The Trainline www.thetrainline.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
The Trainline www.thetrainline.com
★★★★☆
3.5
66.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Trainline www.thetrainline.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Trainline www.thetrainline.com

Latest Reviews

“Bought an advance ticket and realised it was...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Barnesqj119 on 10/06/2024

Bought an advance ticket and realised it was incorrect. I don't even mind paying the admin fee which seems to be more regular lately as I travel a lot. I followed their 15 minute cancelation policy several times within the 15 minutes only to receive and error code RR1 with a number to call. Surprise surprise they do not answer out of office hours (some customer support that is). So after speaking to online chat on a weekday I was refused the refund for surpassing the 15 minutes, which is ridiculous as they wouldn't allow me to use their own cancelation policy at the time of booking. The code is apparently because I have cancelled a ticket in the past and it is to prevent fraud. App deleted and I will never use again...........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Trainline is the WORST please avoid using this service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DamarisRussell on 10/10/2022

This is a bad service and should be shut down. If you are lucky enough to buy tickets and travel with no issues you probably think Trainline is ok. Should there be a problem then you will see their ugly money grabbing side. Customer Service is incredibly unhelpful when trying to get a refund for trains that were cancelled. There is no option to change bought tickets to another day. There is no option to correct if you make a mistake booking eg enter wrong date - your money goes and nobody will ever help. For starters, it's hard enough to find out how to contact them and then when you do finally find the live chat, they do not answer your questions. Really unhappy and won't be using Trainline to book tickets again. Southern Rail makes it much easier to get refunds for cancelled trains, they only request photos online with a cut from corner to corner but Trainline request you to post the tickets to their office. Why have been allowed to trade in this manner. Even the reply to this will be an automatic computer generated response

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would avoid using trainline. I recently had an...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by qeMitchell200 on 27/07/2022

I would avoid using trainline. I recently had an experience where the app didn't work and said my ticket was used so I had to purchase another ticket. When I complained about it to trainline they were very dismissive and after 3 months of chasing they have said they can't work out why that happened and won't be refunding my tickets. I will never use this service again and would advise everyone else to stay clear unless you have money to throw away.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“this company are bad, took £300 off me disgusting...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by oweny on 26/07/2022

this company are bad, took £300 off me disgusting company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Trainline sends you an email to renew but it doesn't work”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Patrick415 on 18/07/2022

Time after time Trainline asks you to let them make sure you get your railcard renewed electronically. I just received an email telling me to renew (24 hours notice!!!) but all the links in their "No-Reply" email do not work! Their site has no way of contacting them. It is easier to go to your station and get it there...what a waste of time these people are...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible. Just terrible. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/06/2022

Lack of communication on train being cancelled. I can't make my journey because of the huge train strike, & they refuse to refund my tickets. I am completely disgusted!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Safer and cheaper NOT to use Trainline”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Andre124 on 23/06/2022

If you make the mistake of buying a Eurostar ticket via Trainline, you will not get so much as a contact telephone number. Their “customer service” is a pretence. Now I see that the internet is full of bad reviews of Trainline. I will avoid using Trainline and will certainly never use them to buy Eurostar tickets.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Get a Solicitor to return tickets.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RickDenby on 13/04/2022

I returned rail tickets for a refund. The letter arrived as did a part repayment. The dispute is now about what was in the envelope. I can't prove the tickets were in the envelope, and they say they weren't. Get a solicitor to return the tickets or they will abuse your trust. You have been warned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Literally the worst”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MikyMike59 on 21/12/2021

Literally the worst and least honest travel company. Hidden fees everywhere, even if you take insurance. Refundable tickets.... refundable tickets for them means 10£ fee PER TICKET when you actually claim your refund. This on top of the extortionate fees they already charge you for. And then you wonder why they don't have a direct line to speak to customer service... lol 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“£10 admin fee to change travel date”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JiggilyWig on 06/12/2021

I wanted to change the date of my ticket. This was not possible and they charged me £10 to get a refund on a £27 ticket. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Untrustworthy company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 445Hopkins on 28/11/2021

I’ve deleted my account and I will no longer use Trainline

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Avoid at all costs ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Aliyabe on 08/11/2021

Booked a ticket with Trainline and couldn’t collect at the machine. Ended up buying another one. Contacted them for refund and they say - sure. The. They refund £10 less. After days / weeks of delayed replies that make no sense they spit out there is an admin fee.. and the funnies bit is that maybe it could be a full refund if you don’t contact them?? Worst customer service ever - avoid!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Ordered 2 tickets online from Zurich to Munich. Their...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 13/10/2021

Ordered 2 tickets online from Zurich to Munich. Their website went down halfway through the order. It said to start again I did and then was charged for 2 sets of tickets. I immediately sent an email before the train left. And they basically said it was my problem or the train company's problem - not theirs? I have never had such bad customer service. I see so many bad reviews and I wish I had read them beforehand.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Can't book and pay”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mariana55 on 03/09/2021

Second time in a fortnight I've tried and failed to book on trainline.com Each time it refused payment from 3 separate credit cards (all in date, sufficient credit) and PayPal. Don't waste your time with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Shocking: price keeps going up when booking!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LHalpinKent on 28/08/2021

I am absolutely disgusted that when I select a price and train time, when I go to pay it says there is a problem and take me back to select again, but the price for the time I was planning to travel had nearly doubled!! This has now happened three time! Would not use again, can not be trusted!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I rarely say I'll never use a service again ...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jordan123456789 on 15/08/2021

I rarely say I'll never use a service again, but if Trainline's my last option home - I'll ditch my luggage and start walking. After being sold a ticket for a train that wasn't on the timetable, I show up to the station a week later ready for my train. Low and behold, it's not there - it's not on the timetable and it's not marked cancelled. I spend 2.5 hours in the rain waiting for a customer service rep on their online chat (they don't take calls on Sundays, of course!). Eventually, I reach someone who I'd happily identify as one of the unfriendliest strangers I've ever had the displeasure of talking to. I'm told that it's the train providers responsibility to tell them, who tell me, so it must be their fault or I missed an email (I missed no email). I'm incredibly late, soaking wet, down ££ from getting to the station with no train, and down more ££ for having to find my way home (+120 miles) on a Sunday with no services, I'm offered a refund. It gets better, I'm offered a refund minus the booking fee which Trainline feels it should need to return as it 'provided it's service' and it's 'not their fault'. Another 1.5 hour wait on the following Tuesday and I'm finally on the phone. I wasn't sent a transcript of the live chat to take the matter further, I wasn't provided an apology in writing, I didn't receive a call from the escalation team (beginning to think they don't have one) and my refund is taking longer than the 'maximum' 5 working days. Please, god, go book your train tickets elsewhere, it's not even cheaper through this joke of a 'service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AJ1234abcd on 05/08/2021

Rail sail tickets from Ireland to Uk are knowingly sold by these dealers knowing they can not possibly be collected in Ireland. They go to great lengths not to publicise their support line. If you can get through, they’re no help at all. Avoid these people like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Nonexistent customer care”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gabriel1959 on 18/07/2021

They put on wrong information on their website, which prevented me from downloading the ticket and nothing could be done to have a cop of the ticket in a different way. On top of that, when I called the only contact number I could find to ask for an email address to send them a refund request with attachments, the operator refused to give me their email, with no plausible reason other then to discourage me from doing that! So I had to send an expensive registered email to their main office to be heard. Even then, the person who replied misread my email completely and didn't even bother to open the attachments, which didn't even need an interpretation as they clearly demonstrated that the fault of what happened was theirs. The whole operation cost me a huge waste of time, irritation and a sum of money I will aver see again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Ticket refund ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Butlerox23 on 21/06/2021

I had a return ticket from Birmingham and because the train I was supposed to get decided it wasn't going to London Euston. Trainline contacted me saying I could have a refund. So I clicked the refund and thought great. Only to discover they weren't giving me the refund because the ticket had been activated! Absolutely pathetic! Not using them ever again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“"Open return" button resets on changes, resulting in...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Daverm on 09/08/2020

Before even getting into the problems you cause for me, your service is over priced, has unsafe stations & a returns/open returns system designed to screw over people with short attention spans. If you select open return then change another setting, the open return gets unselected. Multiple times this has resulted in train staff trying to make me pay for another ticket, in which case I have, & will continue to push passed the rail staff in order to leave the station. Try to stop me on my way out of the station again & you will end up with injured staff members.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Southwest1981 on 29th March 2022 Report this content
Open return Warminster to cardiff. We have a hotel booked in Bristol. Can we get off at Bristol to drop bags at hotel then get back on another train to Cardiff? Can we use the open return to travel to Bristol stay over night at hotel then use the ticket to complete the journey to Warminster the next day?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Philper on 17th June 2017 Report this content
My reservation was changed recently, I am travelling with 2 young children and need to be seated together. My original journey was from London Euston to Liverpool Lime Street, seats where allocated on this journey, but now have been told to use same tickets travelling from Basingstoke to Birmingham New St, changing trains train to Liverpool. I need to have new seats allocated as now have two separate train journeys. How can I have this arranged?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Virginiahuang on 26th April 2015 Report this content
Can I purchase the tickets on the same day when I arrive at the Southampton central station to Heathrow airport, without purchasing advance on line, because I don't know exactly what time I should be departing. Is there any limit for luggage to carry on in the train? Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content angelofmercy Written on: 28/04/2015
I only use trainline for cheap tickets in advance of travel to airport for best prices. Deals are usually evening prices, anything around 8-10 pound Gatwick express return ( from Havant). Long night if your flight isn't till 6am but can curl up somewhere with a book or doze. Worth it though if your on a budget or a bargain fanatic like me! No restriction on luggage but if train is full you may end up standing with it by the doors, another plus for late evening travel when trains are half empty. You may find it cheaper to go up the evening before and get a hotel/b&b, most arrange or provide transport to airport but again do your research. Good luck.
overview