Volkswagen Beetle 1302S 1.6 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Volkswagen Beetle 1302S 1.6
★★★★☆
4.1
80.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Volkswagen Beetle 1302S 1.6 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Volkswagen Beetle 1302S 1.6

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“'Ladybug' - my 1972 classic bug ”

★★★★★

written by Beetleboi on 12/08/2014

I've owned my 1972 beetle since November last year and bought her as a ongoing project. On getting it home I found a list of jobs that needed doing so set to on getting them done. In April this year(2014) she took her maiden voyage out and ran like a dream. Have taken it to a couple of VW festivals and had a lot of admiration. Head Turner - definitely, stand out from others - hell yeah and attention of other people - yes loads, well worth the purchase of this 1972 old girl. Bugs are fun to drive, easy to maintain, great way to meet new people if you get into a club or group and a cheap and economical car to own. Bring back the classics that's what I say!!!!! Downside is light on front end but a bag of sand, cement or a couple bricks strapped down in boot space sort this. If you have a large dog ie a husky not a good idea, mine bounced around on backseat causing bare springs underneath back seat to catch battery terminals and short car out, so got couple bits of wood board and covered compartments under back seat - problem solved.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Volkswagen Beetle 1302S is a cheap runner and great...”

★★★★★

written by swisshuggybear on 25/11/2007

Volkswagen Beetle 1302S is a cheap runner and great fun. Big market for used and new parts,especially in Germany. If you join a club you get lots of tips how to maintain and tune your beetle, where to get cheap parts and much more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have owned a '76 1303, called Olive, since I passed...”

★★★★★

written by Olive76 on 17/11/2007

I have owned a '76 1303, called Olive, since I passed my test 3 years ago, and I havn't looked back. You may say that these cars have a lack of actual practicality, however the typical problems can be fixed kind of easily =]. For example, you mention the front is too light. Personally, I loose my steering ability at 55mph due to the wind under the car...Simple solution!....Bricks! A couple of bricks under the bonnet solves that no problem. And as for the screen clearing, well your right. I keep a portable hair dryer in the glove compartment. Easy! =]

Basically, for the few funny issues there are, this car is well worth the small effort of such simple tasks. I love the fact that I own a car with character, shes excellent! I most definitely stand out from the crowd of modern cars seeing as shes Viper Green and very very chromey!

Also, owning a beetle is not just a matter of getting from place to place, its the social life. For example, Run To The Sun, Bugfest, and other bug gatherings. My little green bug (Olive) starts every time and has not let me down yet.

So, stop condemning the classic beetle!!! Why buy one if you're going to worry about the speed and handling? Olive is a thing of beauty and an everyday runner. She takes me from Fareham to Eastleigh on a daily basis

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“In the mid 60's I bought a used '62 beetle. It had a...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rugerman on 28/12/2006

In the mid 60's I bought a used '62 beetle. It had a sun roof and at first it was great fun to drive. But in time I started noticing its many faults in design. Its light front end made quick turns on loose footing a bit tricky. And it was noisy because of the engine blower. The French 2cv Citroen had the right idea. If you must use an air-cooled engine, mount it in front and drive the front wheels.
That first winter taught me how rubbish the heater-defroster was. It barely put out any heat while driving around town. And, I learned just how bad winds affect these cars. It blows them all over the road, or off it.
In my opinion, these cars are not something one would expect of German engineering.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to rugerman's Review

Written on: 06/07/2011

Sorry, but the 1302S came out beginning of the seventies. It was at the very end of the development of the idea. The car you write about is from the early sixties. So already not very significative.
And actually, the general design was from the late 1930s, so no surprise the 2CV was better as it was conceived with a similar spec in mind, but 18 years later.

And finally: if you need a spaceous comfy car with a heater that gives you T-shirt temperatures in the mids of winter and sticks to the road like a velcro tape, why not try a modern car. Vintage cars are from another era...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Now I think any VW air-cooled engine driver will admit...”

★★★★★

written by AWG on 25/06/2005

Now I think any VW air-cooled engine driver will admit that with valve clearances set just right, and fresh oil, - they are a joy to behold. You get a sort of smooth gentle whistling noise on a nice runner. If the heating exchanger units are also in good condition they are also warm. (Don't waste money putting those covers over them, they don't work!).
Specifics on the 1302S - steering damper fails quite often, chrome tail pipes don't last long.
Braking system good, steering keen. Like Minors, don't have them on crossply tyres.

Of course there is the question these days of driving around in a car with no accident protection apart from being sturdy, and having the petrol tank in front of you!! But this is what Classics are all about. Boot space is amusing, though there is a small storage behind the rear seat too. Floorpan is so flat it's like driving a frying pan. Absolute joy to polish and clean. Not my personal choice of fun as a DIY mechanic though (I prefer to be stood up!). If (no, WHEN) I buy another Classic, will it be a Beetle? Sorry, no. But let me say they are great.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirbydbug's Response to AWG's Review

Written on: 02/08/2005

I have a '74 beetle now and im restoring and putting after market performance parts on it... it is an awesome little car and i just hope i can outrun some of those lame little dodge neons with "mods" the best thing about the bugs are that they last forever if taken care of properly and they are cheap and simple to fix.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview