 320gb harddisk for movies I download. Play TV is a dream (Freeview PVR tuner) battery on the wireless Controller lasts for ages Cheap to run, uses about 120watts Games on any console are very good nowadays

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst thing i have ever come across!”

Written on: 12/10/2011

I brought this console on the 3rd of october with high expectations because the price was thenomenal! i got it and it didnt work so i took it back the same day and got a replacement but the replacement broke every cd i put in it! so i took that one back and got another replacement it all seemed ok until it started smoking and blew up and it never worked again. Taken it back and got my money. I brought 2 xbox's because they were the same price as 1 PS3 and they are amazing! definatly going to keep my xbox forever!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“AMAZING! ”

Written on: 04/09/2011 by drinmurf (14 reviews written)

Do not get an xbox or nintendo because they suck compared to this! Amazing graphics, blue ray player, hd, online gaming and downloads, huge range of games, fantastic looks, easy to use and original controller. Controller is wireless but you get a usb charger which is great. Buy one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“FANASTIC! - sums it up. it was an amazing present that...”

Written on: 30/08/2011

FANASTIC! - sums it up. it was an amazing present that i have loved for many years now! best features have to be that it is HD,has a internet browser integrated in it and that it has tv catch up in it too! i like the cool black colour of it and the stylish shape:) it is a beast of a console!! mofo's

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview